tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

09/12/2013 : JOHNATHAN CHRISTIAN - Beautiful Hideous

JOHNATHAN CHRISTIAN

Beautiful Hideous

MusicCD
Dark WaveDoomGothic Rock

[85/100]   

BMI/STIM
09/12/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

I must say this is yet another artist I didn't know before. I only listened to a few bits before accepting the job and I must say the result is up to it! This phrase helped me out: 'Dark Wave Rock n Roll Doom from Swedish Post-Punk pioneer Christian Granquist and New Creatures' keyboardist Johnathan Mooney'. And off course: this is their debut album that must have been the reason why it didn't ring a bell!

At some points this one reminds me of the early Christian Death anno 2013. The title describes is perfectly 'Beautiful Hideous'!

The opening track is a pearl 'I Walk This Earth Alone', like Christian Death would have proposed it anno 2013. It has a nice piano, some metal influences, a warm harmonic sound and dark lyrics. A band like Lacrimosa would be nice as a second option to bring this song to life! The nice cello in the beginning of 'Before The Dark' is nice, just as the haunting and dark sound. The French part is also nice, just as the different voices jumping in. It's an epic song that will haunt a lot of heads! 'Fallen' sounds a bit more positive than the rest, but don't let yourself be misled! 'Beautiful Hideous' has something mystic and sounds a bit like a Belgium Artist called Daan. Love the piano and the mixed up tempo. 'Haunted' could be a slow song from Marilyn Manson, love the sound and the cold anger. The vampire’s will over this song and once again I start thinking about Christian Death as a referral. 'Just to Ease the Pain' is a nice interlude, slowly growing. 'My Private Room' is a soft and melodic metal song that sounds as if the singer was too depressed to perform at full throttle and is thinking about ending his life. 'Downtrodden' sounds as if Nick Cave was ready to jump in and start one of his great ballads. Once again the darkness reaches out and mixes with a beautiful piano (and a cello or is it a violin?). 'The Sweetest Betrayal' is a nice title and a pearl on the musical level! This one could feature during a Burlesque show in Paris! 'Chauffeur' is a nice Duran Duran cover, but I doubt if a lot of people will actually recognize the song! It's clear that they have their own sound and change any song into one of their own!

As bonus we get 'Haunted' (Another World Attrition Mix and here the song clearly changes into an Attrition song!) & 'Beautiful Hideous' (Hard On My Sleve Mix).

Once again I discover a nice band! Keep up the good work!

Filip VAN MUYLEM
09/12/2013


Music reviews

18
10
RIDE
This Is Not a Safe Place
17
10
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA
Mesmeranto
17
10
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK
Far From The Apple Tree
16
10
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Chance Versus Causality
16
10
MASSIVE ATTACK
Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
15
10
DAVID J HASKINS
Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
10
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
17
10
AZAR SWAN
Over
16
10
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
15
10
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence
14
10
DELERIUM
Keep on Dreaming (featuring Jaël)
13
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Queen Ephemeria / live in Hamburg
12
10
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Static Cold