tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

06/07/2013 : CHRISTIAN WOLZ - WOLZ

CHRISTIAN WOLZ

WOLZ

MusicCD
Avant-gardeExperimentalPsychedelicUnclassifiable

[90/100]   

Self-released
06/07/2013, Ward DE PRINS

EN

Vocal Artist Christian Wolz celebrates his 25th anniversary as an artist in 2013. A birthday which is celebrated by three activities: the release of this 'best of', a special concert in October in Berlin, and a recording of this concert as a live album.

For those who do not know Wolz. In the past he was often (also by myself) described as the male Diamanda Galas. In retrospect not the best comparison. Although he is a vocal artist, unlike Diamanda he is not afraid to experiment, he still rather builds sound- and mood-impressions than classic songs, and this almost always in a fictional language (or merely with sounds).

Anyway, for this 25th anniversary there now is this 'best-of' album. Although, it's not strictly a Best Of, since Wolz chose to self-evaluate his back catalog to create new, contemporary songs, but with influences from a period of 25 great years of artistic creations.

25 years, 25 impressions, 25 songs.

After a fairly quiet intro, Isobella is the first that grabs me by the throat. His slow lament against an intoxicating soundwall reminds me of the mysterious atmosphere and scene from Eyes Wide Shut, where Tom Cruise wanders through a big mansion, observing a mesmerizing orgy.

Sul Eyan is yet another number where the incantatory vocals of Wolz is accompanied by a demonic narrative voice, creating an oppressive feeling of unease (and yet so beautiful and captivating).

Shouting, screaming and demonic vocals also form the backbone for Voxanium I, where the multiple vocals overwhelm you with a great surrounding effect. The atmosphere approaches a live performance of Wolz, when he createst this effect by alternately singing in multiple microphones. An effect that he also uses in the majestic Aldemarin.

Syco begins with a charming children's tune but grows into a great apotheosis with extremely low to extremely high singing and screaming. Delicious.

In Voxanium II he illustrates how silence and whispering can create a mesmerizing sound, but without hesitation Angelos Narrat II follows with an almost demonic impression of a baroque castrato against a background of choral sound and hypnotic synths.

No song on this album is below standard, and despite the diversity there still is a perfect cohesion, resulting in a captivating listening session.

And suddenly you are over 25 songs further and you hear the outro. Similar to the intro, it breathes serenity and tranquility. But once again, Mr. Wolz's twisted mind prevails and after a silent period some final screams, curses, sizzling, gasping and fantastic vocals create a stunning climax to this album.

So now you only need to plan the following 3 steps:

a) Buy this album

b) Go to his special performance in Berlin

c) Support his fundraising project for the release of a live album of the concert

Ward DE PRINS
06/07/2013




NL

Stemartiest Christian Wolz viert in 2013 zijn 25 jarig artiestenbestaan. Een verjaardag waarbij wordt stilgestaan met 3 activiteiten: deze ‘best of’, een speciaal concert in oktober in Berlijn, en de registratie daarvan als een live-album.

Voor degenen die Wolz niet kennen. In het verleden werd hij vaak (ook door mij) omschreven als de mannelijke Diamanda Galas. Bij nader inzien niet de beste vergelijking. Hij is weliswaar stemartiest, maar in tegenstelling tot Diamanda schuwt hij nog steeds het experiment niet, bouwt hij eerder klank- en stemming-impressies dan klassieke songs, en dit quasi altijd in een fictieve taal (of louter met klanken).

Maar goed, als 25 jarig bestaan is er nu dus dit ‘best-of’ album. Maar ook daarmee zet ik je weer op een verkeerd been, want Wolz koos ervoor om zijn oeuvre zelf te evalueren en uit de diverse songs uit zijn backcatalogus nieuwe songs te creëren, eigentijds, maar met verwerkte invloeden uit een periode van 25 jaren.

25 jaren, 25 impressies, 25 songs.

Na een vrij rustige intro is Isobella de eerste impressie die me naar de keel grijpt. Zijn trage klaagzang tegen een bezwerend geluidsbehang roept voor mij de mysterieuze sfeer en scene uit Eyes Wide Shut op, waar Tom Cruise rondwaart in een grote villa en daar een bezwerende orgie gadeslaat.

Sul Eyan is nog zo een nummer waar de bewerende zang van Wolz meerlagig en begeleidt door een demonisch verhalende stem een beklemmend gevoelen van onbehagen oproept (en langs de andere kant toch weer zo mooi en beklijvend is).

Roepen, krijsen en demonische zang vormen ook de leidraad doorheen Voxanium I, waarbij de stemmen je met fantastisch surround effect overweldigen. De sfeer benadert een live-performance van Wolz, waarbij hij door afwisselend te zingen in meerdere microfoons dit effect oproept. Een effect dat hij ook in het magistrale Aldemarin gebruikt.

Syco begint dan weer met een lieflijk kinderdeuntje maar groeit op zijn beurt uit tot een grote apotheose waarbij Christian van uiterst laag tot uiterst hoog alle registers al zingend en krijsend opentrekt. Heerlijk.

In Voxanium II illustreert hij hoe stilte en fluisteren toch uitermate bezwerend kunnen werken om nadien in Angelos Narrat II probleemloos een demonische impressie van een barokke castraatstem neer te zetten tegen een geluidsbehang van bezwerend getokkel en ditto koorgezang.

Geen enkele song op deze creatie is ondermaats, en de diversiteit heeft toch een enorme samenhang, waardoor het je meesleurt op een beklijvende luistersessie en de intrigerende impressies elkaar maar blijven opvolgen.

En plots ben je dan 25 songs verder en hoor je, de outro, gelijkaardig aan de intro om in alle rust, sereniteit en kalmte te eindigen. Maar ook hier houd ik weer geen rekening met Mister Wolz die na enige stilte met gekrijs, bezweringen, gehis, gehijg en fantastische zang een prachtig orgelpunt op dit werk zet.

Nu rest er jullie allen nog maar 3 dingen te doen:

a) Koop dit album

b) Ga naar zijn special performance in Berlijn

c) Steun zijn fundraising project voor het uitbrengen van een live-album van dat concert

Ward DE PRINS
06/07/2013




 

Next reviews
THE ARCH • Beating The Balance
DEATH VALLEY SCARS • Suicide, Sex and Suffering
EDITORS • The Weight Of Your Love
VASELYNE • The Fire Within
ESSENCE OF MIND • Escape (EP)
VANITY • Occult you
SYNTECH • Trans-Neptunian Objects
AUTODAFEH • Blackout Scenario
BORN FOR BLISS • Innocent (EP)
TECHNOIR • We came for love

 

Other reviews from CHRISTIAN WOLZ
CHRISTIAN WOLZ • Ecencia
CHRISTIAN WOLZ • Emotion15

 

Same genre: AVANT-GARDE
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree
MCHNRY • The Shape
CHELSEY AND THE NOISE • Losing Landscapes EP
HEDERA HELIX • Pastiche
DEUTSCH NEPAL • Dystopian Partycollection II
BESTIAL MOUTHS • Heartless
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden
HERMAN NITSCH • (Brussels, Begijnenkerk, 28/02/2016)
LAURIE ANDERSON • Strange Angels
STEVE REICH • Four Organs/Phase Patterns

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
BRAND NEW • Science Fiction
THE PHYSICS HOUSE BAND • Mercury Fountain
HAUSCHKA • Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
SUN RA | MERZBOW • Strange City
LINGOUF • Quatuor Solitaire
GROUP A • 70 + a =

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
DURAN DURAN • Pop Trash
MANI NEUMEIER • Talking Guru Drums
NIGHT BEATS • Who Sold My Generation
THE CLAYPOOL LENNON DELIRIUM • Monolith of Phobos
CULLEN OMORI • New Misery

 

Same genre: UNCLASSIFIABLE
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
FANTASTIQUE.NIGHT XLVII • MOLLY NILSSON, MARY OCHER, MENAGE A TROIS, RODOLPHE COSTER
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ni D'Eve Ni D'Adam
MONSTER YOUTH • Lost Dream, Cool Fire
TUXEDOMOON • CLASSICS: At Twilight
THE THE • CLASSICS : Soul Mining
XTC • CLASSICS: Skylarking (Corrected)
THE FALL • Creative Distortion
BROWN REINIGER BODSON • Clear Tears, Troubled Waters
APHEX TWIN • Syro

Music reviews

11
12
CONFRONTATIONAL
The Burning Dawn
09
12
PARADE GROUND
Sanctuary
08
12
TULIOXI
WILD ITALIAN GAZELLE (Part I)
07
12
GEORGIO 'THE DOVE' VALENTINO
The Future Lasts A Long Time
06
12
MORTAL VOID
Of shadows and mirrors
03
12
IVANKOVA
Ivankovà EP

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
12
Black Needle Noise releases SyStem Bi feat. Fakeba single and video
14
12
This Friday the renowned Belgian Independent Music Festival 2017 (BIMFEST XVI) will kick-Off!
13
12
Brand new video by Crash Course In Science!
12
12
In Strict Confidence releases HERZ & FROZEN KISSES, a two-in-one single release with remixes and more!
11
12
THEY CALLED HIM ZONE to release entire catalogue remastered on EROMEDA RECORDS
10
12
Antwerp triphop / indiepop band Psy'Aviah announces new album!

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

08
12
EUFORIC EXCISTENCE
Euforic Existence: We like to be put under the heading of EBM, but realize that we are an outsider. I would not want anything else.
09
11
EIRIKURA
'Music can be an uniting and uplifting force and very much a redemptive one for all mankind'
05
11
GENE LOVES JEZEBEL
About their brand new album Dance Underwater and more...
25
10
SWEET WILLIAM
FOR ME MUSIC IS GOOD WHEN IT LEAVES YOU ROOM FOR YOUR OWN ILLUSIONS AND OF COURSE A CERTAIN DEPTH’
23
10
STURM CAFE
‘WE DO ENJOY THE 100% CONTROL BUT IT COMES WITH GREAT FINANCIAL RISKS’

PHOTOS

11
12
LACUNA COIL
Moonlight Music Hall Diest
11
12
CELLAR DARLING
Moonlight Music Hall Diest
05
12
FRONT 242
Ab Brussel
05
12
METROLAND
Ab Brussel
05
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
@ Soulfieldswave Kortrijk
28
11
SHE PAST AWAY
@ Soulfieldswave Kortrijk
28
11
GOLDEN APES
@ Soulfieldswave Kortrijk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

16
12
THEY CALLED HIM ZONE
Sunset Beach
15
12
PALAIS IDEAL
Crossfade / Dissolve (Official Video)
14
12
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands
13
12
BLANCMANGE
Blind Vision (HD)
12
12
THEN COMES SILENCE
The Dead Cry For No One
11
12
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Eclipse (Vintage Version - Live in Erfurt 2017)
10
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
A Rainbow Is Fading