tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

05/11/2015 : SAINTSENECA - Such Things

SAINTSENECA

Such Things

MusicCD
IndieNoisePsychedelic
Anti Records
05/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Barely a year after Dark Arc is released, Saintseneca returns with a brand new album that contains fifteen tracks. This group from Columbus, Ohio, is the brainchild of Zac Little, a musician who really does everything. Making a list of all the instruments that Zac plays on this record (from ukulele to the sitar) probably would bore our readers, but we counted something like 20!

Zac grew up in Appalachia (the American mountains from Alabama to Newfoundland) and you can hear it, as his music sounds a bit alienated, in the sense that Zac does not take notice of any music law. Sometimes it is messy, at certain moments experimental, suddenly it’s poppy, and then it seems like a sound mush in which you hardly can detect a structure or a melody. It is no coincidence that his lo-fi indie noise often is compared to Neutral Milk Hotel.

A track of Saintseneca can go in any direction. The band (completed with Maryn Jones, Steve Ciolek, Matthew O'Conke, John Meador and Mike Mogis) dares to mess up everything by starting an unexpected style break in the middle of a track. No, Saintseneca will never be an easy band to understand, but they definitely put a spell on you!

Didier BECU
05/11/2015


NL

Amper een jaar nadat Dark Arc verscheen, is Saintseneca er al opnieuw met een opvolger die vijftien tracks bevat. Deze groep uit Columbus, Ohio, is het geesteskind van Zac Little, een muzikant die zowat alles kan. Een lijst maken van alle instrumenten die Zac bespeelt op deze plaat (van ukelele tot de sitar) zou iedere lezer wellicht vervelen, maar het zijn er in ieder geval meer dan 20!

Zac groeide op in Appalachen (het Amerikaanse middengebergte dat zich van Alabama tot Newfoundland uitstrekt) en dat hoor je wel een beetje, zijn muziek is gewoon een tikkeltje wereldvreemd, in die zin dat Zac geen enkele keer rekening houdt met de geldende muziekwetten. Soms is het rommelig, op bepaalde momenten experimenteel, dan weer poppy en het kan ook een geluidsbrij zijn waarin je slechts na een aantal beluisteringen een structuur of een melodie ontdekt. Het is dan ook geen toeval dat zijn lo-fi indienoise tot vervelens toe met Neutral Milk Hotel is vergeleken.

Een nummer van Saintseneca kan alle richtingen uit, niet alleen wat de stijl betreft, maar de groep (uitgebreid met Maryn Jones, Steve Ciolek, Matthew O’Conke, John Meador en Mike Mogis) durft het aan om alles overhoop te halen door middenin een nummer plotseling een onverwachte stijlbreuk te zetten. Neen, Saintseneca zal nooit een gemakkelijke band zijn om te doorgronden, intrigreren doen ze wel!

Didier BECU
05/11/2015


 

Next reviews
GURGUBUREK • Old Postcards
DOGANOV • Conducting Chaos
PURITY RING • Antwerpen, Trix (1/11/2015)
CRADLE OF FILTH • Antwerp, Trix (29/10/1015)
LUC VAN ACKER • The Ship
KARI RUESLATTEN • To The North
YEALLOW • Homebred
THIS GREY CITY • II
YELLOW6 • No Memories, Only Photographes
STUDIO-X VS SIMON CARTER • Ad Astra Volantis

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + NOISE + PSYCHEDELIC
ADAM & THE MADAMS • A & TM

 

Same genre: INDIE
SJOBLOM • Tape
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding

 

Same genre: NOISE
THE HEAT INC. • EP
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
DIVE • Underneath
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
DURAN DURAN • Pop Trash

Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 39 today!
06
10
Electro-Pop Artist EVA X Drops New Video 'Machine'
30
09
Amy Koppelman's novel adaption 'A Mouthful Of Air' coming to theaters October 29th!
29
09
Canadian Industrial Act DI AUGER Takes Raw Anger To Government Tyranny with 'Piss & Vinegar'
25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.

PHOTOS

03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
14
10
NOISUF-X
Let's Rock
13
10
ANNA MEREDITH
R-Type
12
10
LOLA ANGST
Wie Gott
11
10
GESAFFELSTEIN
Pursuit (Official Video - Not Blurred)
10
10
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Halloween
09
10
FRONT 242
Tragedy For You