tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

05/11/2015 : THE INSIGHT - White Noise

THE INSIGHT

White Noise

MusicCD
New wavePost Punk

[74/100]   

SwissDarkNights
05/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

The cover looks a bit like Black Market Music by Placebo and indeed, these guys from Rennes make post-punk. Of course, it depends on what this term means, as it can be both the raw energy of early Wire and the polished sing-a-long tunes by Editors.

Funnily enough, this trio is taking the best of both worlds, added with some eccentric cold wave, because opener One Eyed Jack could be a track from Bloodflowers by The Cure.

This third album was released on Crysella Records, but there is now a second edition on Swiss Darknights. So, there is obviously a great interest in this threesome! And even though they never sound original (you always can compare them with something), White Noise still is impressive at times.

Drowned has the atmospheric feeling of Slowdive, added with the pop rhythm of say White Lies. In Give Me A Chance the long guitar parts are omitted and we get straightforward post-punk as you daily can hear on the radio till you’re sick of it. The only question is of course why The Insight is not included in the playlist. Right, they've stolen a lot of Editors who stole everything from Joy Division, so who will blame who?

Lost Soul begins with a typical Will Sergeant guitar and evolves into a pretty indie song that will please Muse fans. Falling Down sounds like the title suggests: a wistful lament. The trio probably will not be offended if we think that I Will has a high Bowie content. The Eyes is a nice punk tune with a high sing-along factor, while Movement is a beautiful piece of music that (coincidence or not) smells like New Order.

No, when it comes to originality, The Insight doesn't get many points, but they did impress us, though!

Click here for the Facebook page.

Didier BECU
05/11/2015


NL

Het hoesje lijkt wat op Black Market Music van Placebo en deze jongens uit Rennes maken inderdaad ook post-punk. Natuurlijk, het is maar hoe je het bekijkt, want deze term betekent tegenwoordig zowel de rauwe energie van de vroegere Wire, als de gepolijste meezingertjes van Editors.

Grappig genoeg zweeft dit trio ergens tussen deze twee werelden, met bovenop nog een vleugje excentrieke coldwave, want de opener One Eyed Jack kon zo uit Bloodflowers van The Cure komen.

Nadat deze derde plaat van dit trio eerder op Crysella Records verscheen, is er nu een tweede editie op Swiss Dark Nights. Er is dus blijkbaar grote interesse voor dit drietal! En ook al komen de heren geen enkele keer origineel uit de hoek (je kan het wel altijd met iets vergelijken), is White Noise bij momenten toch indrukwekkend, en op andere momenten dan weer gewoontjes.

Drowned bezit bijv. het atmosferische gevoel van Slowdive, aangevuld met het popritme van zeg maar White Lies. In Give Me A Chance worden de lange gitaarpartijen wat achterwege gelaten en krijgen we recht toe recht aan postpunk zoals je die dagelijks tot vervelens toe op de radio kan horen. De enige vraagt die rijst is natuurlijk, waarom The Insight niet in de playlist zit. Juist, ze hebben heel wat van Editors gejat, maar die hebben op hun beurt dan weer alles van Joy Division gepikt, dus wie zal wie veroordelen?

Lost Soul begint met een typisch Will Sergeant-gitaartje en ontpopt zich na enkele luisterbeurten tot een knap indienummer dat wellicht fans van Muse zal plezieren. Falling Down klinkt zoals de titel het laat vermoeden: een weemoedige klaagzang. Het trio zal wellicht niet boos zijn als we vinden dat I Will een hoog Bowie-gehalte bevat. The Eyes is een knappe brok punk met een hoge meezingfactor, terwijl Movement door zijn meeslepend synthgeluid een prachtig stukje muziek is dat (toeval of niet) naar New Order ruikt.

Neen, als het op originaliteit aankomt krijgt The Insight weinig punten, maar indruk hebben ze wel gemaakt!

Klik hier voor hun Facebookpagina.

Didier BECU
05/11/2015


Music reviews

25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela