tempobet yeni adresi
like this movie review

16/04/2013 : BARRY LEVINSON - THE BAY

BARRY LEVINSON

THE BAY

Movie
Horror
Dutch FilmWorks
16/04/2013, Didier BECU

You probably have already heard from the so-called found-footage genre, not? Indeed, those "documentaries" that are supposed to have happened but which are only made to misled the viewer. So far we had some great movies in this genre. Cannibal Holocaust (and the many spin-off's), C'est arrivé près de chez vous (the best Belgian movie ever) or the creepy Blair witch Project. From now on you can add The Bay to that list.

The movie is set in Claridge, an American village where nothing ever happens. This town used to be the garbage dump and then one day it happens: two scientists are found dead. They have been attacked by mutated (!) pill bugs. It's the beginning of an outbreak.

At first sight it looks like we're dealing with some cheap horrormovie, you know the 1000th version of Piranha, but The Bay is a totally different thing. First of all this movie is directed by Barry Levinson, the man who made classics such as Rain Man or Diner. It's not such a surprise as the American director has always been an environmentalist during his whole life and even if this picture might seem to be over the top, everything is based on scientific researches.

The Bay wasn't a big succes in the theatres and that's mainly because the film has been advertised as a horrorflick, but even if the movie will scare you more than once (some footages are incredibly creepy!) the movie is much more than this.

The Bay is a real tip (also for those who don't like the genre) and is in the Benelux distributed by Dutch FilmWorks on both DVD and Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
16/04/2013


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
03
No Time To Cry since 36 years!
08
03
Today, exactly 1 years ago, American industrial band Nine Inch Nails released The Downward Spiral!
07
03
Electronic Act IMBUED VAGARY Releases 6 CD Project – “Hexalogy”
07
03
33 years ago the Drag Queen of the 20th Century, Divine, passed away!
07
03
41 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released the single 'Happy House'!
05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
03
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
07
03
MARSHEAUX
Eyes Without A Face
06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You