tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : SOPHIA - As We Make Our Way (Unknown Harbours)

SOPHIA

As We Make Our Way (Unknown Harbours)

MusicCD
AcousticIndiePsychedelic

[91/100]   

The Flower Shop Recordings
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

To start with big words: the new record of Sophia is fantastic. Troubadour Robin Proper Sheppard considers his latest creation as a "not sad sad record" and for the first time he uses terms like poppy and cynical to describe As We Make Our ​​Way (Unknown Harbours). According to him opinions differ, but those who are wild about it, are extremely enthusiastic about it too!

Although we hear a different (though still recognizable) Sophia on this CD, the music brings you to tears. As We Make Our ​​Way (Unknown Harbours) is the sixth Sophia album, and that after a silence of nearly seven (! ) years. According to Robin this is simply because life got in the way, but if you listen carefully to this brand new record, you notice that Robin was just looking for something new. It is not a dark album, according to Sheppard, just one that seeks the darkness in optimism.

Unknown Harbours is a classic instrumental, ideal to prepare yourself for the sledgehammer Resisting: a track with a lot of distortion in which you notice Robin’s love for Swans. It is followed by the beautiful The Drifter, a track that is very autobiographical because the musician nowadays has nowhere to go because of the lack of the necessary papers. Sophia always has something beautiful to offer.

Do not Ask is the ultimate proof of the ultimate love song that is made by this perfect troubadour! California sounds at first hearing as sunny pop song, but it’s not. It's a gibe at Robins hometown where he is obliged to stay, a place Robin hates by the way. St. Tropez/The Hustle is of the same kind, while You Say It's Allright is psychedelics in which you feel the pain. You read that right!

Baby Hold On is another acoustic splendor about his now 19-year-old daughter. As We Make Our Way (Unknown Harbours) is a record that makes a deep impression, one that you will continue to play, day after day!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Om maar meteen met grote woorden te beginnen: de nieuwe plaat van Sophia is ronduit fantastisch. Zelf beschouwt troubadour Robin Proper Sheppard zijn nieuwste creatie als een “not sad sad record” en gebruikt hij termen als poppy en cynisch om As We Make Our Way (Unknown Harbours) te omschrijven. De meningen verschillen volgens hem, maar wie er wild van wordt is meteen ook laaiend enthousiast!

Hoewel we op deze cd een andere (weliswaar nog steeds herkenbare) Sophia horen, zijn het muzikale tonen waarvan je rillingen krijgt, bijna tranen in de ogen. As We Make Our Way (Unknown Harbours) is het zesde Sophia-album en dat na een stilte van bijna zeven (!) jaar. Volgens Robin is het gewoon omdat het leven in de weg liep, maar wie goed luistert naar deze gloednieuwe plaat, merkt dat Robin gewoon op zoek was naar nieuwe invalshoeken. Het is geen donkere plaat, volgens Sheppard, gewoon eentje die in de donkerheid van het bestaan het optimisme opzoekt.

Unknown Harbours is een klassieke instrumental, ideaal om je voor te bereiden op de vuistslag Resisting, een track met veel distortie waarin Robins liefde voor Swans duidelijk naar voren komt, gevolgd door het prachtige The Drifter, een track die zeer autobiografisch is omdat de muzikant tegenwoordig nergens meer heen kan wegens het gebrek aan de nodige papieren. Aan mooie liedjes is er bij Sophia nooit een gebrek. Don’t Ask is daar het ultieme bewijs van, een liefdesliedje van de perfecte troubadour!

California klinkt op het eerste gehoor misschien als zonnige pop, maar dat is het nou net niet. Het is een sneer naar Robins geboortestad omdat hij nergens anders meer mag verblijven, een plek die Robin trouwens haat. St. Tropez/The Hustle is een beetje in hetzelfde genre, terwijl You Say It’s Allright pijnlijke psychedelica is. Pijnlijke psychedelica? Hmmm, ja!

Baby Hold On is akoestische pracht voor zijn ondertussen 19-jarige dochter is geschreven.

As We Make Our Way (Unknown Harbours) is een plaat die indruk maakt, eentje die je wellicht gedurende weken dag na dag zal draaien!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
PALACE WINTER • Waiting For The World To Turn
TRICKY PRESENTS SKILLED MECHANICS • Brussels, AB (11/04/2016)
DYSCORDIA • Kortrijk, De Kreun (08/04/2016)
GOUDI • Midnight Fever
WAVETEEF • Wommelgem, 8-9 April 2016
BACKYARD FOLK CLUB • The Broken Spoon
ELVARON • Ghost Of A Blood Tie
SEDLMEIR • Melodien sind sein Leben
SWEET BABOO • Dennis
NACHTMAHR • Kampfbereit

 

Same combination of genres: ACOUSTIC + INDIE + PSYCHEDELIC
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Mademoiselle

 

Same genre: ACOUSTIC
ARMSTRONG • Under Blue Skies
DAVID J • Thoughts And Prayers
FRED ABONG • Pulsing Ep
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING • Winter In London
DAVID J • Crocodile Tears And The Velvet Cosh (Reissue)
COLE VARGAS • Cole Vargas
LAU NAU • Poseidon
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors

 

Same genre: INDIE
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West

Music reviews

03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right
29
04
THIRD REALM
The Art of Despair
28
04
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE
DIAMONDS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!
20
05
40 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
05
HIDDEN ORCHESTRA
Still
26
05
EX-RZ
I can't live in a living room
25
05
POISON POINT
Imaginary Veil
24
05
GRAUZONE
Eisbaer
23
05
SCHONWALD
Fury
22
05
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE
Awake
21
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Happy House