tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

10/12/2016 : FACES ON TV - Traveling Blind

FACES ON TV

Traveling Blind

MusicCD (EP)
ElectronicsIndie

[84/100]   

Waste My Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

You know them: talented boys of whom the press never stops talking. Jasper Maekelberg is one of them. As a producer, he is known in Belgium for his work with success acts such as Bazart, Warhola and Marble Sounds. The musical centipede already stood on stage with Ansatz Der Maschine, but Faces On TV is his own musical child.

The first EP with five tracks, is a sledgehammer that blows you away. Jasper did not invent the hot water (he knows he didn't), but he does everything in such a generous way that you are left open-mouthed. A prodigy then? Who knows, in any case a marvelous debut.

Love/Dead is the ideal blend of contemporary synth pop and folktronica. It's a tad bombastic, but still a lovely song that stucks in the memory once you have heard it. Actually, you can hear it after just one track: this guy will be (very) big.

It's hard not to think of Oscar and the Wolf when you hear Travelling Blind, and yet it is different.

Jasper clearly has listened to everything hip, as the Tame Impala content of It's Coming In is quite high, but as long as it results in a masterpiece as this, we won’t complain even once.

Run Against The Stream shows the experimental side of Faces On TV. Well, experimental... let us say something that Radiohead would do.

This majestic EP ends with the delicious Pray The Light, a beautiful song full of synthetic strings. Dream on!

Yes, this time the press boys are right: Jasper got it!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Je kent ze wel, getalenteerde mooie jongens waarover de pers nooit uitgepraat raakt. Jasper Maekelberg is er zo eentje. Als producer ken je hem wellicht van zijn werk met Bazart, Warhola en Marble Sounds. Maar de muzikale duizendpoot, die zelf al op het podium stond met Ansatz Der Maschine, is er nu met zijn eigen muzikaal kindje: Faces On TV.

De eerste ep met daarop vijf tracks is meteen een mokerslag die je uit je lood slaat. Niet dat Jasper het warm water heeft uitgevonden (dat weet hij zelf ook wel), maar hij doet alles zo royaal dat je met open mond achterblijft. Dan toch een wonderkind? Wie weet, in ieder geval wel een wonderlijk debuut.

Love/Dead is het ideale huwelijk tussen hedendaagse synthpop en folktronica. Het is een tikkeltje bombastisch, maar hoe log de arrangementen ook klinken, blijft het een heerlijke song die, eens je hem hebt gehoord, in het geheugen vastzit. Eigenlijk hoor je het al na één track: deze kerel wordt (zeer) groot.

Het is moeilijk om niet te denken aan Oscar And The Wolf als je Travelling Blind hoort, en toch is het anders.

Jasper heeft duidelijk geluisterd naar alles wat hip is de laatste tijd, zo is het Tame Impala-gehalte van It’s Coming In ontzettend hoog, maar zo lang datresulteert in een meesterwerk zoals deze song, zal je ons daarover geen seconde horen klagen.

Run Against The Stream laat een beetje de experimentele kant van Faces On TV horen. Nou ja, experimenteel... laat ons zeggen iets wat bijv. Radiohead zou doen.

Deze majestueuze ep wordt afgesloten met het heerlijke Pray The Light, een prachtsong vol synthetische blazers. Wegdromen doe je!

Jawel, deze keer hebben ze gelijk die persjongens: Jasper heeft het!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 42 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
01
MASSENHYSTERIE
Weiber regieren die Welt
25
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)