tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

06/07/2013 : CHRISTIAN WOLZ - WOLZ

CHRISTIAN WOLZ

WOLZ

MusicCD
Avant-gardeExperimentalPsychedelicUnclassifiable

[90/100]   

Self-released
06/07/2013, Ward DE PRINS

EN

Vocal Artist Christian Wolz celebrates his 25th anniversary as an artist in 2013. A birthday which is celebrated by three activities: the release of this 'best of', a special concert in October in Berlin, and a recording of this concert as a live album.

For those who do not know Wolz. In the past he was often (also by myself) described as the male Diamanda Galas. In retrospect not the best comparison. Although he is a vocal artist, unlike Diamanda he is not afraid to experiment, he still rather builds sound- and mood-impressions than classic songs, and this almost always in a fictional language (or merely with sounds).

Anyway, for this 25th anniversary there now is this 'best-of' album. Although, it's not strictly a Best Of, since Wolz chose to self-evaluate his back catalog to create new, contemporary songs, but with influences from a period of 25 great years of artistic creations.

25 years, 25 impressions, 25 songs.

After a fairly quiet intro, Isobella is the first that grabs me by the throat. His slow lament against an intoxicating soundwall reminds me of the mysterious atmosphere and scene from Eyes Wide Shut, where Tom Cruise wanders through a big mansion, observing a mesmerizing orgy.

Sul Eyan is yet another number where the incantatory vocals of Wolz is accompanied by a demonic narrative voice, creating an oppressive feeling of unease (and yet so beautiful and captivating).

Shouting, screaming and demonic vocals also form the backbone for Voxanium I, where the multiple vocals overwhelm you with a great surrounding effect. The atmosphere approaches a live performance of Wolz, when he createst this effect by alternately singing in multiple microphones. An effect that he also uses in the majestic Aldemarin.

Syco begins with a charming children's tune but grows into a great apotheosis with extremely low to extremely high singing and screaming. Delicious.

In Voxanium II he illustrates how silence and whispering can create a mesmerizing sound, but without hesitation Angelos Narrat II follows with an almost demonic impression of a baroque castrato against a background of choral sound and hypnotic synths.

No song on this album is below standard, and despite the diversity there still is a perfect cohesion, resulting in a captivating listening session.

And suddenly you are over 25 songs further and you hear the outro. Similar to the intro, it breathes serenity and tranquility. But once again, Mr. Wolz's twisted mind prevails and after a silent period some final screams, curses, sizzling, gasping and fantastic vocals create a stunning climax to this album.

So now you only need to plan the following 3 steps:

a) Buy this album

b) Go to his special performance in Berlin

c) Support his fundraising project for the release of a live album of the concert

Ward DE PRINS
06/07/2013




NL

Stemartiest Christian Wolz viert in 2013 zijn 25 jarig artiestenbestaan. Een verjaardag waarbij wordt stilgestaan met 3 activiteiten: deze ‘best of’, een speciaal concert in oktober in Berlijn, en de registratie daarvan als een live-album.

Voor degenen die Wolz niet kennen. In het verleden werd hij vaak (ook door mij) omschreven als de mannelijke Diamanda Galas. Bij nader inzien niet de beste vergelijking. Hij is weliswaar stemartiest, maar in tegenstelling tot Diamanda schuwt hij nog steeds het experiment niet, bouwt hij eerder klank- en stemming-impressies dan klassieke songs, en dit quasi altijd in een fictieve taal (of louter met klanken).

Maar goed, als 25 jarig bestaan is er nu dus dit ‘best-of’ album. Maar ook daarmee zet ik je weer op een verkeerd been, want Wolz koos ervoor om zijn oeuvre zelf te evalueren en uit de diverse songs uit zijn backcatalogus nieuwe songs te creëren, eigentijds, maar met verwerkte invloeden uit een periode van 25 jaren.

25 jaren, 25 impressies, 25 songs.

