tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

23/06/2013 : VANITY - Occult you

VANITY

Occult you

MusicCD
DoomNew wavePost PunkShoegaze

[90/100]   

Church Independent
23/06/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Church Independent is a brand new label and the first release is from VANITY, an Italian band including
members from Switzerland, Palestine and Italy. Their first full length album, OCCULT YOU, is inspired by European paganism and esoterism. According to the promo text, it's a challenging combination of Indie, New Wave and Gothic with fascinating vocals and shades of electronic and I must say that the pleasure is all mine! The album is very well produced by Lorenzo Montanà (Tying Tiffany).

Strangely enough, I think of a combination between Bush, Pearl Jam, Whispers in the shadow and Red Sun Revival when I listen to it. The album has a wide range of styles and that is in this case a good thing. I never got bored listening to it. Good job for a first record and even better than what some other bands achieve after numerous records.

'Sleeping Tears' has a typical 80's guitar sound and dito voice. Great hypnotic, melodic and sad sound.

It is followed by a softer song, 'Under Black Ice', almost overwhelming and enchanting. An occult mantra, with plenty of sadness in it.

'Ghosts' is the kind of song that works great on a stage, I love the energy! The guitars sway and scream and the drummer gets his turn. I love the little chant. Somehow I sense some metal influences in this one. Great one, again!

'Ruins' starts a bit slowly, but soon enough the guitars start to wake up. The breaks in the rhythm give it a bit of a spooky sound and somehow a bit of a floating feeling. You can feel the hate near to the end of the song, this is the part I love the most. It all sounds so true and the music blends in so well with the desperation in the voice.

'Pagan hearts' starts as if it's a new song from Bush (yeah, Gavin, you rule), but then the sound evolves a bit into another direction. One reflection hits me: this is not a pagan song as it rocks too much and has too much romance in it.

'Sun' starts nicely and reminds me of 'The open up and bleeds': punky, raw, energetic and going straight ahead. The breaking down of this vibe give you a bit of time to take some breath. Again there are some metal influences at the end and even some bossa nova. Hell yeah!

'Time's new romance' is a very nice one, a bit like Bush in a dark underground version, very melodic. This song really gets into your soul. Love it! It reminds me a bit of 'The open up and bleeds'. It's a bit more poppy than all the rest, but that's just a great change in the most positive way.

'Limbo in' is an instrumental, pretty electro wave. Could be used on a dance floor in a longer remix. Nice bass and synths. A bit strange to have it on this one, but it's a nice change.

'Occult you in' has a retro '80 sound, very synth-minded. I like the sound of 'The Essence', almost The Cure-minded (but with Bush's lead singer on vocals). It's a slow grower, but sooner or later it will conquer your heart, just give it some time and it will work. Nice sliding guitars distort a bit the dream kinda vibe.

'The Wanderer' explodes right from the start, nice metal guitar riffs and drums. A nice heater to end this great cd! I hope to see them soon on stage during a nice festival! They deserve it, for sure (more than others)!

https://www.facebook.com/VanityDoom?hc_location=stream

Filip VAN MUYLEM
23/06/2013


 

Next reviews
SYNTECH • Trans-Neptunian Objects
AUTODAFEH • Blackout Scenario
BORN FOR BLISS • Innocent (EP)
TECHNOIR • We came for love
THE EDEN HOUSE • Half Life
COVENANT • Last Dance
PSY'AVIAH • Future Past (EP)
.COM/KILL
ENDUSER / NEEDLE SHARING / TEKNOIST, THE • Enduser Shares Needles With The Teknoist
NIMON • Drowning In Good Intentions

 

Same genre: DOOM
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
HIGH FIGHTER • Scars and Crosses
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
ANTAGONIST ZERO • No Tears
AMBER ASYLUM • Sin Eater
ORGAN • Tetro
VICTORIENT • The Old Curiosity Shop
GJÖLL • The Background of Perpetual Discontent

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World

Music reviews

31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record
19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis
18
10
NEW MODEL ARMY
From Here

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER
10
11
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2020 releases third band wave with Mesh, Zeromancer & many more
09
11
UK Gothic Rock Band HER DESPAIR Release Official Music Video for 'The Exorcism' - New EP, Exorcisms Of Eroticism due November 22nd
08
11
Bauhaus' David J announces 'Missive to an Angel from the Halls of Infamy and Allure' LP and Euro/UK tour!
07
11
Today it’s been exactly 28 years since Industrial/Metal band Ministry released Jesus Built My Hotrod!
07
11
Today it’s exactly 30 years since Industrial/Metal band Ministry released Burning Inside!

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
05
11
THEN COMES SILENCE
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
05
11
MODELE MARTIAL
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
04
11
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
04
11
DATE AT MIDNIGHT
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

11
11
FIGURE AND CODE PANDORUM
RedRum
10
11
JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Happy When It Rains
09
11
3TEETH
Sell Your Face
08
11
MUSCLE AND MARROW
Ritual
07
11
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Electric Dreams
06
11
SOCIETY 1
It's Yours Now
05
11
DIVE
Far Away (Live)