tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : SOPHIA - As We Make Our Way (Unknown Harbours)

SOPHIA

As We Make Our Way (Unknown Harbours)

MusicCD
AcousticIndiePsychedelic

[91/100]   

The Flower Shop Recordings
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

To start with big words: the new record of Sophia is fantastic. Troubadour Robin Proper Sheppard considers his latest creation as a "not sad sad record" and for the first time he uses terms like poppy and cynical to describe As We Make Our ​​Way (Unknown Harbours). According to him opinions differ, but those who are wild about it, are extremely enthusiastic about it too!

Although we hear a different (though still recognizable) Sophia on this CD, the music brings you to tears. As We Make Our ​​Way (Unknown Harbours) is the sixth Sophia album, and that after a silence of nearly seven (! ) years. According to Robin this is simply because life got in the way, but if you listen carefully to this brand new record, you notice that Robin was just looking for something new. It is not a dark album, according to Sheppard, just one that seeks the darkness in optimism.

Unknown Harbours is a classic instrumental, ideal to prepare yourself for the sledgehammer Resisting: a track with a lot of distortion in which you notice Robin’s love for Swans. It is followed by the beautiful The Drifter, a track that is very autobiographical because the musician nowadays has nowhere to go because of the lack of the necessary papers. Sophia always has something beautiful to offer.

Do not Ask is the ultimate proof of the ultimate love song that is made by this perfect troubadour! California sounds at first hearing as sunny pop song, but it’s not. It's a gibe at Robins hometown where he is obliged to stay, a place Robin hates by the way. St. Tropez/The Hustle is of the same kind, while You Say It's Allright is psychedelics in which you feel the pain. You read that right!

Baby Hold On is another acoustic splendor about his now 19-year-old daughter. As We Make Our Way (Unknown Harbours) is a record that makes a deep impression, one that you will continue to play, day after day!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Om maar meteen met grote woorden te beginnen: de nieuwe plaat van Sophia is ronduit fantastisch. Zelf beschouwt troubadour Robin Proper Sheppard zijn nieuwste creatie als een “not sad sad record” en gebruikt hij termen als poppy en cynisch om As We Make Our Way (Unknown Harbours) te omschrijven. De meningen verschillen volgens hem, maar wie er wild van wordt is meteen ook laaiend enthousiast!

Hoewel we op deze cd een andere (weliswaar nog steeds herkenbare) Sophia horen, zijn het muzikale tonen waarvan je rillingen krijgt, bijna tranen in de ogen. As We Make Our Way (Unknown Harbours) is het zesde Sophia-album en dat na een stilte van bijna zeven (!) jaar. Volgens Robin is het gewoon omdat het leven in de weg liep, maar wie goed luistert naar deze gloednieuwe plaat, merkt dat Robin gewoon op zoek was naar nieuwe invalshoeken. Het is geen donkere plaat, volgens Sheppard, gewoon eentje die in de donkerheid van het bestaan het optimisme opzoekt.

Unknown Harbours is een klassieke instrumental, ideaal om je voor te bereiden op de vuistslag Resisting, een track met veel distortie waarin Robins liefde voor Swans duidelijk naar voren komt, gevolgd door het prachtige The Drifter, een track die zeer autobiografisch is omdat de muzikant tegenwoordig nergens meer heen kan wegens het gebrek aan de nodige papieren. Aan mooie liedjes is er bij Sophia nooit een gebrek. Don’t Ask is daar het ultieme bewijs van, een liefdesliedje van de perfecte troubadour!

California klinkt op het eerste gehoor misschien als zonnige pop, maar dat is het nou net niet. Het is een sneer naar Robins geboortestad omdat hij nergens anders meer mag verblijven, een plek die Robin trouwens haat. St. Tropez/The Hustle is een beetje in hetzelfde genre, terwijl You Say It’s Allright pijnlijke psychedelica is. Pijnlijke psychedelica? Hmmm, ja!

Baby Hold On is akoestische pracht voor zijn ondertussen 19-jarige dochter is geschreven.

As We Make Our Way (Unknown Harbours) is een plaat die indruk maakt, eentje die je wellicht gedurende weken dag na dag zal draaien!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
PALACE WINTER • Waiting For The World To Turn
TRICKY PRESENTS SKILLED MECHANICS • Brussels, AB (11/04/2016)
DYSCORDIA • Kortrijk, De Kreun (08/04/2016)
GOUDI • Midnight Fever
WAVETEEF • Wommelgem, 8-9 April 2016
BACKYARD FOLK CLUB • The Broken Spoon
ELVARON • Ghost Of A Blood Tie
SEDLMEIR • Melodien sind sein Leben
SWEET BABOO • Dennis
NACHTMAHR • Kampfbereit

 

Same combination of genres: ACOUSTIC + INDIE + PSYCHEDELIC
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Mademoiselle

 

Same genre: ACOUSTIC
ARMSTRONG • Under Blue Skies
DAVID J • Thoughts And Prayers
FRED ABONG • Pulsing Ep
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING • Winter In London
DAVID J • Crocodile Tears And The Velvet Cosh (Reissue)
COLE VARGAS • Cole Vargas
LAU NAU • Poseidon
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors

 

Same genre: INDIE
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West

Music reviews

17
10
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK
Far From The Apple Tree
16
10
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Chance Versus Causality
16
10
MASSIVE ATTACK
Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
15
10
DAVID J HASKINS
Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
15
10
ARMSTRONG
Under Blue Skies
14
10
MOONLIGHT MEADOW
Moonlight Meadow

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
10
AZAR SWAN
Over
16
10
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
15
10
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence
14
10
DELERIUM
Keep on Dreaming (featuring Jaël)
13
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Queen Ephemeria / live in Hamburg
12
10
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Static Cold
11
10
BALTIMORE
Sunglasses