tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : VIEON - Fly By Light

VIEON

Fly By Light

MusicCD
Synth Wave

[64/100]   

AnalogueTrash Records
09/12/2016, Benny CALUWE

Previous releases of Vioen scored good on these pages. After having read all those positive things about the Manchester based project, I volunteered to review the latest EP Fly By Light.

After a cinematic intro with space samples, the title track follows. Despite several attempts, I never reached the end of the song. I didn’t succeed in resisting the skip button. I have never been a fan of robotic voices. I’am only exceptionally charmed by vocoder treated voices, but here they sound simply boring. Luckily some instrumentals follow. 2 nicely constructed multi-layered tracks with a retro feel. Vangelis, Jean-Michel Jarre and Kraftwerk come to mind.

The highlight on this album is Extant, a song of nearly 9 minutes. After a (maybe too) lengthy intro, the song builds up nicely. The middle part of the track is simply stunning: an alluring tapestry of electronics that makes me understand why those high scores were assigned in the past. Unfortunately, they try to give the song an epic finale with a guitar solo. But just as the vocal melodies, the guitar play on the album is weary. That is also demonstrated in the 2 final tracks.

I started listening to this EP with enthusiasm, but it diminished rapidly. Only four minutes (the middle part of Extant) meets my high expectations. But fans of Jean-Michel Jarre and Kraftwerk might give Vioen a chance. You better check out Vioen’s bandcamp page before you visit the local record store.

Benny CALUWE
09/12/2016


Music reviews

05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music

PHOTOS

01
10
SHE WANTS REVENGE
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
KORINTHIANS
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
THE STRANGLERS
Depot Leuven
01
10
SOVJET WAR
Depot Leuven
01
10
PETER HOOK AND THE LIGHT
La Madeleine Brussel
01
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Djingel Djangel
01
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Kulttempel Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH
deathwish
05
10
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
04
10
DER BLUTHARSCH AND THE INFINITE CHURCH OF THE LEADING HAND
O Lord
03
10
OAKTREE
La Fin
02
10
SHADOW TAMER
Shadow Tamer
01
10
INNERWOUD
Grashelm
30
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes