tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

09/12/2013 : JOHNATHAN CHRISTIAN - Beautiful Hideous

JOHNATHAN CHRISTIAN

Beautiful Hideous

MusicCD
Dark WaveDoomGothic Rock

[85/100]   

BMI/STIM
09/12/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

I must say this is yet another artist I didn't know before. I only listened to a few bits before accepting the job and I must say the result is up to it! This phrase helped me out: 'Dark Wave Rock n Roll Doom from Swedish Post-Punk pioneer Christian Granquist and New Creatures' keyboardist Johnathan Mooney'. And off course: this is their debut album that must have been the reason why it didn't ring a bell!

At some points this one reminds me of the early Christian Death anno 2013. The title describes is perfectly 'Beautiful Hideous'!

The opening track is a pearl 'I Walk This Earth Alone', like Christian Death would have proposed it anno 2013. It has a nice piano, some metal influences, a warm harmonic sound and dark lyrics. A band like Lacrimosa would be nice as a second option to bring this song to life! The nice cello in the beginning of 'Before The Dark' is nice, just as the haunting and dark sound. The French part is also nice, just as the different voices jumping in. It's an epic song that will haunt a lot of heads! 'Fallen' sounds a bit more positive than the rest, but don't let yourself be misled! 'Beautiful Hideous' has something mystic and sounds a bit like a Belgium Artist called Daan. Love the piano and the mixed up tempo. 'Haunted' could be a slow song from Marilyn Manson, love the sound and the cold anger. The vampire’s will over this song and once again I start thinking about Christian Death as a referral. 'Just to Ease the Pain' is a nice interlude, slowly growing. 'My Private Room' is a soft and melodic metal song that sounds as if the singer was too depressed to perform at full throttle and is thinking about ending his life. 'Downtrodden' sounds as if Nick Cave was ready to jump in and start one of his great ballads. Once again the darkness reaches out and mixes with a beautiful piano (and a cello or is it a violin?). 'The Sweetest Betrayal' is a nice title and a pearl on the musical level! This one could feature during a Burlesque show in Paris! 'Chauffeur' is a nice Duran Duran cover, but I doubt if a lot of people will actually recognize the song! It's clear that they have their own sound and change any song into one of their own!

As bonus we get 'Haunted' (Another World Attrition Mix and here the song clearly changes into an Attrition song!) & 'Beautiful Hideous' (Hard On My Sleve Mix).

Once again I discover a nice band! Keep up the good work!

Filip VAN MUYLEM
09/12/2013


 

Next reviews
IN THE NURSERY • The Calling
XMH • The Business EP
PRETTY ADDICTED • Filth
JEAN-JACQUES BEINIEIX • Betty Blue (37°2 Le Matin)
DR. KRANCK • Aus der Dunkelheit kommt das Licht
ATLASES • Upbringing EP
DIODATI • Susurrus Lake
CHARLES LAUGHTON • The Night Of The Hunter
SKINSITIVE • Her(tz)oÏn mp3
REMETE • Egy

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon

 

Same genre: DOOM
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA • Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
HIGH FIGHTER • Scars and Crosses
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
ANTAGONIST ZERO • No Tears
AMBER ASYLUM • Sin Eater
ORGAN • Tetro
VICTORIENT • The Old Curiosity Shop
GJÖLL • The Background of Perpetual Discontent

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
MONO INC. • The Book Of Fire
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
PALE BLUE MOON • Supernatural
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos

Music reviews

28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil
17
06
DEATH IN JUNE
THE CORN YEARS
16
06
AUGER
Insurgence

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!
03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us
10
06
THE JUGGERNAUTS
It's striking, in 'mainstream' genres no-one is making a big deal about band's similarities and their possible influences... But oh dear if you dare make EBM!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination
27
06
BOY HARSHER
Motion
26
06
NICK CAVE & THE BAD SEEDS
The Mercy Seat