tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

23/12/2013 : ELEMENTS - Elements

ELEMENTS

Elements

MusicVinyl
New wavePost Punk

[85/100]   

Sleepless Records Berlin
23/12/2013, Chris KONINGS

A surprise package Borg gave me at Maschinenfest also had this record, Elements. His question was, do you like Red Zebra? Well it's hard not to like them, but that was all happening 30 years ago, no idea what those guys are doing now. Well this record is the answer, it's Sam Claeys as singer and bass guitar. Other members are Geert Maertens (guitar), Chris De Neve (guitar, keyboard) and Johan Isselee (drums, keyboard). So Geert and Johan are the link with Red Zebra...

The best way to listen to this record is with an open mind and to turn it up loud. There's a whole range of styles in here, and just six song to deliver them. "Wisdom Of Knowing" starts a lot like Joy Division but then it becomes a positive rock song. Sharper lyrics and snarling guitars give "Just Go On" a real punk edge. "Undecided" boasts good synth lines so it reminds me of The Sound or even The Danse Society with more guitars. Great song, very melodic and good lyrics to boot!

we take, we break, we lose our way
to a cold and empty heart
to look back and see
this isn't you and me

The same goes for "Renegade" and frantic rhythms and guitars are going to the roof in "Weak And Lost". Very energetic! The last one brings you back to the ground, "The Last Ship" is a downcast and sober postpunk song. So they prove they know how to make good and mature song, there's nothing new to discover but pure quality in songwriting is good enough for me. The last real musical revolution was ages ago anyway...

Great record, maybe a bit short though... but that's another compliment I guess.

Chris KONINGS
23/12/2013


 

Next reviews
PREFAB SPROUT • Crimson/Red
PETER MANOOGIAN • Demonic Toys
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Wavecore II
SCOTT WALKER (DIRECTOR) • The Frozen Ground
NEUTRAL LIES • Cryptex
MRDTC, 6COMM, BRAIN SEKTOR, A SPLIT-SECOND, 32CRASH, THE YOUNG GODS & MONOLOITH • BIM FEST, Trix, ANtwerp, 21/12/2013
COLIN TREVORROW • Safety Not Guaranteed
NO SLEEP BY THE MACHINE, IMPLANT, LESCURE 13, THE KLINIK, ARBEID ADELT! & GEISTFORM • BIM Fest, Trix, Antwerp, 20/12/2013
MARC WEBB • THE AMAZING SPIDER-MAN
KAIBUN • Illogism

 

Other reviews from ELEMENTS
ELEMENTS • Elements

 

Same combination of genres: NEW WAVE + POST PUNK
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking
ULTRAVOX • The Island Years

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
THE NAMES • German Nights

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
SJOBLOM • Tape
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RINGFINGER • Pressure
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow

Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
10
Goth/Post-Punk Band THE FUNERAL MARCH Presents The End Times With New EP, 'Flood'
28
10
44 years Never Mind The Bollocks!
28
10
On this day, 33 years ago, Front 242 released Front By Front!
27
10
Gothic Rock Band OCTOBER NOIR Drops New Album, 'Fate, Wine & Wisteria'
26
10
Alternative/Darkwave Artist BESS(Of WhiteCauldron) Documents Traumatic Journey With 'No Cover'
25
10
Struggles And Dreams With Darkwave Band THE BLUE HOUR's New LP, 'Lore'

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

25
10
WINTERSTILLE
There are two contradicting aspects of individualism: the promise that you can achieve anything and the blaming of the individual for not achieving it.
04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK

PHOTOS

23
10
FRONT 242
Depot Leuven
23
10
RADICAL G
Depot Leuven
03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
10
AGNES OBEL
Familiar
27
10
NO!ON
7
26
10
YAZOO
Situation
25
10
MY CRUEL GORO
Lost E
24
10
LACRIMOSA
Die Unbekannte Farbe
23
10
ZANIAS
Follow the Body
22
10
AFTER ABSENCE
Collide