tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : SOPHIA - As We Make Our Way (Unknown Harbours)

SOPHIA

As We Make Our Way (Unknown Harbours)

MusicCD
AcousticIndiePsychedelic

[91/100]   

The Flower Shop Recordings
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

To start with big words: the new record of Sophia is fantastic. Troubadour Robin Proper Sheppard considers his latest creation as a "not sad sad record" and for the first time he uses terms like poppy and cynical to describe As We Make Our ​​Way (Unknown Harbours). According to him opinions differ, but those who are wild about it, are extremely enthusiastic about it too!

Although we hear a different (though still recognizable) Sophia on this CD, the music brings you to tears. As We Make Our ​​Way (Unknown Harbours) is the sixth Sophia album, and that after a silence of nearly seven (! ) years. According to Robin this is simply because life got in the way, but if you listen carefully to this brand new record, you notice that Robin was just looking for something new. It is not a dark album, according to Sheppard, just one that seeks the darkness in optimism.

Unknown Harbours is a classic instrumental, ideal to prepare yourself for the sledgehammer Resisting: a track with a lot of distortion in which you notice Robin’s love for Swans. It is followed by the beautiful The Drifter, a track that is very autobiographical because the musician nowadays has nowhere to go because of the lack of the necessary papers. Sophia always has something beautiful to offer.

Do not Ask is the ultimate proof of the ultimate love song that is made by this perfect troubadour! California sounds at first hearing as sunny pop song, but it’s not. It's a gibe at Robins hometown where he is obliged to stay, a place Robin hates by the way. St. Tropez/The Hustle is of the same kind, while You Say It's Allright is psychedelics in which you feel the pain. You read that right!

Baby Hold On is another acoustic splendor about his now 19-year-old daughter. As We Make Our Way (Unknown Harbours) is a record that makes a deep impression, one that you will continue to play, day after day!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Om maar meteen met grote woorden te beginnen: de nieuwe plaat van Sophia is ronduit fantastisch. Zelf beschouwt troubadour Robin Proper Sheppard zijn nieuwste creatie als een “not sad sad record” en gebruikt hij termen als poppy en cynisch om As We Make Our Way (Unknown Harbours) te omschrijven. De meningen verschillen volgens hem, maar wie er wild van wordt is meteen ook laaiend enthousiast!

Hoewel we op deze cd een andere (weliswaar nog steeds herkenbare) Sophia horen, zijn het muzikale tonen waarvan je rillingen krijgt, bijna tranen in de ogen. As We Make Our Way (Unknown Harbours) is het zesde Sophia-album en dat na een stilte van bijna zeven (!) jaar. Volgens Robin is het gewoon omdat het leven in de weg liep, maar wie goed luistert naar deze gloednieuwe plaat, merkt dat Robin gewoon op zoek was naar nieuwe invalshoeken. Het is geen donkere plaat, volgens Sheppard, gewoon eentje die in de donkerheid van het bestaan het optimisme opzoekt.

Unknown Harbours is een klassieke instrumental, ideaal om je voor te bereiden op de vuistslag Resisting, een track met veel distortie waarin Robins liefde voor Swans duidelijk naar voren komt, gevolgd door het prachtige The Drifter, een track die zeer autobiografisch is omdat de muzikant tegenwoordig nergens meer heen kan wegens het gebrek aan de nodige papieren. Aan mooie liedjes is er bij Sophia nooit een gebrek. Don’t Ask is daar het ultieme bewijs van, een liefdesliedje van de perfecte troubadour!

California klinkt op het eerste gehoor misschien als zonnige pop, maar dat is het nou net niet. Het is een sneer naar Robins geboortestad omdat hij nergens anders meer mag verblijven, een plek die Robin trouwens haat. St. Tropez/The Hustle is een beetje in hetzelfde genre, terwijl You Say It’s Allright pijnlijke psychedelica is. Pijnlijke psychedelica? Hmmm, ja!

Baby Hold On is akoestische pracht voor zijn ondertussen 19-jarige dochter is geschreven.

As We Make Our Way (Unknown Harbours) is een plaat die indruk maakt, eentje die je wellicht gedurende weken dag na dag zal draaien!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
PALACE WINTER • Waiting For The World To Turn
TRICKY PRESENTS SKILLED MECHANICS • Brussels, AB (11/04/2016)
DYSCORDIA • Kortrijk, De Kreun (08/04/2016)
GOUDI • Midnight Fever
WAVETEEF • Wommelgem, 8-9 April 2016
BACKYARD FOLK CLUB • The Broken Spoon
ELVARON • Ghost Of A Blood Tie
SEDLMEIR • Melodien sind sein Leben
SWEET BABOO • Dennis
NACHTMAHR • Kampfbereit

 

Same combination of genres: ACOUSTIC + INDIE + PSYCHEDELIC
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Mademoiselle

 

Same genre: ACOUSTIC
DAVID J • Thoughts And Prayers
FRED ABONG • Pulsing Ep
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING • Winter In London
DAVID J • Crocodile Tears And The Velvet Cosh (Reissue)
COLE VARGAS • Cole Vargas
LAU NAU • Poseidon
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass

 

Same genre: INDIE
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers
KASPER HATE • Why Live When You Can Rule
SPARE SNARE • Unicorn
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
TOMY LOBO • Golden Birds
TOMMIGUN • Wooden Son
SKINNY GIRL DIET • Heavyflow
KING CHAMPION SOUNDS • To Awake In That Heaven Of Freedom

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
DURAN DURAN • Pop Trash

Music reviews

18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single
14
03
DEZ MONA
Book Of Many
13
03
DAVID J
Thoughts And Prayers
11
03
FRED ABONG
Pulsing Ep
08
03
DRAGON WELDING
Dragon Welding
05
03
I AM A ROCKETSHIP
Mind Grafitti

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space
17
03
A Darker Shade Of Green | The Virgin Prunes On Saint Patrick’s Day
16
03
Today, 35 years ago, Siousxie And The Banshees released the single Swimming Horses!
15
03
New album and video by UK Goth rockers Children On Stun! Win - Win - Win
15
03
'Locating Silver Lake': Digital movie release on March 22 - DVD coming soon!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
16
03
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
Mark of Cain (official lyric video)
15
03
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom
14
03
PSY'AVIA
Dream Fever
13
03
KRANKLAND
Oh My Love
12
03
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Eye on you (Fan made video)