tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

23/06/2014 : QLAY - The Swan the Horse and the Black Matter

QLAY

The Swan the Horse and the Black Matter

MusicCD
AcousticDroneElectroExperimentalNeoclassicalUnclassifiable

[95/100]   

Self-released
23/06/2014, Peter GEYSELS

Qlay was founded in 2009 from a “violent artistic inner impulse”. It started as an atmospheric folk one man band (cello, guitar, loop station) incarnated in the French musician Quentin Gendrot. Later drummer Simon Renault (Warattah, Thousand Ravens,...) and bass player Geoffrey “Shob” Neau (Eths, Thousand Ravens, Kubiack,...) joined him and the project evolved in to a powerful rock trio. Qlay however can still be seen and heard in it’s original form from time to time.

It isn’t easy to described te musicof Qlay. As a harsh progressive rock/metal band they are influenced by kinds of music. From electronic pop to extreme metal, along with jazz, classical and world music.The result: cutting guitar riffs, heavy and powerful bass and drums, mesmerizing cellos, and a versatile and aerial voice, switching between joyful melodies and rageful screamings.

“The Swan the Horse and the Black Matter” (2013) is the first EP of Qlay but already we have here a beatifully finished product. All songs on this EP tell one story, dark and full of suspence. “The Swan the Horse and the Black Matter” talks about passions and feelings, the relatioship between people, nightmares turned into fantasies (“Sleepless”, impulses of vengeance unfulfilled (“Voice of the Adversaries” and the scceptance of frustration of what is beyond our control, like death (“My Grief”).

The title of this EP itself gives an introduction on the story in the five songs. The swan and the horse are two iconic animals, the first is a symbol of beauty and femininity, and the other represents virility and power. These two figures also represent death in their own way, the swan by his famous dirge (explicitly portrayed in "Swan"), and the horse by the way it is shown in the introduction to the album, "Dead Horses "which is the result of a dream.

"Dark matter" is Qlay itself. A kind of strange and dark clay, it represents our childish desire to create and build, build relationships between things and concepts, which at first does not necessarily match, or even are opposed. Here, for example the swan and the horse, male and female. As a way, perhaps, to describe their love for mixing different musical styles and jumping between the different emotions expressed in the music.

“Chevaux Morts” (Dead Horses). As the title sugests it creates a dark and unfamiliar atmosphere. It stands out a bit of the rest of ‘the story’ told on this album, but it grabs your attention, it makes you curious for more.

In “Sleeples” the story starts to unveil. The voice and text, the melancholy cello and soft percussion are the basic ingredients that come together with a very unique and personal result.

In “Voice of the Adversaries” the mood changes. Can I say a cozy atmosphere? More groovy rhythms, maybe even jazzy. It’s not easy to put a precise genre on the music of Qlay, but it never sounds messy. It’s a well chosen path. And again in this song voice and cello take a beatiful lead in the story told.

"Swan" is again an istrumental piece. Relatively simple but very beautiful, this musical elegy brings a melancholy moment in the story.

The last chapter, the conclusion of the journey, “My Grief” is a well chosen song to finish this story. It concludes the story, it’s an heroic ending, but not the end. After listening to this song you just star craving at the follow up.

 

In short, discovering the music of Qlay was an eye, and ear, opener. A slap in the face but with a silk glove. I fell in love (ok, a Gothic love in black lace, but that’s me) and I hope te hear more of them soon.

Peter GEYSELS
23/06/2014


 

Next reviews
SHIREEN • Unmarked EP
PHILIPPE MORA • The Beast Within
HATCHLING • Other EP
PIETER NOOTEN • CLASSICS: Sleeps with the fishes
SCOTT COOPER • Out of the furnace
YOUNG KNIVES • Sick Octave
STUART ROSENBERG • The Pope Of Greenwich Village
IVY & GOLD • Eye of the Storm EP
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • What Time is Love?
• Deadline 25/5

 

Same genre: ACOUSTIC
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING • Winter In London
DAVID J • Crocodile Tears And The Velvet Cosh (Reissue)
COLE VARGAS • Cole Vargas
LAU NAU • Poseidon
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind
FROM THE FIRE • Through The Oceans Of Time

 

Same genre: DRONE
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
BE • One

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
KLANGWELT • The Incident
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
VLIMMER • Angststand
GOO MUNDAY • Goo Munday
EMPIRION • I Am Electronic / Red Noise
NEGANT • No !
STRUCK9 • Ritual Body Music

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
BRAND NEW • Science Fiction
THE PHYSICS HOUSE BAND • Mercury Fountain
HAUSCHKA • Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017

 

Same genre: NEOCLASSICAL
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
STERNLUMEN • Sternlumen
ATARAXIA • Deep Blue Firmanent
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
BRUNO BAVOTA • Out Of The Blue
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto
MIKE OLDFIELD • The 1984 Suite
PASCAL PINON • Sundur
EGOR GRUSHIN • Once

 

Same genre: UNCLASSIFIABLE
FANTASTIQUE.NIGHT XLVII • MOLLY NILSSON, MARY OCHER, MENAGE A TROIS, RODOLPHE COSTER
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ni D'Eve Ni D'Adam
MONSTER YOUTH • Lost Dream, Cool Fire
TUXEDOMOON • CLASSICS: At Twilight
THE THE • CLASSICS : Soul Mining
XTC • CLASSICS: Skylarking (Corrected)
THE FALL • Creative Distortion
BROWN REINIGER BODSON • Clear Tears, Troubled Waters
APHEX TWIN • Syro
CABARET VOLTAIRE • #7885 Electropunk to Technopop 1978-1985

Music reviews

15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth
20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...
14
02
Today, exactly 40 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
13
02
In The Light | Happy Birthday Peter Hook!
12
02
Producer/composer Phil Western (Download/PlatEAU/...) passed way on Saturday 9 February.

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.
09
02
SIMON SCOTT (SLOWDIVE)
'We've always wanted to have a say in our production.'
07
02
GOETHES ERBEN
Goethes Erben: Strangely enough, those who cry the loudest are not those who drown during their flight
01
02
WAYNE HUSSEY
'I think for every action there is a reaction.'

PHOTOS

10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
13
02
CROONA
Bleed For Me (Official Video Mix)
12
02
COMBICHRIST
My Life My Rules
11
02
SLOVENSKA TELEVIZA
Muskiz
11
02
ALVAR
The Fluid