tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

23/06/2013 : VANITY - Occult you

VANITY

Occult you

MusicCD
DoomNew wavePost PunkShoegaze

[90/100]   

Church Independent
23/06/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Church Independent is a brand new label and the first release is from VANITY, an Italian band including
members from Switzerland, Palestine and Italy. Their first full length album, OCCULT YOU, is inspired by European paganism and esoterism. According to the promo text, it's a challenging combination of Indie, New Wave and Gothic with fascinating vocals and shades of electronic and I must say that the pleasure is all mine! The album is very well produced by Lorenzo Montanà (Tying Tiffany).

Strangely enough, I think of a combination between Bush, Pearl Jam, Whispers in the shadow and Red Sun Revival when I listen to it. The album has a wide range of styles and that is in this case a good thing. I never got bored listening to it. Good job for a first record and even better than what some other bands achieve after numerous records.

'Sleeping Tears' has a typical 80's guitar sound and dito voice. Great hypnotic, melodic and sad sound.

It is followed by a softer song, 'Under Black Ice', almost overwhelming and enchanting. An occult mantra, with plenty of sadness in it.

'Ghosts' is the kind of song that works great on a stage, I love the energy! The guitars sway and scream and the drummer gets his turn. I love the little chant. Somehow I sense some metal influences in this one. Great one, again!

'Ruins' starts a bit slowly, but soon enough the guitars start to wake up. The breaks in the rhythm give it a bit of a spooky sound and somehow a bit of a floating feeling. You can feel the hate near to the end of the song, this is the part I love the most. It all sounds so true and the music blends in so well with the desperation in the voice.

'Pagan hearts' starts as if it's a new song from Bush (yeah, Gavin, you rule), but then the sound evolves a bit into another direction. One reflection hits me: this is not a pagan song as it rocks too much and has too much romance in it.

'Sun' starts nicely and reminds me of 'The open up and bleeds': punky, raw, energetic and going straight ahead. The breaking down of this vibe give you a bit of time to take some breath. Again there are some metal influences at the end and even some bossa nova. Hell yeah!

'Time's new romance' is a very nice one, a bit like Bush in a dark underground version, very melodic. This song really gets into your soul. Love it! It reminds me a bit of 'The open up and bleeds'. It's a bit more poppy than all the rest, but that's just a great change in the most positive way.

'Limbo in' is an instrumental, pretty electro wave. Could be used on a dance floor in a longer remix. Nice bass and synths. A bit strange to have it on this one, but it's a nice change.

'Occult you in' has a retro '80 sound, very synth-minded. I like the sound of 'The Essence', almost The Cure-minded (but with Bush's lead singer on vocals). It's a slow grower, but sooner or later it will conquer your heart, just give it some time and it will work. Nice sliding guitars distort a bit the dream kinda vibe.

'The Wanderer' explodes right from the start, nice metal guitar riffs and drums. A nice heater to end this great cd! I hope to see them soon on stage during a nice festival! They deserve it, for sure (more than others)!

https://www.facebook.com/VanityDoom?hc_location=stream

Filip VAN MUYLEM
23/06/2013


 

Next reviews
SYNTECH • Trans-Neptunian Objects
AUTODAFEH • Blackout Scenario
BORN FOR BLISS • Innocent (EP)
TECHNOIR • We came for love
THE EDEN HOUSE • Half Life
COVENANT • Last Dance
PSY'AVIAH • Future Past (EP)
.COM/KILL
ENDUSER / NEEDLE SHARING / TEKNOIST, THE • Enduser Shares Needles With The Teknoist
NIMON • Drowning In Good Intentions

 

Same genre: DOOM
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
HIGH FIGHTER • Scars and Crosses
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
ANTAGONIST ZERO • No Tears
AMBER ASYLUM • Sin Eater
ORGAN • Tetro
VICTORIENT • The Old Curiosity Shop
GJÖLL • The Background of Perpetual Discontent
MY DYING BRIDE • Feel The Misery

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
VEDA RAYS • For The Rest To Rest
THE EXPLODING BOY • Alarms!
A SLICE OF LIFE • Restless
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
NAUT • Raise The Lights
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
MY BLOODY VALENTINE • LOVELESS
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
TEEN BRAINS • Translucent (EP)
NEWMOON • Space
FAUNA TWIN • The Hydra EP
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • The Perfect Enemy For God

Music reviews

22
10
VEDA RAYS
For The Rest To Rest
20
10
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS
Scalped
19
10
CHRIS WATSON
Locations Processed
18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Headlining USA East Coast Tour Dates
19
10
Ancient Greek folk ensemble DAEMONIA NYMPHE have announced the re-release of acclaimed album Psychostasia!
18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
10
DAVID J
Interview with David J
20
10
TRASH DEITY
Trash Dialog: An Interview With Groovie Mann & John Norton of Trash Deity
19
10
SONOLOGYST
A ‘Vertical’ Approach To Music
18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!

PHOTOS

23
10
VNV NATION + HOLYGRAM
De Casino - St. Niklaas
16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
10
CRASH COURSE IN SCIENCE
Flying Turns (Live @ BIM 2009)
22
10
ADULT.
Heartbreak (Live @ MOOGFEST SOUND LAB)
21
10
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
20
10
RROYCE
The Principle Of Grace
19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?