tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

12/07/2013 : TZOLK'IN - The Sixth Sun

TZOLK'IN

The Sixth Sun

MusicCD
Dark AmbientFolk / Ethnic / Tribal

[80/100]   

Ant-Zen
12/07/2013, Chris KONINGS

A new installment on the Aztec theme, The Sixth Sun is the time mankind now resides in, after twarting destruction on 21 december 2012. This new era should bring "past to present in order to construct a brighter future" and that is the main inspiration here.

First, you should play "Tonatiuh", the previous album, since the first song is a direct successor of the last song on that album. There was already a hint of hope and now on "Toci" it spreads it's wings in full glory, with grand organ sounds and lush tribal drumming. "Meztli" is almost 9 minutes long, it feels more like a soundtrack with lots of bells and field recordings. Still good rhythms sections and nice didge sounds.

The first shivers are only felt with "Citlalicue", a darker atmosphere and very clear, distinct sounds that eventually develop into a maelstrom of rhythms and even some guitar drones. Horror that comes alive, great to listen to while reading the finale of "Menora" by David Gibbins. More disturbing and nocturnal sounds in "Tlaltecuhtli", with a thunderstorm raging during the night. Guess you could call it tribal etched on an instrumental version of "Riders On The Storm"...

Fater rhythms and more electronic bleeps/idm can be heard on "Centzonmimixcoa", the same swelling organ sound that you find so much in Empusae's music, blended with sharp Flint Glass idm. A moving and compelling song, what a climax near the end! The next is not that enthralling, it;s a bit slow and sounds pretty much standard operation to me.

The last title is just too difficult, even to "copy paste" ;-) It takes almost 12 minutes and it holds all the great specs Sal-Ocin and Flint Glass can throw at you. It's a dark, threatening, savage descend into hell. I love the metallic drum sounds, it gives the song a brutal and dangerous character.

So another good effort by Tzolk'in, not as surprising as Tonatiuh but still a good album and worth your greenbacks even if you're not a fan!

Chris KONINGS
12/07/2013


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
FEUERSCHWANZ
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
UNZUCHT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper