tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

09/12/2013 : CESC GAY - Una pistola en cada mano

CESC GAY

Una pistola en cada mano

Movie
ArthouseDramaRomantic

[72/100]   

Homescreen
09/12/2013, Didier BECU

EN

As it seems like Pedro Almodóvars song is coming to its end, time is ripe for new upcoming Spanish talent. A director as such is Cesc Gay who previously made the quite fine Krámpack. His latest production Una Pistola En Cando Mano is another winner that charmed the Spanish audience. It’s a sketchmovie about relations. Well, perhaps relations aren't exactly the right term to use as they all ended in some way. Over here this nice picture was pretty good achieved by the press as well. Totally deserved, as Una Pistola En Cando Mano is perhaps not cinema grand cru, but definitely a picture you’ll watch in one breath.

 Una Pistola En Cando Mano literally means “a pistol in each hand”. Of course the director is pointing at what’s inside every man’s trousers. The owner is proud (of course) of it, but his beloved owning also wants to work from now and then. That’s exactly the problem these protagonists are struggling with. Gay outlines six funny sketches in where men literally are running after their dicks. One sits on a bank in the park to spy his adulterous wife, another one tries to save his broken marriage, there's a clerk who tries desperately to get his female colleague in his bed while others are waiting for their next appointment with the shrink.

They are indeed all those typical ingredients you can find in such a typical Woody Allen-movie. You can even state that somewhere Una Pistola En Cando Mano is the Spanish equal from Hannah & Her Sisters. Of course without the world's most famous neurotic and all added with a cosy southern feel that makes you long to Barcelona. Over here the actors are all quite unknown, but in Spain they’re all real stars that makes Una Pistola En Cando Mano a real all-star comedy. A fine example is Candela Peña who won a Goya (the Spanish Oscars) for the best female supporting role, an actress most movie buffs indeed know as Nina from Almodóvars Todo sobre mi madre

Una Pistola En Cando Mano is now out on DVD and is released in the Benelux by Homescreen. A fine small movie that will chain you for 90 minutes at your television screen. Sometimes that’s all we need…..

Didier BECU
09/12/2013


NL

Omdat het ernaar uitziet dat het liedje van Pedro Almodóvar uitgezongen raakt, komen er stilletjes aan andere kapers op de Spaanse kust. Cesc Gay die eerder verraste met de aangename Krámpack is zo’n voorbeeld daarvan. In zijn thuisland is Una Pistola En Cando Mano alvast opnieuw een schot in de roos geworden, want het Spaanse publiek ging massaal naar de bioscoop om deze toch wel heerlijke, verfrissende relatiekomedie mee te pikken. Alhoewel, de term relatiekomedie al bij al toch een contradictie is. Van echte verhoudingen is er immers niet echt sprake meer, gewoonweg omdat ze stuk voor stuk zijn spaak gelopen. Ook in onze contreien kon deze prent op de nodige positieve woordjes rekenen. Terecht, want alhoewel Una Pistola En Cando Mano zeker geen grootse cinema is, kijk je deze filmrit toch in één ruk uit.

Una Pistola En Cando Mano betekent letterlijk “een pistool in elke hand” en natuurlijk heeft de regisseur het over wat er zich in de onderbroek van iedere man bevindt. De bezitter is er natuurlijk apetrots op, maar het beestje moet ook nog kunnen werken. Dat is nu net het probleem bij de protagonisten. Gay vertelt op een luchtige (maar vooral originele) manier zes sketches waarin zes mannen letterlijk hun lid achternalopen. De ene zit op een bankje zijn overspelige vrouw te bespioneren, een ander probeert de brokken van een echtscheiding te lijmen, in een ander deel probeert een kantoorbediende wanhopig zijn vrouwelijke collega in bed te krijgen en dan weer heb je andere mannen die met hun handen in het haar op een verlossend gesprek met de therapeut wachten.

Inderdaad, allemaal het soort ingrediënten die je in een Woody Allen-kraker kan verwachten. Mits wat goede wil zou je dan ook gerust Una Pistola En Cando Mano het Spaanse broertje van Hannah & Her Sisters kunnen noemen. Weliswaar wel zonder de neuroot en met een lekker zuiders tintje dat de kijker naar het zonnige Barcelona doet verlangen. De acteurs zijn bij ons bijna stuk voor stuk onbekenden, maar in Spanje is dat anders. Zo ging Candela Peña met een Goya (de Spaanse Oscars dus) voor de beste vrouwelijke bijrol aan de haal. Inderdaad, fanatieke cinefielen weten dat dit Nina uit Almodóvars Todo sobre mi madre is.

Una Pistola En Cando Mano is op dvd in de Benelux uitgebracht door Homescreen. Een kleine heerlijke film die je negentig minuten aan het scherm kluistert, soms moet dat niet meer zijn….

Didier BECU
09/12/2013


09/12/2013 : CESC GAY - Una pistola en cada mano 09/12/2013 : CESC GAY - Una pistola en cada mano 09/12/2013 : CESC GAY - Una pistola en cada mano 09/12/2013 : CESC GAY - Una pistola en cada mano 09/12/2013 : CESC GAY - Una pistola en cada mano 09/12/2013 : CESC GAY - Una pistola en cada mano 09/12/2013 : CESC GAY - Una pistola en cada mano

 

Next reviews
MARK COUSINS • A Story Of Children & Film
JOHNATHAN CHRISTIAN • Beautiful Hideous
IN THE NURSERY • The Calling
XMH • The Business EP
PRETTY ADDICTED • Filth
JEAN-JACQUES BEINIEIX • Betty Blue (37°2 Le Matin)
DR. KRANCK • Aus der Dunkelheit kommt das Licht
ATLASES • Upbringing EP
DIODATI • Susurrus Lake
CHARLES LAUGHTON • The Night Of The Hunter

 

Same genre: ARTHOUSE
FRED ABONG • Pulsing Ep
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
BERTRAND BONELLO • L'Apollonide (Souvenirs de la maison close)
NURI BILGE CEYLAN • Winter Sleep
FEDERICO FELLINI • Il Casanova
SOPHIE SCHOUKENS • Marieke, Marieke
RYAN GOSLING • Lost River
PETER GREENAWAY • Eisenstein In Guanajuato
ALBERT SERRA • Story Of My Death (Historia De La Meva Mort)

 

Same genre: DRAMA
NINA GROSSE • Das Wochenende/The Weekend
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Yuriy Bykov: Durak
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Nanni Moretti: Mia Madre
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Andrew Haigh: 45 Years
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Ole Giæver , Marte Vold: Out of Nature
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Jayro Bustamante: Ixcanul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Radu Muntean: One Floor Below
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • László Nemes: Son Of Saul
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Joachim Trier: Louder Than Bombs
FILMFEST GHENT 2015 • Alejandro Amenábar: Regression

 

Same genre: ROMANTIC
CARLO DE FILIPPO • Di Indomito Incanto
RISE • Resilience
GEORGE TILLMAN JR. • The Longest Ride
CLAUDE PINOTEAU • L'ETUDIANTE
CHRISTIAN DITTER • Love, Rosie
STUART MURDOCH • God Help The Girl
THOMAS CAILLEY • Les Combattants
BOB DYLAN • Shadows in the Night
MICHAEL DOWSE • What If
WOODY ALLEN • Magic In The Moonlight

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)