tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/11/2014 : DESIDERII MARGINIS - Hypnosis

DESIDERII MARGINIS

Hypnosis

MusicCD


[74/100]   

Cyclic Law
10/11/2014, Benny CALUWE

Being interested in gothic and wave with its many subgenres, I also try to listen to styles that aren’t really my cup of tea. For example: dark ambient, which I gave up for awhile. I was bored of getting stuck in an impenetrable layer of sounds, demotivated by the lack of melody and rhythm. But this new offer from Desiderii Marginis is more ‘accessible’.

Hypnosis is their 8th album, who were previously on the notorious Cold Meat Industry label. With the new album (a double CD) Desiderii Marginis tries to reproduce the emotions of dreams and nightmares that were submitted by fans and friends as well as those of Johan Levin himself.

Black feathers opens the album with ominous, haunting synths and samples from screeching crows. There are a lot of slowly unfolding haunting soundscapes on Hypnosis but tracks like The ghost box, Lazarus palace and especially The wake have a melancholic undercurrent. Some tracks have a bit of an organic touch, such as Paralysis with its sparse guitar notes. And also the obligate field recordings occur like in Rain on your dreams with its gentle downpour.

The fog closing in is an excellent soundtrack for a November morning. Other noteworthy tracks are Endless staircase with samples from footsteps and the menacing Unmasked with its insane laughter. My favourite tracks are Temple of Andromeda with its remarkable sound and The dividing wall with its electric guitars.

Although Hypnosis is a lengthy album, it didn’t bore me. I will not play it often, but when I’m in the right mood I can really enjoy it. Desiderii Marginis brings my interest for dark ambient back to life.

Benny CALUWE
10/11/2014


Music reviews

25
11
DEZ MONA
LOOSE ENDS
02
11
STAATSEINDE
Fehlerlinie
05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
12
30 years ago NINE INCH NAILS released the FIXED (EP)
06
12
Rabbit Junk Brings Fatalism And Frustration To 'Apocalypse For Beginners'
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
05
12
46 Years Ago Oxygene Was Released!
04
12
44 years ago, Throbbing Gristle released their second studio album D.o.A: The Third and Final Report.
03
12
This month, 35 years ago, Front Line Assembly released The Initial Command.

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.
29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2

PHOTOS

05
12
SONAR
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
TEST DEPT
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
RADICAL G
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
FIX8:SED8
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
TC75
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
SOFT RIOT
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
POTOCHKINE
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
12
JOHN ROX & OXYDION FT. ELENA ALICE FOSSI
Social Lovers
06
12
3TEETH
Sell Your Face
05
12
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams
04
12
ORSON HENTSCHEL
Noise of the Light
03
12
GOOSE
Synrise
02
12
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
01
12
MASQUERADE
Too Depressed to Dance