tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : CHVRCHES - Every Open Eye

CHVRCHES

Every Open Eye

MusicCD
ElectronicsIndietronicaSynthpop

[78/100]   

EMI
08/12/2016, Benny CALUWE

EN

I learned to know Chvrches, an indietronica band from Glasgow, in 2013 with the terrific track Lies. The song appealed to me immediately. Every time I found myself singing along: I can sell you lies … I can feed your dirty mind, like I know, like I know what you want. Fantastic.

Lies was one of the singles of Chvrches’ debut album The Bones Of What You Believe. Generally, the album received favorable reviews and included some other nice singles such asThe Mother We Share and We Sink. The latter was featured on the soundtrack of FIFA14. Chvrches covered the classical Bauhaus song Bella Lugosi’s Dead for the end credits of the satirical horror movie Vampire Academy: Blood Sisters as well.

Every Open Eye, Chvrches’ sophomore album was released in September 2015. The cover with the roses reminds me of New Order’s album cover of Power, Corruption And Lies. You hear influences of New Order and other synth pop bands such as Depeche Mode and Eurythmics. Although Chvrches’ sound refers to the 80s, the band sounds contemporary. However, the sound of Every Open Eye stays close to that of The Bones Of What You Believe. They used fewer processed vocal effects as on their debut.

Every Open Eye opens with the upbeat Never Ending Circles and the catchy Leave A Trace, one of several break up songs on the album. It’s not the typical broken hearted songs you hear. Some songs are optimistic and are about finding back your self-esteem and taking control. Bury it and rise above, it sounds in Bury It. We will take the best parts of ourselves and make them gold sings Lauren Mayberry in Make Them Gold, a track with bombastic drum accents.

One of the highlights is Clearest Blue, a track reminiscent of Depeche Mode, beat driven with a drop. The digital music of Chvrches is often danceable, but it has emotional depth. The album ends with Afterglow, a down-tempo song with dreamy twinkling synths and a vulnerable voice. In Downside Of Me, you hear some trip hop influences. In High Enough To Carry Me Over, they vary with male vocals. It isn’t a complete failure, but less successful in my opinion. With impatience I was waiting for Lauren’s return.

Every Open Eye is an entertaining album, but it doesn’t contain a hymn like Lies, at least not in my opinion. Chvrches is catchy, but too complex to be real pop. Occasionally, Chvrches sounds gloomy, but not dark enough to be wave. Every Open Eye shows great craftsmanship and is often danceable. Fans of La Roux, M83 and the above mentioned bands should give this Scottish band a chance.

Benny CALUWE
08/12/2016


NL

Ik leerde Chvrches, een indietroniaband uit Glasgow, in 2013 kennen met het fantastische nummer Lies. Een song die me meteen bij de kraag greep, steeds luid meezingend in de auto: I can sell you lies … I can feed your dirty mind, like I know, like I know what you want. Heerlijk.

Lies was één van de singles uit Chvrches’debuut The Bones Of What You Believe, een album dat over het algemeen goed werd ontvangen, met nog een leuke single: The Mother We Share. We Sink, een andere single uit het debuutalbum, werd als soundtrack voor het voetbalspel FIFA14 gebruikt. Ook Chvrches’ cover van Bella Lugosi’s Dead (de Bauhaus-klassieker) kwam op een soundtrack terecht: Vampire Academy: Blood Sisters, een satirische horrorfilm.

Every Open Eye, Chvrches’ tweede album, kwam al in september 2015 uit. De cover met de rozen herinnert me aan die van het New Order-album Power, Corruption And Lies. De invloed van New Order en andere synthpopbands als Depeche Mode en Eurythmics is merkbaar. Hoewel het geluid van Chvrches refereert aan de 80s, klinkt de band toch eigentijds. Het geluid van Every Open Eye sluit nauw aan bij dat van The Bones Of What You Believe, al zijn er minder effecten op de vocalen gebruikt dan als op het debuut.

Het album opent met het upbeat Never Ending Circles en de aanstekelijke breakupsong Leave A Trace. Er staan ook een aantal breakupsongs op Every Open Eye. Niet het typische gezwets over liefdesbreuken. Sommige tracks zijn optimistisch en gaan over het opnieuw vinden van eigenwaarde en er opnieuw controle over krijgen. Bury it and rise above klinkt het in Bury It. We will take the best parts of ourselves and make them gold, zingt Lauren Mayberry in Make Them Gold, een song met bombastische drums.

Clearest Blue, dat aan Depeche Mode doet denken, is een van de hoogtepunten. Een song met een drop. De digitale muziek van Chvrches is doorgaans dansbaar, maar er is toch enige emotie. Lauren Mayberry klinkt bij momenten kwetsbaar. Zo ook in de trage afsluiter Afterglow, een song met dromerige synths. In Downside Of Me zijn enige triphopinvloeden te horen. In High Enough To Carry Me Over varieert men met mannelijke vocalen. Hoewel het geen totale mislukking is, vind ik het toch minder geslaagd. Ik keek reikhalzend uit naar de terugkeer van de frêle frontvrouw.

Every Open Eye is een onderhoudend album, maar een song met het niveau van Lies is er niet op te horen, ten minste niet wat mij betreft. Chvrches is poppy, maar te complex om echt pop te zijn. Chvrches is soms donker, maar niet zwart genoeg om wave te zijn. Every Open Eye is vaak dansbaar en steeds vakkundig opgebouwd. Liefhebbers van La Roux, M83 en eerder aangehaalde bands kunnen desalniettemin deze Schotse band een kans geven.

Benny CALUWE
08/12/2016


Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
10
Angels & Agony launched a new official lyric video of 'Forever'!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 43 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
17
10
Electronic/Alternative Artist CARVR Unleashes Debut Single & Visualizer, 'Erase Me'
16
10
SAMMI DOLL Releases Official Music Video for 'AN OM IE'
09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 38 today!
08
10
'Deathgaze' Band VAZUM Unleashes Halloween-Themed Album, 'Rated V'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
10
FEVER RAY
Part VII: IDK About You (Official Video)
22
10
EXECUTIVE SLACKS
So Mote it Be (Bedroom version)
21
10
PANKOW
Great Minds Against Themselves Conspire / Dirty Old Men
20
10
CHAMELEONS VOX
Swamp Thing
19
10
SALLY DIGE
Holding On
18
10
A DARKER COLOR BRIGHT
Fluorescent
17
10
EYE STEAL
Burn Alive