tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

05/11/2015 : THE INSIGHT - White Noise

THE INSIGHT

White Noise

MusicCD
New wavePost Punk

[74/100]   

SwissDarkNights
05/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The cover looks a bit like Black Market Music by Placebo and indeed, these guys from Rennes make post-punk. Of course, it depends on what this term means, as it can be both the raw energy of early Wire and the polished sing-a-long tunes by Editors.

Funnily enough, this trio is taking the best of both worlds, added with some eccentric cold wave, because opener One Eyed Jack could be a track from Bloodflowers by The Cure.

This third album was released on Crysella Records, but there is now a second edition on Swiss Darknights. So, there is obviously a great interest in this threesome! And even though they never sound original (you always can compare them with something), White Noise still is impressive at times.

Drowned has the atmospheric feeling of Slowdive, added with the pop rhythm of say White Lies. In Give Me A Chance the long guitar parts are omitted and we get straightforward post-punk as you daily can hear on the radio till you’re sick of it. The only question is of course why The Insight is not included in the playlist. Right, they've stolen a lot of Editors who stole everything from Joy Division, so who will blame who?

Lost Soul begins with a typical Will Sergeant guitar and evolves into a pretty indie song that will please Muse fans. Falling Down sounds like the title suggests: a wistful lament. The trio probably will not be offended if we think that I Will has a high Bowie content. The Eyes is a nice punk tune with a high sing-along factor, while Movement is a beautiful piece of music that (coincidence or not) smells like New Order.

No, when it comes to originality, The Insight doesn't get many points, but they did impress us, though!

Click here for the Facebook page.

Didier BECU
05/11/2015


NL

Het hoesje lijkt wat op Black Market Music van Placebo en deze jongens uit Rennes maken inderdaad ook post-punk. Natuurlijk, het is maar hoe je het bekijkt, want deze term betekent tegenwoordig zowel de rauwe energie van de vroegere Wire, als de gepolijste meezingertjes van Editors.

Grappig genoeg zweeft dit trio ergens tussen deze twee werelden, met bovenop nog een vleugje excentrieke coldwave, want de opener One Eyed Jack kon zo uit Bloodflowers van The Cure komen.

Nadat deze derde plaat van dit trio eerder op Crysella Records verscheen, is er nu een tweede editie op Swiss Dark Nights. Er is dus blijkbaar grote interesse voor dit drietal! En ook al komen de heren geen enkele keer origineel uit de hoek (je kan het wel altijd met iets vergelijken), is White Noise bij momenten toch indrukwekkend, en op andere momenten dan weer gewoontjes.

Drowned bezit bijv. het atmosferische gevoel van Slowdive, aangevuld met het popritme van zeg maar White Lies. In Give Me A Chance worden de lange gitaarpartijen wat achterwege gelaten en krijgen we recht toe recht aan postpunk zoals je die dagelijks tot vervelens toe op de radio kan horen. De enige vraagt die rijst is natuurlijk, waarom The Insight niet in de playlist zit. Juist, ze hebben heel wat van Editors gejat, maar die hebben op hun beurt dan weer alles van Joy Division gepikt, dus wie zal wie veroordelen?

Lost Soul begint met een typisch Will Sergeant-gitaartje en ontpopt zich na enkele luisterbeurten tot een knap indienummer dat wellicht fans van Muse zal plezieren. Falling Down klinkt zoals de titel het laat vermoeden: een weemoedige klaagzang. Het trio zal wellicht niet boos zijn als we vinden dat I Will een hoog Bowie-gehalte bevat. The Eyes is een knappe brok punk met een hoge meezingfactor, terwijl Movement door zijn meeslepend synthgeluid een prachtig stukje muziek is dat (toeval of niet) naar New Order ruikt.

Neen, als het op originaliteit aankomt krijgt The Insight weinig punten, maar indruk hebben ze wel gemaakt!

Klik hier voor hun Facebookpagina.

Didier BECU
05/11/2015


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline