tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

16/12/2011 : NORTHERN SADNESS - Riddles Of Lunacy

NORTHERN SADNESS

Riddles Of Lunacy

MusicCD
DarkwaveFuturepopSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[79/100]   

Echozone
16/12/2011, Didier PIETERS

EN

Sadness? Not quite!

2 guys from Bruges signing a contract with Echozone? Not your everyday stuff. It is a fact that they easily could be mistaken for a German (Swedish) band. And I guess it’s no coincidence they are scoring in the charts over there (number 1, Radio Dark Dimensions). There’s a huge market for this kind of music in Germany …

Northern Sadness is a duo featuring Koen De Brabander (lead and backing vocals, Commodore 64) and Philippe Lefief (backing vocals, keyboards and drum programming). They are active since 2010 and “Riddles Of Lunacy” is their debut album. At least one of them was formerly involved with Dead Poets.

Let’s have a look at the CD now … My favorite riddles? “All This Noise” for starters, a sublime intro followed by delicious noise. The single “Out Of Mind” of course, another great intro (minimal synth) followed by “poppy” electro of superior quality! Also the catchy “To The Empty Fields” is worth mentioning. “2nd Hand Girl” follows an industrial route briefly and then takes a broad synth-pop highway. A nice drive people, be assured! The best song on “Riddles Of Lunacy”? Maybe “And What To Believe”, “vaguely” reminding us of Covenant … Solid foundations, tasteful furniture, Northern Sadness is standing strong!

Sounds like? I think Koen and Philippe are into bands / artists like Depeche Mode, Gary Numan, John Carpenter, Fad Gadget, Covenant, The Arch and Diary Of Dreams.

14 songs, 13 interesting and appealing riddles. And I must say I’m looking forward to the next album of these gentleman … Nothing negative to mention here? As far as I’m concerned they shouldn’t have put that crappy version of “I Can’t Live In A Living Room” (Red Zebra) on the album. Bad points for the so-called Test Team! 

Nevertheless: Northern Sadness rules! Thank you Koen, thank you Philippe, Godspeed! If you guys are in the mood for an interview, just let us know. We’ll be more than happy to accommodate you!

Newsflash!...Northern…Sadness…plays…live…on…April…27th…2012…at…the…SeaWave…festival…together…with…Belgium’s…finest…Der…Klinke…The…Breath…Of…Life…Thieves…Of…Silence…and…Perverted…By…Language…15…Euro…Bredene!

Didier PIETERS
16/12/2011


NL

Sadness? Not Quite!

Bruggelingen met een contract bij Echozone. Niet alledaags … Als je hun CD zonder enige voorkennis beluisterd zou je overigens eerder denken aan een Duitse groep. Het zal wel geen toeval zijn dat Northern Sadness hoog scoort in de Duitse Radio Dark Dimensions charts (op nummer 1, jawel). Er is daar een gigantische markt voor dit soort muziek, dat kon ik deze zomer nog met eigen ogen vaststellen op het Amphi Festival in Keulen.

Northern Sadness is een duo bestaande uit de heren De Brabander (Koen) en Lefief (Philippe) met een verleden bij onder andere de Dead Poets. NS is actief sinds 2010.

De CD dan maar … Mijn lievelingsraadseltjes? “All This Noise”: een sublieme intro gevolgd door prachtig lawaai … “Out Of Mind”: nog een grandioze (minimal synth) intro en “poppy” elektro van topkwaliteit … bliep … bliep … we gaan hier volledig uit ons dak! Ook het catchy “To The Empty Fields” verdient een eervolle vermelding! “2nd Hand Girl” volgt kort een industriële route die al snel overgaat in een brede synthpop-weg, mooi … En de beste song op “Riddles Of Lunacy? Misschien wel het “vaag” naar Covenant neigende “And What To Believe”? Wat een vraag …WAT EEN CD!

Solide funderingen, oog voor detail, hoge graad van afwerking, mooi behang, smaakvolle tapijten, sfeervolle verlichting … Northern Sadness komt van goeden huize, dat heeft u inmiddels al door!

Klinkt als? Het is een wilde gok maar ik denk dat de heren K. en P. fan zijn van Depeche Mode, Gary Numan, John Carpenter, Fad Gadget, Covenant, The Arch en Diary Of Dreams, om maar een paar namen te noemen. Ik kan me ook vergissen natuurlijk …

14 songs, 14 raadseltjes, puzzels die soms wonderwel in mekaar passen. Ik kijk alvast uit naar het vervolg van dit prille verhaal. Niks negatiefs te melden? Die lullige Red Zebra cover hadden ze beter gelaten! Slechte punten voor het zogenaamde “Test Team”. Maar oordeelt u vooral zelf …

Brugge staat weer op de kaart en Northern Sadness “Rules” tot ver over de Rijn! Dank u Koen en dank u Philippe zeggen we dan! Als jullie zin hebben in een interview, laat ons iets weten! En terwijl we toch (geïmporteerde) Bruggelingen aan het bedanken zijn, dank u Herr Daum, voor de 15 op 15!

Nog een concerttip om mee te besluiten. Op 27 april 2012 speelt Northern Sadness ten dans op het SeaWave festival in Bredene, samen met ander schoon (Belgisch) volk: The Breath Of Life, Der Klinke, Thieves Of Silence en Perverted By Language … Een mooie affiche en slechts 15 Euro, dus allen daarheen!

Didier PIETERS
16/12/2011


Music reviews

31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record
19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis
18
10
NEW MODEL ARMY
From Here

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER
10
11
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2020 releases third band wave with Mesh, Zeromancer & many more
09
11
UK Gothic Rock Band HER DESPAIR Release Official Music Video for 'The Exorcism' - New EP, Exorcisms Of Eroticism due November 22nd
08
11
Bauhaus' David J announces 'Missive to an Angel from the Halls of Infamy and Allure' LP and Euro/UK tour!
07
11
Today it’s been exactly 28 years since Industrial/Metal band Ministry released Jesus Built My Hotrod!
07
11
Today it’s exactly 30 years since Industrial/Metal band Ministry released Burning Inside!

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
05
11
THEN COMES SILENCE
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
05
11
MODELE MARTIAL
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
04
11
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
04
11
DATE AT MIDNIGHT
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

12
11
STOCKHAUSSEN
Mi siniestro
11
11
FIGURE AND CODE PANDORUM
RedRum
10
11
JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Happy When It Rains
09
11
3TEETH
Sell Your Face
08
11
MUSCLE AND MARROW
Ritual
07
11
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Electric Dreams
06
11
SOCIETY 1
It's Yours Now