tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this documentary review

09/12/2013 : MARK COUSINS - A Story Of Children & Film

MARK COUSINS

A Story Of Children & Film

MovieDocumentary
Documentary

[85/100]   

Homescreen
09/12/2013, Didier BECU

EN

Last year Mark Cousins made the remarkable The Story Of Film, a 15 hours long documentary in where the Irish movie buff compiled 120 years of cinematography. Some were criticizing his elitist approach, but it’s absolutely without any doubt the most comprehensive summary you'll ever find. Cousins didn’t rest afterwards and went further with his investigations. His newest offering is named A Story Of Children & Film. As the title suggest, the film fanatic is searching which role the child has played throughout cinematographic history.

Cousins begins his documentary with comparing a child with a painting from Van Gogh. The head of a child is between 30 and 40 centimetres big. It’s the same surface as the window Van Gogh was looking through when he was residing in the hospital. From this tiny view the painter made one of his greatest masterpieces ever. Who looks at something small, sees something big. A thought that has been running through the mind of several directors when they were making their movies with children. Even more, by the use of children directors often went back to their own childhood. 

Mark Cousins loves film a lot. He sees things that others don’t. Agreed, by times he’s really exaggerating by seeking it all too far, but at the end of the day it’s a breathtaking journey in the history of cinema. Kids are fabulous in front of a camera. By showing 53 fragments from various pictures (from a blockbuster like E.T. till obscure works from Eastern Europe) Cousins shows what a child can do when put in front of a camera. Sometimes innocent, now and then forced (Shirley Temple’s laugh is a fine example), at other times brutal (like the kid who’s throwing an egg at the camera lens in Los Olvidados from Bunuel) or just a kid who’s looking for some luck (Les 400 Coups).

 At the end of this 90 minutes-trip you’ll surely see movies through different eyes. Once again Cousins shows his passion for world cinema (and also his despise towards Hollywood). That’s perhaps the sole thing you can accuse him of (and of course, the fact that he’s proud of his enormous film knowledge and showing that in every sentence he uses!), but for the rest we can only say that A Story Of Children & Film is an absolute must.

This excellent documentary is now out on DVD on Homescreen.

 

Didier BECU
09/12/2013


NL

Vorig jaar verbaasde Mark Cousins vriend en vijand met The Story Of Film, een 15 uur durende documentaire waarin de Ierse filmkenner 120 jaar cinemakunst op een briljante manier samenvatte. Er werd hem wel een elitair toontje verweten, toch is het sowieso de beste documentaire die ooit over film is gemaakt. Cousins bleef niet op zijn lauweren rusten en ging nadien verder met zijn onderzoek. Zijn nieuwste telg heet A Story Of Children & Film. Zoals de naam laat vermoeden gaat de wandelende filmencyclopedie op zoek naar de rol die het kind in de cinemageschiedenis speelde.

Cousins vangt deze documentaire aan door een kind te vergelijken met een schilderij van Van Gogh. Het hoofd van een kind is zo’n 30 à 40 cm groot. Dat is even groot als het venster waardoor Van Gogh keek toen hij in een hospitaal lag. Met dat klein beeld voor zijn ogen schilderde hij evenwel één van de grootste werken uit zijn leven. Wie naar iets kleins kijkt, ziet iets groots. Dat moeten ook de regisseurs hebben gedacht die een beroep doen op kinderen voor hun films. Meer zelfs, door het gebruik van kinderen gaan de cineasten vaak terug naar hun eigen jeugd.

Mark Cousins houdt zielsveel van filmkunst. Dat merk je alleen op de manier waarop hij met zijn passie omgaat. Hij ziet dingen die andere cinefielen niet zien. Toegegeven, soms is het allemaal wat vergezocht, maar toch blijft hij een fantastische gids die je op een fascinerende manier doorheen de filmgeschiedenis loodst. Kinderen zijn geweldig voor de camera. Aan de hand van 53 filmfragmenten (van E.T. tot obscure films uit het voormalig Oostblok) toont Cousins wat een kind kan doen voor de camera. Soms onschuldig, bij momenten geforceerd (de lach van Shirley Temple bijv.), nu en dan brutaal (een arm kind dat regelrecht een ei in de lens gooit bij Los Olvidados van Bunuel) of gewoon een kind dat op zoek is naar zijn eigen droom (Les 400 Coups).

Na afloop van deze 90 minuten durende documentaire zul je ongetwijfeld de filmwereld alweer op een andere manier bekijken. Ook deze keer steekt Cousins zijn voorliefde voor wereldcinema (en dus ook zijn afkeer voor Hollywood) niet onder stoelen of banken. Dat is misschien het enige wat je hem kwalijk kan nemen (en ook natuurlijk dat de man graag pocht met zijn fenomenale filmkennis), maar voor de rest is A Story Of Children & Film een absolute must.

Deze documentaire is op dvd uitgebracht door Homescreen.

Didier BECU
09/12/2013


09/12/2013 : MARK COUSINS - A Story Of Children & Film 09/12/2013 : MARK COUSINS - A Story Of Children & Film 09/12/2013 : MARK COUSINS - A Story Of Children & Film 09/12/2013 : MARK COUSINS - A Story Of Children & Film 09/12/2013 : MARK COUSINS - A Story Of Children & Film 09/12/2013 : MARK COUSINS - A Story Of Children & Film

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel