tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

05/11/2015 : SAINTSENECA - Such Things

SAINTSENECA

Such Things

MusicCD
IndieNoisePsychedelic
Anti Records
05/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Barely a year after Dark Arc is released, Saintseneca returns with a brand new album that contains fifteen tracks. This group from Columbus, Ohio, is the brainchild of Zac Little, a musician who really does everything. Making a list of all the instruments that Zac plays on this record (from ukulele to the sitar) probably would bore our readers, but we counted something like 20!

Zac grew up in Appalachia (the American mountains from Alabama to Newfoundland) and you can hear it, as his music sounds a bit alienated, in the sense that Zac does not take notice of any music law. Sometimes it is messy, at certain moments experimental, suddenly it’s poppy, and then it seems like a sound mush in which you hardly can detect a structure or a melody. It is no coincidence that his lo-fi indie noise often is compared to Neutral Milk Hotel.

A track of Saintseneca can go in any direction. The band (completed with Maryn Jones, Steve Ciolek, Matthew O'Conke, John Meador and Mike Mogis) dares to mess up everything by starting an unexpected style break in the middle of a track. No, Saintseneca will never be an easy band to understand, but they definitely put a spell on you!

Didier BECU
05/11/2015


NL

Amper een jaar nadat Dark Arc verscheen, is Saintseneca er al opnieuw met een opvolger die vijftien tracks bevat. Deze groep uit Columbus, Ohio, is het geesteskind van Zac Little, een muzikant die zowat alles kan. Een lijst maken van alle instrumenten die Zac bespeelt op deze plaat (van ukelele tot de sitar) zou iedere lezer wellicht vervelen, maar het zijn er in ieder geval meer dan 20!

Zac groeide op in Appalachen (het Amerikaanse middengebergte dat zich van Alabama tot Newfoundland uitstrekt) en dat hoor je wel een beetje, zijn muziek is gewoon een tikkeltje wereldvreemd, in die zin dat Zac geen enkele keer rekening houdt met de geldende muziekwetten. Soms is het rommelig, op bepaalde momenten experimenteel, dan weer poppy en het kan ook een geluidsbrij zijn waarin je slechts na een aantal beluisteringen een structuur of een melodie ontdekt. Het is dan ook geen toeval dat zijn lo-fi indienoise tot vervelens toe met Neutral Milk Hotel is vergeleken.

Een nummer van Saintseneca kan alle richtingen uit, niet alleen wat de stijl betreft, maar de groep (uitgebreid met Maryn Jones, Steve Ciolek, Matthew O’Conke, John Meador en Mike Mogis) durft het aan om alles overhoop te halen door middenin een nummer plotseling een onverwachte stijlbreuk te zetten. Neen, Saintseneca zal nooit een gemakkelijke band zijn om te doorgronden, intrigreren doen ze wel!

Didier BECU
05/11/2015


 

Next reviews
GURGUBUREK • Old Postcards
DOGANOV • Conducting Chaos
PURITY RING • Antwerpen, Trix (1/11/2015)
CRADLE OF FILTH • Antwerp, Trix (29/10/1015)
LUC VAN ACKER • The Ship
KARI RUESLATTEN • To The North
YEALLOW • Homebred
THIS GREY CITY • II
YELLOW6 • No Memories, Only Photographes
STUDIO-X VS SIMON CARTER • Ad Astra Volantis

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + NOISE + PSYCHEDELIC
ADAM & THE MADAMS • A & TM

 

Same genre: INDIE
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers
KASPER HATE • Why Live When You Can Rule
SPARE SNARE • Unicorn
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
TOMY LOBO • Golden Birds
TOMMIGUN • Wooden Son
SKINNY GIRL DIET • Heavyflow
KING CHAMPION SOUNDS • To Awake In That Heaven Of Freedom

 

Same genre: NOISE
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
DIVE • Underneath
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)
ONEIROGEN • Convivium
FORMS OF HANDS 16 • Hands Label Sampler

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
DURAN DURAN • Pop Trash
MANI NEUMEIER • Talking Guru Drums
NIGHT BEATS • Who Sold My Generation

Music reviews

17
02
NEON ELECTRONICS
Mondriaan
15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Damned, Damned, Damned - At 42, 42, 42!
18
02
Today, exactly 16 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
Mechanical Man | Remembering Bob Casale - The Devo Legend
15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
02
ADRIANO CANZIAN
Almost Everything That Is Produced Today Makes Me Sick
16
02
THE ARCH
Living healthy can be pretty stressful
16
02
EVI VINE
'..I am a human being taking one step forward-two steps back like everyone else'
15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.

PHOTOS

17
02
KAELAN MIKLA
Magasin 4
17
02
SOME EMBER
Magasin 4
17
02
TURQUOISE
Magasin 4
10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
02
MIREXXX
Nine angles
19
02
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
18
02
WARHAUS
The Good Lie
17
02
HYBRYDS
I hear you calling
16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession