tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cinema review

10/11/2014 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness

PETER CHELSOM

Hector And The Search For Happiness

MovieCinema
Comedy
Imagine Films
10/11/2014, Didier BECU

EN

We ourselves had never heard of it, but there are two million copies sold of Hector And The iFor Happiness. If the people who bought the book by the French psychiatrist François Lelord also go to the movies, then director Peter Chelsom has every reason to be happy. Who knows. Those who are looking for a feel-good film surely can buy a ticket for this one!

Hector ( Simon Pegg ) leads a good life. As a psychiatrist, he earns a lot of money and everything goes well with his wife Clara (Rosamund Pike). However, the shrink makes things difficult. Through numerous conversations with his patients, he asks himself what happiness really is. He hopes to find the answer in a world tour on which he meets the strangest characters.

Simon Pegg who we mainly know from British comedies such as Hot Fuzz or The World's End, does what he’s supposed to do. It is difficult to identify with this boring man, luckily enough the other characters are much different, like Stellan Skarsgård who plays a crafty banker or Jean Reno as (how could it be otherwise?) a dangerous drug lord. It's a pity that director Peter Chelsom (who saddled us with Serendipity and Shall We Dance) plays it all too safe. If he was more daring, then Hector And The Search For Happiness would at least be as attractive as The Secret Life Of Walter Mitty, now it’s just fun.

Didier BECU
10/11/2014


NL

Zelf hadden we er nog nooit van gehoord, maar er zijn wereldwijd twee miljoen exemplaren van Hector And The Search For Happiness verkocht. Als je die mense, die het boek van de Franse psychiater François Lelord lazen, ook nog naar je filmzaal krijgt, heb je alle redenen tot juichen, moet regisseur Peter Chelsom hebben gedacht. Wellicht zal het niet zo’n vaart lopen. De film blinkt niet echt uit, is zelfs een tikkeltje slapjes, maar wie op zoek is naar een feelgoodfilm waarvoor hij zich niet moet schamen weet wel waar naartoe.

Hector (Simon Pegg) heeft een royaal leventje in hartje Londen. Als psychiater verdient hij goed zijn brood en met zijn echtgenote Clara (Rosamund Pike) loopt ook het familiale leven zoals het hoort. Toch maakt de zielenknijper het zichzelf moeilijk. Door de talrijke gespreken met zijn patiënten stelt hij zich luidop de vraag wat geluk nu eigenlijk is. Het antwoord daarop hoopt hij te vinden in een wereldreis die hem bij de meest vreemde personages brengt.

Simon Pegg die we vooral uit Britse komedies zoals Hot Fuzz of The World’s End kennen, doet wat van hem wordt gevraagd. Het is dan ook moeilijk om je te vereenzelvigen met deze saaie droogstoppel. Gelukkig staan daar heel wat andere kleurrijke personages tegenover. Zo is er bijv. Stellan Skarsgård als gehaaide bankier of Jean Reno als (hoe kan het ook anders) gevaarlijke drugsbaron. Alleen jammer dat regisseur Peter Chelsom, die ons eerder met ondingen als Serendipity en Shall We Dance opzadelde, te veel op veilig speelt. Soms lijken de vele spreuken die de revue passeren net iets te veel op de boodschappen die je op de “liefde is”-cartoons kan lezen. Met wat durf zou Hector And The Search For Happiness minstens zo attractief als The Secret Life Of Walter Mitty kunnen zijn, nu is het niet meer dan leuk.

Didier BECU
10/11/2014


10/11/2014 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 10/11/2014 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 10/11/2014 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 10/11/2014 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 10/11/2014 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 10/11/2014 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 10/11/2014 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 10/11/2014 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 10/11/2014 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 10/11/2014 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 10/11/2014 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 10/11/2014 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 10/11/2014 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 10/11/2014 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 10/11/2014 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 10/11/2014 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
03
No Time To Cry since 36 years!
08
03
Today, exactly 27 years ago, American industrial band Nine Inch Nails released The Downward Spiral!
07
03
Electronic Act IMBUED VAGARY Releases 6 CD Project – “Hexalogy”
07
03
33 years ago the Drag Queen of the 20th Century, Divine, passed away!
07
03
41 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released the single 'Happy House'!
05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
03
0KONTROL
Gologramma
08
03
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
07
03
MARSHEAUX
Eyes Without A Face
06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies