tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : SOPHIA - As We Make Our Way (Unknown Harbours)

SOPHIA

As We Make Our Way (Unknown Harbours)

MusicCD
AcousticIndiePsychedelic

[91/100]   

The Flower Shop Recordings
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

To start with big words: the new record of Sophia is fantastic. Troubadour Robin Proper Sheppard considers his latest creation as a "not sad sad record" and for the first time he uses terms like poppy and cynical to describe As We Make Our ​​Way (Unknown Harbours). According to him opinions differ, but those who are wild about it, are extremely enthusiastic about it too!

Although we hear a different (though still recognizable) Sophia on this CD, the music brings you to tears. As We Make Our ​​Way (Unknown Harbours) is the sixth Sophia album, and that after a silence of nearly seven (! ) years. According to Robin this is simply because life got in the way, but if you listen carefully to this brand new record, you notice that Robin was just looking for something new. It is not a dark album, according to Sheppard, just one that seeks the darkness in optimism.

Unknown Harbours is a classic instrumental, ideal to prepare yourself for the sledgehammer Resisting: a track with a lot of distortion in which you notice Robin’s love for Swans. It is followed by the beautiful The Drifter, a track that is very autobiographical because the musician nowadays has nowhere to go because of the lack of the necessary papers. Sophia always has something beautiful to offer.

Do not Ask is the ultimate proof of the ultimate love song that is made by this perfect troubadour! California sounds at first hearing as sunny pop song, but it’s not. It's a gibe at Robins hometown where he is obliged to stay, a place Robin hates by the way. St. Tropez/The Hustle is of the same kind, while You Say It's Allright is psychedelics in which you feel the pain. You read that right!

Baby Hold On is another acoustic splendor about his now 19-year-old daughter. As We Make Our Way (Unknown Harbours) is a record that makes a deep impression, one that you will continue to play, day after day!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Om maar meteen met grote woorden te beginnen: de nieuwe plaat van Sophia is ronduit fantastisch. Zelf beschouwt troubadour Robin Proper Sheppard zijn nieuwste creatie als een “not sad sad record” en gebruikt hij termen als poppy en cynisch om As We Make Our Way (Unknown Harbours) te omschrijven. De meningen verschillen volgens hem, maar wie er wild van wordt is meteen ook laaiend enthousiast!

Hoewel we op deze cd een andere (weliswaar nog steeds herkenbare) Sophia horen, zijn het muzikale tonen waarvan je rillingen krijgt, bijna tranen in de ogen. As We Make Our Way (Unknown Harbours) is het zesde Sophia-album en dat na een stilte van bijna zeven (!) jaar. Volgens Robin is het gewoon omdat het leven in de weg liep, maar wie goed luistert naar deze gloednieuwe plaat, merkt dat Robin gewoon op zoek was naar nieuwe invalshoeken. Het is geen donkere plaat, volgens Sheppard, gewoon eentje die in de donkerheid van het bestaan het optimisme opzoekt.

Unknown Harbours is een klassieke instrumental, ideaal om je voor te bereiden op de vuistslag Resisting, een track met veel distortie waarin Robins liefde voor Swans duidelijk naar voren komt, gevolgd door het prachtige The Drifter, een track die zeer autobiografisch is omdat de muzikant tegenwoordig nergens meer heen kan wegens het gebrek aan de nodige papieren. Aan mooie liedjes is er bij Sophia nooit een gebrek. Don’t Ask is daar het ultieme bewijs van, een liefdesliedje van de perfecte troubadour!

California klinkt op het eerste gehoor misschien als zonnige pop, maar dat is het nou net niet. Het is een sneer naar Robins geboortestad omdat hij nergens anders meer mag verblijven, een plek die Robin trouwens haat. St. Tropez/The Hustle is een beetje in hetzelfde genre, terwijl You Say It’s Allright pijnlijke psychedelica is. Pijnlijke psychedelica? Hmmm, ja!

Baby Hold On is akoestische pracht voor zijn ondertussen 19-jarige dochter is geschreven.

As We Make Our Way (Unknown Harbours) is een plaat die indruk maakt, eentje die je wellicht gedurende weken dag na dag zal draaien!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
PALACE WINTER • Waiting For The World To Turn
TRICKY PRESENTS SKILLED MECHANICS • Brussels, AB (11/04/2016)
DYSCORDIA • Kortrijk, De Kreun (08/04/2016)
GOUDI • Midnight Fever
WAVETEEF • Wommelgem, 8-9 April 2016
BACKYARD FOLK CLUB • The Broken Spoon
ELVARON • Ghost Of A Blood Tie
SEDLMEIR • Melodien sind sein Leben
SWEET BABOO • Dennis
NACHTMAHR • Kampfbereit

 

Same combination of genres: ACOUSTIC + INDIE + PSYCHEDELIC
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Mademoiselle

 

Same genre: ACOUSTIC
CELESTIAL NORTH • When The Gods Dance
MERCYFUL HEAVENS • For Now
DEZ MONA & B.O.X • LUCY
SUNDAECRUSH • A Real Sensation
THE DEMON RIND • Lonely This Evening
ARMSTRONG • Under Blue Skies
DAVID J • Thoughts And Prayers
FRED ABONG • Pulsing Ep
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING • Winter In London

 

Same genre: INDIE
SJOBLOM • Tape
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions

Music reviews

24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse
07
09
KILL SHELTER
Asylum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.

PHOTOS

24
09
THE LEATHER STRIP
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
A SPLIT - SECOND
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
KNK
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
ELM
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
PRAGA KHAN
AB Brussel
24
09
CHRISTIAN DEATH
South of Heaven Bilzen
24
09
FACTHEORY
South of Heaven Bilzen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
RAMMSTEIN
Sonne
24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders
22
09
ESCAPE TO WHAT
Fake Messiah Syndrome
21
09
GOETHES ERBEN
Making Of Menschenstille
20
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
19
09
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets