tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : DECKARD - Cosmopolis

DECKARD

Cosmopolis

MusicCD
AmbientEBMElectro

[85/100]   

T.a. Rock Records
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Not so long ago, Deckard remixed the album Turtles by the Italian post-rock band A Violet Pine and gave it an electro feel. He did the production and also mixed some songs from other producers. They both share the same label.

Cosmopolis is his third album. The tracks are like instrumental patchwork particles which develop in different layers to a beautiful musical landscape. The synths set the tone. The songs navigate between ethereal and atmospheric and sometimes they are darker or have a rhythmic character (closer to EDM). A good example is Capitalism Strikes Back. A very nice extended track!

You hardly hear any vocals, but the music gets a vicious character, just as the song titles: Stock Options Fuck Options, A Marble Middle Finger, but also musically,as in Stock Options Options Fuck, with unruly rhythms and a jazzy bass for the timbre (the distortioned synth sounds). in Etheral Currency, you hear exactly what the title tells you: an ethereal piece of work with a piano as a base.

On Cosmopolis, you find a rich electronic landscape with an eye for detail. Think Leftfield, Johan Troch, Air, Tangerine Dream, but in a Deckard way.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Deckard remixte niet zo lang geleden het album Turtles van de Italiaanse post-rockband A Violet Pine en gaf het een electrofeel. Het is te zeggen: hij deed de productie en mixte ook enkele songs van andere producers. Beiden delen ze hetzelfde label.

Cosmopolis is zijn derde album. Het zijn instrumentale lappendekentjes die zich in verschillende lagen ontplooien tot een mooi muzikaal landschap. De synths geven de toon aan. De songs laveren tussen etherisch en atmosferisch en soms zijn ze wat donkerder of ritmischer van karakter (neigend naar EDM). Een mooi voorbeeld is Capitalism Strikes Back dat eerder ruimtelijk en etherisch begint en eerder donker eindigt. Een heel mooi uitgebouwde track!

Zang of tekst komt vrijwel nergens aan bod, maar toch krijgt de muziek via de titels en de muziek soms een venijnig karakter, zij het subtiel in songtitels zoals Stock Options Fuck Options, A Marble Middle Finger, maar ook muzikaal zoals in Stock Options Fuck Options, dat soms tegendraads is qua ritmiek met jazzy bassen in de klankkleur (de distortioned synthsounds). in Etheral Currency hoor je precies wat de titel je vertelt: een etherisch werkstukje met een piano als basis.

Op Cosmopolis hoor je een rijke electronisch landschap dat garant staat voor meer dan een uur luisterplezier met oog voor details. Denk een klein beetje aan Leftfield, Johan Troch, Air, Tangerine Dream, etc… maar dan op de wijze van Deckard.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : DECKARD - Cosmopolis 09/12/2016 : DECKARD - Cosmopolis

 

Next reviews
THE KVB • Brussel, Beursschouwburg (12/04/2016)
YEASAYER • Amen & Goodbye
SPHYXION • Sphyxion
FILTER • Crazy Eyes
ALBERT VILA • Jazzzolder Mechelen (08/04/2016)
MARCUS MILLER • Het Depot, Leuven (07/04/2016)
SOPHIA • As We Make Our Way (Unknown Harbours)
PALACE WINTER • Waiting For The World To Turn
TRICKY PRESENTS SKILLED MECHANICS • Brussels, AB (11/04/2016)
DYSCORDIA • Kortrijk, De Kreun (08/04/2016)

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)

 

Same genre: EBM
AD:KEY • Resonanz
DREADFOOL • Atoms for peace
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix
TUKT • Tukt
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE • Sharpening The Axe
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
VIOLENT VICKIE • Blame
BOYTRONIC • The Robot Treatment
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Heut Nacht
6TH CROWD • Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
M73 • Tainted
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
ELM • Death Of The North
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer

Music reviews

26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now
16
11
ERASURE
THE NEON
14
11
ASSEMBLAGE 23
Mourn

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
11
Today it's exactly 40 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 39 years ago!
26
11
38 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!
26
11
29 years ‘Fear (of the Unknown)’... by Siouxsie and the Banshees!
25
11
Nocturnal Rapture | Nocturne Is 37 Years Old Today

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I M B E C I L E, My Idiot Lover
27
11
LYAPIS TRUBETSKOY
Lights
26
11
PIG
Rock n Roll Refugee
25
11
TRISOMIE 21
The Last Song
24
11
BAUHAUS
Ziggy Stardust
23
11
FOETUS
Here Comes The Rain
22
11
A SPLIT-SECOND
Flesh