tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

14/06/2014 : STUART BEATTIE - I, Frankenstein

STUART BEATTIE

I, Frankenstein

Movie
Horror

[33/100]   

Splendid Films
14/06/2014, Didier BECU

EN

In the meantime it has become quite impossible to remember how many times the classic horror story by Mary Shelley from 1818 has been filmed. With I, Frankenstein from 2014 we can put another mark on the long list, but fact is that this version is miles away from the original concept. Director Stuart Beattie who was before a script writer (from Collateral till G.I. Joe: The Rise of Cobra) transformed the creature from Victor Frankenstein to our times.


Today the 200 year old monster is still alive. In fact, he can’t age and if you know that his body is made out of corpses he still looks pretty though. However, the living dead who is named Adam and performed by Aaron Eckhart hasn’t have the easiest times. The Demons that are led by Naberius (Bill Nighy) are chasing him as they’re after a soulless body. Adam gets protection (or at least he thinks) from another sort of creatures: the Gargoyles who are under command of Queen Leonore (Miranda Otto). To make the story a bit more complicated, Adam is also hunted by the earthlings as they want to obtain the diary from Frankenstein in where he explains how he can awake the dead. At least he got the helping hand from scientist Terra (Yvonne Strahovski).


That’s in a nutshell the complicated story. Never mind if you don’t get the point of it. As after all, we guess that Aaron Eckhart won’t understand this nonsense either. Some might still believe that Eckhart is an upcoming talent, but if you look at his current choices, it’s more like he’s already on his retour. And by the way, his performance in here isn’t exactly brilliant either. The producers do everything to let you believe that I, Frankenstein is in the tradition of Underworld and Van Helsing. But that’s not true. The sole thing these pictures have in common is that they own some extraordinary CG-effects, even if they can be boring after a while. Beattie tries to create a gothic atmosphere, but doesn’t succeed one second. What’s left is a visual spectacle that looks like a hip game. That can be a beautiful, but has nothing to do with cinema. I guess this is stuff for brainless teens who are on drugs.

I, Frankenstein is out on Splendid Films on both DVD and Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
14/06/2014


NL

Het is onderwijl een onmogelijke taak geworden om nog uit te vissen hoe veel keer de griezelklassieker Frankenstein van Mary Shelley uit 1818 in een filmversie werd gegoten. Met deze I, Frankenstein uit 2014 zetten we daar nog maar eens een streepje bij, alhoewel deze prent mijlenver van het oorspronkelijke verhaal staat. Regisseur Stuart Beattie die voorheen vooral furore als scenarioschrijver maakte (van Collateral tot G.I. Joe: The Rise of Cobra) heeft het creatuur van Victor Frankenstein immers naar onze tijd getransformeerd.


Het ondertussen bijna 200-jarige monster is nog altijd springlevend. Hij kan nooit ouder worden en ziet er voor een samenraapsel van allerlei lijken nog opperbest uit. Wel heeft de levende dode (die men gemakshalve Adam heeft genoemd en vertolkt wordt door Aaron Eckhart) nooit op zijn lauweren kunnen rusten. De Demons die door Naberius (Bill Nighy) worden geleid maken jacht op de man, zij zijn op zoek naar een zielloos lichaam. Adam krijgt bescherming (of ten minste dat denkt hij toch) van een ander soort wezens: de Gargoyles die op hun beurt onder leiding van Queen Leonore (Miranda Otto) staan. Om het hele verhaal nog wat ingewikkelder te maken kan hij ook de gewone mens niet vertrouwen omdat die het dagboek van de geleerde Frankenstein in handen willen krijgen. Gelukkig krijgt Adam wel de hulp van wetenschapster Terra (Yvonne Strahovski).


Tot zo ver het verschrikkelijk ingewikkelde, en vooral weinig interessante verhaal. Niets om je over te schamen als je er geen jota van snapt, want wellicht heeft ook Aaron Eckhart maar weinig van deze onzin begrepen. Sommige mogen dan wel bij hoog en laag dat Eckhart nog steeds een aanstormend talent is, als je zijn keuzes bekijkt lijkt het eerder een man op retour te zijn. Zijn prestatie is in deze film trouwens bedroevend. De producenten willen je wel doen geloven dat I, Frankenstein in de traditie van Underworld en Van Helsing ligt. Maar dat is niet zo. Het enige wat deze films bindt is dat de CG-effecten verbluffend (desalniettemin soms ook vervelend) zijn. De makers proberen een gothic sfeertje te scheppen, maar dat lukt geen seconde. Het enige wat overblijft is een visueel spektakel dat lijkt op dat van een hippe game. Dat kan misschien wel mooi zijn, maar heeft niets met cinema te maken. Wel voer voor gedrogeerde, hersenloze tieners.


I, Frankenstein is uit op Splendid Films en dit zowel op dvd als Blu-ray.

Didier BECU
14/06/2014


14/06/2014 : STUART BEATTIE - I, Frankenstein 14/06/2014 : STUART BEATTIE - I, Frankenstein 14/06/2014 : STUART BEATTIE - I, Frankenstein 14/06/2014 : STUART BEATTIE - I, Frankenstein 14/06/2014 : STUART BEATTIE - I, Frankenstein 14/06/2014 : STUART BEATTIE - I, Frankenstein 14/06/2014 : STUART BEATTIE - I, Frankenstein 14/06/2014 : STUART BEATTIE - I, Frankenstein 14/06/2014 : STUART BEATTIE - I, Frankenstein 14/06/2014 : STUART BEATTIE - I, Frankenstein 14/06/2014 : STUART BEATTIE - I, Frankenstein 14/06/2014 : STUART BEATTIE - I, Frankenstein 14/06/2014 : STUART BEATTIE - I, Frankenstein 14/06/2014 : STUART BEATTIE - I, Frankenstein 14/06/2014 : STUART BEATTIE - I, Frankenstein 14/06/2014 : STUART BEATTIE - I, Frankenstein

Music reviews

06
12
J:DEAD
Tearing me apart
04
12
TWO WITCHES
The Undead
27
11
MAGNETIC RUST
Multicolor
26
11
MINUA
Simulacra
25
11
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Live Happily While Waiting For Death
23
11
LAPECHE
Blood In The Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
12
78 Years Ago JIM MORRISON WAS BORN!
07
12
Dark-Electro Project THRILLSVILLE Draws Upon Psychological Horror With 'Creeps In The House' Single
07
12
29 years ago NINE INCH NAILS released the FIXED (EP)
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
05
12
45 Years Ago Oxygene Was Released!
04
12
ALIA SYNESTHESIA Unveils Original Score For Classic Horror Film, 'Haxan'

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.
25
11
GRAVE JONES
Bringing Rock Back To The Charts
25
10
WINTERSTILLE
There are two contradicting aspects of individualism: the promise that you can achieve anything and the blaming of the individual for not achieving it.
04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.

PHOTOS

07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
KORINTHIANS
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
12
PSY'AVIA
Dream Fever
06
12
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Venetian Blinds
05
12
THE KLINIK
Hours And Hours (Live @ Beverwave 2012)
04
12
PSYCH KRIST KASTRATOR
Falling Masks
03
12
THE KLINIK
White Trash (Inside Out Remix)
02
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
01
12
CENT ANS DE SOLITUDE
The unacceptable face of beauty