tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL

05/11/2015 : SAINTSENECA - Such Things

SAINTSENECA

Such Things

MusicCD
IndieNoisePsychedelic
Anti Records
05/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Barely a year after Dark Arc is released, Saintseneca returns with a brand new album that contains fifteen tracks. This group from Columbus, Ohio, is the brainchild of Zac Little, a musician who really does everything. Making a list of all the instruments that Zac plays on this record (from ukulele to the sitar) probably would bore our readers, but we counted something like 20!

Zac grew up in Appalachia (the American mountains from Alabama to Newfoundland) and you can hear it, as his music sounds a bit alienated, in the sense that Zac does not take notice of any music law. Sometimes it is messy, at certain moments experimental, suddenly it’s poppy, and then it seems like a sound mush in which you hardly can detect a structure or a melody. It is no coincidence that his lo-fi indie noise often is compared to Neutral Milk Hotel.

A track of Saintseneca can go in any direction. The band (completed with Maryn Jones, Steve Ciolek, Matthew O'Conke, John Meador and Mike Mogis) dares to mess up everything by starting an unexpected style break in the middle of a track. No, Saintseneca will never be an easy band to understand, but they definitely put a spell on you!

Didier BECU
05/11/2015


NL

Amper een jaar nadat Dark Arc verscheen, is Saintseneca er al opnieuw met een opvolger die vijftien tracks bevat. Deze groep uit Columbus, Ohio, is het geesteskind van Zac Little, een muzikant die zowat alles kan. Een lijst maken van alle instrumenten die Zac bespeelt op deze plaat (van ukelele tot de sitar) zou iedere lezer wellicht vervelen, maar het zijn er in ieder geval meer dan 20!

Zac groeide op in Appalachen (het Amerikaanse middengebergte dat zich van Alabama tot Newfoundland uitstrekt) en dat hoor je wel een beetje, zijn muziek is gewoon een tikkeltje wereldvreemd, in die zin dat Zac geen enkele keer rekening houdt met de geldende muziekwetten. Soms is het rommelig, op bepaalde momenten experimenteel, dan weer poppy en het kan ook een geluidsbrij zijn waarin je slechts na een aantal beluisteringen een structuur of een melodie ontdekt. Het is dan ook geen toeval dat zijn lo-fi indienoise tot vervelens toe met Neutral Milk Hotel is vergeleken.

Een nummer van Saintseneca kan alle richtingen uit, niet alleen wat de stijl betreft, maar de groep (uitgebreid met Maryn Jones, Steve Ciolek, Matthew O’Conke, John Meador en Mike Mogis) durft het aan om alles overhoop te halen door middenin een nummer plotseling een onverwachte stijlbreuk te zetten. Neen, Saintseneca zal nooit een gemakkelijke band zijn om te doorgronden, intrigreren doen ze wel!

Didier BECU
05/11/2015


 

Next reviews
GURGUBUREK • Old Postcards
DOGANOV • Conducting Chaos
PURITY RING • Antwerpen, Trix (1/11/2015)
CRADLE OF FILTH • Antwerp, Trix (29/10/1015)
LUC VAN ACKER • The Ship
KARI RUESLATTEN • To The North
YEALLOW • Homebred
THIS GREY CITY • II
YELLOW6 • No Memories, Only Photographes
STUDIO-X VS SIMON CARTER • Ad Astra Volantis

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + NOISE + PSYCHEDELIC
ADAM & THE MADAMS • A & TM

 

Same genre: INDIE
SPARE SNARE • Unicorn
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
TOMY LOBO • Golden Birds
TOMMIGUN • Wooden Son
SKINNY GIRL DIET • Heavyflow
KING CHAMPION SOUNDS • To Awake In That Heaven Of Freedom
TAU • Tau Tau Tau
USUREI YATSURA • You Are My Usurei Yatsura:
SILVER APPLES • Clinging to a Dream

 

Same genre: NOISE
DIVE • Underneath
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People
MOON WORSHIP • Book of Pops
PUFF • Living In The Partyzone
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)
ONEIROGEN • Convivium
FORMS OF HANDS 16 • Hands Label Sampler
LA MUERTE • Murder Machine

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
DURAN DURAN • Pop Trash
MANI NEUMEIER • Talking Guru Drums
NIGHT BEATS • Who Sold My Generation
THE CLAYPOOL LENNON DELIRIUM • Monolith of Phobos

Music reviews

20
11
ELEZORIA
Astray
16
11
STAATSEINDE
Neue Zyklus
11
11
AM TIERPARK
Trashy Luxury
08
11
BOY HARSHER
Country Girl
07
11
OUR BANSHEE
4200
06
11
IMPLANT
The Phone Call (EP)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
11
Then Comes Silence kick off tour today!
11
11
MORTIIS has reissued 'Ånden som Gjorde Opprør', 'Keiser av en Dimensjon Ukjent' and “Født til å Herske” (LP/CD/digital)
08
11
Blutengel releases new video and album 'Black'.
04
11
New band confirmations for the Out Of Line Weekender in Berlin!
02
11
Line-up International EBM Day @ De Casino, St-Niklaas (B) complete!
29
10
New album of FUTURE FUNK SQUAD

Concert reviews

19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017
27
08
THE JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Live at Brussels Summer Fest - 13.08.2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
11
EIRIKURA
'Music can be an uniting and uplifting force and very much a redemptive one for all mankind'
05
11
GENE LOVES JEZEBEL
About their brand new album Dance Underwater and more...
25
10
SWEET WILLIAM
FOR ME MUSIC IS GOOD WHEN IT LEAVES YOU ROOM FOR YOUR OWN ILLUSIONS AND OF COURSE A CERTAIN DEPTH’
23
10
STURM CAFE
‘WE DO ENJOY THE 100% CONTROL BUT IT COMES WITH GREAT FINANCIAL RISKS’
19
10
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
'When you see that some chords that you have composed become a song, it's a very special feeling.'

PHOTOS

19
11
TINY MAGNETIC PETS
G Live, Guildrofrd, UK
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
G Live, Guildrofrd, UK
13
11
RED ZEBRA
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
THE BOLLOCK BROTHERS
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
KISS THE ANUS OF A BLACK CAT
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
STRUGGLER
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium
13
11
DONDER, HEL & HAGEL
Het Depot, Leuven, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

11
12
The World of Hante
11
12
ORGANIC
Ten Albums That Changed Our Lives
11
12
JAMES WILD (WILD ROSES FOR THE EXIT)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
TCHELESKOV IVANOVITCH (SIGNAL AOUT 42, GRANDCHAOS)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life
11
12
PEER LEBRECHT (GOLDEN APES)
Ten Albums That Changed My Life

VIDEO CLIPS

24
11
THE SOUND
Sense Of Purpose
23
11
ECHO BEATTY
Hunger Hunger
22
11
SIRENIA
Once My Light
21
11
EXIT STRATEGY
Dead Zone
20
11
BAUHAUS
Ziggy Stardust
19
11
EX-RZ
I can't live in a living room
18
11
MIIKE SNOW
Genghis Khan