tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/11/2014 : DESIDERII MARGINIS - Hypnosis

DESIDERII MARGINIS

Hypnosis

MusicCD


[74/100]   

Cyclic Law
10/11/2014, Benny CALUWE

Being interested in gothic and wave with its many subgenres, I also try to listen to styles that aren’t really my cup of tea. For example: dark ambient, which I gave up for awhile. I was bored of getting stuck in an impenetrable layer of sounds, demotivated by the lack of melody and rhythm. But this new offer from Desiderii Marginis is more ‘accessible’.

Hypnosis is their 8th album, who were previously on the notorious Cold Meat Industry label. With the new album (a double CD) Desiderii Marginis tries to reproduce the emotions of dreams and nightmares that were submitted by fans and friends as well as those of Johan Levin himself.

Black feathers opens the album with ominous, haunting synths and samples from screeching crows. There are a lot of slowly unfolding haunting soundscapes on Hypnosis but tracks like The ghost box, Lazarus palace and especially The wake have a melancholic undercurrent. Some tracks have a bit of an organic touch, such as Paralysis with its sparse guitar notes. And also the obligate field recordings occur like in Rain on your dreams with its gentle downpour.

The fog closing in is an excellent soundtrack for a November morning. Other noteworthy tracks are Endless staircase with samples from footsteps and the menacing Unmasked with its insane laughter. My favourite tracks are Temple of Andromeda with its remarkable sound and The dividing wall with its electric guitars.

Although Hypnosis is a lengthy album, it didn’t bore me. I will not play it often, but when I’m in the right mood I can really enjoy it. Desiderii Marginis brings my interest for dark ambient back to life.

Benny CALUWE
10/11/2014


Music reviews

14
08
LUKE LUND
Hopium
13
08
KRALLICE
Mass Cathexis
09
08
TRANSPORT AERIAN
Big Heart
08
08
VIOLENT VICKIE
Blame
07
08
FAUST PROJECT
The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
05
08
TECHNOLORGY
Carnivore

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
08
kaRIN FROM COLLIDE AND SHIKHEE FROM ANDROID LUST RELEASE NEW SINGLE ''ARE YOU LISTENING?''
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'
03
08
Gothic Rock Band BLACK ANGEL Crafts Stories Of Love With New Album: Kiss Of Death
01
08
This month, 37 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
31
07
PROVISION Breaks Seven Year Silence With 'Hearts Turn Dark'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
08
MICK HARRIS (SCORN,LULL,EX-NAPALM DEATH...)
'I still see myself as a bit of a punk...'
10
08
BILL LASWELL
'Sometimes thing sort of “follow a path”...'
08
08
BLIXA BARGELD
'The way we work is so…traditional'
06
08
SUBJECT.2
'Love, Betrayal, Deceit' - A conversation with Subject:2 on their new album
04
08
STEVE VON TILL (NEUROSIS)
'The greatest sentence in prose would have no place in a song...'

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AND ONE
Killing The Mercy
14
08
SEPTEMBER 87
Bad Dream Baby
13
08
KING DALTON
When The Bad Is Gone
12
08
GARY OLDMAN
The Man Who Sold The World
11
08
JACK MANIAC
No Fate
10
08
RED QUEEN
Insidious
09
08
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands