tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : SOPHIA - As We Make Our Way (Unknown Harbours)

SOPHIA

As We Make Our Way (Unknown Harbours)

MusicCD
AcousticIndiePsychedelic

[91/100]   

The Flower Shop Recordings
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

To start with big words: the new record of Sophia is fantastic. Troubadour Robin Proper Sheppard considers his latest creation as a "not sad sad record" and for the first time he uses terms like poppy and cynical to describe As We Make Our ​​Way (Unknown Harbours). According to him opinions differ, but those who are wild about it, are extremely enthusiastic about it too!

Although we hear a different (though still recognizable) Sophia on this CD, the music brings you to tears. As We Make Our ​​Way (Unknown Harbours) is the sixth Sophia album, and that after a silence of nearly seven (! ) years. According to Robin this is simply because life got in the way, but if you listen carefully to this brand new record, you notice that Robin was just looking for something new. It is not a dark album, according to Sheppard, just one that seeks the darkness in optimism.

Unknown Harbours is a classic instrumental, ideal to prepare yourself for the sledgehammer Resisting: a track with a lot of distortion in which you notice Robin’s love for Swans. It is followed by the beautiful The Drifter, a track that is very autobiographical because the musician nowadays has nowhere to go because of the lack of the necessary papers. Sophia always has something beautiful to offer.

Do not Ask is the ultimate proof of the ultimate love song that is made by this perfect troubadour! California sounds at first hearing as sunny pop song, but it’s not. It's a gibe at Robins hometown where he is obliged to stay, a place Robin hates by the way. St. Tropez/The Hustle is of the same kind, while You Say It's Allright is psychedelics in which you feel the pain. You read that right!

Baby Hold On is another acoustic splendor about his now 19-year-old daughter. As We Make Our Way (Unknown Harbours) is a record that makes a deep impression, one that you will continue to play, day after day!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Om maar meteen met grote woorden te beginnen: de nieuwe plaat van Sophia is ronduit fantastisch. Zelf beschouwt troubadour Robin Proper Sheppard zijn nieuwste creatie als een “not sad sad record” en gebruikt hij termen als poppy en cynisch om As We Make Our Way (Unknown Harbours) te omschrijven. De meningen verschillen volgens hem, maar wie er wild van wordt is meteen ook laaiend enthousiast!

Hoewel we op deze cd een andere (weliswaar nog steeds herkenbare) Sophia horen, zijn het muzikale tonen waarvan je rillingen krijgt, bijna tranen in de ogen. As We Make Our Way (Unknown Harbours) is het zesde Sophia-album en dat na een stilte van bijna zeven (!) jaar. Volgens Robin is het gewoon omdat het leven in de weg liep, maar wie goed luistert naar deze gloednieuwe plaat, merkt dat Robin gewoon op zoek was naar nieuwe invalshoeken. Het is geen donkere plaat, volgens Sheppard, gewoon eentje die in de donkerheid van het bestaan het optimisme opzoekt.

Unknown Harbours is een klassieke instrumental, ideaal om je voor te bereiden op de vuistslag Resisting, een track met veel distortie waarin Robins liefde voor Swans duidelijk naar voren komt, gevolgd door het prachtige The Drifter, een track die zeer autobiografisch is omdat de muzikant tegenwoordig nergens meer heen kan wegens het gebrek aan de nodige papieren. Aan mooie liedjes is er bij Sophia nooit een gebrek. Don’t Ask is daar het ultieme bewijs van, een liefdesliedje van de perfecte troubadour!

California klinkt op het eerste gehoor misschien als zonnige pop, maar dat is het nou net niet. Het is een sneer naar Robins geboortestad omdat hij nergens anders meer mag verblijven, een plek die Robin trouwens haat. St. Tropez/The Hustle is een beetje in hetzelfde genre, terwijl You Say It’s Allright pijnlijke psychedelica is. Pijnlijke psychedelica? Hmmm, ja!

Baby Hold On is akoestische pracht voor zijn ondertussen 19-jarige dochter is geschreven.

As We Make Our Way (Unknown Harbours) is een plaat die indruk maakt, eentje die je wellicht gedurende weken dag na dag zal draaien!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
PALACE WINTER • Waiting For The World To Turn
TRICKY PRESENTS SKILLED MECHANICS • Brussels, AB (11/04/2016)
DYSCORDIA • Kortrijk, De Kreun (08/04/2016)
GOUDI • Midnight Fever
WAVETEEF • Wommelgem, 8-9 April 2016
BACKYARD FOLK CLUB • The Broken Spoon
ELVARON • Ghost Of A Blood Tie
SEDLMEIR • Melodien sind sein Leben
SWEET BABOO • Dennis
NACHTMAHR • Kampfbereit

 

Same combination of genres: ACOUSTIC + INDIE + PSYCHEDELIC
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Mademoiselle

 

Same genre: ACOUSTIC
DEZ MONA & B.O.X • LUCY
SUNDAECRUSH • A Real Sensation
THE DEMON RIND • Lonely This Evening
ARMSTRONG • Under Blue Skies
DAVID J • Thoughts And Prayers
FRED ABONG • Pulsing Ep
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING • Winter In London
DAVID J • Crocodile Tears And The Velvet Cosh (Reissue)
COLE VARGAS • Cole Vargas

 

Same genre: INDIE
SJOBLOM • Tape
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra
25
09
NACHTMAHR
Porta Nigra
25
09
THE PSYCHIC FORCE
Porta Nigra
25
09
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

26
09
DULAC
Nocturne (Official Music Video)
25
09
3TEETH
Atrophy
24
09
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Hide
23
09
SIEBEN
Sell Your Future
22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back
21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna