tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

09/05/2013 : THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE - Evoking eternity ep

THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE

Evoking eternity ep

MusicCD
Dark AmbientSoundtrackUnclassifiable

[85/100]   

Self-released
09/05/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

This is the newest side-project of Ashley Dayour (Whispers in the Shadow) with the help of David Pfister. The first thing I can already say is that it sounds similar to their last CD, but without the vocals. Although it ventures from time to time in a completely different direction. So this is for the fans of 'music', simply music, not words: yes you read it good.

'Parvati's Lament' could be the intro of the last Whispers in the Shadow CD or even of the newest Dead Can Dance (if you forget about the guitar). I love the Arabic, floating sound. 'Belief manipulation' has a cold wave, or even minimal wave, sound. I sounds scary, not something you'd to play during wintertime when you are all alone in a big and silent house. 'It is our will' has a nice beat and can even be spun at a cold wave party, turning it into a possible dancefloor filler if it gets a good remix. It's is defnitly the most happy song on this ep. 'Continuum' resembles In Slaughter Natives soundwise. The same haunting sound consisting out of a piano, swelling horns, synth, and a Squeaking dour, among others. 'The great God Pan' heads a bit in the same direction, until we hear Ashley's typical guitar sound. It's just a bit strange not to hear his voice on this one. In stead there is a distant female voice, evoking the great God Pan. The drums give the track a more martial feel, while the electronics are responsible for making it dark and scary. I think I can hear some martyred voices in the back, really something scary.

Then, there is side two: 'Evoking eternity' has a nice bass, scary synths and noises. It's clear that some kind of devil is getting evoked to haunt us for eternity! As an extra we get two nice remixes: 'It is our will (in Death it ends Remix) & Parvati's Lament (Mater Suspiria vision Remix).

Ashley surpised us with yet another -unexpected- new project. I'm pretty sure it will find - yet again - a large audience!

The limited Tape version of the EP was sold out in a matter of hours though.. but there is always the digital download version.

w:http://aufnahmeundwiedergabe.bandcamp.com/album/evoking-eternity

https://www.facebook.com/pages/THE-DEVIL-THE-UNIVERSE/263173060403036?fref=ts

Some additional good news: the debut album will be released in early autumn, via a Berlin based label Aufnahme + Wiedergabe, on Vinyl and Ditigal Download

Filip VAN MUYLEM
09/05/2013


 

Next reviews
FRIENDS OF ALICE IVY • We Are As Ghosts
EX_TENSION • Le Seuil De Tolérance
• Review of the REWIND Festival in Ghent (DAY TWO) with VNV Nation, Diary of Dreams, Vomito Negro,.. (Ghent, 13 April 2013)
RADICAL G • Wasp EP
IGORRR • Hallelujah
IMPLANT • The Productive Citizen
ASYNJE • Genkaldt
• Review of the REWIND Festival in Ghent (DAY ONE) with Covenant, Neon Judgement, The Klinik, Red Zebra, SA42, Lebanon Hanover and Simi Nah (Ghent, 12 April 2013)
BARRY LEVINSON • THE BAY
FOLK NOIR • Songs From Home

 

Other reviews from THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Benedicere
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • What Time is Love?
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Imprint Daath

 

Same genre: DARK AMBIENT
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • Witches' Lullaby
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
EMPUSAE • Iter In Tenebris
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
ANNINA MELISSA • Exhibition of Death

 

Same genre: SOUNDTRACK
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
LAU NAU • Poseidon
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
MIKE OLDFIELD • The 1984 Suite
PERTURBATOR • The Uncanny Valley
CLAUDIO SIMONETTI • Profondo Rosso (Deep Red)
ÆMAETH • The Roman
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Benedicere
ILLUMININE & MICHAEL PRICE TRIO • Antwerp, De Roma, 22/10/2015
STEVE MOORE • Welp/Cub OST

 

Same genre: UNCLASSIFIABLE
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
FANTASTIQUE.NIGHT XLVII • MOLLY NILSSON, MARY OCHER, MENAGE A TROIS, RODOLPHE COSTER
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ni D'Eve Ni D'Adam
MONSTER YOUTH • Lost Dream, Cool Fire
TUXEDOMOON • CLASSICS: At Twilight
THE THE • CLASSICS : Soul Mining
XTC • CLASSICS: Skylarking (Corrected)
THE FALL • Creative Distortion
BROWN REINIGER BODSON • Clear Tears, Troubled Waters
APHEX TWIN • Syro

Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
10
41 of Subhuman and Adrenalin!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 44 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 39 today!
06
10
Electro-Pop Artist EVA X Drops New Video 'Machine'
30
09
Amy Koppelman's novel adaption 'A Mouthful Of Air' coming to theaters October 29th!
29
09
Canadian Industrial Act DI AUGER Takes Raw Anger To Government Tyranny with 'Piss & Vinegar'

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.

PHOTOS

23
10
FRONT 242
Depot Leuven
23
10
RADICAL G
Depot Leuven
03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
10
ZANIAS
Follow the Body
22
10
AFTER ABSENCE
Collide
21
10
SCHULTZ
I hate You
20
10
HAPAX
Hands (Official Video)
19
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
18
10
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked
17
10
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi