tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

14/06/2014 : STUART BEATTIE - I, Frankenstein

STUART BEATTIE

I, Frankenstein

Movie
Horror

[33/100]   

Splendid Films
14/06/2014, Didier BECU

EN

In the meantime it has become quite impossible to remember how many times the classic horror story by Mary Shelley from 1818 has been filmed. With I, Frankenstein from 2014 we can put another mark on the long list, but fact is that this version is miles away from the original concept. Director Stuart Beattie who was before a script writer (from Collateral till G.I. Joe: The Rise of Cobra) transformed the creature from Victor Frankenstein to our times.


Today the 200 year old monster is still alive. In fact, he can’t age and if you know that his body is made out of corpses he still looks pretty though. However, the living dead who is named Adam and performed by Aaron Eckhart hasn’t have the easiest times. The Demons that are led by Naberius (Bill Nighy) are chasing him as they’re after a soulless body. Adam gets protection (or at least he thinks) from another sort of creatures: the Gargoyles who are under command of Queen Leonore (Miranda Otto). To make the story a bit more complicated, Adam is also hunted by the earthlings as they want to obtain the diary from Frankenstein in where he explains how he can awake the dead. At least he got the helping hand from scientist Terra (Yvonne Strahovski).


That’s in a nutshell the complicated story. Never mind if you don’t get the point of it. As after all, we guess that Aaron Eckhart won’t understand this nonsense either. Some might still believe that Eckhart is an upcoming talent, but if you look at his current choices, it’s more like he’s already on his retour. And by the way, his performance in here isn’t exactly brilliant either. The producers do everything to let you believe that I, Frankenstein is in the tradition of Underworld and Van Helsing. But that’s not true. The sole thing these pictures have in common is that they own some extraordinary CG-effects, even if they can be boring after a while. Beattie tries to create a gothic atmosphere, but doesn’t succeed one second. What’s left is a visual spectacle that looks like a hip game. That can be a beautiful, but has nothing to do with cinema. I guess this is stuff for brainless teens who are on drugs.

I, Frankenstein is out on Splendid Films on both DVD and Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
14/06/2014


NL

Het is onderwijl een onmogelijke taak geworden om nog uit te vissen hoe veel keer de griezelklassieker Frankenstein van Mary Shelley uit 1818 in een filmversie werd gegoten. Met deze I, Frankenstein uit 2014 zetten we daar nog maar eens een streepje bij, alhoewel deze prent mijlenver van het oorspronkelijke verhaal staat. Regisseur Stuart Beattie die voorheen vooral furore als scenarioschrijver maakte (van Collateral tot G.I. Joe: The Rise of Cobra) heeft het creatuur van Victor Frankenstein immers naar onze tijd getransformeerd.


Het ondertussen bijna 200-jarige monster is nog altijd springlevend. Hij kan nooit ouder worden en ziet er voor een samenraapsel van allerlei lijken nog opperbest uit. Wel heeft de levende dode (die men gemakshalve Adam heeft genoemd en vertolkt wordt door Aaron Eckhart) nooit op zijn lauweren kunnen rusten. De Demons die door Naberius (Bill Nighy) worden geleid maken jacht op de man, zij zijn op zoek naar een zielloos lichaam. Adam krijgt bescherming (of ten minste dat denkt hij toch) van een ander soort wezens: de Gargoyles die op hun beurt onder leiding van Queen Leonore (Miranda Otto) staan. Om het hele verhaal nog wat ingewikkelder te maken kan hij ook de gewone mens niet vertrouwen omdat die het dagboek van de geleerde Frankenstein in handen willen krijgen. Gelukkig krijgt Adam wel de hulp van wetenschapster Terra (Yvonne Strahovski).


Tot zo ver het verschrikkelijk ingewikkelde, en vooral weinig interessante verhaal. Niets om je over te schamen als je er geen jota van snapt, want wellicht heeft ook Aaron Eckhart maar weinig van deze onzin begrepen. Sommige mogen dan wel bij hoog en laag dat Eckhart nog steeds een aanstormend talent is, als je zijn keuzes bekijkt lijkt het eerder een man op retour te zijn. Zijn prestatie is in deze film trouwens bedroevend. De producenten willen je wel doen geloven dat I, Frankenstein in de traditie van Underworld en Van Helsing ligt. Maar dat is niet zo. Het enige wat deze films bindt is dat de CG-effecten verbluffend (desalniettemin soms ook vervelend) zijn. De makers proberen een gothic sfeertje te scheppen, maar dat lukt geen seconde. Het enige wat overblijft is een visueel spektakel dat lijkt op dat van een hippe game. Dat kan misschien wel mooi zijn, maar heeft niets met cinema te maken. Wel voer voor gedrogeerde, hersenloze tieners.


I, Frankenstein is uit op Splendid Films en dit zowel op dvd als Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
14/06/2014


14/06/2014 : STUART BEATTIE - I, Frankenstein 14/06/2014 : STUART BEATTIE - I, Frankenstein 14/06/2014 : STUART BEATTIE - I, Frankenstein 14/06/2014 : STUART BEATTIE - I, Frankenstein 14/06/2014 : STUART BEATTIE - I, Frankenstein 14/06/2014 : STUART BEATTIE - I, Frankenstein 14/06/2014 : STUART BEATTIE - I, Frankenstein 14/06/2014 : STUART BEATTIE - I, Frankenstein 14/06/2014 : STUART BEATTIE - I, Frankenstein 14/06/2014 : STUART BEATTIE - I, Frankenstein 14/06/2014 : STUART BEATTIE - I, Frankenstein 14/06/2014 : STUART BEATTIE - I, Frankenstein 14/06/2014 : STUART BEATTIE - I, Frankenstein 14/06/2014 : STUART BEATTIE - I, Frankenstein 14/06/2014 : STUART BEATTIE - I, Frankenstein 14/06/2014 : STUART BEATTIE - I, Frankenstein

Music reviews

11
07
CONTAINER 90
Friendship and love
10
07
ENZO KREFT
Control
09
07
HOCICO
Artificial Extinction
04
07
MECHANIMAL
White Flag Single
14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
07
Electronic/Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah Announces The Release of Their Single 'Black Sheep'
16
07
Electronic Act THE BRUTE: Announces New LONESOME HERO/AND I WANT YOU Split Single & Video
15
07
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #34 out now!
15
07
PINK TURNS ANNOUNCES REISSUES OF FIRST ALBUMS + TOUR 2019
14
07
'Hidden Figures' release their first single this August - debut album in progress!
13
07
Exclusive BEAUTY IN THE SUFFERING Performance Featured In New Horror Film, CLOWN MOTEL

Concert reviews

14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
07
MARK DEUTROM (CLOWN ALLEY/THE MELVINS)
' I felt like I needed to make a solo-record at that time!'
15
07
STEVE DIGGLE (BUZZCOCKS)
'We were writing from the heart and soul!'
08
07
TODD TRAINER (SHELLAC)
'My attitude has always been to be original and unique!'
06
07
BOB BERT (PUSSY GALORE, LYDIA LUNCH RETROVIRUS, EX-SONIC YOUTH,...)
'One man’s noise is another man’s symphony!'
02
07
TEST DEPARTMENT
THE 80s WERE AN AMAZING TIME FOR MUSICAL DEVELOPMENT

PHOTOS

17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
17
07
JOY/DISASTER
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
IAMTHESHADOW
Blue Shell Köln
16
07
CRYING VESSEL
Blue Shell Köln
10
07
CEPHALGY
Parkhaus Duisburg
10
07
ALIENARE
Parkhaus Duisburg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
07
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
17
07
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
16
07
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
15
07
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
14
07
CUBANATE
Kolossus
13
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Anabasis
12
07
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger