tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

16/06/2014 : ADRIAN BORLAND & THE CITIZENS - CLASSICS: Brittle Heaven

ADRIAN BORLAND & THE CITIZENS

CLASSICS: Brittle Heaven

MusicCD
Dark PopDreampopIndie RockNew wave

[95/100]   

PIAS
16/06/2014, Didier BECU

When reviewing the latest compilation by Parade Ground I made a mistake. I said that they were the best band ever, but they’re not. The brothers Pauly definitely won’t mind if I give this title to The Sound who were in their last days even label partners (PIAS). They have another thing in common: they’re the most misunderstood band ever.


They’re not completely forgotten though. Sometimes someone mentions that their album From The Lion’s Mouth is a killer or you can even hear once in a year Winning on the radio. But then it stops. It’s so unfair, as it’s just like saying to David Bowie that his career was equal to writing Heroes. Inside friends know that Borland suffered from this misunderstanding and that’s probably one of the reasons why he decided to end his own life in such a tragic way.


Apart from the albums by The Sound, he also had a solo career. Well, career is a strange word to use. He made a lot of great albums, but they all got ignored. When touring them, Borland was kind of forced to play some songs from The Sound in his set. He loved those songs, but he had no choice as otherwise probably no one would turn up and that is (even today) one of popmusic’s greatest shames!


I picked up the 2nd album by my fave troubadour. Not because it is his best one, they’re all good. Just because this album is totally forgotten, and still features 14 melancholic popsongs that reach perfect beauty. Never care about your stupid Snow Patrol or even Coldplay (even if these Bunnymen-copyists are good) as this is the real deal!


Moments of despair, the search of the big (unreachable) love and the ability to write the best tunes ever: that’s Borland! Nah, music never sounded so beautiful before, but to quote Moz: the world won’t listen.


I guess this album has already been skipped a long time from the backcatalogue from PIAS. Another shame… The works of the greatest songwriter ever are not even available. Imagine that! But in the mind of those who’ll care about you, dear Adrian Borland, you’ll never be forgotten. These people are even aware that you did more than just composing Winning. RIP dear friend, and thanks for lighten up my life. You’re the truth that lights the way.

Didier BECU
16/06/2014


 

Next reviews
• The Sandhamn Murders
SCHLEIMER K • Schleimer K
MARC WEBB • (500) Days Of Summer
ZONE TRIPPER • Horizon
JOHN BOORMAN • Deliverance
HARMONIC GENERATOR • When the sun goes down
MIKE FLANAGAN • Absentia
SUN AND THE MOON, THE • CLASSICS: Le Soleil, La Lune
JAY SMITH • King of Man
STUART BEATTIE • I, Frankenstein

 

Same genre: DARK POP
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
THE AGNES CIRCLE • Some Vague Design
BOX AND THE TWINS • Everywhere I Go Is Silence
CHRISTIAN KJELLVANDER • A Village: Natural Light

 

Same genre: DREAMPOP
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
FRAGRANCE • Dust & Disorders
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
NEWMOON • Space
ERIK BLOOD • Lost In Slow Motion
CHELSEY AND THE NOISE • Losing Landscapes EP
QUEEN OF THE MEADOWS • Aligned With Juniper
AMBER ARCADES • Fading Lines
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Noire Psyché

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
THE EXPLODING BOY • Alarms!
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
PIXIES • Head Carrier
M IS WE • Feels Like Five Days
1476 • Wildwood/The Nightside
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETE SHELLEY • Cinema Music and Wallpaper Sounds
THE DUKE SPIRIT • Kin
SWITCHFOOT • When the Light Shines Through
EVIL SUPERSTARS • Mechelen, Kerk Cultuurcentrum (04/06/2016)

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
05
12
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked