tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd / digital review

05/05/2019 : MANDIVULA - Nonsens

MANDIVULA

Nonsens

MusicCD / Digital
Cold WaveDarkwaveMinimal

[84/100]   

Self-released
05/05/2019, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

If you're a fan of bands like The KVB, The Soft Moon, Ritual Howls...then Mandivula will definitely be your cup of tea. A mix of coldwave, EBM, almost industrial, sometimes noise, but above all powerful and dark. The eighties drum sound makes it somehow melancholic.

Disease starts in a misleading way. Noise? Industrial... It pulls you immediately in the category of 'everything's possible'. But after about ten seconds you discover a rather chilly and compelling song. That 'everything's possible' feel is clear in My Spine that has both cold wave and modern electronic elements in it, and even southern inspired rythms and tribal influences. Not to mention the great Void, which could have sprung from the brilliant fellows The Soft Moon. Hostile electronics that tremble and threaten around a skeleton of a repetitive bass line and bone-dry drum pattern. And then, a touch of minimalism with Austerity. Lots of keys on the synths are pushed in a cheerful and excited way. This song is bathed in simplicity, which makes its great conviction. Glass Bones sounds mysterious and is wrapped in a solid retro jacket. Not a word is sung on this album, but you won't miss it. The music itself is fascinating without equal. Grey sounds like a trendy song and has a dash of techno and trance in it. The seventh song on this album is Mute Speech. A spherical story bathed in eighties synths. Again quite minimalist.

With Nonsense, Mandivula will take you on a half hour trip. Then again deep, then again floating, then again danceable.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
05/05/2019


NL

Als je fan bent van bands als The KVB, The Soft Moon, Ritual Howls... dan is deze Mandivula zeker jouw meug. Een amalgaam van coldwave, EBM, sneren naar industrial, wat noise, maar vooral krachtig en donker. De eighties-drumsound maakt het met momenten melancholisch.

Disease start misleidend. Noise? Industrial... het trekt meteen de registers van 'alles kan' volledig open. Na een tiental seconden ontspint zicht echter een kille meeslepende song. Dat werkelijk alles kan, blijkt uit My Spine dat zowel coldwave als hedendaagse electronica en zelfs Zuiders getinte ritmes en tribal-invloeden herbergt.
Om nog niet te spreken van het uitermate geweldige Void, dat evenzeer kon zijn ontsproten aan de briljante geesten annex muzikale genootschap The Soft Moon. Onherbergzame electronica die siddert, hallucineert, sluimert, dreigt, rond een skelet van een heel repetitieve baslijn en kurkdroog drumwerk.
En waarom geen vleugje minimal met Austerity. Heel vrolijk en opgewonden worden menige knopjes op de synths beroerd. Deze song baadt in eenvoud, maar haalt net daar zijn immense overtuiging uit. Glass Bones is mysterieus van aard en heeft zich gehuld in een oerdegelijk retro-jasje. Geen woord zang op gans dit album, maar dat mis je ook niet. De muziek zelf is boeiend zonder weerga. Zo is ook Grey een trendy klinkende song met een gezonde scheut techno en trance. De zevende song op dit album is Mute Speech. Een sfeervol in eighties synhs badend verhaal. Ook dit weer vrij minimalistisch.

Mandivula neemt je met Nonsense mee in een trip van een half uur. Soms diep, soms zwevend, soms dansbaar.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
05/05/2019


 

Next reviews
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
ZWEITE JUGEND • Elektronische Körpermusik
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
JOBRIATH • Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
MARTY WILSON-PIPER • Hanging Out In Heaven (Reissue)
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away

 

Same combination of genres: COLD WAVE + DARKWAVE + MINIMAL
SELOFAN • Vitrioli

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
DER KLINKE • Decade
WHISPERING SONS • Image
AFTER ABSENCE • Demotape 1
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE • Pasajera Pausa EP
FACTICE FACTORY • Lines & Parallels

 

Same genre: DARKWAVE
JE T'AIME • Je T'aime
ART DIKTATOR • Isola
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collection Of Shadows
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers
STORY OFF • Facing Forward

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
L'AVENIR • Requiem And Live
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
RADERKRAFT • Smart Control
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
VIOLENCE • Le Flux de la Nature
CONSPIRACY COVEN • Conspiracy Coven
DARK DOOR • Inferno
PARADOX OBSCUR • Artifact
IVANKOVA • Ivankovà EP
MESSIER 39 • Venus Eclipse

Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
09
COIL
Bang Bang
22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem