tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

10/12/2016 : FACES ON TV - Traveling Blind

FACES ON TV

Traveling Blind

MusicCD (EP)
ElectronicsIndie

[84/100]   

Waste My Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

You know them: talented boys of whom the press never stops talking. Jasper Maekelberg is one of them. As a producer, he is known in Belgium for his work with success acts such as Bazart, Warhola and Marble Sounds. The musical centipede already stood on stage with Ansatz Der Maschine, but Faces On TV is his own musical child.

The first EP with five tracks, is a sledgehammer that blows you away. Jasper did not invent the hot water (he knows he didn't), but he does everything in such a generous way that you are left open-mouthed. A prodigy then? Who knows, in any case a marvelous debut.

Love/Dead is the ideal blend of contemporary synth pop and folktronica. It's a tad bombastic, but still a lovely song that stucks in the memory once you have heard it. Actually, you can hear it after just one track: this guy will be (very) big.

It's hard not to think of Oscar and the Wolf when you hear Travelling Blind, and yet it is different.

Jasper clearly has listened to everything hip, as the Tame Impala content of It's Coming In is quite high, but as long as it results in a masterpiece as this, we won’t complain even once.

Run Against The Stream shows the experimental side of Faces On TV. Well, experimental... let us say something that Radiohead would do.

This majestic EP ends with the delicious Pray The Light, a beautiful song full of synthetic strings. Dream on!

Yes, this time the press boys are right: Jasper got it!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Je kent ze wel, getalenteerde mooie jongens waarover de pers nooit uitgepraat raakt. Jasper Maekelberg is er zo eentje. Als producer ken je hem wellicht van zijn werk met Bazart, Warhola en Marble Sounds. Maar de muzikale duizendpoot, die zelf al op het podium stond met Ansatz Der Maschine, is er nu met zijn eigen muzikaal kindje: Faces On TV.

De eerste ep met daarop vijf tracks is meteen een mokerslag die je uit je lood slaat. Niet dat Jasper het warm water heeft uitgevonden (dat weet hij zelf ook wel), maar hij doet alles zo royaal dat je met open mond achterblijft. Dan toch een wonderkind? Wie weet, in ieder geval wel een wonderlijk debuut.

Love/Dead is het ideale huwelijk tussen hedendaagse synthpop en folktronica. Het is een tikkeltje bombastisch, maar hoe log de arrangementen ook klinken, blijft het een heerlijke song die, eens je hem hebt gehoord, in het geheugen vastzit. Eigenlijk hoor je het al na één track: deze kerel wordt (zeer) groot.

Het is moeilijk om niet te denken aan Oscar And The Wolf als je Travelling Blind hoort, en toch is het anders.

Jasper heeft duidelijk geluisterd naar alles wat hip is de laatste tijd, zo is het Tame Impala-gehalte van It’s Coming In ontzettend hoog, maar zo lang datresulteert in een meesterwerk zoals deze song, zal je ons daarover geen seconde horen klagen.

Run Against The Stream laat een beetje de experimentele kant van Faces On TV horen. Nou ja, experimenteel... laat ons zeggen iets wat bijv. Radiohead zou doen.

Deze majestueuze ep wordt afgesloten met het heerlijke Pray The Light, een prachtsong vol synthetische blazers. Wegdromen doe je!

Jawel, deze keer hebben ze gelijk die persjongens: Jasper heeft het!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

10
01
THE MARS MODEL
Primal Urge
10
01
ELM
Penetrator
09
01
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear
09
01
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht
20
12
TC75
5th
19
12
THE GODFATHERS
ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
01
On this day, 41 years ago, the B52's released Mesopotamia
25
01
Exactly 45 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, 5 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
24
01
Today, exactly 32 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
23
01
47 years with David Bowie from Station To Station.
22
01
On this day, 13 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
12
DERISION CULT
An Interview With Dave McAnally of Derision Cult
16
12
OK LION
I didn't convince Patrick Codenys to work with us, it was his idea!
30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.

PHOTOS

23
01
NITZER EBB JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
FRONT 242 JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
LIEBKNECHT JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
01
01
NNHMN
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle
01
01
SHE PAST AWAY
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle
01
01
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle
01
01
ASH CODE
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
01
MERCIFUL NUNS
Cremation
26
01
MARSHEAUX
Safe Tonight
25
01
CLAN OF XYMOX
Imagination
24
01
EMPUSAE
Cadence Chamanique
23
01
GERTRUD STEIN
The Void
22
01
ESPLENDOR GEOMETRICO
Trybuna Robotnicza I
21
01
RABIA SORDA
King Of The Wasteland