tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

10/11/2014 : DESIDERII MARGINIS - Hypnosis

DESIDERII MARGINIS

Hypnosis

MusicCD


[74/100]   

Cyclic Law
10/11/2014, Benny CALUWE

Being interested in gothic and wave with its many subgenres, I also try to listen to styles that aren’t really my cup of tea. For example: dark ambient, which I gave up for awhile. I was bored of getting stuck in an impenetrable layer of sounds, demotivated by the lack of melody and rhythm. But this new offer from Desiderii Marginis is more ‘accessible’.

Hypnosis is their 8th album, who were previously on the notorious Cold Meat Industry label. With the new album (a double CD) Desiderii Marginis tries to reproduce the emotions of dreams and nightmares that were submitted by fans and friends as well as those of Johan Levin himself.

Black feathers opens the album with ominous, haunting synths and samples from screeching crows. There are a lot of slowly unfolding haunting soundscapes on Hypnosis but tracks like The ghost box, Lazarus palace and especially The wake have a melancholic undercurrent. Some tracks have a bit of an organic touch, such as Paralysis with its sparse guitar notes. And also the obligate field recordings occur like in Rain on your dreams with its gentle downpour.

The fog closing in is an excellent soundtrack for a November morning. Other noteworthy tracks are Endless staircase with samples from footsteps and the menacing Unmasked with its insane laughter. My favourite tracks are Temple of Andromeda with its remarkable sound and The dividing wall with its electric guitars.

Although Hypnosis is a lengthy album, it didn’t bore me. I will not play it often, but when I’m in the right mood I can really enjoy it. Desiderii Marginis brings my interest for dark ambient back to life.

Benny CALUWE
10/11/2014


Music reviews

16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS
06
01
KMFDM
Paradise

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
01
On this day, 40 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 35 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
25 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 2 Year Anniversary
15
01
This month 48 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2
11
01
On this day 35 years ago, Nina Hagen performed in front of 1,5 million people on the first edition of world’s biggest festivals Rock in Rio (Brazil).

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.
13
01
SYRENOMELIA
The drunk rural constable at the local pub.
11
01
CHRIS HASKETT (ROLLINS BAND)
'Musicians are more like radios that occasionally pick up and reproduce things from the cosmos.'

PHOTOS

26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest
26
12
REIN
Bimfest
26
12
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
bimfest
26
12
STURM CAFE
bimfest
26
12
RADERKRAFT
bimfest
26
12
ZWEITE JUGEND
Bimfest
26
12
ENZO KREFT
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day
15
01
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams
14
01
JANE'S ADDICTION
Been Caught Stealing
13
01
VOK
Waterfall