tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : DECKARD - Cosmopolis

DECKARD

Cosmopolis

MusicCD
AmbientEBMElectro

[85/100]   

T.a. Rock Records
09/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Not so long ago, Deckard remixed the album Turtles by the Italian post-rock band A Violet Pine and gave it an electro feel. He did the production and also mixed some songs from other producers. They both share the same label.

Cosmopolis is his third album. The tracks are like instrumental patchwork particles which develop in different layers to a beautiful musical landscape. The synths set the tone. The songs navigate between ethereal and atmospheric and sometimes they are darker or have a rhythmic character (closer to EDM). A good example is Capitalism Strikes Back. A very nice extended track!

You hardly hear any vocals, but the music gets a vicious character, just as the song titles: Stock Options Fuck Options, A Marble Middle Finger, but also musically,as in Stock Options Options Fuck, with unruly rhythms and a jazzy bass for the timbre (the distortioned synth sounds). in Etheral Currency, you hear exactly what the title tells you: an ethereal piece of work with a piano as a base.

On Cosmopolis, you find a rich electronic landscape with an eye for detail. Think Leftfield, Johan Troch, Air, Tangerine Dream, but in a Deckard way.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


NL

Deckard remixte niet zo lang geleden het album Turtles van de Italiaanse post-rockband A Violet Pine en gaf het een electrofeel. Het is te zeggen: hij deed de productie en mixte ook enkele songs van andere producers. Beiden delen ze hetzelfde label.

Cosmopolis is zijn derde album. Het zijn instrumentale lappendekentjes die zich in verschillende lagen ontplooien tot een mooi muzikaal landschap. De synths geven de toon aan. De songs laveren tussen etherisch en atmosferisch en soms zijn ze wat donkerder of ritmischer van karakter (neigend naar EDM). Een mooi voorbeeld is Capitalism Strikes Back dat eerder ruimtelijk en etherisch begint en eerder donker eindigt. Een heel mooi uitgebouwde track!

Zang of tekst komt vrijwel nergens aan bod, maar toch krijgt de muziek via de titels en de muziek soms een venijnig karakter, zij het subtiel in songtitels zoals Stock Options Fuck Options, A Marble Middle Finger, maar ook muzikaal zoals in Stock Options Fuck Options, dat soms tegendraads is qua ritmiek met jazzy bassen in de klankkleur (de distortioned synthsounds). in Etheral Currency hoor je precies wat de titel je vertelt: een etherisch werkstukje met een piano als basis.

Op Cosmopolis hoor je een rijke electronisch landschap dat garant staat voor meer dan een uur luisterplezier met oog voor details. Denk een klein beetje aan Leftfield, Johan Troch, Air, Tangerine Dream, etc… maar dan op de wijze van Deckard.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/12/2016


09/12/2016 : DECKARD - Cosmopolis 09/12/2016 : DECKARD - Cosmopolis

 

Next reviews
THE KVB • Brussel, Beursschouwburg (12/04/2016)
YEASAYER • Amen & Goodbye
SPHYXION • Sphyxion
FILTER • Crazy Eyes
ALBERT VILA • Jazzzolder Mechelen (08/04/2016)
MARCUS MILLER • Het Depot, Leuven (07/04/2016)
SOPHIA • As We Make Our Way (Unknown Harbours)
PALACE WINTER • Waiting For The World To Turn
TRICKY PRESENTS SKILLED MECHANICS • Brussels, AB (11/04/2016)
DYSCORDIA • Kortrijk, De Kreun (08/04/2016)

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
CELESTIAL NORTH • When The Gods Dance
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree

 

Same genre: EBM
WULF7 • I don't want (Anymore)
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
SAMHAIN • Experiment
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
ORANGE SECTOR • Alles wird Gold
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
J:DEAD • Tearing me apart
JIHAD • Retrospekt
MILDREDA • I was never really there
POTOCHKINE • Sortilèges
BLUTENGEL • Fountain of Destiny
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

15
08
COVENANT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
NIZZER EBB
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENCE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire