tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie classics review

16/06/2014 : MARC WEBB - (500) Days Of Summer

MARC WEBB

(500) Days Of Summer

MovieMovie classics
Romantic

[77/100]   

20th Century Fox
16/06/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Are you also one of those who hate romantic comedies? Mind you, we're buddies then, but do you know a romcom that has a connection with The Smiths, Belle And Sebastian, Joy Division or The Jesus & Mary Chain? If you're aware of (500) Days Of Summer, then you know that such a film exists and that's exactly why (and for other reasons of course!) that we made it a classic.


So no, I'm not the kind of guy who'll start crying when he's seeing a romantic comedy. I am not made of stone, but just never understood the fake of it. You can call it fantasy, but it still makes me furious to see that non-talents like Hugh Grant or Sarah-Jessica Parker conquered the world with their crap. But then again I guess people like it to be fooled. In any way, (500) Days Of Summer by Marc Webb is a big exception that breaks all rules. The director who is making these days the new adventures from Spiderman made a love story about ordinary people like you and me. Well, in fact it's not a love story the director says, the film is just a collection of fragments that happens in every life. Things you'll never (or on a very rare occasion) see in Hollywood.


Tom (Joseph-Gordon Levitt) is a daydreamer who is far away from reality. From his early childhood on he was fascinated by small indiebands. The only kind of love he knows is what happens in lyrics by Morrissey. He knows everything about Joy Division, but nothing about girls. He's even convinced that he'll never meet a girl with whom he can fall in love with. Apart from listening to music, Tom fills his days at his desk by creating stupid slogans for wishing cards. And then it happens: Summer (Zooey Deschanel) enters his life. His new colleague looks gorgeous and even knows the lyrics from The Smiths. To be short: Summer is Toms dream girl.


So far the good news, as the love affair ends in a nightmare. No, we're not telling any spoilers as already from the first scene we see how Summer ends her relationship. Love is not only beautiful, also very brutal. Webb uses as style a non-chronological diary. We see moments of happiness and despair getting mixed in one. The result is according to Hollywood-norms strange, but works. This great comedy (cos in a way it is) features two young talents who now belong to the top. The movie meant the final breakthrough of Joseph-Gordon Levitt: the goodlooking guy who preferred porn over Scarlet Johannsson in Don Jon. There's of course the charming Zooey Deschanel who can make every movie buff melt with her eyes. Yeah, only Greta Garbo could do that! So no, don't expect nonsense like About A Boy. Throw away that crap. Watch something else instead, (500) Days Of Summer for instance. And yes, it's about love too, but only different!

Didier BECU
16/06/2014


NL

Ook niet zo tuk op romantische komedies? Maar ken je er eentje die een connectie heeft met The Smiths, Belle And Sebastian, Joy Division of The Jesus & Mary Chain. Als je (500) Days Of Summer kent, dan weet je dat zo’n film bestaat en het is daarom (en om andere redenen natuurlijk!) dat we deze klassieker nog eens in de kijker zetten.


Ik ben het soort mens dat geen boodschap heeft aan romantische komedies. Niet omdat ik van steen ben (althans dat denk ik niet), maar gewoon omdat al die verhaaltjes zo nep zijn. Neen, ik heb nooit begrepen waarom de halve wereldbevolking geilt op liefdesfilms met non-talenten als Hugh Grant of Sarah-Jessica Parker. Misschien houden mensen nu eenmaal van gebakken lucht. Wie weet vinden ze het leuk om naar taferelen te kijken die alleen maar in een Hollywoodfilm mogelijk zijn. In ieder geval is bij mij (500) Days Of Summer van Marc Webb een grote uitzondering op de regel. Deze regisseur die tegenwoordig tonnen geld binnenrijft met het maken van de nieuwe Spiderman heeft namelijk een liefdesverhaal gemaakt dat over zeer gewone mensen gaat. Let op, zelf hamert Webb erop dat zijn film net geen liefdesverhaal is. Dat is hij wel, alleen is het liefde die je nooit (of in ieder geval veel te weinig) in Hollywoodfilms ziet.


Tom (Joseph-Gordon Levitt) is een normale jongen die ver van de realiteit staat. Van kindsbeen af was hij gefascineerd door de muziek van indiegroepjes. Het soort liefde dat hij kent komt alleen maar in teksten van Morrissey voor. Hij weet alles over Joy Division, maar niks over meisjes. Meer zelfs, hij is er compleet van overtuigd dat hij nooit in zijn leven een vrouw zal ontmoeten op wie hij verliefd kan worden. Naast het beluisteren van muziek, slijt hij zijn dagen op kantoor alwaar hij domme slogans voor wenskaarten moet bedenken. En dan gebeurt het grote wonder: de komst van Summer (Zooey Deschanel). Zijn nieuwe collega ziet er niet alleen stralend uit, ze blijkt ook nog alle teksten van The Smiths uit haar hoofd te kennen. Kortom, Summer is Toms droommeisje


.
Tot zover het goede nieuws, want de liefdesaffaire eindigt in een nachtmerrie. Neen, we verklappen niets omdat de kijker al in één van de eerste scènes ziet dat Summer het uitmaakt met haar vriendje. Liefde is niet alleen mooi, ook brutaal. Webb gebruikt een niet-chronologisch dagboek waardoor de protagonist steeds tussen geluk en verdriet schippert. Kortom, het echte leven dus. (500) Days Of Summer is niet alleen een uiterst frisse komedie, ook bulken de acteurs van het talent. Deze film is een beetje de definitieve doorbraakfilm van Joseph-Gordon Levitt, de nieuwe filmgod die niet alleen de rode loper op het Filmfestival van Gent onveilig maakt, maar die er ook in slaagde om met zijn regiedebuut Don Jon de volledige IMDb-site in te palmen. Zooey Deschanel is zoals altijd charmant en slaagt erin om met haar ogen alleen iedere filmkijker te betoveren. Gooi dus ondingen als About A Boy maar bij het afval en bekijk iets als (500) Days Of Summer. Het gaat ook over liefde, alleen is het een tikkeltje anders…

Didier BECU
16/06/2014


16/06/2014 : MARC WEBB - (500) Days Of Summer 16/06/2014 : MARC WEBB - (500) Days Of Summer 16/06/2014 : MARC WEBB - (500) Days Of Summer 16/06/2014 : MARC WEBB - (500) Days Of Summer 16/06/2014 : MARC WEBB - (500) Days Of Summer 16/06/2014 : MARC WEBB - (500) Days Of Summer 16/06/2014 : MARC WEBB - (500) Days Of Summer 16/06/2014 : MARC WEBB - (500) Days Of Summer 16/06/2014 : MARC WEBB - (500) Days Of Summer 16/06/2014 : MARC WEBB - (500) Days Of Summer 16/06/2014 : MARC WEBB - (500) Days Of Summer 16/06/2014 : MARC WEBB - (500) Days Of Summer 16/06/2014 : MARC WEBB - (500) Days Of Summer 16/06/2014 : MARC WEBB - (500) Days Of Summer 16/06/2014 : MARC WEBB - (500) Days Of Summer 16/06/2014 : MARC WEBB - (500) Days Of Summer

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 42 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
01
MASSENHYSTERIE
Weiber regieren die Welt
25
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)