tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

09/05/2013 : THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE - Evoking eternity ep

THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE

Evoking eternity ep

MusicCD
Dark AmbientSoundtrackUnclassifiable

[85/100]   

Self-released
09/05/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

This is the newest side-project of Ashley Dayour (Whispers in the Shadow) with the help of David Pfister. The first thing I can already say is that it sounds similar to their last CD, but without the vocals. Although it ventures from time to time in a completely different direction. So this is for the fans of 'music', simply music, not words: yes you read it good.

'Parvati's Lament' could be the intro of the last Whispers in the Shadow CD or even of the newest Dead Can Dance (if you forget about the guitar). I love the Arabic, floating sound. 'Belief manipulation' has a cold wave, or even minimal wave, sound. I sounds scary, not something you'd to play during wintertime when you are all alone in a big and silent house. 'It is our will' has a nice beat and can even be spun at a cold wave party, turning it into a possible dancefloor filler if it gets a good remix. It's is defnitly the most happy song on this ep. 'Continuum' resembles In Slaughter Natives soundwise. The same haunting sound consisting out of a piano, swelling horns, synth, and a Squeaking dour, among others. 'The great God Pan' heads a bit in the same direction, until we hear Ashley's typical guitar sound. It's just a bit strange not to hear his voice on this one. In stead there is a distant female voice, evoking the great God Pan. The drums give the track a more martial feel, while the electronics are responsible for making it dark and scary. I think I can hear some martyred voices in the back, really something scary.

Then, there is side two: 'Evoking eternity' has a nice bass, scary synths and noises. It's clear that some kind of devil is getting evoked to haunt us for eternity! As an extra we get two nice remixes: 'It is our will (in Death it ends Remix) & Parvati's Lament (Mater Suspiria vision Remix).

Ashley surpised us with yet another -unexpected- new project. I'm pretty sure it will find - yet again - a large audience!

The limited Tape version of the EP was sold out in a matter of hours though.. but there is always the digital download version.

w:http://aufnahmeundwiedergabe.bandcamp.com/album/evoking-eternity

https://www.facebook.com/pages/THE-DEVIL-THE-UNIVERSE/263173060403036?fref=ts

Some additional good news: the debut album will be released in early autumn, via a Berlin based label Aufnahme + Wiedergabe, on Vinyl and Ditigal Download

Filip VAN MUYLEM
09/05/2013


 

Next reviews
FRIENDS OF ALICE IVY • We Are As Ghosts
EX_TENSION • Le Seuil De Tolérance
• Review of the REWIND Festival in Ghent (DAY TWO) with VNV Nation, Diary of Dreams, Vomito Negro,.. (Ghent, 13 April 2013)
RADICAL G • Wasp EP
IGORRR • Hallelujah
IMPLANT • The Productive Citizen
ASYNJE • Genkaldt
• Review of the REWIND Festival in Ghent (DAY ONE) with Covenant, Neon Judgement, The Klinik, Red Zebra, SA42, Lebanon Hanover and Simi Nah (Ghent, 12 April 2013)
BARRY LEVINSON • THE BAY
FOLK NOIR • Songs From Home

 

Other reviews from THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Benedicere
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • What Time is Love?
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Imprint Daath

 

Same genre: DARK AMBIENT
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
EMPUSAE • Iter In Tenebris
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
ANNINA MELISSA • Exhibition of Death
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone

 

Same genre: SOUNDTRACK
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
LAU NAU • Poseidon
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
MIKE OLDFIELD • The 1984 Suite
PERTURBATOR • The Uncanny Valley
CLAUDIO SIMONETTI • Profondo Rosso (Deep Red)
ÆMAETH • The Roman
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Benedicere
ILLUMININE & MICHAEL PRICE TRIO • Antwerp, De Roma, 22/10/2015
STEVE MOORE • Welp/Cub OST

 

Same genre: UNCLASSIFIABLE
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
FANTASTIQUE.NIGHT XLVII • MOLLY NILSSON, MARY OCHER, MENAGE A TROIS, RODOLPHE COSTER
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ni D'Eve Ni D'Adam
MONSTER YOUTH • Lost Dream, Cool Fire
TUXEDOMOON • CLASSICS: At Twilight
THE THE • CLASSICS : Soul Mining
XTC • CLASSICS: Skylarking (Corrected)
THE FALL • Creative Distortion
BROWN REINIGER BODSON • Clear Tears, Troubled Waters
APHEX TWIN • Syro

Music reviews

18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 41 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 36 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
Brand new Front Line Assembly album 'Mechanical Soul' out today!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 3 Year Anniversary

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela
18
01
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)
17
01
ELSJE HELEWAUT & RUDOLF HECKE
Let's Not Give A Damn
16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected
15
01
LEATHER STRIP
Strap me down
14
01
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE
Enfermedad