tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

23/06/2013 : SYNTECH - Trans-Neptunian Objects

SYNTECH

Trans-Neptunian Objects

MusicCD
Rhythmic Industrial

[65/100]   

Hands Productions
23/06/2013, Chris KONINGS

Ready for an astronomy class? With this new album Syntech lays his focus on the planetary objects behind Neptune, thus called "trans neptunian objects". As you might know, Pluto is no longer regarded as a planet since 2006 and the main reason were numerous dicoveries of other, similar objects.

So this album is dedicated to these exotic objects, orbiting our sun from such a distance that we cannot see them with merely our eyes. The names of these objects always come from mythology, such as Roman, Greek, Inuit, Hindu and others.

Each song has its own character, some planets are extremely cold (Makemake), others have orbit that are unusual (Sedna)... Also the deities which they are called after have their own characteristics but whether these things have influenced the songs, I'm not sure. That's a first point of criticism, most songs sound alike, the only songs that really stand out are "Eris", imagine feelgood funky Suns Of Arqa blended with dense electronics. "Makemake" has a sharpness and agression that I do like.

The middle part of the cd is one big drum 'n noise blur, with similar sounding songs like Orcus, Sedna, Quaoar and Varuna. A real EP would have been enough... now it's mostly re-living P'som-Sett.

No real impact but maybe with the next one Steffen Lehmann will explore more funk and psychedelica?

Chris KONINGS
23/06/2013


Music reviews

22
10
VEDA RAYS
For The Rest To Rest
20
10
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS
Scalped
19
10
CHRIS WATSON
Locations Processed
18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Headlining USA East Coast Tour Dates
19
10
Ancient Greek folk ensemble DAEMONIA NYMPHE have announced the re-release of acclaimed album Psychostasia!
18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
10
DAVID J
Interview with David J
20
10
TRASH DEITY
Trash Dialog: An Interview With Groovie Mann & John Norton of Trash Deity
19
10
SONOLOGYST
A ‘Vertical’ Approach To Music
18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!

PHOTOS

23
10
VNV NATION + HOLYGRAM
De Casino - St. Niklaas
16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
10
CRASH COURSE IN SCIENCE
Flying Turns (Live @ BIM 2009)
22
10
ADULT.
Heartbreak (Live @ MOOGFEST SOUND LAB)
21
10
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
20
10
RROYCE
The Principle Of Grace
19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?