tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

10/12/2013 : LITTLE NEMO - Past And Future

LITTLE NEMO

Past And Future

MusicVinyl
MinimalNew wave

[99/100]   

Domestica Records
10/12/2013, Didier BECU

When searching for Little Nemo on Google, you’ll find plenty of results. Of course most of it is related to Windsor McCay's comic strip, but it’s also the name from one of the best bands ever, even if almost no one was aware of them back then. The 80’s were a glorious period for French wave. You surely can hear influences from The Cure, but those bands were having a very own sound, just like it was the case over here in Belgium. Some bands made it to Lively Art, the label that can be seen as the French equivalent of 4-AD (well, in a way).
Little Nemo, a band formed by Olivier Champeau and Vincent Gallo were such a band. The highlight of this Parisian band was probably their Sounds In The Attic-album. At least, that’s how the official story goes….

You see, in those days we also had those lovely tapes. Past & Future was Little Nemo’s first release, self-produced and self-distributed by the band on their own label Artefact, presented as a limited edition of 500 cassettes.
The tape soon became a collector and it’s probably one of the greatest things coming out of the French new wave. Decades later, this tape is re-released as a vinyl album and it hasn’t dated a bit. At the contrary, songs like A une passante, Empty House, Old Age, Seconds or Future is now still sound as timeless classics.

Absolutely recommended. And for those who missed it back then: Little Nemo still matters. Probably one of the greatest (forgotten) gems in wave history.

Didier BECU
10/12/2013


 

Next reviews
NO:CARRIER • The Nine Days' Queen
SOFIA COPPOLA • The Bling Ring
MICHAEL CIMINO • Heaven's Gate
SIXTH JUNE • Pleasure EP
UMMAGMA • UMMAGMA
CESC GAY • Una pistola en cada mano
MARK COUSINS • A Story Of Children & Film
JOHNATHAN CHRISTIAN • Beautiful Hideous
IN THE NURSERY • The Calling
XMH • The Business EP

 

Other reviews from LITTLE NEMO
LITTLE NEMO • Out Of The Blue

 

Same combination of genres: MINIMAL + NEW WAVE
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Forbidden Games
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Identify Yourself
XENO & OAKLANDER • Topiary
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Underground Wave - Volume 5
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Ghosts Of Christmas Past (Remake)
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • Shattered Illusion
KINEX KINEX • Polytheistic Christmas
KIRLIAN CAMERA • The Three Shadows

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design