tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

05/11/2015 : THE INSIGHT - White Noise

THE INSIGHT

White Noise

MusicCD
New wavePost Punk

[74/100]   

SwissDarkNights
05/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The cover looks a bit like Black Market Music by Placebo and indeed, these guys from Rennes make post-punk. Of course, it depends on what this term means, as it can be both the raw energy of early Wire and the polished sing-a-long tunes by Editors.

Funnily enough, this trio is taking the best of both worlds, added with some eccentric cold wave, because opener One Eyed Jack could be a track from Bloodflowers by The Cure.

This third album was released on Crysella Records, but there is now a second edition on Swiss Darknights. So, there is obviously a great interest in this threesome! And even though they never sound original (you always can compare them with something), White Noise still is impressive at times.

Drowned has the atmospheric feeling of Slowdive, added with the pop rhythm of say White Lies. In Give Me A Chance the long guitar parts are omitted and we get straightforward post-punk as you daily can hear on the radio till you’re sick of it. The only question is of course why The Insight is not included in the playlist. Right, they've stolen a lot of Editors who stole everything from Joy Division, so who will blame who?

Lost Soul begins with a typical Will Sergeant guitar and evolves into a pretty indie song that will please Muse fans. Falling Down sounds like the title suggests: a wistful lament. The trio probably will not be offended if we think that I Will has a high Bowie content. The Eyes is a nice punk tune with a high sing-along factor, while Movement is a beautiful piece of music that (coincidence or not) smells like New Order.

No, when it comes to originality, The Insight doesn't get many points, but they did impress us, though!

Click here for the Facebook page.

Didier BECU
05/11/2015


NL

Het hoesje lijkt wat op Black Market Music van Placebo en deze jongens uit Rennes maken inderdaad ook post-punk. Natuurlijk, het is maar hoe je het bekijkt, want deze term betekent tegenwoordig zowel de rauwe energie van de vroegere Wire, als de gepolijste meezingertjes van Editors.

Grappig genoeg zweeft dit trio ergens tussen deze twee werelden, met bovenop nog een vleugje excentrieke coldwave, want de opener One Eyed Jack kon zo uit Bloodflowers van The Cure komen.

Nadat deze derde plaat van dit trio eerder op Crysella Records verscheen, is er nu een tweede editie op Swiss Dark Nights. Er is dus blijkbaar grote interesse voor dit drietal! En ook al komen de heren geen enkele keer origineel uit de hoek (je kan het wel altijd met iets vergelijken), is White Noise bij momenten toch indrukwekkend, en op andere momenten dan weer gewoontjes.

Drowned bezit bijv. het atmosferische gevoel van Slowdive, aangevuld met het popritme van zeg maar White Lies. In Give Me A Chance worden de lange gitaarpartijen wat achterwege gelaten en krijgen we recht toe recht aan postpunk zoals je die dagelijks tot vervelens toe op de radio kan horen. De enige vraagt die rijst is natuurlijk, waarom The Insight niet in de playlist zit. Juist, ze hebben heel wat van Editors gejat, maar die hebben op hun beurt dan weer alles van Joy Division gepikt, dus wie zal wie veroordelen?

Lost Soul begint met een typisch Will Sergeant-gitaartje en ontpopt zich na enkele luisterbeurten tot een knap indienummer dat wellicht fans van Muse zal plezieren. Falling Down klinkt zoals de titel het laat vermoeden: een weemoedige klaagzang. Het trio zal wellicht niet boos zijn als we vinden dat I Will een hoog Bowie-gehalte bevat. The Eyes is een knappe brok punk met een hoge meezingfactor, terwijl Movement door zijn meeslepend synthgeluid een prachtig stukje muziek is dat (toeval of niet) naar New Order ruikt.

Neen, als het op originaliteit aankomt krijgt The Insight weinig punten, maar indruk hebben ze wel gemaakt!

Klik hier voor hun Facebookpagina.

Didier BECU
05/11/2015


Music reviews

10
05
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Fear And Cufre
09
05
NEL & JP
Desinterersse
07
05
DARKEST NIGHT 2024
30
04
ATTRITION
The Black Maria
26
04
HYBRYDS
Mythopia, the sequel
25
04
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Elysium

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
05
TRAGIC VISIONS Confronts Mental Health Struggles With First New Album In 15 Years
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
50 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
38 years of 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
22
05
43 years Spellbound!
19
05
46 of The Man-Machine!

Concert reviews

15
04
FAD GADGET
***FLASHBACK REVIEW***The Return of FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REVIEW***
16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...
18
06
ERATO - BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Black Planet Fest - @ B 52 Music Club Eernegem - friday 19th of may
18
06
KORINTHIANS, NEL & JP, NONA PROBLEMO
@Charlatan Ghent - 25 mei 2023

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
05
AUSGANG
“This crushing, slamming, heavy strife …” It is 1982. In and around Birmingham a band arises from the ashes of various Post-Punk acts.
11
05
XTR HUMAN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist, XTR Human
09
05
THE RED MOON MACABRE
Resurrected after 32 years in 2021, now very active again. Interview with Renzo Tellez, founder of the classic Goth Rock band ‘The Red Moon Macabre’.
06
05
NOW AFTER NOTHING
An Interview With Darkwave Band, NOW AFTER NOTHING
10
04
ATTRITION
An Interview With The Legendary, ATTRITION

PHOTOS

26
05
DER W STEFAN WEIDNER
Christuskirche Bochum
20
05
MONO INC
Christuskirche Bochum
14
05
CHRISTIAN DEATH
Rockpalast Bochum Matrix
16
04
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Kulttempel Oberhausen
16
04
NICHTS
Christuskirche Bochum
15
04
FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REPORT***
Elektrofest 15/04/2001, Mean Fiddler, London
14
04
OTTO VON SCHIRACH
Magasin4 Anderlecht

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

29
05
VOITH
Kraftwerk (Roboterkönige)
28
05
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
27
05
MIDAS FALL
Glue
26
05
NEW ORDER
Blue Monday
25
05
ANIMAUX ANIME
Power
24
05
BEBORN BETON
Last Day On Earth
23
05
SRSQ
Permission