tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

16/12/2011 : SYNTECH - P'som-Sett

SYNTECH

P'som-Sett

MusicCD
Industrial

[80/100]   

Hands Productions
16/12/2011, Chris KONINGS

One of the newer bands on Hands, Steffen Lehmann has nonetheless more fame with his heavy, rhythmic industrial project Greyhound, good for already four albums on Hands. Slow but relentlessly pounding rhythms are what Greyhound is all about and this can also be heard on Syntech.

The extra dimension are the tribal and old school percussions that accompany these throbbing beats. Sometimes the percussions are wild and chaotic, a reminder of old Test Dept or SPK ("Blackest Night Sirens", "Congenial Spirit", "Dying Of Forest"). When the tribal character stands out you could compare it to the more rhythmic songs (not the dark ambient) of Empusae ("Phraa Jaan Naak", "Phi Ton Mai", "Wacah Chan").

Proving the high standard: despite being almost 80 minutes long, the CD never gets boring. There are enough subtle changes in the music to keep you interested, various layers of sound, ensuring there is a lot to be discovered! For instance, "Shy" has a French feel about it with some hints of a saxophone, the calmer ambient rhythms in"Whiteout" are a sharp contrast with the last song, the very energetic bomb "It Is Not My Problem".

Live Steffen gets support from Ben Lukas Boysen of ambient/idm/dubstep band Hecq. The cover is as usual by Nicola Bork. Sometimes his artwork can be predictable but here he creates a very fitting image for this soundtrack of a destroyed and hostile planet.

Highly recommended!

Hands Productions

Chris KONINGS
16/12/2011


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?