tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

08/12/2013 : IN THE NURSERY - The Calling

IN THE NURSERY

The Calling

MusicCD
ClassicalElectronics

[65/100]   

ITN Corporation
08/12/2013, Chris KONINGS

After stand alone albums and soundtracks, In The Nursery now dig deep for a new approach. The Calling is a thematic soundtrack inspired by, and to accompany, the Hunter series of books by international bestselling writer Simon Beckett. It sounds like something unique, but I do wonder how you can truly concentrate reading a book while listening to music at the same time. If you're an avid fan of Beckett's books, then you can probably listen to tihs album and drift away in his David Hunter novels.

Strangely, the song "3 AM" does remind me of Access To Arasaka's album "Orbitus" and that's loosely based on the Takeshi Kovacs novels by Richard K. Morgan... The three "Tenure" parts are surprising in the way that they are build around guitar feedback like postrockers Mogwai. I'm not sure if I like that though, here it feels awkward and unfitting.

Most other songs follow the regular ITN setup. You know, spacious and lush classical pieces, with hints of industrial. A few songs are accompanied by Simon Beckett himself, narrating parts of his stories and so making the connection with the atmosphere from the music. To a degree this works but I think a band like Coil did a far better job creating dark atmospheres, such as the song "The Golden Section" with Paul Vaughan as narrator.

Overall a fairly good album, but it could have been so much more.

Chris KONINGS
08/12/2013


 

Next reviews
XMH • The Business EP
PRETTY ADDICTED • Filth
JEAN-JACQUES BEINIEIX • Betty Blue (37°2 Le Matin)
DR. KRANCK • Aus der Dunkelheit kommt das Licht
ATLASES • Upbringing EP
DIODATI • Susurrus Lake
CHARLES LAUGHTON • The Night Of The Hunter
SKINSITIVE • Her(tz)oÏn mp3
REMETE • Egy
SILENT ENJOYMENT • St. Luke's Place

 

Other reviews from IN THE NURSERY
IN THE NURSERY • Black Easter 2016
IN THE NURSERY • The Fall of the House of Usher
IN THE NURSERY • Blind Sound

 

Same combination of genres: CLASSICAL + ELECTRONICS
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
ANTONYMES • (For Now We See) Through a Glass Dimly
KIKU, BLIXA BARGELD & BLACK CRACKER • Marcher sur la Tête

 

Same genre: CLASSICAL
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
SERPENTYNE • European Tour 2018
MESH • Live At Neues Gewandhaus Leipzig
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT • Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
PENGUIN CAFE • The Imperfect Sea
HAUSCHKA • Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017
HEINRICH IGNAZ FRANZ VON BIBER/CLAUDIO MONTEVERDI • (Missa Salburgensis & Selva Morale e Spirituale, Collegium 1704 & Collegium Vocale 1704 o.l.v. Vaclav Luks, Antwerpen, deSingel, 23/09/2016)
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
MYRKUR • Mausoleum
JOHANN SEBASTIAN BACH • Motetten (JardinDesVoix & Barokensemble Aspetti Musicali o.l.v. Koen Lamberechts, Gent, Sint-Elisabethkerk, 28/05/2016)

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!

Music reviews

23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela