tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cinema review

10/11/2014 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness

PETER CHELSOM

Hector And The Search For Happiness

MovieCinema
Comedy
Imagine Films
10/11/2014, Didier BECU

EN

We ourselves had never heard of it, but there are two million copies sold of Hector And The iFor Happiness. If the people who bought the book by the French psychiatrist François Lelord also go to the movies, then director Peter Chelsom has every reason to be happy. Who knows. Those who are looking for a feel-good film surely can buy a ticket for this one!

Hector ( Simon Pegg ) leads a good life. As a psychiatrist, he earns a lot of money and everything goes well with his wife Clara (Rosamund Pike). However, the shrink makes things difficult. Through numerous conversations with his patients, he asks himself what happiness really is. He hopes to find the answer in a world tour on which he meets the strangest characters.

Simon Pegg who we mainly know from British comedies such as Hot Fuzz or The World's End, does what he’s supposed to do. It is difficult to identify with this boring man, luckily enough the other characters are much different, like Stellan Skarsgård who plays a crafty banker or Jean Reno as (how could it be otherwise?) a dangerous drug lord. It's a pity that director Peter Chelsom (who saddled us with Serendipity and Shall We Dance) plays it all too safe. If he was more daring, then Hector And The Search For Happiness would at least be as attractive as The Secret Life Of Walter Mitty, now it’s just fun.

Didier BECU
10/11/2014


NL

Zelf hadden we er nog nooit van gehoord, maar er zijn wereldwijd twee miljoen exemplaren van Hector And The Search For Happiness verkocht. Als je die mense, die het boek van de Franse psychiater François Lelord lazen, ook nog naar je filmzaal krijgt, heb je alle redenen tot juichen, moet regisseur Peter Chelsom hebben gedacht. Wellicht zal het niet zo’n vaart lopen. De film blinkt niet echt uit, is zelfs een tikkeltje slapjes, maar wie op zoek is naar een feelgoodfilm waarvoor hij zich niet moet schamen weet wel waar naartoe.

Hector (Simon Pegg) heeft een royaal leventje in hartje Londen. Als psychiater verdient hij goed zijn brood en met zijn echtgenote Clara (Rosamund Pike) loopt ook het familiale leven zoals het hoort. Toch maakt de zielenknijper het zichzelf moeilijk. Door de talrijke gespreken met zijn patiënten stelt hij zich luidop de vraag wat geluk nu eigenlijk is. Het antwoord daarop hoopt hij te vinden in een wereldreis die hem bij de meest vreemde personages brengt.

Simon Pegg die we vooral uit Britse komedies zoals Hot Fuzz of The World’s End kennen, doet wat van hem wordt gevraagd. Het is dan ook moeilijk om je te vereenzelvigen met deze saaie droogstoppel. Gelukkig staan daar heel wat andere kleurrijke personages tegenover. Zo is er bijv. Stellan Skarsgård als gehaaide bankier of Jean Reno als (hoe kan het ook anders) gevaarlijke drugsbaron. Alleen jammer dat regisseur Peter Chelsom, die ons eerder met ondingen als Serendipity en Shall We Dance opzadelde, te veel op veilig speelt. Soms lijken de vele spreuken die de revue passeren net iets te veel op de boodschappen die je op de “liefde is”-cartoons kan lezen. Met wat durf zou Hector And The Search For Happiness minstens zo attractief als The Secret Life Of Walter Mitty kunnen zijn, nu is het niet meer dan leuk.

Didier BECU
10/11/2014


10/11/2014 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 10/11/2014 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 10/11/2014 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 10/11/2014 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 10/11/2014 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 10/11/2014 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 10/11/2014 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 10/11/2014 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 10/11/2014 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 10/11/2014 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 10/11/2014 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 10/11/2014 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 10/11/2014 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 10/11/2014 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 10/11/2014 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 10/11/2014 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness

Music reviews

27
11
MAGNETIC RUST
Multicolor
26
11
MINUA
Simulacra
25
11
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Live Happily While Waiting For Death
23
11
LAPECHE
Blood In The Water
19
11
STAATSEINDE
Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
18
11
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

01
12
51 years of Ruckzuck with Kraftwerk!
30
11
Darkwave Band, TIGERCIDE Brings Chaos & Harmony To Their Single, 'I Of Tiger'
29
11
MIRLAND releases first full album since 2017
28
11
IAMNOONE releases 'Dead Season'
28
11
Today it's exactly 41 years since Siouxsie and the Banshees, released their Christmas single 'Israel'!
27
11
MESH prepares an extended live-box for their fans!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.
25
11
GRAVE JONES
Bringing Rock Back To The Charts
25
10
WINTERSTILLE
There are two contradicting aspects of individualism: the promise that you can achieve anything and the blaming of the individual for not achieving it.
04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.

PHOTOS

07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
KORINTHIANS
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

30
11
DIE WARZAU
Strike To The Body
30
11
PUSCIFER
Grand Canyon
30
11
THE KLINIK
White Trash (Inside Out Remix)
29
11
YOU, VICIOUS!
Control Freak
28
11
PORTION CONTROL
Still (Short-range missive from SEEDEP3)
27
11
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
Mark of Cain (official lyric video)
26
11
CHELSEA WOLFE
16 Psyche