tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

16/06/2014 : ADRIAN BORLAND & THE CITIZENS - CLASSICS: Brittle Heaven

ADRIAN BORLAND & THE CITIZENS

CLASSICS: Brittle Heaven

MusicCD
Dark PopDreampopIndie RockNew wave

[95/100]   

PIAS
16/06/2014, Didier BECU

When reviewing the latest compilation by Parade Ground I made a mistake. I said that they were the best band ever, but they’re not. The brothers Pauly definitely won’t mind if I give this title to The Sound who were in their last days even label partners (PIAS). They have another thing in common: they’re the most misunderstood band ever.


They’re not completely forgotten though. Sometimes someone mentions that their album From The Lion’s Mouth is a killer or you can even hear once in a year Winning on the radio. But then it stops. It’s so unfair, as it’s just like saying to David Bowie that his career was equal to writing Heroes. Inside friends know that Borland suffered from this misunderstanding and that’s probably one of the reasons why he decided to end his own life in such a tragic way.


Apart from the albums by The Sound, he also had a solo career. Well, career is a strange word to use. He made a lot of great albums, but they all got ignored. When touring them, Borland was kind of forced to play some songs from The Sound in his set. He loved those songs, but he had no choice as otherwise probably no one would turn up and that is (even today) one of popmusic’s greatest shames!


I picked up the 2nd album by my fave troubadour. Not because it is his best one, they’re all good. Just because this album is totally forgotten, and still features 14 melancholic popsongs that reach perfect beauty. Never care about your stupid Snow Patrol or even Coldplay (even if these Bunnymen-copyists are good) as this is the real deal!


Moments of despair, the search of the big (unreachable) love and the ability to write the best tunes ever: that’s Borland! Nah, music never sounded so beautiful before, but to quote Moz: the world won’t listen.


I guess this album has already been skipped a long time from the backcatalogue from PIAS. Another shame… The works of the greatest songwriter ever are not even available. Imagine that! But in the mind of those who’ll care about you, dear Adrian Borland, you’ll never be forgotten. These people are even aware that you did more than just composing Winning. RIP dear friend, and thanks for lighten up my life. You’re the truth that lights the way.

Didier BECU
16/06/2014


 

Next reviews
• The Sandhamn Murders
SCHLEIMER K • Schleimer K
MARC WEBB • (500) Days Of Summer
ZONE TRIPPER • Horizon
JOHN BOORMAN • Deliverance
HARMONIC GENERATOR • When the sun goes down
MIKE FLANAGAN • Absentia
SUN AND THE MOON, THE • CLASSICS: Le Soleil, La Lune
JAY SMITH • King of Man
STUART BEATTIE • I, Frankenstein

 

Same genre: DARK POP
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Some Vague Design
BOX AND THE TWINS • Everywhere I Go Is Silence
CHRISTIAN KJELLVANDER • A Village: Natural Light

 

Same genre: DREAMPOP
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
FRAGRANCE • Dust & Disorders
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
NEWMOON • Space
ERIK BLOOD • Lost In Slow Motion
CHELSEY AND THE NOISE • Losing Landscapes EP
QUEEN OF THE MEADOWS • Aligned With Juniper
AMBER ARCADES • Fading Lines
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Noire Psyché

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
PIXIES • Head Carrier
M IS WE • Feels Like Five Days
1476 • Wildwood/The Nightside
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETE SHELLEY • Cinema Music and Wallpaper Sounds
THE DUKE SPIRIT • Kin
SWITCHFOOT • When the Light Shines Through
EVIL SUPERSTARS • Mechelen, Kerk Cultuurcentrum (04/06/2016)
MARGARET GLASPY • Emotions and Mat

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)

Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!
14
09
HOLYGRAM as support for VNV NATION - NOIR TOUR
04
09
Two new DAFT RECORDS releases upcoming!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway
18
09
THE NAMES
Nightshift
17
09
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
16
09
SCHWEFELGELB
Bis zum Nächsten Tag