tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

25/12/2013 : MAZZY STAR - Seasons Of Your Day

MAZZY STAR

Seasons Of Your Day

MusicCD
Dark PopDreampopIndie

[75/100]   

Rhymes Of An Hour
25/12/2013, Didier BECU

Sometimes it’s hard being a fan. Take those fromMazzy Star for instance. An excellent band that somehow discovered the missing link between Jefferson Airplane and Cocteau Twins. They made three masterpieces She Hangs Brightly (1990), So Tonight That I Might See (1993) and Among My Swan (1996). And then it was over…. And now, 17 (!) years later they’re back, pretending nothing happened during those two decades.

I guess that most fans from Hope Sandoval and David Roback have found other horizons so far, but for those two stuck to their original roots: Mazzy Star still make dreampop that has in much in common with 4-AD as it has with Fleetwood Mac.

Think of ethereal country (whatever that might mean), think of excellent pop as in some way they’re a bit the Californian equivalent of Slowdive.. There are so many pearls to be found on here: Flying Low or Lay Myself Down to name only two.

Mazzy Star are joined by artists who were in bands like The Rain Parade, Opal and The Warm Inventions. Two of those musicians (Will Glenn and Bert Jansch) are already six feet under, so imagine how long those recordings took….

Saying they’re back is probably far too exaggerated as logical wise (even if we hope that's not), their next album will be released in (!) 2032. In the meantime there’s plenty of enough here to dream some nights. To be filed next to you other three Mazzy Star-albums. A classic? Kind of….

Didier BECU
25/12/2013


 

Next reviews
JERZY KAWALEROWICZ • Night Train
ELEMENTS • Elements
PREFAB SPROUT • Crimson/Red
PETER MANOOGIAN • Demonic Toys
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Wavecore II
SCOTT WALKER (DIRECTOR) • The Frozen Ground
NEUTRAL LIES • Cryptex
MRDTC, 6COMM, BRAIN SEKTOR, A SPLIT-SECOND, 32CRASH, THE YOUNG GODS & MONOLOITH • BIM FEST, Trix, ANtwerp, 21/12/2013
COLIN TREVORROW • Safety Not Guaranteed
NO SLEEP BY THE MACHINE, IMPLANT, LESCURE 13, THE KLINIK, ARBEID ADELT! & GEISTFORM • BIM Fest, Trix, Antwerp, 20/12/2013

 

Same genre: DARK POP
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
TEN AFTER DAWN • Best Of Both Words

 

Same genre: DREAMPOP
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
FRAGRANCE • Dust & Disorders
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
NEWMOON • Space
ERIK BLOOD • Lost In Slow Motion
CHELSEY AND THE NOISE • Losing Landscapes EP

 

Same genre: INDIE
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers
KASPER HATE • Why Live When You Can Rule

Music reviews

30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
06
SUFFOCATING MINDS
Second Life
03
06
DARKH
Bury Our Bones
02
06
THE 69 EYES
Jet Fighter Plane
01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted
31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE
30
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
Live at Amphi, Cologne 23-07-2017
29
05
UNZUCHT
Ein Wort Fliegt Wie Ein Stein