tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : CHVRCHES - Every Open Eye

CHVRCHES

Every Open Eye

MusicCD
ElectronicsIndietronicaSynthpop

[78/100]   

EMI
08/12/2016, Benny CALUWE

EN

I learned to know Chvrches, an indietronica band from Glasgow, in 2013 with the terrific track Lies. The song appealed to me immediately. Every time I found myself singing along: I can sell you lies … I can feed your dirty mind, like I know, like I know what you want. Fantastic.

Lies was one of the singles of Chvrches’ debut album The Bones Of What You Believe. Generally, the album received favorable reviews and included some other nice singles such asThe Mother We Share and We Sink. The latter was featured on the soundtrack of FIFA14. Chvrches covered the classical Bauhaus song Bella Lugosi’s Dead for the end credits of the satirical horror movie Vampire Academy: Blood Sisters as well.

Every Open Eye, Chvrches’ sophomore album was released in September 2015. The cover with the roses reminds me of New Order’s album cover of Power, Corruption And Lies. You hear influences of New Order and other synth pop bands such as Depeche Mode and Eurythmics. Although Chvrches’ sound refers to the 80s, the band sounds contemporary. However, the sound of Every Open Eye stays close to that of The Bones Of What You Believe. They used fewer processed vocal effects as on their debut.

Every Open Eye opens with the upbeat Never Ending Circles and the catchy Leave A Trace, one of several break up songs on the album. It’s not the typical broken hearted songs you hear. Some songs are optimistic and are about finding back your self-esteem and taking control. Bury it and rise above, it sounds in Bury It. We will take the best parts of ourselves and make them gold sings Lauren Mayberry in Make Them Gold, a track with bombastic drum accents.

One of the highlights is Clearest Blue, a track reminiscent of Depeche Mode, beat driven with a drop. The digital music of Chvrches is often danceable, but it has emotional depth. The album ends with Afterglow, a down-tempo song with dreamy twinkling synths and a vulnerable voice. In Downside Of Me, you hear some trip hop influences. In High Enough To Carry Me Over, they vary with male vocals. It isn’t a complete failure, but less successful in my opinion. With impatience I was waiting for Lauren’s return.

Every Open Eye is an entertaining album, but it doesn’t contain a hymn like Lies, at least not in my opinion. Chvrches is catchy, but too complex to be real pop. Occasionally, Chvrches sounds gloomy, but not dark enough to be wave. Every Open Eye shows great craftsmanship and is often danceable. Fans of La Roux, M83 and the above mentioned bands should give this Scottish band a chance.

Benny CALUWE
08/12/2016


NL

Ik leerde Chvrches, een indietroniaband uit Glasgow, in 2013 kennen met het fantastische nummer Lies. Een song die me meteen bij de kraag greep, steeds luid meezingend in de auto: I can sell you lies … I can feed your dirty mind, like I know, like I know what you want. Heerlijk.

Lies was één van de singles uit Chvrches’debuut The Bones Of What You Believe, een album dat over het algemeen goed werd ontvangen, met nog een leuke single: The Mother We Share. We Sink, een andere single uit het debuutalbum, werd als soundtrack voor het voetbalspel FIFA14 gebruikt. Ook Chvrches’ cover van Bella Lugosi’s Dead (de Bauhaus-klassieker) kwam op een soundtrack terecht: Vampire Academy: Blood Sisters, een satirische horrorfilm.

Every Open Eye, Chvrches’ tweede album, kwam al in september 2015 uit. De cover met de rozen herinnert me aan die van het New Order-album Power, Corruption And Lies. De invloed van New Order en andere synthpopbands als Depeche Mode en Eurythmics is merkbaar. Hoewel het geluid van Chvrches refereert aan de 80s, klinkt de band toch eigentijds. Het geluid van Every Open Eye sluit nauw aan bij dat van The Bones Of What You Believe, al zijn er minder effecten op de vocalen gebruikt dan als op het debuut.

Het album opent met het upbeat Never Ending Circles en de aanstekelijke breakupsong Leave A Trace. Er staan ook een aantal breakupsongs op Every Open Eye. Niet het typische gezwets over liefdesbreuken. Sommige tracks zijn optimistisch en gaan over het opnieuw vinden van eigenwaarde en er opnieuw controle over krijgen. Bury it and rise above klinkt het in Bury It. We will take the best parts of ourselves and make them gold, zingt Lauren Mayberry in Make Them Gold, een song met bombastische drums.

Clearest Blue, dat aan Depeche Mode doet denken, is een van de hoogtepunten. Een song met een drop. De digitale muziek van Chvrches is doorgaans dansbaar, maar er is toch enige emotie. Lauren Mayberry klinkt bij momenten kwetsbaar. Zo ook in de trage afsluiter Afterglow, een song met dromerige synths. In Downside Of Me zijn enige triphopinvloeden te horen. In High Enough To Carry Me Over varieert men met mannelijke vocalen. Hoewel het geen totale mislukking is, vind ik het toch minder geslaagd. Ik keek reikhalzend uit naar de terugkeer van de frêle frontvrouw.

Every Open Eye is een onderhoudend album, maar een song met het niveau van Lies is er niet op te horen, ten minste niet wat mij betreft. Chvrches is poppy, maar te complex om echt pop te zijn. Chvrches is soms donker, maar niet zwart genoeg om wave te zijn. Every Open Eye is vaak dansbaar en steeds vakkundig opgebouwd. Liefhebbers van La Roux, M83 en eerder aangehaalde bands kunnen desalniettemin deze Schotse band een kans geven.

Benny CALUWE
08/12/2016


Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
05
44 of The Man-Machine!
15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 25 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Witchy Goth Rock Band Metamorph Traverses Darkness With New Single 'Dream Curve'
11
05
Today it’s been 35 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
08
05
42 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
ULTRA SUNN
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
PARTIKUL
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
28
04
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
24
04
CLAN OF XYMOX
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
05
SYNDROME
Forever And A Day
19
05
NITZER EBB
Join in the Chant (Burn!)
18
05
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
17
05
DOPE
Blood Money
16
05
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
15
05
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
14
05
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls