tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

10/12/2016 : FACES ON TV - Traveling Blind

FACES ON TV

Traveling Blind

MusicCD (EP)
ElectronicsIndie

[84/100]   

Waste My Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

You know them: talented boys of whom the press never stops talking. Jasper Maekelberg is one of them. As a producer, he is known in Belgium for his work with success acts such as Bazart, Warhola and Marble Sounds. The musical centipede already stood on stage with Ansatz Der Maschine, but Faces On TV is his own musical child.

The first EP with five tracks, is a sledgehammer that blows you away. Jasper did not invent the hot water (he knows he didn't), but he does everything in such a generous way that you are left open-mouthed. A prodigy then? Who knows, in any case a marvelous debut.

Love/Dead is the ideal blend of contemporary synth pop and folktronica. It's a tad bombastic, but still a lovely song that stucks in the memory once you have heard it. Actually, you can hear it after just one track: this guy will be (very) big.

It's hard not to think of Oscar and the Wolf when you hear Travelling Blind, and yet it is different.

Jasper clearly has listened to everything hip, as the Tame Impala content of It's Coming In is quite high, but as long as it results in a masterpiece as this, we won’t complain even once.

Run Against The Stream shows the experimental side of Faces On TV. Well, experimental... let us say something that Radiohead would do.

This majestic EP ends with the delicious Pray The Light, a beautiful song full of synthetic strings. Dream on!

Yes, this time the press boys are right: Jasper got it!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Je kent ze wel, getalenteerde mooie jongens waarover de pers nooit uitgepraat raakt. Jasper Maekelberg is er zo eentje. Als producer ken je hem wellicht van zijn werk met Bazart, Warhola en Marble Sounds. Maar de muzikale duizendpoot, die zelf al op het podium stond met Ansatz Der Maschine, is er nu met zijn eigen muzikaal kindje: Faces On TV.

De eerste ep met daarop vijf tracks is meteen een mokerslag die je uit je lood slaat. Niet dat Jasper het warm water heeft uitgevonden (dat weet hij zelf ook wel), maar hij doet alles zo royaal dat je met open mond achterblijft. Dan toch een wonderkind? Wie weet, in ieder geval wel een wonderlijk debuut.

Love/Dead is het ideale huwelijk tussen hedendaagse synthpop en folktronica. Het is een tikkeltje bombastisch, maar hoe log de arrangementen ook klinken, blijft het een heerlijke song die, eens je hem hebt gehoord, in het geheugen vastzit. Eigenlijk hoor je het al na één track: deze kerel wordt (zeer) groot.

Het is moeilijk om niet te denken aan Oscar And The Wolf als je Travelling Blind hoort, en toch is het anders.

Jasper heeft duidelijk geluisterd naar alles wat hip is de laatste tijd, zo is het Tame Impala-gehalte van It’s Coming In ontzettend hoog, maar zo lang datresulteert in een meesterwerk zoals deze song, zal je ons daarover geen seconde horen klagen.

Run Against The Stream laat een beetje de experimentele kant van Faces On TV horen. Nou ja, experimenteel... laat ons zeggen iets wat bijv. Radiohead zou doen.

Deze majestueuze ep wordt afgesloten met het heerlijke Pray The Light, een prachtsong vol synthetische blazers. Wegdromen doe je!

Jawel, deze keer hebben ze gelijk die persjongens: Jasper heeft het!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
12
Today, 41 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
76 Years Ago JIM MORRISON WAS BORN!
07
12
27 years ago NINE INCH NAILS released the FIXED (EP)
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
05
12
43 Years Ago Oxygene Was Released!
04
12
This month it’s 35 years ago Canadian industrial act Skinny Puppy released their very first EP Remission.

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA (SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'

PHOTOS

06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany
03
12
PALAIS IDEAL
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

08
12
REVOLTING COCKS (THE)
Beer, Steers and Queers
07
12
VAST
Touched
07
12
MOTOR!K
Static
06
12
MASSIVE EGO
Let Go
05
12
JOHN ROX & OXYDION FT. ELENA ALICE FOSSI
Social Lovers
04
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Crime Passionel
03
12
SIXTH JUNE
Night Before