tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

09/05/2013 : THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE - Evoking eternity ep

THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE

Evoking eternity ep

MusicCD
Dark AmbientSoundtrackUnclassifiable

[85/100]   

Self-released
09/05/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

This is the newest side-project of Ashley Dayour (Whispers in the Shadow) with the help of David Pfister. The first thing I can already say is that it sounds similar to their last CD, but without the vocals. Although it ventures from time to time in a completely different direction. So this is for the fans of 'music', simply music, not words: yes you read it good.

'Parvati's Lament' could be the intro of the last Whispers in the Shadow CD or even of the newest Dead Can Dance (if you forget about the guitar). I love the Arabic, floating sound. 'Belief manipulation' has a cold wave, or even minimal wave, sound. I sounds scary, not something you'd to play during wintertime when you are all alone in a big and silent house. 'It is our will' has a nice beat and can even be spun at a cold wave party, turning it into a possible dancefloor filler if it gets a good remix. It's is defnitly the most happy song on this ep. 'Continuum' resembles In Slaughter Natives soundwise. The same haunting sound consisting out of a piano, swelling horns, synth, and a Squeaking dour, among others. 'The great God Pan' heads a bit in the same direction, until we hear Ashley's typical guitar sound. It's just a bit strange not to hear his voice on this one. In stead there is a distant female voice, evoking the great God Pan. The drums give the track a more martial feel, while the electronics are responsible for making it dark and scary. I think I can hear some martyred voices in the back, really something scary.

Then, there is side two: 'Evoking eternity' has a nice bass, scary synths and noises. It's clear that some kind of devil is getting evoked to haunt us for eternity! As an extra we get two nice remixes: 'It is our will (in Death it ends Remix) & Parvati's Lament (Mater Suspiria vision Remix).

Ashley surpised us with yet another -unexpected- new project. I'm pretty sure it will find - yet again - a large audience!

The limited Tape version of the EP was sold out in a matter of hours though.. but there is always the digital download version.

w:http://aufnahmeundwiedergabe.bandcamp.com/album/evoking-eternity

https://www.facebook.com/pages/THE-DEVIL-THE-UNIVERSE/263173060403036?fref=ts

Some additional good news: the debut album will be released in early autumn, via a Berlin based label Aufnahme + Wiedergabe, on Vinyl and Ditigal Download

Filip VAN MUYLEM
09/05/2013


 

Next reviews
FRIENDS OF ALICE IVY • We Are As Ghosts
EX_TENSION • Le Seuil De Tolérance
• Review of the REWIND Festival in Ghent (DAY TWO) with VNV Nation, Diary of Dreams, Vomito Negro,.. (Ghent, 13 April 2013)
RADICAL G • Wasp EP
IGORRR • Hallelujah
IMPLANT • The Productive Citizen
ASYNJE • Genkaldt
• Review of the REWIND Festival in Ghent (DAY ONE) with Covenant, Neon Judgement, The Klinik, Red Zebra, SA42, Lebanon Hanover and Simi Nah (Ghent, 12 April 2013)
BARRY LEVINSON • THE BAY
FOLK NOIR • Songs From Home

 

Other reviews from THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Benedicere
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • What Time is Love?
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Imprint Daath

 

Same genre: DARK AMBIENT
EMPUSAE • Iter In Tenebris
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
ANNINA MELISSA • Exhibition of Death
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree
DARKHER • Realms

 

Same genre: SOUNDTRACK
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
LAU NAU • Poseidon
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
MIKE OLDFIELD • The 1984 Suite
PERTURBATOR • The Uncanny Valley
CLAUDIO SIMONETTI • Profondo Rosso (Deep Red)
ÆMAETH • The Roman
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Benedicere
ILLUMININE & MICHAEL PRICE TRIO • Antwerp, De Roma, 22/10/2015
STEVE MOORE • Welp/Cub OST

 

Same genre: UNCLASSIFIABLE
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
FANTASTIQUE.NIGHT XLVII • MOLLY NILSSON, MARY OCHER, MENAGE A TROIS, RODOLPHE COSTER
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ni D'Eve Ni D'Adam
MONSTER YOUTH • Lost Dream, Cool Fire
TUXEDOMOON • CLASSICS: At Twilight
THE THE • CLASSICS : Soul Mining
XTC • CLASSICS: Skylarking (Corrected)
THE FALL • Creative Distortion
BROWN REINIGER BODSON • Clear Tears, Troubled Waters
APHEX TWIN • Syro

Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
07
This month it’s 28 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
09
07
Dutch electro pioneers, Minny Pops announce the release of a brand new double A-Side single!
08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
07
DON GORDON (NUMB)
'In many ways the first Numb album was one of the ‘easiest’ to produce...'
06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
07
VIOLENT VICKIE
Dark Disorder
09
07
XUP
CUT YOU OPEN
09
07
FAR
Epicaricacy
08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)