tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

30/12/2013 : LITTLE NEMO - Out Of The Blue

LITTLE NEMO

Out Of The Blue

MusicCD
IndieNew wavePost PunkSynthpop

[88/100]   

LN Music
30/12/2013, Didier BECU

To be honest, I don’t think a title like Out Of The Blue could be better chosen for this album as totally unexpected the masters of touching pop, Little Nemo, are here again. Okay, they have something to celebrate as it has been 20 years ago since they started their excellent popproject. The sole difference between now and then is that leadsinger and maincomposer Olivier Champeau isn’t any longer involved.

Out Of The Blue is once again a collection of brilliant popgems. Opener Diskover is a bit of a strange choice. Nothing wrong with the track itself, but for a moment you think that this Parisian band have turned out to be the new Death In June, but that’s only for 3 minutes. As soon as Last Sunset starts you know that Little Nemo sounds again like… well, Little Nemo. They surely haven't forgotten how to write a proper synthpoptune, and as in the old times they also add those dark synthetic sounds to their music.

In Starship you hear the same excellent synthsounds that made a track like City Lights such a classic. Just like they always do, they once included a French classic "chanson" (that probably will never become one just because people are just too blind), but Le Dormeur Du Val is a genius track that reminded me of A Une Passante. This time I have no shame to admit that I hear some Etienne Daho in this, as according to Little Nemo the French star is a big fan from the band himself.

By the way, soon you can read the ultimate Little Nemo-interview on these pages. In the meantime you can embrace Out Of The Blue. Okay, I’m a fan, so this is not objective...but I still keep on saying that they're probably the most underrated band in this universe, the ultimate popband you might never heard.

Touching pop is not dead…it still sounds like it’s 1986, but with that attitude they succeed in making one of the most essential albums of 2013. 

Didier BECU
30/12/2013


 

Next reviews
YVAN ATTAL • Do not disturb
CLOUDS BY NIGHT • Just Buried
NULLGRAD • Seeds
JOHN CARPENTER • Big trouble in Little China
APOPTYGMA BERZERK • MAJOR TOM EP
JONATHAN LIEBESMAN • World Invasion: Battle Los Angeles
• THE LIST OF 2013
MAZZY STAR • Seasons Of Your Day
JERZY KAWALEROWICZ • Night Train
ELEMENTS • Elements

 

Other reviews from LITTLE NEMO
LITTLE NEMO • Past And Future

 

Same genre: INDIE
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RINGFINGER • Pressure
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
ERASURE • THE NEON
ASSEMBLAGE 23 • Mourn
TUKT • Tukt
COLD IN MAY • Isolation songs
DARK-O-MATIC • A cage with the door wide open
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
ART DIKTATOR • Isola

Music reviews

26
01
FIX8:SED8
The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)
25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
01
On this day, 39 years ago, the B52's released Mesopotamia
25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
01
PALAIS IDEAL
Crossfade / Dissolve (Official Video)
26
01
CHICKS ON SPEED
Utopia
25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)