Na een vrij rustige intro is Isobella de eerste impressie die me naar de keel grijpt. Zijn trage klaagzang tegen een bezwerend geluidsbehang roept voor mij de mysterieuze sfeer en scene uit Eyes Wide Shut op, waar Tom Cruise rondwaart in een grote villa en daar een bezwerende orgie gadeslaat.

Sul Eyan is nog zo een nummer waar de bewerende zang van Wolz meerlagig en begeleidt door een demonisch verhalende stem een beklemmend gevoelen van onbehagen oproept (en langs de andere kant toch weer zo mooi en beklijvend is).

Roepen, krijsen en demonische zang vormen ook de leidraad doorheen Voxanium I, waarbij de stemmen je met fantastisch surround effect overweldigen. De sfeer benadert een live-performance van Wolz, waarbij hij door afwisselend te zingen in meerdere microfoons dit effect oproept. Een effect dat hij ook in het magistrale Aldemarin gebruikt.

Syco begint dan weer met een lieflijk kinderdeuntje maar groeit op zijn beurt uit tot een grote apotheose waarbij Christian van uiterst laag tot uiterst hoog alle registers al zingend en krijsend opentrekt. Heerlijk.

In Voxanium II illustreert hij hoe stilte en fluisteren toch uitermate bezwerend kunnen werken om nadien in Angelos Narrat II probleemloos een demonische impressie van een barokke castraatstem neer te zetten tegen een geluidsbehang van bezwerend getokkel en ditto koorgezang.

Geen enkele song op deze creatie is ondermaats, en de diversiteit heeft toch een enorme samenhang, waardoor het je meesleurt op een beklijvende luistersessie en de intrigerende impressies elkaar maar blijven opvolgen.

En plots ben je dan 25 songs verder en hoor je, de outro, gelijkaardig aan de intro om in alle rust, sereniteit en kalmte te eindigen. Maar ook hier houd ik weer geen rekening met Mister Wolz die na enige stilte met gekrijs, bezweringen, gehis, gehijg en fantastische zang een prachtig orgelpunt op dit werk zet.

Nu rest er jullie allen nog maar 3 dingen te doen:

a) Koop dit album

b) Ga naar zijn special performance in Berlijn

c) Steun zijn fundraising project voor het uitbrengen van een live-album van dat concert

Ward DE PRINS
06/07/2013




 

Next reviews
THE ARCH • Beating The Balance
DEATH VALLEY SCARS • Suicide, Sex and Suffering
EDITORS • The Weight Of Your Love
VASELYNE • The Fire Within
ESSENCE OF MIND • Escape (EP)
VANITY • Occult you
SYNTECH • Trans-Neptunian Objects
AUTODAFEH • Blackout Scenario
BORN FOR BLISS • Innocent (EP)
TECHNOIR • We came for love

 

Other reviews from CHRISTIAN WOLZ
CHRISTIAN WOLZ • Ecencia
CHRISTIAN WOLZ • Emotion15

 

Same genre: AVANT-GARDE
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree
MCHNRY • The Shape
CHELSEY AND THE NOISE • Losing Landscapes EP
HEDERA HELIX • Pastiche
DEUTSCH NEPAL • Dystopian Partycollection II
BESTIAL MOUTHS • Heartless
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden
HERMAN NITSCH • (Brussels, Begijnenkerk, 28/02/2016)
LAURIE ANDERSON • Strange Angels
STEVE REICH • Four Organs/Phase Patterns

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
BRAND NEW • Science Fiction
THE PHYSICS HOUSE BAND • Mercury Fountain
HAUSCHKA • Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
SUN RA | MERZBOW • Strange City
LINGOUF • Quatuor Solitaire
GROUP A • 70 + a =
V.E.X. + HANTE • JH Wommel, Waveteef (9:09:2016)

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
DURAN DURAN • Pop Trash
MANI NEUMEIER • Talking Guru Drums
NIGHT BEATS • Who Sold My Generation
THE CLAYPOOL LENNON DELIRIUM • Monolith of Phobos
CULLEN OMORI • New Misery

 

Same genre: UNCLASSIFIABLE
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
FANTASTIQUE.NIGHT XLVII • MOLLY NILSSON, MARY OCHER, MENAGE A TROIS, RODOLPHE COSTER
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ni D'Eve Ni D'Adam
MONSTER YOUTH • Lost Dream, Cool Fire
TUXEDOMOON • CLASSICS: At Twilight
THE THE • CLASSICS : Soul Mining
XTC • CLASSICS: Skylarking (Corrected)
THE FALL • Creative Distortion
BROWN REINIGER BODSON • Clear Tears, Troubled Waters
APHEX TWIN • Syro

Music reviews

20
10
THE BIPOLAR
Tomorrow everything will get better
19
10
STACIAN
Person L
18
10
TYCHO BRAHE
Triplex [Complete]
17
10
LA GRAZIA OBLIQUA
La Grazia Obliqua (EP)
16
10
AMORPHOUS
Shapeshifting
12
10
HELIOPHILE
Permeate

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
10
New single by Kirlian Camera featuring Covenant singer Eskil Simonsson!
20
10
This weekend! DAFT / MINIMAL MAXIMAL - FEST weekend in Antwerp!
10
10
Amnesty International Belgium invites hundreds of artists
10
10
New Simi-Nah video 'Chacun Pour Soi' on YouTube!
02
10
New Wave cult & club classic band Crash Course In Science is back with a new (bomb) album!
01
10
New IMPLANT EP / Video - The Phone Call - Out now!

Concert reviews

27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017
27
08
THE JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Live at Brussels Summer Fest - 13.08.2017
28
06
ARCANA OBSCURA, SKALUNA, JOHNNY DEATHSHADOW, EISFABRIK, PSYCLON NINE, DORSETSHIRE
maandag 5 juni
26
06
THE AGNES CIRCLE, QUAL, RROYCE, TOO DEAD TO DIE, TECHNIQUE, AUTODAFEH
Zaterdag 3 juni
26
06
NEUSTROHM, UNTERSCHICHT, HAUJOBB, FABRIK C, STOPPENBERG, CENTHRON
Non Tox - vrijdag 2 juni
26
06
ZWEITE JUGEND, HIGH-FUNCTIONING FLESH, SCHWEFELGELB, A SPLIT SECOND
WGT EBM warm-up - Felsenkeller

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
10
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
'When you see that some chords that you have composed become a song, it's a very special feeling.'
15
10
BLANCMANGE
'We were making experimental music for a while, really just for ourselves, not thinking anyone would want to listen.'
13
10
KOL BELOV
I make strange animations, that look like music videos and strange music videos, that look like animation.
11
10
THE HORRORIST
'Sometimes I cringe when I hear some of my songs about sex or pain but at the same time it’s my diary.'
09
10
A SPLIT-SECOND
Marc Ickx talks about A Split-Second

PHOTOS

20
10
GARY NUMAN
Depot Leuven
20
10
JAYCE LEWIS
Depot Leuven
17
10
GARY NUMAN
Brighton Dome, Brighton, UK
14
10
ATTRITION
Charles Bradlaugh, Northampton, UK
14
10
VUDUVOX
Charles Bradlaugh, Northampton, UK
14
10
CURXES
229 The Venue, London, UK
08
10
BLANCMANGE
229 The Venue, London, UK

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

20
10
DEATH OF A CHEERLEADER
Tanna
19
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Inside My Asylum
19
10
TEARFUL MOON
Ecstasy in Black
17
10
AND ALSO THE TREES
Your Guess
16
10
!DISTAIN
Conversation Overkill
15
10
TEHI TEARDO & BLIXA BARGELD
The Beast
15
10
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)