tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

05/11/2015 : SAINTSENECA - Such Things

SAINTSENECA

Such Things

MusicCD
IndieNoisePsychedelic
Anti Records
05/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Barely a year after Dark Arc is released, Saintseneca returns with a brand new album that contains fifteen tracks. This group from Columbus, Ohio, is the brainchild of Zac Little, a musician who really does everything. Making a list of all the instruments that Zac plays on this record (from ukulele to the sitar) probably would bore our readers, but we counted something like 20!

Zac grew up in Appalachia (the American mountains from Alabama to Newfoundland) and you can hear it, as his music sounds a bit alienated, in the sense that Zac does not take notice of any music law. Sometimes it is messy, at certain moments experimental, suddenly it’s poppy, and then it seems like a sound mush in which you hardly can detect a structure or a melody. It is no coincidence that his lo-fi indie noise often is compared to Neutral Milk Hotel.

A track of Saintseneca can go in any direction. The band (completed with Maryn Jones, Steve Ciolek, Matthew O'Conke, John Meador and Mike Mogis) dares to mess up everything by starting an unexpected style break in the middle of a track. No, Saintseneca will never be an easy band to understand, but they definitely put a spell on you!

Didier BECU
05/11/2015


NL

Amper een jaar nadat Dark Arc verscheen, is Saintseneca er al opnieuw met een opvolger die vijftien tracks bevat. Deze groep uit Columbus, Ohio, is het geesteskind van Zac Little, een muzikant die zowat alles kan. Een lijst maken van alle instrumenten die Zac bespeelt op deze plaat (van ukelele tot de sitar) zou iedere lezer wellicht vervelen, maar het zijn er in ieder geval meer dan 20!

Zac groeide op in Appalachen (het Amerikaanse middengebergte dat zich van Alabama tot Newfoundland uitstrekt) en dat hoor je wel een beetje, zijn muziek is gewoon een tikkeltje wereldvreemd, in die zin dat Zac geen enkele keer rekening houdt met de geldende muziekwetten. Soms is het rommelig, op bepaalde momenten experimenteel, dan weer poppy en het kan ook een geluidsbrij zijn waarin je slechts na een aantal beluisteringen een structuur of een melodie ontdekt. Het is dan ook geen toeval dat zijn lo-fi indienoise tot vervelens toe met Neutral Milk Hotel is vergeleken.

Een nummer van Saintseneca kan alle richtingen uit, niet alleen wat de stijl betreft, maar de groep (uitgebreid met Maryn Jones, Steve Ciolek, Matthew O’Conke, John Meador en Mike Mogis) durft het aan om alles overhoop te halen door middenin een nummer plotseling een onverwachte stijlbreuk te zetten. Neen, Saintseneca zal nooit een gemakkelijke band zijn om te doorgronden, intrigreren doen ze wel!

Didier BECU
05/11/2015


 

Next reviews
GURGUBUREK • Old Postcards
DOGANOV • Conducting Chaos
PURITY RING • Antwerpen, Trix (1/11/2015)
CRADLE OF FILTH • Antwerp, Trix (29/10/1015)
LUC VAN ACKER • The Ship
KARI RUESLATTEN • To The North
YEALLOW • Homebred
THIS GREY CITY • II
YELLOW6 • No Memories, Only Photographes
STUDIO-X VS SIMON CARTER • Ad Astra Volantis

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + NOISE + PSYCHEDELIC
ADAM & THE MADAMS • A & TM

 

Same genre: INDIE
KASPER HATE • Why Live When You Can Rule
SPARE SNARE • Unicorn
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
TOMY LOBO • Golden Birds
TOMMIGUN • Wooden Son
SKINNY GIRL DIET • Heavyflow
KING CHAMPION SOUNDS • To Awake In That Heaven Of Freedom
TAU • Tau Tau Tau
USUREI YATSURA • You Are My Usurei Yatsura:

 

Same genre: NOISE
DIVE • Underneath
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)
ONEIROGEN • Convivium
FORMS OF HANDS 16 • Hands Label Sampler
LA MUERTE • Murder Machine

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
DURAN DURAN • Pop Trash
MANI NEUMEIER • Talking Guru Drums
NIGHT BEATS • Who Sold My Generation
THE CLAYPOOL LENNON DELIRIUM • Monolith of Phobos

Music reviews

01
02
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Hologram Moon
31
01
MIRLAND/LARSEN
Disturbia
30
01
KASPER HATE
Why Live When You Can Rule
29
01
GLAARE
To Deaf and Day
28
01
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT
NEIN! (Single)
27
01
BLUTENGEL
Black

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
02
Nemuer Unveils Mystical Music Video With Ancient Babylonian Lyrics
16
02
Mignon's new album “Toys Tantrum” is out on 9 February
16
02
3DFLY, featuring Dirk Da Davo (The Neon Judgement/Neon Electronics) releases EP!
15
02
The Arch announces new album concept and will release one brand new song every month of 2018!
14
02
JOACHIM WITT, QNTAL, IN THE NURSERY, RROYCE & MANY OTHERS TO COMPLETE THE AMPHI LINE-UP 2018
14
02
Today, exactly 39 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

31
01
KIM LARSEN (: OF THE WAND AND THE MOON:)
Symbols still carry personal meaning to me.
29
01
ELEKTROSTAUB
'I think it will be almost impossible to combine all the artists into one single concept.'
26
01
DIE FORM
I would like to be optimistic and positive, but the world seems to move inexorably/blindly towards a sombre future, towards chaos.
24
01
LIVINGTOTEM
‘INDUSTRIAL INFUSED ROMANTIC TECHNOID MUSIC’
22
01
MESH
Richard Silverthorn Of Mesh On “Gothic Meets Classic” And The “Live at Neues Gewandhaus Leipzig” Album

PHOTOS

10
02
NIK KERSHAW
New Victoria Theatre, Woking, UK
10
02
CUTTING CREW
New Victoria Theatre, Woking, UK
23
01
THE ALARM
Winterfest Gent
23
01
WOLFGANG FLUR
Winterfest Gent
23
01
TB FRANK & BAUSTEIN
Winterfest Gent
23
01
SIMI NAH
Winterfest Gent
23
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Winterfest Gent

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
02
SURGICAL METH MACHINE
I'm Invisible
17
02
FEVER RAY
If I Had A Heart
16
02
A DARKER COLOR BRIGHT
Fluorescent
15
02
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
I Face The Wall
14
02
THE SPECTORS
Sharknado
13
02
LIGHTS OF EUPHORIA
Hallo Hallo
12
02
NORMORIA
We Came In Peace