tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

23/12/2013 : ELEMENTS - Elements

ELEMENTS

Elements

MusicVinyl
New wavePost Punk

[85/100]   

Sleepless Records Berlin
23/12/2013, Chris KONINGS

A surprise package Borg gave me at Maschinenfest also had this record, Elements. His question was, do you like Red Zebra? Well it's hard not to like them, but that was all happening 30 years ago, no idea what those guys are doing now. Well this record is the answer, it's Sam Claeys as singer and bass guitar. Other members are Geert Maertens (guitar), Chris De Neve (guitar, keyboard) and Johan Isselee (drums, keyboard). So Geert and Johan are the link with Red Zebra...

The best way to listen to this record is with an open mind and to turn it up loud. There's a whole range of styles in here, and just six song to deliver them. "Wisdom Of Knowing" starts a lot like Joy Division but then it becomes a positive rock song. Sharper lyrics and snarling guitars give "Just Go On" a real punk edge. "Undecided" boasts good synth lines so it reminds me of The Sound or even The Danse Society with more guitars. Great song, very melodic and good lyrics to boot!

we take, we break, we lose our way
to a cold and empty heart
to look back and see
this isn't you and me

The same goes for "Renegade" and frantic rhythms and guitars are going to the roof in "Weak And Lost". Very energetic! The last one brings you back to the ground, "The Last Ship" is a downcast and sober postpunk song. So they prove they know how to make good and mature song, there's nothing new to discover but pure quality in songwriting is good enough for me. The last real musical revolution was ages ago anyway...

Great record, maybe a bit short though... but that's another compliment I guess.

Chris KONINGS
23/12/2013


 

Next reviews
PREFAB SPROUT • Crimson/Red
PETER MANOOGIAN • Demonic Toys
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Wavecore II
SCOTT WALKER (DIRECTOR) • The Frozen Ground
NEUTRAL LIES • Cryptex
MRDTC, 6COMM, BRAIN SEKTOR, A SPLIT-SECOND, 32CRASH, THE YOUNG GODS & MONOLOITH • BIM FEST, Trix, ANtwerp, 21/12/2013
COLIN TREVORROW • Safety Not Guaranteed
NO SLEEP BY THE MACHINE, IMPLANT, LESCURE 13, THE KLINIK, ARBEID ADELT! & GEISTFORM • BIM Fest, Trix, Antwerp, 20/12/2013
MARC WEBB • THE AMAZING SPIDER-MAN
KAIBUN • Illogism

 

Other reviews from ELEMENTS
ELEMENTS • Elements

 

Same combination of genres: NEW WAVE + POST PUNK
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking
ULTRAVOX • The Island Years

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
DAGEIST • Sexy
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
RINGFINGER • Pressure
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
01
On this day, 29 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 40 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 35 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
25 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 2 Year Anniversary
15
01
This month 48 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.
13
01
SYRENOMELIA
The drunk rural constable at the local pub.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day
15
01
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams
14
01
JANE'S ADDICTION
Been Caught Stealing