tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

23/06/2013 : VANITY - Occult you

VANITY

Occult you

MusicCD
DoomNew wavePost PunkShoegaze

[90/100]   

Church Independent
23/06/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Church Independent is a brand new label and the first release is from VANITY, an Italian band including
members from Switzerland, Palestine and Italy. Their first full length album, OCCULT YOU, is inspired by European paganism and esoterism. According to the promo text, it's a challenging combination of Indie, New Wave and Gothic with fascinating vocals and shades of electronic and I must say that the pleasure is all mine! The album is very well produced by Lorenzo Montanà (Tying Tiffany).

Strangely enough, I think of a combination between Bush, Pearl Jam, Whispers in the shadow and Red Sun Revival when I listen to it. The album has a wide range of styles and that is in this case a good thing. I never got bored listening to it. Good job for a first record and even better than what some other bands achieve after numerous records.

'Sleeping Tears' has a typical 80's guitar sound and dito voice. Great hypnotic, melodic and sad sound.

It is followed by a softer song, 'Under Black Ice', almost overwhelming and enchanting. An occult mantra, with plenty of sadness in it.

'Ghosts' is the kind of song that works great on a stage, I love the energy! The guitars sway and scream and the drummer gets his turn. I love the little chant. Somehow I sense some metal influences in this one. Great one, again!

'Ruins' starts a bit slowly, but soon enough the guitars start to wake up. The breaks in the rhythm give it a bit of a spooky sound and somehow a bit of a floating feeling. You can feel the hate near to the end of the song, this is the part I love the most. It all sounds so true and the music blends in so well with the desperation in the voice.

'Pagan hearts' starts as if it's a new song from Bush (yeah, Gavin, you rule), but then the sound evolves a bit into another direction. One reflection hits me: this is not a pagan song as it rocks too much and has too much romance in it.

'Sun' starts nicely and reminds me of 'The open up and bleeds': punky, raw, energetic and going straight ahead. The breaking down of this vibe give you a bit of time to take some breath. Again there are some metal influences at the end and even some bossa nova. Hell yeah!

'Time's new romance' is a very nice one, a bit like Bush in a dark underground version, very melodic. This song really gets into your soul. Love it! It reminds me a bit of 'The open up and bleeds'. It's a bit more poppy than all the rest, but that's just a great change in the most positive way.

'Limbo in' is an instrumental, pretty electro wave. Could be used on a dance floor in a longer remix. Nice bass and synths. A bit strange to have it on this one, but it's a nice change.

'Occult you in' has a retro '80 sound, very synth-minded. I like the sound of 'The Essence', almost The Cure-minded (but with Bush's lead singer on vocals). It's a slow grower, but sooner or later it will conquer your heart, just give it some time and it will work. Nice sliding guitars distort a bit the dream kinda vibe.

'The Wanderer' explodes right from the start, nice metal guitar riffs and drums. A nice heater to end this great cd! I hope to see them soon on stage during a nice festival! They deserve it, for sure (more than others)!

https://www.facebook.com/VanityDoom?hc_location=stream

Filip VAN MUYLEM
23/06/2013


 

Next reviews
SYNTECH • Trans-Neptunian Objects
AUTODAFEH • Blackout Scenario
BORN FOR BLISS • Innocent (EP)
TECHNOIR • We came for love
THE EDEN HOUSE • Half Life
COVENANT • Last Dance
PSY'AVIAH • Future Past (EP)
.COM/KILL
ENDUSER / NEEDLE SHARING / TEKNOIST, THE • Enduser Shares Needles With The Teknoist
NIMON • Drowning In Good Intentions

 

Same genre: DOOM
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
HIGH FIGHTER • Scars and Crosses
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
ANTAGONIST ZERO • No Tears
AMBER ASYLUM • Sin Eater
ORGAN • Tetro
VICTORIENT • The Old Curiosity Shop
GJÖLL • The Background of Perpetual Discontent
MY DYING BRIDE • Feel The Misery

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
NEON TZIGANE • Del Wesh
WHISPERING SONS • Image
VEDA RAYS • For The Rest To Rest
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collection Of Shadows
THE EXPLODING BOY • Alarms!
A SLICE OF LIFE • Restless
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
NAUT • Raise The Lights
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
TEEN BRAINS • Translucent (EP)
NEWMOON • Space
FAUNA TWIN • The Hydra EP

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!
06
12
'Write When You Get Work': L.A. opening with special Q&A on December 7, 2018!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.
17
11
DAVE INOX
I Am Never One Hundred Percent Happy With The Result Of My Works

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
05
12
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked
04
12
BLUTENGEL
Soul Of Ice