tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

10/12/2016 : FACES ON TV - Traveling Blind

FACES ON TV

Traveling Blind

MusicCD (EP)
ElectronicsIndie

[84/100]   

Waste My Records
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

You know them: talented boys of whom the press never stops talking. Jasper Maekelberg is one of them. As a producer, he is known in Belgium for his work with success acts such as Bazart, Warhola and Marble Sounds. The musical centipede already stood on stage with Ansatz Der Maschine, but Faces On TV is his own musical child.

The first EP with five tracks, is a sledgehammer that blows you away. Jasper did not invent the hot water (he knows he didn't), but he does everything in such a generous way that you are left open-mouthed. A prodigy then? Who knows, in any case a marvelous debut.

Love/Dead is the ideal blend of contemporary synth pop and folktronica. It's a tad bombastic, but still a lovely song that stucks in the memory once you have heard it. Actually, you can hear it after just one track: this guy will be (very) big.

It's hard not to think of Oscar and the Wolf when you hear Travelling Blind, and yet it is different.

Jasper clearly has listened to everything hip, as the Tame Impala content of It's Coming In is quite high, but as long as it results in a masterpiece as this, we won’t complain even once.

Run Against The Stream shows the experimental side of Faces On TV. Well, experimental... let us say something that Radiohead would do.

This majestic EP ends with the delicious Pray The Light, a beautiful song full of synthetic strings. Dream on!

Yes, this time the press boys are right: Jasper got it!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

Je kent ze wel, getalenteerde mooie jongens waarover de pers nooit uitgepraat raakt. Jasper Maekelberg is er zo eentje. Als producer ken je hem wellicht van zijn werk met Bazart, Warhola en Marble Sounds. Maar de muzikale duizendpoot, die zelf al op het podium stond met Ansatz Der Maschine, is er nu met zijn eigen muzikaal kindje: Faces On TV.

De eerste ep met daarop vijf tracks is meteen een mokerslag die je uit je lood slaat. Niet dat Jasper het warm water heeft uitgevonden (dat weet hij zelf ook wel), maar hij doet alles zo royaal dat je met open mond achterblijft. Dan toch een wonderkind? Wie weet, in ieder geval wel een wonderlijk debuut.

Love/Dead is het ideale huwelijk tussen hedendaagse synthpop en folktronica. Het is een tikkeltje bombastisch, maar hoe log de arrangementen ook klinken, blijft het een heerlijke song die, eens je hem hebt gehoord, in het geheugen vastzit. Eigenlijk hoor je het al na één track: deze kerel wordt (zeer) groot.

Het is moeilijk om niet te denken aan Oscar And The Wolf als je Travelling Blind hoort, en toch is het anders.

Jasper heeft duidelijk geluisterd naar alles wat hip is de laatste tijd, zo is het Tame Impala-gehalte van It’s Coming In ontzettend hoog, maar zo lang datresulteert in een meesterwerk zoals deze song, zal je ons daarover geen seconde horen klagen.

Run Against The Stream laat een beetje de experimentele kant van Faces On TV horen. Nou ja, experimenteel... laat ons zeggen iets wat bijv. Radiohead zou doen.

Deze majestueuze ep wordt afgesloten met het heerlijke Pray The Light, een prachtsong vol synthetische blazers. Wegdromen doe je!

Jawel, deze keer hebben ze gelijk die persjongens: Jasper heeft het!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
10
Exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
40 years of Subhuman and Adrenalin by Throbbing Gristle!
21
10
Angels & Agony launched a new official lyric video of 'Forever'!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 43 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
17
10
Electronic/Alternative Artist CARVR Unleashes Debut Single & Visualizer, 'Erase Me'
16
10
SAMMI DOLL Releases Official Music Video for 'AN OM IE'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
10
CIRCLE BROS
Detroit
23
10
FEVER RAY
Part VII: IDK About You (Official Video)
22
10
EXECUTIVE SLACKS
So Mote it Be (Bedroom version)
21
10
PANKOW
Great Minds Against Themselves Conspire / Dirty Old Men
20
10
CHAMELEONS VOX
Swamp Thing
19
10
SALLY DIGE
Holding On
18
10
A DARKER COLOR BRIGHT
Fluorescent