tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : DECKARD - Cosmopolis

DECKARD

Cosmopolis

MusicCD
AmbientEBMElectro

[85/100]   

T.a. Rock Records
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Not so long ago, Deckard remixed the album Turtles by the Italian post-rock band A Violet Pine and gave it an electro feel. He did the production and also mixed some songs from other producers. They both share the same label.

Cosmopolis is his third album. The tracks are like instrumental patchwork particles which develop in different layers to a beautiful musical landscape. The synths set the tone. The songs navigate between ethereal and atmospheric and sometimes they are darker or have a rhythmic character (closer to EDM). A good example is Capitalism Strikes Back. A very nice extended track!

You hardly hear any vocals, but the music gets a vicious character, just as the song titles: Stock Options Fuck Options, A Marble Middle Finger, but also musically,as in Stock Options Options Fuck, with unruly rhythms and a jazzy bass for the timbre (the distortioned synth sounds). in Etheral Currency, you hear exactly what the title tells you: an ethereal piece of work with a piano as a base.

On Cosmopolis, you find a rich electronic landscape with an eye for detail. Think Leftfield, Johan Troch, Air, Tangerine Dream, but in a Deckard way.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Deckard remixte niet zo lang geleden het album Turtles van de Italiaanse post-rockband A Violet Pine en gaf het een electrofeel. Het is te zeggen: hij deed de productie en mixte ook enkele songs van andere producers. Beiden delen ze hetzelfde label.

Cosmopolis is zijn derde album. Het zijn instrumentale lappendekentjes die zich in verschillende lagen ontplooien tot een mooi muzikaal landschap. De synths geven de toon aan. De songs laveren tussen etherisch en atmosferisch en soms zijn ze wat donkerder of ritmischer van karakter (neigend naar EDM). Een mooi voorbeeld is Capitalism Strikes Back dat eerder ruimtelijk en etherisch begint en eerder donker eindigt. Een heel mooi uitgebouwde track!

Zang of tekst komt vrijwel nergens aan bod, maar toch krijgt de muziek via de titels en de muziek soms een venijnig karakter, zij het subtiel in songtitels zoals Stock Options Fuck Options, A Marble Middle Finger, maar ook muzikaal zoals in Stock Options Fuck Options, dat soms tegendraads is qua ritmiek met jazzy bassen in de klankkleur (de distortioned synthsounds). in Etheral Currency hoor je precies wat de titel je vertelt: een etherisch werkstukje met een piano als basis.

Op Cosmopolis hoor je een rijke electronisch landschap dat garant staat voor meer dan een uur luisterplezier met oog voor details. Denk een klein beetje aan Leftfield, Johan Troch, Air, Tangerine Dream, etc… maar dan op de wijze van Deckard.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : DECKARD - Cosmopolis 09/12/2016 : DECKARD - Cosmopolis

 

Next reviews
THE KVB • Brussel, Beursschouwburg (12/04/2016)
YEASAYER • Amen & Goodbye
SPHYXION • Sphyxion
FILTER • Crazy Eyes
ALBERT VILA • Jazzzolder Mechelen (08/04/2016)
MARCUS MILLER • Het Depot, Leuven (07/04/2016)
SOPHIA • As We Make Our Way (Unknown Harbours)
PALACE WINTER • Waiting For The World To Turn
TRICKY PRESENTS SKILLED MECHANICS • Brussels, AB (11/04/2016)
DYSCORDIA • Kortrijk, De Kreun (08/04/2016)

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:

 

Same genre: EBM
MILDREDA • I was never really there
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
INSTITUTE FOR THE CRIMINALLY INSANE • Classic Chevrolet
PESCH • Melba
IN ABSENTIA • Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
AD:KEY • I can't feel you
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FRONTMASCHINE • Wrong fate EP
ROUGE • Ultimatum

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
JIHAD • Retrospekt
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
BLUTENGEL • Fountain of Destiny
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Shadow Of Fear

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

21
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Hafensommer 21 Am Speicher 2 Osnabrück
12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
09
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Hide
23
09
SIEBEN
Sell Your Future
22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back
21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)