tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cinema review

10/11/2014 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness

PETER CHELSOM

Hector And The Search For Happiness

MovieCinema
Comedy
Imagine Films
10/11/2014, Didier BECU

EN

We ourselves had never heard of it, but there are two million copies sold of Hector And The iFor Happiness. If the people who bought the book by the French psychiatrist François Lelord also go to the movies, then director Peter Chelsom has every reason to be happy. Who knows. Those who are looking for a feel-good film surely can buy a ticket for this one!

Hector ( Simon Pegg ) leads a good life. As a psychiatrist, he earns a lot of money and everything goes well with his wife Clara (Rosamund Pike). However, the shrink makes things difficult. Through numerous conversations with his patients, he asks himself what happiness really is. He hopes to find the answer in a world tour on which he meets the strangest characters.

Simon Pegg who we mainly know from British comedies such as Hot Fuzz or The World's End, does what he’s supposed to do. It is difficult to identify with this boring man, luckily enough the other characters are much different, like Stellan Skarsgård who plays a crafty banker or Jean Reno as (how could it be otherwise?) a dangerous drug lord. It's a pity that director Peter Chelsom (who saddled us with Serendipity and Shall We Dance) plays it all too safe. If he was more daring, then Hector And The Search For Happiness would at least be as attractive as The Secret Life Of Walter Mitty, now it’s just fun.

Didier BECU
10/11/2014


NL

Zelf hadden we er nog nooit van gehoord, maar er zijn wereldwijd twee miljoen exemplaren van Hector And The Search For Happiness verkocht. Als je die mense, die het boek van de Franse psychiater François Lelord lazen, ook nog naar je filmzaal krijgt, heb je alle redenen tot juichen, moet regisseur Peter Chelsom hebben gedacht. Wellicht zal het niet zo’n vaart lopen. De film blinkt niet echt uit, is zelfs een tikkeltje slapjes, maar wie op zoek is naar een feelgoodfilm waarvoor hij zich niet moet schamen weet wel waar naartoe.

Hector (Simon Pegg) heeft een royaal leventje in hartje Londen. Als psychiater verdient hij goed zijn brood en met zijn echtgenote Clara (Rosamund Pike) loopt ook het familiale leven zoals het hoort. Toch maakt de zielenknijper het zichzelf moeilijk. Door de talrijke gespreken met zijn patiënten stelt hij zich luidop de vraag wat geluk nu eigenlijk is. Het antwoord daarop hoopt hij te vinden in een wereldreis die hem bij de meest vreemde personages brengt.

Simon Pegg die we vooral uit Britse komedies zoals Hot Fuzz of The World’s End kennen, doet wat van hem wordt gevraagd. Het is dan ook moeilijk om je te vereenzelvigen met deze saaie droogstoppel. Gelukkig staan daar heel wat andere kleurrijke personages tegenover. Zo is er bijv. Stellan Skarsgård als gehaaide bankier of Jean Reno als (hoe kan het ook anders) gevaarlijke drugsbaron. Alleen jammer dat regisseur Peter Chelsom, die ons eerder met ondingen als Serendipity en Shall We Dance opzadelde, te veel op veilig speelt. Soms lijken de vele spreuken die de revue passeren net iets te veel op de boodschappen die je op de “liefde is”-cartoons kan lezen. Met wat durf zou Hector And The Search For Happiness minstens zo attractief als The Secret Life Of Walter Mitty kunnen zijn, nu is het niet meer dan leuk.

Didier BECU
10/11/2014


10/11/2014 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 10/11/2014 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 10/11/2014 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 10/11/2014 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 10/11/2014 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 10/11/2014 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 10/11/2014 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 10/11/2014 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 10/11/2014 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 10/11/2014 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 10/11/2014 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 10/11/2014 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 10/11/2014 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 10/11/2014 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 10/11/2014 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness 10/11/2014 : PETER CHELSOM - Hector And The Search For Happiness

Music reviews

09
08
TRANSPORT AERIAN
Big Heart
08
08
VIOLENT VICKIE
Blame
07
08
FAUST PROJECT
The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
05
08
TECHNOLORGY
Carnivore
03
08
OST+FRONT
Ikarus
15
07
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Melancholic Maniac

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
Post-Punk Band THE FUNHOUSE COLLECTIVE Unleashes Cover Of GOLDEN EARRING's 'Twilight Zone'
03
08
Gothic Rock Band BLACK ANGEL Crafts Stories Of Love With New Album: Kiss Of Death
01
08
This month, 37 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
31
07
PROVISION Breaks Seven Year Silence With 'Hearts Turn Dark'
30
07
Electronic Act VEXILLARY Examines Surveillance Culture With New EP

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
08
BILL LASWELL
'Sometimes thing sort of “follow a path”...'
08
08
BLIXA BARGELD
'The way we work is so…traditional'
06
08
SUBJECT.2
'Love, Betrayal, Deceit' - A conversation with Subject:2 on their new album
04
08
STEVE VON TILL (NEUROSIS)
'The greatest sentence in prose would have no place in a song...'
02
08
VELVET KILLS
Velvet Kills Is A Paradox, Wrapped In A Mystery, Inside Of An Enigma…

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
08
RED QUEEN
Insidious
09
08
DES AMES LIBRES
Cold Hands
08
08
BLACK FOREST
GREED
07
08
SUPERNOVA 1006
Dope
06
08
SIXTH JUNE
Nebo
05
08
ANNE CLARK
Our Darkness
04
08
PIL
Rise