tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

05/11/2015 : THE INSIGHT - White Noise

THE INSIGHT

White Noise

MusicCD
New wavePost Punk

[74/100]   

SwissDarkNights
05/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The cover looks a bit like Black Market Music by Placebo and indeed, these guys from Rennes make post-punk. Of course, it depends on what this term means, as it can be both the raw energy of early Wire and the polished sing-a-long tunes by Editors.

Funnily enough, this trio is taking the best of both worlds, added with some eccentric cold wave, because opener One Eyed Jack could be a track from Bloodflowers by The Cure.

This third album was released on Crysella Records, but there is now a second edition on Swiss Darknights. So, there is obviously a great interest in this threesome! And even though they never sound original (you always can compare them with something), White Noise still is impressive at times.

Drowned has the atmospheric feeling of Slowdive, added with the pop rhythm of say White Lies. In Give Me A Chance the long guitar parts are omitted and we get straightforward post-punk as you daily can hear on the radio till you’re sick of it. The only question is of course why The Insight is not included in the playlist. Right, they've stolen a lot of Editors who stole everything from Joy Division, so who will blame who?

Lost Soul begins with a typical Will Sergeant guitar and evolves into a pretty indie song that will please Muse fans. Falling Down sounds like the title suggests: a wistful lament. The trio probably will not be offended if we think that I Will has a high Bowie content. The Eyes is a nice punk tune with a high sing-along factor, while Movement is a beautiful piece of music that (coincidence or not) smells like New Order.

No, when it comes to originality, The Insight doesn't get many points, but they did impress us, though!

Click here for the Facebook page.

Didier BECU
05/11/2015


NL

Het hoesje lijkt wat op Black Market Music van Placebo en deze jongens uit Rennes maken inderdaad ook post-punk. Natuurlijk, het is maar hoe je het bekijkt, want deze term betekent tegenwoordig zowel de rauwe energie van de vroegere Wire, als de gepolijste meezingertjes van Editors.

Grappig genoeg zweeft dit trio ergens tussen deze twee werelden, met bovenop nog een vleugje excentrieke coldwave, want de opener One Eyed Jack kon zo uit Bloodflowers van The Cure komen.

Nadat deze derde plaat van dit trio eerder op Crysella Records verscheen, is er nu een tweede editie op Swiss Dark Nights. Er is dus blijkbaar grote interesse voor dit drietal! En ook al komen de heren geen enkele keer origineel uit de hoek (je kan het wel altijd met iets vergelijken), is White Noise bij momenten toch indrukwekkend, en op andere momenten dan weer gewoontjes.

Drowned bezit bijv. het atmosferische gevoel van Slowdive, aangevuld met het popritme van zeg maar White Lies. In Give Me A Chance worden de lange gitaarpartijen wat achterwege gelaten en krijgen we recht toe recht aan postpunk zoals je die dagelijks tot vervelens toe op de radio kan horen. De enige vraagt die rijst is natuurlijk, waarom The Insight niet in de playlist zit. Juist, ze hebben heel wat van Editors gejat, maar die hebben op hun beurt dan weer alles van Joy Division gepikt, dus wie zal wie veroordelen?

Lost Soul begint met een typisch Will Sergeant-gitaartje en ontpopt zich na enkele luisterbeurten tot een knap indienummer dat wellicht fans van Muse zal plezieren. Falling Down klinkt zoals de titel het laat vermoeden: een weemoedige klaagzang. Het trio zal wellicht niet boos zijn als we vinden dat I Will een hoog Bowie-gehalte bevat. The Eyes is een knappe brok punk met een hoge meezingfactor, terwijl Movement door zijn meeslepend synthgeluid een prachtig stukje muziek is dat (toeval of niet) naar New Order ruikt.

Neen, als het op originaliteit aankomt krijgt The Insight weinig punten, maar indruk hebben ze wel gemaakt!

Klik hier voor hun Facebookpagina.

Didier BECU
05/11/2015


Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu
19
06
SLITHERUM
Godbox Suicide