tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

12/07/2013 : TZOLK'IN - The Sixth Sun

TZOLK'IN

The Sixth Sun

MusicCD
Dark AmbientFolk / Ethnic / Tribal

[80/100]   

Ant-Zen
12/07/2013, Chris KONINGS

A new installment on the Aztec theme, The Sixth Sun is the time mankind now resides in, after twarting destruction on 21 december 2012. This new era should bring "past to present in order to construct a brighter future" and that is the main inspiration here.

First, you should play "Tonatiuh", the previous album, since the first song is a direct successor of the last song on that album. There was already a hint of hope and now on "Toci" it spreads it's wings in full glory, with grand organ sounds and lush tribal drumming. "Meztli" is almost 9 minutes long, it feels more like a soundtrack with lots of bells and field recordings. Still good rhythms sections and nice didge sounds.

The first shivers are only felt with "Citlalicue", a darker atmosphere and very clear, distinct sounds that eventually develop into a maelstrom of rhythms and even some guitar drones. Horror that comes alive, great to listen to while reading the finale of "Menora" by David Gibbins. More disturbing and nocturnal sounds in "Tlaltecuhtli", with a thunderstorm raging during the night. Guess you could call it tribal etched on an instrumental version of "Riders On The Storm"...

Fater rhythms and more electronic bleeps/idm can be heard on "Centzonmimixcoa", the same swelling organ sound that you find so much in Empusae's music, blended with sharp Flint Glass idm. A moving and compelling song, what a climax near the end! The next is not that enthralling, it;s a bit slow and sounds pretty much standard operation to me.

The last title is just too difficult, even to "copy paste" ;-) It takes almost 12 minutes and it holds all the great specs Sal-Ocin and Flint Glass can throw at you. It's a dark, threatening, savage descend into hell. I love the metallic drum sounds, it gives the song a brutal and dangerous character.

So another good effort by Tzolk'in, not as surprising as Tonatiuh but still a good album and worth your greenbacks even if you're not a fan!

Chris KONINGS
12/07/2013


 

Next reviews
RASTABAN • Aurora
CHRISTIAN WOLZ • WOLZ
THE ARCH • Beating The Balance
DEATH VALLEY SCARS • Suicide, Sex and Suffering
EDITORS • The Weight Of Your Love
VASELYNE • The Fire Within
ESSENCE OF MIND • Escape (EP)
VANITY • Occult you
SYNTECH • Trans-Neptunian Objects
AUTODAFEH • Blackout Scenario

 

Other reviews from TZOLK'IN
TZOLK'IN • Tonatiuh

 

Same combination of genres: DARK AMBIENT + FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
ORDER OF VICTORY & TSIDMZ • Third Rome / Terza Roma
EMPUSAE • Sphere From The Woods
MILITIA • At GothVille festival in Herk-De Stad on 16th March 2012 with Vic Anselmo and C.I.A.
TZOLK'IN • Tonatiuh

 

Same genre: DARK AMBIENT
ANNINA MELISSA • Exhibition of Death
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree
DARKHER • Realms
DEUTSCH NEPAL • Dystopian Partycollection II
GRIMBERGEN • The Passing Of Time
MORBUS M. • Fight Or Die
FORMS OF HANDS 16 • Hands Label Sampler

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo
AMARANTHE • Breaking Point - B-Sides 2011-2015
BIRDS' WAY • Birds' Way
TROLLS ET LÉGENDES • Day 3, 5/4/2015, Mons, Belgium | Corvus Corax, Rastaban, Cuelèbre & Césair

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!
06
12
'Write When You Get Work': L.A. opening with special Q&A on December 7, 2018!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.
17
11
DAVE INOX
I Am Never One Hundred Percent Happy With The Result Of My Works

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
05
12
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked
04
12
BLUTENGEL
Soul Of Ice