tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

09/05/2013 : THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE - Evoking eternity ep

THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE

Evoking eternity ep

MusicCD
Dark AmbientSoundtrackUnclassifiable

[85/100]   

Self-released
09/05/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

This is the newest side-project of Ashley Dayour (Whispers in the Shadow) with the help of David Pfister. The first thing I can already say is that it sounds similar to their last CD, but without the vocals. Although it ventures from time to time in a completely different direction. So this is for the fans of 'music', simply music, not words: yes you read it good.

'Parvati's Lament' could be the intro of the last Whispers in the Shadow CD or even of the newest Dead Can Dance (if you forget about the guitar). I love the Arabic, floating sound. 'Belief manipulation' has a cold wave, or even minimal wave, sound. I sounds scary, not something you'd to play during wintertime when you are all alone in a big and silent house. 'It is our will' has a nice beat and can even be spun at a cold wave party, turning it into a possible dancefloor filler if it gets a good remix. It's is defnitly the most happy song on this ep. 'Continuum' resembles In Slaughter Natives soundwise. The same haunting sound consisting out of a piano, swelling horns, synth, and a Squeaking dour, among others. 'The great God Pan' heads a bit in the same direction, until we hear Ashley's typical guitar sound. It's just a bit strange not to hear his voice on this one. In stead there is a distant female voice, evoking the great God Pan. The drums give the track a more martial feel, while the electronics are responsible for making it dark and scary. I think I can hear some martyred voices in the back, really something scary.

Then, there is side two: 'Evoking eternity' has a nice bass, scary synths and noises. It's clear that some kind of devil is getting evoked to haunt us for eternity! As an extra we get two nice remixes: 'It is our will (in Death it ends Remix) & Parvati's Lament (Mater Suspiria vision Remix).

Ashley surpised us with yet another -unexpected- new project. I'm pretty sure it will find - yet again - a large audience!

The limited Tape version of the EP was sold out in a matter of hours though.. but there is always the digital download version.

w:http://aufnahmeundwiedergabe.bandcamp.com/album/evoking-eternity

https://www.facebook.com/pages/THE-DEVIL-THE-UNIVERSE/263173060403036?fref=ts

Some additional good news: the debut album will be released in early autumn, via a Berlin based label Aufnahme + Wiedergabe, on Vinyl and Ditigal Download

Filip VAN MUYLEM
09/05/2013


 

Next reviews
FRIENDS OF ALICE IVY • We Are As Ghosts
EX_TENSION • Le Seuil De Tolérance
• Review of the REWIND Festival in Ghent (DAY TWO) with VNV Nation, Diary of Dreams, Vomito Negro,.. (Ghent, 13 April 2013)
RADICAL G • Wasp EP
IGORRR • Hallelujah
IMPLANT • The Productive Citizen
ASYNJE • Genkaldt
• Review of the REWIND Festival in Ghent (DAY ONE) with Covenant, Neon Judgement, The Klinik, Red Zebra, SA42, Lebanon Hanover and Simi Nah (Ghent, 12 April 2013)
BARRY LEVINSON • THE BAY
FOLK NOIR • Songs From Home

 

Other reviews from THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Benedicere
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • What Time is Love?
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Imprint Daath

 

Same genre: DARK AMBIENT
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
ANNINA MELISSA • Exhibition of Death
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree
DARKHER • Realms
DEUTSCH NEPAL • Dystopian Partycollection II

 

Same genre: SOUNDTRACK
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
LAU NAU • Poseidon
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
MIKE OLDFIELD • The 1984 Suite
PERTURBATOR • The Uncanny Valley
CLAUDIO SIMONETTI • Profondo Rosso (Deep Red)
ÆMAETH • The Roman
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Benedicere
ILLUMININE & MICHAEL PRICE TRIO • Antwerp, De Roma, 22/10/2015
STEVE MOORE • Welp/Cub OST

 

Same genre: UNCLASSIFIABLE
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
FANTASTIQUE.NIGHT XLVII • MOLLY NILSSON, MARY OCHER, MENAGE A TROIS, RODOLPHE COSTER
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ni D'Eve Ni D'Adam
MONSTER YOUTH • Lost Dream, Cool Fire
TUXEDOMOON • CLASSICS: At Twilight
THE THE • CLASSICS : Soul Mining
XTC • CLASSICS: Skylarking (Corrected)
THE FALL • Creative Distortion
BROWN REINIGER BODSON • Clear Tears, Troubled Waters
APHEX TWIN • Syro

Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
12
On this day, 42 years ago, Joy Division recorded their very first EP, 'An Ideal for Living'!
14
12
London Calling | The Clash Masterpiece Is 40 Today!
11
12
The Mission - The United European Party Tour 2020
10
12
Postpunk pioneers The Membranes and Kitty Lectro team up for stunning 'Nocturnal' EP
10
12
Los Angeles Synth Act More Ephemerol Debuts New Single, 'Cult Classics'
10
12
On this day, 40 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
12
FIX8:SED8
I Could Talk About The Wonder That Is Skinny Puppy For Hours
29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!

PHOTOS

09
12
MARK E MOON
Sportkafee Waregem
06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

14
12
ME THE TIGER
Hollow
13
12
THE HUMAN LEAGUE
Open Your heart
12
12
AN PIERLE
The Golden Dawn
11
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE
Death by completion
10
12
A SPLIT-SECOND
Mambo Witch
09
12
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
08
12
REVOLTING COCKS (THE)
Beer, Steers and Queers