tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : CHVRCHES - Every Open Eye

CHVRCHES

Every Open Eye

MusicCD
ElectronicsIndietronicaSynthpop

[78/100]   

EMI
08/12/2016, Benny CALUWE

EN

I learned to know Chvrches, an indietronica band from Glasgow, in 2013 with the terrific track Lies. The song appealed to me immediately. Every time I found myself singing along: I can sell you lies … I can feed your dirty mind, like I know, like I know what you want. Fantastic.

Lies was one of the singles of Chvrches’ debut album The Bones Of What You Believe. Generally, the album received favorable reviews and included some other nice singles such asThe Mother We Share and We Sink. The latter was featured on the soundtrack of FIFA14. Chvrches covered the classical Bauhaus song Bella Lugosi’s Dead for the end credits of the satirical horror movie Vampire Academy: Blood Sisters as well.

Every Open Eye, Chvrches’ sophomore album was released in September 2015. The cover with the roses reminds me of New Order’s album cover of Power, Corruption And Lies. You hear influences of New Order and other synth pop bands such as Depeche Mode and Eurythmics. Although Chvrches’ sound refers to the 80s, the band sounds contemporary. However, the sound of Every Open Eye stays close to that of The Bones Of What You Believe. They used fewer processed vocal effects as on their debut.

Every Open Eye opens with the upbeat Never Ending Circles and the catchy Leave A Trace, one of several break up songs on the album. It’s not the typical broken hearted songs you hear. Some songs are optimistic and are about finding back your self-esteem and taking control. Bury it and rise above, it sounds in Bury It. We will take the best parts of ourselves and make them gold sings Lauren Mayberry in Make Them Gold, a track with bombastic drum accents.

One of the highlights is Clearest Blue, a track reminiscent of Depeche Mode, beat driven with a drop. The digital music of Chvrches is often danceable, but it has emotional depth. The album ends with Afterglow, a down-tempo song with dreamy twinkling synths and a vulnerable voice. In Downside Of Me, you hear some trip hop influences. In High Enough To Carry Me Over, they vary with male vocals. It isn’t a complete failure, but less successful in my opinion. With impatience I was waiting for Lauren’s return.

Every Open Eye is an entertaining album, but it doesn’t contain a hymn like Lies, at least not in my opinion. Chvrches is catchy, but too complex to be real pop. Occasionally, Chvrches sounds gloomy, but not dark enough to be wave. Every Open Eye shows great craftsmanship and is often danceable. Fans of La Roux, M83 and the above mentioned bands should give this Scottish band a chance.

Benny CALUWE
08/12/2016


NL

Ik leerde Chvrches, een indietroniaband uit Glasgow, in 2013 kennen met het fantastische nummer Lies. Een song die me meteen bij de kraag greep, steeds luid meezingend in de auto: I can sell you lies … I can feed your dirty mind, like I know, like I know what you want. Heerlijk.

Lies was één van de singles uit Chvrches’debuut The Bones Of What You Believe, een album dat over het algemeen goed werd ontvangen, met nog een leuke single: The Mother We Share. We Sink, een andere single uit het debuutalbum, werd als soundtrack voor het voetbalspel FIFA14 gebruikt. Ook Chvrches’ cover van Bella Lugosi’s Dead (de Bauhaus-klassieker) kwam op een soundtrack terecht: Vampire Academy: Blood Sisters, een satirische horrorfilm.

Every Open Eye, Chvrches’ tweede album, kwam al in september 2015 uit. De cover met de rozen herinnert me aan die van het New Order-album Power, Corruption And Lies. De invloed van New Order en andere synthpopbands als Depeche Mode en Eurythmics is merkbaar. Hoewel het geluid van Chvrches refereert aan de 80s, klinkt de band toch eigentijds. Het geluid van Every Open Eye sluit nauw aan bij dat van The Bones Of What You Believe, al zijn er minder effecten op de vocalen gebruikt dan als op het debuut.

Het album opent met het upbeat Never Ending Circles en de aanstekelijke breakupsong Leave A Trace. Er staan ook een aantal breakupsongs op Every Open Eye. Niet het typische gezwets over liefdesbreuken. Sommige tracks zijn optimistisch en gaan over het opnieuw vinden van eigenwaarde en er opnieuw controle over krijgen. Bury it and rise above klinkt het in Bury It. We will take the best parts of ourselves and make them gold, zingt Lauren Mayberry in Make Them Gold, een song met bombastische drums.

Clearest Blue, dat aan Depeche Mode doet denken, is een van de hoogtepunten. Een song met een drop. De digitale muziek van Chvrches is doorgaans dansbaar, maar er is toch enige emotie. Lauren Mayberry klinkt bij momenten kwetsbaar. Zo ook in de trage afsluiter Afterglow, een song met dromerige synths. In Downside Of Me zijn enige triphopinvloeden te horen. In High Enough To Carry Me Over varieert men met mannelijke vocalen. Hoewel het geen totale mislukking is, vind ik het toch minder geslaagd. Ik keek reikhalzend uit naar de terugkeer van de frêle frontvrouw.

Every Open Eye is een onderhoudend album, maar een song met het niveau van Lies is er niet op te horen, ten minste niet wat mij betreft. Chvrches is poppy, maar te complex om echt pop te zijn. Chvrches is soms donker, maar niet zwart genoeg om wave te zijn. Every Open Eye is vaak dansbaar en steeds vakkundig opgebouwd. Liefhebbers van La Roux, M83 en eerder aangehaalde bands kunnen desalniettemin deze Schotse band een kans geven.

Benny CALUWE
08/12/2016


Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra
25
09
NACHTMAHR
Porta Nigra
25
09
THE PSYCHIC FORCE
Porta Nigra
25
09
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
3TEETH
Atrophy
24
09
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Hide
23
09
SIEBEN
Sell Your Future
22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back
21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom