tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

16/12/2011 : NORTHERN SADNESS - Riddles Of Lunacy

NORTHERN SADNESS

Riddles Of Lunacy

MusicCD
DarkwaveFuturepopSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[79/100]   

Echozone
16/12/2011, Didier PIETERS

EN

Sadness? Not quite!

2 guys from Bruges signing a contract with Echozone? Not your everyday stuff. It is a fact that they easily could be mistaken for a German (Swedish) band. And I guess it’s no coincidence they are scoring in the charts over there (number 1, Radio Dark Dimensions). There’s a huge market for this kind of music in Germany …

Northern Sadness is a duo featuring Koen De Brabander (lead and backing vocals, Commodore 64) and Philippe Lefief (backing vocals, keyboards and drum programming). They are active since 2010 and “Riddles Of Lunacy” is their debut album. At least one of them was formerly involved with Dead Poets.

Let’s have a look at the CD now … My favorite riddles? “All This Noise” for starters, a sublime intro followed by delicious noise. The single “Out Of Mind” of course, another great intro (minimal synth) followed by “poppy” electro of superior quality! Also the catchy “To The Empty Fields” is worth mentioning. “2nd Hand Girl” follows an industrial route briefly and then takes a broad synth-pop highway. A nice drive people, be assured! The best song on “Riddles Of Lunacy”? Maybe “And What To Believe”, “vaguely” reminding us of Covenant … Solid foundations, tasteful furniture, Northern Sadness is standing strong!

Sounds like? I think Koen and Philippe are into bands / artists like Depeche Mode, Gary Numan, John Carpenter, Fad Gadget, Covenant, The Arch and Diary Of Dreams.

14 songs, 13 interesting and appealing riddles. And I must say I’m looking forward to the next album of these gentleman … Nothing negative to mention here? As far as I’m concerned they shouldn’t have put that crappy version of “I Can’t Live In A Living Room” (Red Zebra) on the album. Bad points for the so-called Test Team! 

Nevertheless: Northern Sadness rules! Thank you Koen, thank you Philippe, Godspeed! If you guys are in the mood for an interview, just let us know. We’ll be more than happy to accommodate you!

Newsflash!...Northern…Sadness…plays…live…on…April…27th…2012…at…the…SeaWave…festival…together…with…Belgium’s…finest…Der…Klinke…The…Breath…Of…Life…Thieves…Of…Silence…and…Perverted…By…Language…15…Euro…Bredene!

Didier PIETERS
16/12/2011


NL

Sadness? Not Quite!

Bruggelingen met een contract bij Echozone. Niet alledaags … Als je hun CD zonder enige voorkennis beluisterd zou je overigens eerder denken aan een Duitse groep. Het zal wel geen toeval zijn dat Northern Sadness hoog scoort in de Duitse Radio Dark Dimensions charts (op nummer 1, jawel). Er is daar een gigantische markt voor dit soort muziek, dat kon ik deze zomer nog met eigen ogen vaststellen op het Amphi Festival in Keulen.

Northern Sadness is een duo bestaande uit de heren De Brabander (Koen) en Lefief (Philippe) met een verleden bij onder andere de Dead Poets. NS is actief sinds 2010.

De CD dan maar … Mijn lievelingsraadseltjes? “All This Noise”: een sublieme intro gevolgd door prachtig lawaai … “Out Of Mind”: nog een grandioze (minimal synth) intro en “poppy” elektro van topkwaliteit … bliep … bliep … we gaan hier volledig uit ons dak! Ook het catchy “To The Empty Fields” verdient een eervolle vermelding! “2nd Hand Girl” volgt kort een industriële route die al snel overgaat in een brede synthpop-weg, mooi … En de beste song op “Riddles Of Lunacy? Misschien wel het “vaag” naar Covenant neigende “And What To Believe”? Wat een vraag …WAT EEN CD!

Solide funderingen, oog voor detail, hoge graad van afwerking, mooi behang, smaakvolle tapijten, sfeervolle verlichting … Northern Sadness komt van goeden huize, dat heeft u inmiddels al door!

Klinkt als? Het is een wilde gok maar ik denk dat de heren K. en P. fan zijn van Depeche Mode, Gary Numan, John Carpenter, Fad Gadget, Covenant, The Arch en Diary Of Dreams, om maar een paar namen te noemen. Ik kan me ook vergissen natuurlijk …

14 songs, 14 raadseltjes, puzzels die soms wonderwel in mekaar passen. Ik kijk alvast uit naar het vervolg van dit prille verhaal. Niks negatiefs te melden? Die lullige Red Zebra cover hadden ze beter gelaten! Slechte punten voor het zogenaamde “Test Team”. Maar oordeelt u vooral zelf …

Brugge staat weer op de kaart en Northern Sadness “Rules” tot ver over de Rijn! Dank u Koen en dank u Philippe zeggen we dan! Als jullie zin hebben in een interview, laat ons iets weten! En terwijl we toch (geïmporteerde) Bruggelingen aan het bedanken zijn, dank u Herr Daum, voor de 15 op 15!

Nog een concerttip om mee te besluiten. Op 27 april 2012 speelt Northern Sadness ten dans op het SeaWave festival in Bredene, samen met ander schoon (Belgisch) volk: The Breath Of Life, Der Klinke, Thieves Of Silence en Perverted By Language … Een mooie affiche en slechts 15 Euro, dus allen daarheen!

Didier PIETERS
16/12/2011


Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)