tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

10/12/2016 : FACES ON TV - Traveling Blind

FACES ON TV

Traveling Blind

MusicCD (EP)
ElectronicsIndie

[84/100]   

Waste My Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

You know them: talented boys of whom the press never stops talking. Jasper Maekelberg is one of them. As a producer, he is known in Belgium for his work with success acts such as Bazart, Warhola and Marble Sounds. The musical centipede already stood on stage with Ansatz Der Maschine, but Faces On TV is his own musical child.

The first EP with five tracks, is a sledgehammer that blows you away. Jasper did not invent the hot water (he knows he didn't), but he does everything in such a generous way that you are left open-mouthed. A prodigy then? Who knows, in any case a marvelous debut.

Love/Dead is the ideal blend of contemporary synth pop and folktronica. It's a tad bombastic, but still a lovely song that stucks in the memory once you have heard it. Actually, you can hear it after just one track: this guy will be (very) big.

It's hard not to think of Oscar and the Wolf when you hear Travelling Blind, and yet it is different.

Jasper clearly has listened to everything hip, as the Tame Impala content of It's Coming In is quite high, but as long as it results in a masterpiece as this, we won’t complain even once.

Run Against The Stream shows the experimental side of Faces On TV. Well, experimental... let us say something that Radiohead would do.

This majestic EP ends with the delicious Pray The Light, a beautiful song full of synthetic strings. Dream on!

Yes, this time the press boys are right: Jasper got it!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Je kent ze wel, getalenteerde mooie jongens waarover de pers nooit uitgepraat raakt. Jasper Maekelberg is er zo eentje. Als producer ken je hem wellicht van zijn werk met Bazart, Warhola en Marble Sounds. Maar de muzikale duizendpoot, die zelf al op het podium stond met Ansatz Der Maschine, is er nu met zijn eigen muzikaal kindje: Faces On TV.

De eerste ep met daarop vijf tracks is meteen een mokerslag die je uit je lood slaat. Niet dat Jasper het warm water heeft uitgevonden (dat weet hij zelf ook wel), maar hij doet alles zo royaal dat je met open mond achterblijft. Dan toch een wonderkind? Wie weet, in ieder geval wel een wonderlijk debuut.

Love/Dead is het ideale huwelijk tussen hedendaagse synthpop en folktronica. Het is een tikkeltje bombastisch, maar hoe log de arrangementen ook klinken, blijft het een heerlijke song die, eens je hem hebt gehoord, in het geheugen vastzit. Eigenlijk hoor je het al na één track: deze kerel wordt (zeer) groot.

Het is moeilijk om niet te denken aan Oscar And The Wolf als je Travelling Blind hoort, en toch is het anders.

Jasper heeft duidelijk geluisterd naar alles wat hip is de laatste tijd, zo is het Tame Impala-gehalte van It’s Coming In ontzettend hoog, maar zo lang datresulteert in een meesterwerk zoals deze song, zal je ons daarover geen seconde horen klagen.

Run Against The Stream laat een beetje de experimentele kant van Faces On TV horen. Nou ja, experimenteel... laat ons zeggen iets wat bijv. Radiohead zou doen.

Deze majestueuze ep wordt afgesloten met het heerlijke Pray The Light, een prachtsong vol synthetische blazers. Wegdromen doe je!

Jawel, deze keer hebben ze gelijk die persjongens: Jasper heeft het!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis