tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

26/06/2013 : VASELYNE - The Fire Within

VASELYNE

The Fire Within

MusicCD
Dark WaveEthereal / Heavenly Voices

[90/100]   

Echozone
26/06/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

I honestly have to thank Frank Weyzig for giving me the link to this great cd! I loved it and listened to it the whole afternoon instead of preparing mentally for the Dead Can Dance gig in Brussels, I think this is clear enough to mention what I think about this cd!

Vaselyne is a collaboration between Dutch singer Yvette Winkler and Dutch musician and producer Frank Weyzig, since the spring of 2011. Yvette Winkler was co-founder of Dutch band "Sea of Souls" (2006). You can listen to her latest work on Pieter Nooten's album "Here is Why", for which she sang some of the lead- and some backing vocals.

Frank Weyzig is a Dutch producer, composer and band member, known for his contribution to the original "Clan of Xymox" and his work for indie new wave band "Born For Bliss" (I already reviewed this one, see more about it on our site: http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/born-for-bliss-innocent-ep/?viaadmin=1).

Yvette has a nice deep voice and it blends in well with the music. 'Earthbound' and 'Not to be mine' (here you can even hear Frank on backings) and rare pearls that take you down and keep you listening to it. Hypnotising music (for sure the guitars) with dark feelings. Love the flute and the acoustic guitar on 'Half-Cast', whilst further drifting on the soft sound. The title-track is pure gold, like diamond and pearls. It makes me forget time and sounds so sweet, a timeless beauty! Very melancholic and moving. Be prepared to get rid of a tear if you are an emotional person. Once again I appreciate the flute and the acoustic guitar very much, just as the first class production! 'August' has a nice cello and the rythm on this one is a bit higher, but still very melancholic. The guitars sound once again very good. Love the little knocking sound in the background. 'World in my eyes' has always been a great Depeche Mode song, almost a classic and the version you get here is at least as good as the original. Something to dance on and prove the quality of this band. The next songs are all digged out of the same goldmine and will stay in my head for sure. I became much more relaxed after listening to them and forgot once again time and space, which in this case is very dangerous as I need to go to a concert. Really they did a great job and I hope a lot of people will listen to this absolute beauty!

the last song is a remix where there is a highlight on the nice cello and no vocals, just as a sound that can move one to tears, o so melancholic!

thanks again Frank!

tracklist:

01. Earthbound - (3:57)
02. Not to be Mine - (6:20)
03. Half-Cast - (3:46)
04. The Fire Within - (6:11)
05. August - (6:13)
06. World in my Eyes - (4:41)
07. Ships in the Wind - (6:24)
08. Fragile - (6:09)
09. Allright - (4:13)
10. Fall from Grace - (7:30)
11. Earthbound - Profane mix - (3:18)

Special guests :
tracks 1, 5 and 11: Lucas Stam on Cello
tracks 3 and 4: Rina Vervoort on Flute

http://turmoilmusic.bandcamp.com/album/the-fire-within

www.vaselyne.com

www.facebook.com/vaselynemusic

www.frankweyzig.com

 

Filip VAN MUYLEM
26/06/2013


 

Next reviews
ESSENCE OF MIND • Escape (EP)
VANITY • Occult you
SYNTECH • Trans-Neptunian Objects
AUTODAFEH • Blackout Scenario
BORN FOR BLISS • Innocent (EP)
TECHNOIR • We came for love
THE EDEN HOUSE • Half Life
COVENANT • Last Dance
PSY'AVIAH • Future Past (EP)
.COM/KILL

 

Same combination of genres: DARK WAVE + ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
INKUBUS SUKKUBUS • Mother Moon
KARI RUESLATTEN • To The North
FRIENDS OF ALICE IVY • The Golden Cage and it's Mirrored Maze
ORDO EQUITUM SOLIS • Killing Time Killing Love
THE EDEN HOUSE • Bad Men (OnTheirWayToDoBadThings) [EP]
18 SUMMERS • The Magic Circus
THE EDEN HOUSE • Timeflows
FRIENDS OF ALICE IVY • In The Gloaming
AURA NOCTIS • Aura Noctis EP

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • Fascination
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
MOVMENT • Transformation
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • Witches' Lullaby
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE • Music for certain rituals
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
AUTUMN • The Fall
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
TYSKKE LUDER
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
OSTFRONT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
NOISUF-X
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain