tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

06/07/2013 : CHRISTIAN WOLZ - WOLZ

CHRISTIAN WOLZ

WOLZ

MusicCD
Avant-gardeExperimentalPsychedelicUnclassifiable

[90/100]   

Self-released
06/07/2013, Ward DE PRINS

EN

Vocal Artist Christian Wolz celebrates his 25th anniversary as an artist in 2013. A birthday which is celebrated by three activities: the release of this 'best of', a special concert in October in Berlin, and a recording of this concert as a live album.

For those who do not know Wolz. In the past he was often (also by myself) described as the male Diamanda Galas. In retrospect not the best comparison. Although he is a vocal artist, unlike Diamanda he is not afraid to experiment, he still rather builds sound- and mood-impressions than classic songs, and this almost always in a fictional language (or merely with sounds).

Anyway, for this 25th anniversary there now is this 'best-of' album. Although, it's not strictly a Best Of, since Wolz chose to self-evaluate his back catalog to create new, contemporary songs, but with influences from a period of 25 great years of artistic creations.

25 years, 25 impressions, 25 songs.

After a fairly quiet intro, Isobella is the first that grabs me by the throat. His slow lament against an intoxicating soundwall reminds me of the mysterious atmosphere and scene from Eyes Wide Shut, where Tom Cruise wanders through a big mansion, observing a mesmerizing orgy.

Sul Eyan is yet another number where the incantatory vocals of Wolz is accompanied by a demonic narrative voice, creating an oppressive feeling of unease (and yet so beautiful and captivating).

Shouting, screaming and demonic vocals also form the backbone for Voxanium I, where the multiple vocals overwhelm you with a great surrounding effect. The atmosphere approaches a live performance of Wolz, when he createst this effect by alternately singing in multiple microphones. An effect that he also uses in the majestic Aldemarin.

Syco begins with a charming children's tune but grows into a great apotheosis with extremely low to extremely high singing and screaming. Delicious.

In Voxanium II he illustrates how silence and whispering can create a mesmerizing sound, but without hesitation Angelos Narrat II follows with an almost demonic impression of a baroque castrato against a background of choral sound and hypnotic synths.

No song on this album is below standard, and despite the diversity there still is a perfect cohesion, resulting in a captivating listening session.

And suddenly you are over 25 songs further and you hear the outro. Similar to the intro, it breathes serenity and tranquility. But once again, Mr. Wolz's twisted mind prevails and after a silent period some final screams, curses, sizzling, gasping and fantastic vocals create a stunning climax to this album.

So now you only need to plan the following 3 steps:

a) Buy this album

b) Go to his special performance in Berlin

c) Support his fundraising project for the release of a live album of the concert

Ward DE PRINS
06/07/2013




NL

Stemartiest Christian Wolz viert in 2013 zijn 25 jarig artiestenbestaan. Een verjaardag waarbij wordt stilgestaan met 3 activiteiten: deze ‘best of’, een speciaal concert in oktober in Berlijn, en de registratie daarvan als een live-album.

Voor degenen die Wolz niet kennen. In het verleden werd hij vaak (ook door mij) omschreven als de mannelijke Diamanda Galas. Bij nader inzien niet de beste vergelijking. Hij is weliswaar stemartiest, maar in tegenstelling tot Diamanda schuwt hij nog steeds het experiment niet, bouwt hij eerder klank- en stemming-impressies dan klassieke songs, en dit quasi altijd in een fictieve taal (of louter met klanken).

Maar goed, als 25 jarig bestaan is er nu dus dit ‘best-of’ album. Maar ook daarmee zet ik je weer op een verkeerd been, want Wolz koos ervoor om zijn oeuvre zelf te evalueren en uit de diverse songs uit zijn backcatalogus nieuwe songs te creëren, eigentijds, maar met verwerkte invloeden uit een periode van 25 jaren.

25 jaren, 25 impressies, 25 songs.

Na een vrij rustige intro is Isobella de eerste impressie die me naar de keel grijpt. Zijn trage klaagzang tegen een bezwerend geluidsbehang roept voor mij de mysterieuze sfeer en scene uit Eyes Wide Shut op, waar Tom Cruise rondwaart in een grote villa en daar een bezwerende orgie gadeslaat.

Sul Eyan is nog zo een nummer waar de bewerende zang van Wolz meerlagig en begeleidt door een demonisch verhalende stem een beklemmend gevoelen van onbehagen oproept (en langs de andere kant toch weer zo mooi en beklijvend is).

Roepen, krijsen en demonische zang vormen ook de leidraad doorheen Voxanium I, waarbij de stemmen je met fantastisch surround effect overweldigen. De sfeer benadert een live-performance van Wolz, waarbij hij door afwisselend te zingen in meerdere microfoons dit effect oproept. Een effect dat hij ook in het magistrale Aldemarin gebruikt.

Syco begint dan weer met een lieflijk kinderdeuntje maar groeit op zijn beurt uit tot een grote apotheose waarbij Christian van uiterst laag tot uiterst hoog alle registers al zingend en krijsend opentrekt. Heerlijk.

In Voxanium II illustreert hij hoe stilte en fluisteren toch uitermate bezwerend kunnen werken om nadien in Angelos Narrat II probleemloos een demonische impressie van een barokke castraatstem neer te zetten tegen een geluidsbehang van bezwerend getokkel en ditto koorgezang.

Geen enkele song op deze creatie is ondermaats, en de diversiteit heeft toch een enorme samenhang, waardoor het je meesleurt op een beklijvende luistersessie en de intrigerende impressies elkaar maar blijven opvolgen.

En plots ben je dan 25 songs verder en hoor je, de outro, gelijkaardig aan de intro om in alle rust, sereniteit en kalmte te eindigen. Maar ook hier houd ik weer geen rekening met Mister Wolz die na enige stilte met gekrijs, bezweringen, gehis, gehijg en fantastische zang een prachtig orgelpunt op dit werk zet.

Nu rest er jullie allen nog maar 3 dingen te doen:

a) Koop dit album

b) Ga naar zijn special performance in Berlijn

c) Steun zijn fundraising project voor het uitbrengen van een live-album van dat concert

Ward DE PRINS
06/07/2013




 

Next reviews
THE ARCH • Beating The Balance
DEATH VALLEY SCARS • Suicide, Sex and Suffering
EDITORS • The Weight Of Your Love
VASELYNE • The Fire Within
ESSENCE OF MIND • Escape (EP)
VANITY • Occult you
SYNTECH • Trans-Neptunian Objects
AUTODAFEH • Blackout Scenario
BORN FOR BLISS • Innocent (EP)
TECHNOIR • We came for love

 

Other reviews from CHRISTIAN WOLZ
CHRISTIAN WOLZ • La Fore
CHRISTIAN WOLZ • Ecencia
CHRISTIAN WOLZ • Emotion15

 

Same genre: AVANT-GARDE
MIKE SOPKO, BILL LASWELL, TYSHAWN SOREY • On Common Ground
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree
MCHNRY • The Shape
CHELSEY AND THE NOISE • Losing Landscapes EP
HEDERA HELIX • Pastiche
DEUTSCH NEPAL • Dystopian Partycollection II

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West

 

Same genre: UNCLASSIFIABLE
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
FANTASTIQUE.NIGHT XLVII • MOLLY NILSSON, MARY OCHER, MENAGE A TROIS, RODOLPHE COSTER
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ni D'Eve Ni D'Adam
MONSTER YOUTH • Lost Dream, Cool Fire
TUXEDOMOON • CLASSICS: At Twilight
THE THE • CLASSICS : Soul Mining
XTC • CLASSICS: Skylarking (Corrected)
THE FALL • Creative Distortion
BROWN REINIGER BODSON • Clear Tears, Troubled Waters
APHEX TWIN • Syro

Music reviews

15
04
IN ABSENTIA
Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )
05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
04
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO