tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

09/05/2013 : CHELSEA WOLFE - Review of the concert at the Trix in Antwerp on May 6th, 2013

CHELSEA WOLFE

Review of the concert at the Trix in Antwerp on May 6th, 2013

Concert
Ethereal / Heavenly VoicesFolk / Ethnic / Tribal

[95/100]   
09/05/2013, Philippe BLACKMARQUIS

Chelsea Wolfe is not Gothic, she's not into Witch-House or anything. She is a singer-songwriter of great talent who transcends the barriers of musical styles to create dark, profound and very personal songs. If you really want to describe her style, then it's a sort of drone-folk-blues-goth-electronic crossover... Hope it helps... I had already seen her on stage at the Magasin4 in Brussels in April 2012 and had been impressed by her show. But this year's show is even more promising, as Chelsea is to play a double set with an acoustic part, based on her widely acclaimed acoustic album "Unknown Rooms" and an electric part, with older songs but also unreleased songs from her forthcoming album, due in September.

After a great interview of Chelsea in the backstage area of the Trix, done together with my good friend Michael Thiel, from Weyrd Son Records, I had a nice chat with the other members of the band and went to the concert room (the small one upstairs at the Trix, not the main hall) to attend the show. The supporting band was Heirs, four guys from Australia who play a sort of instrumental, drone post-metal / post-rock music. They have already released two albums and one EP on Denovali Records and later this year, they will release a third album. Their concert was powerful, dark and hypnotic. It's not really my favorite type of music: it's too repetitive and I get quickly bored when there's no vocalist. They played "Hunter", the title track of their EP and also two new, yet unreleased songs: "Evol" and "Two". Anyway, a nice discovery, and moreover they are really nice guys when you get to know them! Watch an excerpt from their show below:



Setlist: Strobe, Evol, Hunter, Fowl, Two. More info at www.heirs.com.au

Before Chelsea Wolfe took the stage, there was a tape playing the dark and lyrical music of the Polish composer Henryk Górecki. Then Chelsea Wolfe appeared, dressed in a long black, witchy dress. She took her acoustic guitar and started playing "Appalachia", from "Unknown Room". Suddenly there was a complete silence in the public. A quasi religious atmosphere. The beautiful Andrea Calderon accompanied Chelsea with violin and backing vocals and Ben Chisholm, Chelsea's partner, with synth bass and sound effects. A great moment. On "Spinning Centers" and "I Die With You", the vocal harmonies between Chelsea and Andrea were really wonderful and the atmosphere was that of a dark ceremony, with very few lights and white candles on the stage. Then it was "Flatlands", probably her most classical folk song.The last track of the acoustic set was "Boyfriend", a song composed by an old friend of hers, Karlos Rene Ayala. It's a very slow and ceremonial song, with a low-pitched guitar (Chelsea's guitars are always tuned one tone lower, in D) and nice organ and synth arpeggio's at the end. When Chelsea left the stage for the first time, we were like in a dream, hypnotized. A perfect and very touching acoustic set! Watch them perform "Flatlands" below:



To make the bridge with the electric set, Andrea Calderon played a very nice instrumental on the violin. The octaver effect gave the impression that two violins were playing. Andrea, who plays in a prog band (Corima), is a great fan of Magma but also of the Belgian band Univers Zero and backstage, she told me that her instrumental was inspired by the track "Straight Edge" by this prog band. A great moment.

Then Chelsea came back for the electric set, together with Ben, the drummer, Dylan Fujioka and the lead guitarist, Kevin Dockter. They started the set with a brand new song, "Kings", which will appear on the forthcoming album. It's more electronic, nearly trip-hop(ish). You think of a gothic Portishead style, hypnotic and very dark, with cascading minor chords that take you very far. You can see that Chelsea likes to play this new song because she is moving her head and body, her eyes rolling like in a trance. Ben leaves his keyboards and grabs his Rickenbacker bass for a noisy, nearly prog-metal instrumental ending. A masterpiece! I definitely want this song for my next DJ set...



After this, the band played a few 'classics' like the terrifying "Demons", the bluesy "Moses" and the mesmerizing "Tracks (Tall Bodies)". "Movie Screen" was again a real 'tour de force' on vocals. With her loop foot pedals, Chelsea manages amazing vocal effects on this song. The synth bass and slow drum beat strengthen the trip-hop(ish) atmosphere... After that, they played another unreleased song, "Feral Love", which starts with nice synth sounds and an amazing drum pattern on the low tom by Dylan Fujioka. The last song was a very powerful version of "Pale On Pale". After the organ intro, Chelsea played the bluesy riff which has now become a sort of classic, and started singing this beautiful and plaintive melody with arabic overtones that are somehow reminiscent of Lisa Gerrard. The end of the song was a noisy, free style wall of sound that lasted for more than two minutes, until Ben raised the hand with authority to put an end to the show.



For the encore, they came back to play "Echo", their cover of the Rudimentary Peni song. The guitar intro evoked again Dead Can Dance, more precisely the intro of "Cantara" and here again, Chelsea's enchanting voice gave us shivers down our spine until the band left for good, leaving us wanting for more.

For me, it was clearly one of the best concerts I've ever seen and it will surely rank among the 5 best concerts of 2013. Chelsea Wolfe and her band have pushed their craft even further towards perfection, creating a sum of (nearly) everything that I love in music: depth, power, inspiration and soul. It's like a kaleidoscope with blues, folk, metal, drone, trip-hop, dark folk, classical, rock, all this combined with coherence and authenticity. Can't wait for the new album, which promises to be yet another masterpiece. Thank you, Chelsea, Ben, and all your friends, for making such a wonderful music...

Setlist:
Acoustic set: Appalachia, Spinning Centers, I Died With You, Our Work Was Good, Flatlands, Boyfriend
Instrumental bridge
Electric set: Kings, Demons, Tracks (Tall Bodies), Moses, Movie Screen, Feral Love, Pale on Pale
Encore: Echo

Read the interview of Chelsea Wolfe, done before the show here.

www.chelseawolfe.net/‎

Philippe BLACKMARQUIS
09/05/2013


 

Next reviews
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Evoking eternity ep
FRIENDS OF ALICE IVY • We Are As Ghosts
EX_TENSION • Le Seuil De Tolérance
• Review of the REWIND Festival in Ghent (DAY TWO) with VNV Nation, Diary of Dreams, Vomito Negro,.. (Ghent, 13 April 2013)
RADICAL G • Wasp EP
IGORRR • Hallelujah
IMPLANT • The Productive Citizen
ASYNJE • Genkaldt
• Review of the REWIND Festival in Ghent (DAY ONE) with Covenant, Neon Judgement, The Klinik, Red Zebra, SA42, Lebanon Hanover and Simi Nah (Ghent, 12 April 2013)
BARRY LEVINSON • THE BAY

 

Other reviews from CHELSEA WOLFE
CHELSEA WOLFE • Pain is Beauty
CHELSEA WOLFE • Concert at Magasin4 in Brussels on 13th April 2012 with UNISON and CERCUEIL

 

Same combination of genres: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES + FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
BIRDS' WAY • Birds' Way
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 3, 5/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Corvus Corax, Rastaban, Cuelèbre & Césair
QNTAL • QNTAL VII
FIRST AID KIT • Stay Gold
LISA GERRARD • Twilight Kingdom

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
FEATHER TRADE • Dead Boy
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • Witches' Lullaby
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE • Music for certain rituals
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
AUTUMN • The Fall
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo
ORDER OF VICTORY & TSIDMZ • Third Rome / Terza Roma
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 2, 4/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Eluveitie, Tanzwut, Huldre & Nook Karavan
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 1, 3/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Naheulbeuk, Feuerschwanz and La Horde
TANZWUT • Freitag der 13

Music reviews

27
02
WHISPERING SONS
The Great Calm
22
02
YOUR ENEMY
Broken Toys
21
02
XTORT
Zwart
03
02
MERCIFUL NUNS
Oneironauts
02
02
ANTLER RECORDS
Early Years Vol 1
01
02
YELWORC
The Ghosts I Called

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
02
38 years ago Siouxsie and The Banshees released the single Candyman!
25
02
Today it's exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released March Of The Pigs!
25
02
Mirror Man | Mourning The Sad Passing Of Talk Talk’s Mark Hollis - 5 ago.
23
02
Today, it’s 46 years ago that renowned BBC DJ John Peel broadcast the second John Peel session by Siouxsie & The Banshees
20
02
24.2.24 International EBM day is coming closer!
20
02
This Charming Band | 40 Years Ago, The Smiths Release Their Debut Album

Concert reviews

16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...
18
06
ERATO - BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Black Planet Fest - @ B 52 Music Club Eernegem - friday 19th of may
18
06
KORINTHIANS, NEL & JP, NONA PROBLEMO
@Charlatan Ghent - 25 mei 2023
06
05
SIOUXSIE
The glorious resurrection after ten years of silence.

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
02
ELEKTRIKILL
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Band, Elektrikill
03
02
HAMMERSHOI
French works well with these musical genres. It’s not like rock’n roll in French! It sucks, no ?
27
01
PAS MUSIQUE
An Interview With Pas Musique
26
01
TRAGIC VISIONS
An Interview With EBM/Industrial Band, Tragic Visions
22
01
CAT RAPES DOG
'We will try to put as much energy as possible into our performance. There will be no power ballads!'

PHOTOS

19
02
EKLIPSE FORCED TO MODE ONE CARESS TOUR
Christuskirche Bochum
18
02
LA MUERTE
Bélvèdere Namen
18
02
STIN SCATZOR
Bélvèdere Namen
18
02
GOETHES ERBEN
Cc De Schakel Waregem
18
02
THE ARCH
Cc De Schakel Waregem
18
02
LEBANON HANOVER
Christuskirche Bochum
11
02
SELOFAN
JunkYard Dortmund

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
02
VIOLENT VICKIE
Cicle Square
27
02
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
26
02
MONICA RICHARDS
Into My Own
25
02
ZANIAS
Follow the Body
24
02
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
23
02
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
22
02
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies