tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

16/12/2011 : NORTHERN SADNESS - Riddles Of Lunacy

NORTHERN SADNESS

Riddles Of Lunacy

MusicCD
DarkwaveFuturepopSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[79/100]   

Echozone
16/12/2011, Didier PIETERS

EN

Sadness? Not quite!

2 guys from Bruges signing a contract with Echozone? Not your everyday stuff. It is a fact that they easily could be mistaken for a German (Swedish) band. And I guess it’s no coincidence they are scoring in the charts over there (number 1, Radio Dark Dimensions). There’s a huge market for this kind of music in Germany …

Northern Sadness is a duo featuring Koen De Brabander (lead and backing vocals, Commodore 64) and Philippe Lefief (backing vocals, keyboards and drum programming). They are active since 2010 and “Riddles Of Lunacy” is their debut album. At least one of them was formerly involved with Dead Poets.

Let’s have a look at the CD now … My favorite riddles? “All This Noise” for starters, a sublime intro followed by delicious noise. The single “Out Of Mind” of course, another great intro (minimal synth) followed by “poppy” electro of superior quality! Also the catchy “To The Empty Fields” is worth mentioning. “2nd Hand Girl” follows an industrial route briefly and then takes a broad synth-pop highway. A nice drive people, be assured! The best song on “Riddles Of Lunacy”? Maybe “And What To Believe”, “vaguely” reminding us of Covenant … Solid foundations, tasteful furniture, Northern Sadness is standing strong!

Sounds like? I think Koen and Philippe are into bands / artists like Depeche Mode, Gary Numan, John Carpenter, Fad Gadget, Covenant, The Arch and Diary Of Dreams.

14 songs, 13 interesting and appealing riddles. And I must say I’m looking forward to the next album of these gentleman … Nothing negative to mention here? As far as I’m concerned they shouldn’t have put that crappy version of “I Can’t Live In A Living Room” (Red Zebra) on the album. Bad points for the so-called Test Team! 

Nevertheless: Northern Sadness rules! Thank you Koen, thank you Philippe, Godspeed! If you guys are in the mood for an interview, just let us know. We’ll be more than happy to accommodate you!

Newsflash!...Northern…Sadness…plays…live…on…April…27th…2012…at…the…SeaWave…festival…together…with…Belgium’s…finest…Der…Klinke…The…Breath…Of…Life…Thieves…Of…Silence…and…Perverted…By…Language…15…Euro…Bredene!

Didier PIETERS
16/12/2011


NL

Sadness? Not Quite!

Bruggelingen met een contract bij Echozone. Niet alledaags … Als je hun CD zonder enige voorkennis beluisterd zou je overigens eerder denken aan een Duitse groep. Het zal wel geen toeval zijn dat Northern Sadness hoog scoort in de Duitse Radio Dark Dimensions charts (op nummer 1, jawel). Er is daar een gigantische markt voor dit soort muziek, dat kon ik deze zomer nog met eigen ogen vaststellen op het Amphi Festival in Keulen.

Northern Sadness is een duo bestaande uit de heren De Brabander (Koen) en Lefief (Philippe) met een verleden bij onder andere de Dead Poets. NS is actief sinds 2010.

De CD dan maar … Mijn lievelingsraadseltjes? “All This Noise”: een sublieme intro gevolgd door prachtig lawaai … “Out Of Mind”: nog een grandioze (minimal synth) intro en “poppy” elektro van topkwaliteit … bliep … bliep … we gaan hier volledig uit ons dak! Ook het catchy “To The Empty Fields” verdient een eervolle vermelding! “2nd Hand Girl” volgt kort een industriële route die al snel overgaat in een brede synthpop-weg, mooi … En de beste song op “Riddles Of Lunacy? Misschien wel het “vaag” naar Covenant neigende “And What To Believe”? Wat een vraag …WAT EEN CD!

Solide funderingen, oog voor detail, hoge graad van afwerking, mooi behang, smaakvolle tapijten, sfeervolle verlichting … Northern Sadness komt van goeden huize, dat heeft u inmiddels al door!

Klinkt als? Het is een wilde gok maar ik denk dat de heren K. en P. fan zijn van Depeche Mode, Gary Numan, John Carpenter, Fad Gadget, Covenant, The Arch en Diary Of Dreams, om maar een paar namen te noemen. Ik kan me ook vergissen natuurlijk …

14 songs, 14 raadseltjes, puzzels die soms wonderwel in mekaar passen. Ik kijk alvast uit naar het vervolg van dit prille verhaal. Niks negatiefs te melden? Die lullige Red Zebra cover hadden ze beter gelaten! Slechte punten voor het zogenaamde “Test Team”. Maar oordeelt u vooral zelf …

Brugge staat weer op de kaart en Northern Sadness “Rules” tot ver over de Rijn! Dank u Koen en dank u Philippe zeggen we dan! Als jullie zin hebben in een interview, laat ons iets weten! En terwijl we toch (geïmporteerde) Bruggelingen aan het bedanken zijn, dank u Herr Daum, voor de 15 op 15!

Nog een concerttip om mee te besluiten. Op 27 april 2012 speelt Northern Sadness ten dans op het SeaWave festival in Bredene, samen met ander schoon (Belgisch) volk: The Breath Of Life, Der Klinke, Thieves Of Silence en Perverted By Language … Een mooie affiche en slechts 15 Euro, dus allen daarheen!

Didier PIETERS
16/12/2011


Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!
21
01
Today, exactly 27 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
20
01
THE LEGENDARY PINK DOTS 40th ANNIVERSARY EUROPEAN TOUR
20
01
Peek-a-Boo Magazine # 36 - Out Now!
19
01
On this day, 29 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses