tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

23/06/2013 : VANITY - Occult you

VANITY

Occult you

MusicCD
DoomNew wavePost PunkShoegaze

[90/100]   

Church Independent
23/06/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Church Independent is a brand new label and the first release is from VANITY, an Italian band including
members from Switzerland, Palestine and Italy. Their first full length album, OCCULT YOU, is inspired by European paganism and esoterism. According to the promo text, it's a challenging combination of Indie, New Wave and Gothic with fascinating vocals and shades of electronic and I must say that the pleasure is all mine! The album is very well produced by Lorenzo Montanà (Tying Tiffany).

Strangely enough, I think of a combination between Bush, Pearl Jam, Whispers in the shadow and Red Sun Revival when I listen to it. The album has a wide range of styles and that is in this case a good thing. I never got bored listening to it. Good job for a first record and even better than what some other bands achieve after numerous records.

'Sleeping Tears' has a typical 80's guitar sound and dito voice. Great hypnotic, melodic and sad sound.

It is followed by a softer song, 'Under Black Ice', almost overwhelming and enchanting. An occult mantra, with plenty of sadness in it.

'Ghosts' is the kind of song that works great on a stage, I love the energy! The guitars sway and scream and the drummer gets his turn. I love the little chant. Somehow I sense some metal influences in this one. Great one, again!

'Ruins' starts a bit slowly, but soon enough the guitars start to wake up. The breaks in the rhythm give it a bit of a spooky sound and somehow a bit of a floating feeling. You can feel the hate near to the end of the song, this is the part I love the most. It all sounds so true and the music blends in so well with the desperation in the voice.

'Pagan hearts' starts as if it's a new song from Bush (yeah, Gavin, you rule), but then the sound evolves a bit into another direction. One reflection hits me: this is not a pagan song as it rocks too much and has too much romance in it.

'Sun' starts nicely and reminds me of 'The open up and bleeds': punky, raw, energetic and going straight ahead. The breaking down of this vibe give you a bit of time to take some breath. Again there are some metal influences at the end and even some bossa nova. Hell yeah!

'Time's new romance' is a very nice one, a bit like Bush in a dark underground version, very melodic. This song really gets into your soul. Love it! It reminds me a bit of 'The open up and bleeds'. It's a bit more poppy than all the rest, but that's just a great change in the most positive way.

'Limbo in' is an instrumental, pretty electro wave. Could be used on a dance floor in a longer remix. Nice bass and synths. A bit strange to have it on this one, but it's a nice change.

'Occult you in' has a retro '80 sound, very synth-minded. I like the sound of 'The Essence', almost The Cure-minded (but with Bush's lead singer on vocals). It's a slow grower, but sooner or later it will conquer your heart, just give it some time and it will work. Nice sliding guitars distort a bit the dream kinda vibe.

'The Wanderer' explodes right from the start, nice metal guitar riffs and drums. A nice heater to end this great cd! I hope to see them soon on stage during a nice festival! They deserve it, for sure (more than others)!

https://www.facebook.com/VanityDoom?hc_location=stream

Filip VAN MUYLEM
23/06/2013


 

Next reviews
SYNTECH • Trans-Neptunian Objects
AUTODAFEH • Blackout Scenario
BORN FOR BLISS • Innocent (EP)
TECHNOIR • We came for love
THE EDEN HOUSE • Half Life
COVENANT • Last Dance
PSY'AVIAH • Future Past (EP)
.COM/KILL
ENDUSER / NEEDLE SHARING / TEKNOIST, THE • Enduser Shares Needles With The Teknoist
NIMON • Drowning In Good Intentions

 

Same genre: DOOM
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
HIGH FIGHTER • Scars and Crosses
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
ANTAGONIST ZERO • No Tears
AMBER ASYLUM • Sin Eater
ORGAN • Tetro
VICTORIENT • The Old Curiosity Shop
GJÖLL • The Background of Perpetual Discontent
MY DYING BRIDE • Feel The Misery

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
NAUT • Raise The Lights
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
STRUGGLER • The Gap
A.D. MANA • A.D. Mana
SUPERNOVA 1006 • Unique World
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Oceans

 

Same genre: SHOEGAZE
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
TEEN BRAINS • Translucent (EP)
NEWMOON • Space
FAUNA TWIN • The Hydra EP
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • The Perfect Enemy For God
MINOR VICTORIES • Minor Victories
BEYOND SOUL • Passion Black Dimension
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Mademoiselle

Music reviews

09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
09
08
REACTOR7X
And Chaos Bacame The New Order
01
08
ANNINA MELISSA
Exhibition of Death
31
07
CRIMEN
Silent Animals
26
07
VIOLENCE
Le Flux de la Nature
22
07
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
James Ray (The voice from The Sisterhood) returns with brand new album, band and musical style change!
02
08
This month, 35 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
30
07
'Anything' movie: UK digital release on August, 6th!
25
07
Spacelab revisited! ISS calls Kraftwerk from outer Space!
25
07
'Locating Silver Lake' screening at Breckenridge Film Festival in September!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'
03
08
LIZARD SMILE
'I still see it as the expression of appreciation par excellence to buy a physical album. It still remains more ‘real’ … one way or another.'
29
07
SN-A
I Also Love Telling Stories Without Words
27
07
STIN SCATZOR
I never could have thought Stin Scatzor would ever release an album on DAFT Records!

PHOTOS

16
08
16
08
BAUHAUS
W-Fest Amougies
12
08
12
08
GARY NUMAN
Lokerse Feesten
01
08
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Amphi
01
08
PERSEPHONE
Amphi
01
08
MAD SIN
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
08
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
16
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
15
08
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
15
08
NEW ORDER
Restless
15
08
JO QUAIL
Gold (live)
15
08
SIXTH JUNE
Drowning
14
08
ASHRAM
Maria and the violin's string