tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

23/06/2013 : VANITY - Occult you

VANITY

Occult you

MusicCD
DoomNew wavePost PunkShoegaze

[90/100]   

Church Independent
23/06/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Church Independent is a brand new label and the first release is from VANITY, an Italian band including
members from Switzerland, Palestine and Italy. Their first full length album, OCCULT YOU, is inspired by European paganism and esoterism. According to the promo text, it's a challenging combination of Indie, New Wave and Gothic with fascinating vocals and shades of electronic and I must say that the pleasure is all mine! The album is very well produced by Lorenzo Montanà (Tying Tiffany).

Strangely enough, I think of a combination between Bush, Pearl Jam, Whispers in the shadow and Red Sun Revival when I listen to it. The album has a wide range of styles and that is in this case a good thing. I never got bored listening to it. Good job for a first record and even better than what some other bands achieve after numerous records.

'Sleeping Tears' has a typical 80's guitar sound and dito voice. Great hypnotic, melodic and sad sound.

It is followed by a softer song, 'Under Black Ice', almost overwhelming and enchanting. An occult mantra, with plenty of sadness in it.

'Ghosts' is the kind of song that works great on a stage, I love the energy! The guitars sway and scream and the drummer gets his turn. I love the little chant. Somehow I sense some metal influences in this one. Great one, again!

'Ruins' starts a bit slowly, but soon enough the guitars start to wake up. The breaks in the rhythm give it a bit of a spooky sound and somehow a bit of a floating feeling. You can feel the hate near to the end of the song, this is the part I love the most. It all sounds so true and the music blends in so well with the desperation in the voice.

'Pagan hearts' starts as if it's a new song from Bush (yeah, Gavin, you rule), but then the sound evolves a bit into another direction. One reflection hits me: this is not a pagan song as it rocks too much and has too much romance in it.

'Sun' starts nicely and reminds me of 'The open up and bleeds': punky, raw, energetic and going straight ahead. The breaking down of this vibe give you a bit of time to take some breath. Again there are some metal influences at the end and even some bossa nova. Hell yeah!

'Time's new romance' is a very nice one, a bit like Bush in a dark underground version, very melodic. This song really gets into your soul. Love it! It reminds me a bit of 'The open up and bleeds'. It's a bit more poppy than all the rest, but that's just a great change in the most positive way.

'Limbo in' is an instrumental, pretty electro wave. Could be used on a dance floor in a longer remix. Nice bass and synths. A bit strange to have it on this one, but it's a nice change.

'Occult you in' has a retro '80 sound, very synth-minded. I like the sound of 'The Essence', almost The Cure-minded (but with Bush's lead singer on vocals). It's a slow grower, but sooner or later it will conquer your heart, just give it some time and it will work. Nice sliding guitars distort a bit the dream kinda vibe.

'The Wanderer' explodes right from the start, nice metal guitar riffs and drums. A nice heater to end this great cd! I hope to see them soon on stage during a nice festival! They deserve it, for sure (more than others)!

https://www.facebook.com/VanityDoom?hc_location=stream

Filip VAN MUYLEM
23/06/2013


 

Next reviews
SYNTECH • Trans-Neptunian Objects
AUTODAFEH • Blackout Scenario
BORN FOR BLISS • Innocent (EP)
TECHNOIR • We came for love
THE EDEN HOUSE • Half Life
COVENANT • Last Dance
PSY'AVIAH • Future Past (EP)
.COM/KILL
ENDUSER / NEEDLE SHARING / TEKNOIST, THE • Enduser Shares Needles With The Teknoist
NIMON • Drowning In Good Intentions

 

Same genre: DOOM
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
HIGH FIGHTER • Scars and Crosses
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
ANTAGONIST ZERO • No Tears
AMBER ASYLUM • Sin Eater
ORGAN • Tetro
VICTORIENT • The Old Curiosity Shop
GJÖLL • The Background of Perpetual Discontent

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RINGFINGER • Pressure
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
THE BLACK WATCH • Magic Johnson
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SPC ECO • Fifteen
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
03
No Time To Cry since 36 years!
08
03
Today, exactly 27 years ago, American industrial band Nine Inch Nails released The Downward Spiral!
07
03
Electronic Act IMBUED VAGARY Releases 6 CD Project – “Hexalogy”
07
03
33 years ago the Drag Queen of the 20th Century, Divine, passed away!
07
03
41 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released the single 'Happy House'!
05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
03
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
07
03
MARSHEAUX
Eyes Without A Face
06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You