tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

22/12/2013 : NEUTRAL LIES - Cryptex

NEUTRAL LIES

Cryptex

MusicCD
ElectroSynthpop

[70/100]   

BOREDOM PRODUKT
22/12/2013, Chris KONINGS

Synthpop from France, Neutral Lies are Jean François Dean (synths, programming, backing vocals) and Nicolas Delbarre (vocals, synths, programming). After the previous album 'Deceptive Calm' and a few download EP's, it took them three years to make this follow-up. Still in the same icy cold and clean synthpop style, they easily lure you to the dancefloor so making catchy melodies is like a second nature to this duo. References could be 80's synthpop like John Foxx, Alphaville but the pace of the songs lean more towards the 90's ebm/electro style.

You'll need an open mind to endure some of their outragious lyrics. What to think of tracktitles like "Glitterball" or "Stink Bombs"? You can imagine how rediculous the lyrics are... it just does not match with their image of semi-serious electro band. But it's not all cheesy, gay, feathers up your ass atmosphere... One song that does have a wonderfully catchy structure is "Bewitching Aftershave" and the cheesy lyrics are forgotten. Well umm let's see if you can forget this:

I'm nothing like a superhero

Just an average man with a tiny ego

I want to be a male bimbo

I have become the perfect macho

This whiff works like magic

Not just trick or a gimmick

Every night there's lipstick on my joystick

Other songs that would do well on the dancefloor and remind me of the best Wolfsheim ever made are "Aching Sign", "Neon Fascination" and "Ransack Your Dignity". And they do have good lyrics! So it's an unbalanced album, mixing great moments with horrific toe-curling lyrics... So straighten up your act and then Neutral Lies could become the next big thing in synthpop land!

Chris KONINGS
22/12/2013


 

Next reviews
MRDTC, 6COMM, BRAIN SEKTOR, A SPLIT-SECOND, 32CRASH, THE YOUNG GODS & MONOLOITH • BIM FEST, Trix, ANtwerp, 21/12/2013
COLIN TREVORROW • Safety Not Guaranteed
NO SLEEP BY THE MACHINE, IMPLANT, LESCURE 13, THE KLINIK, ARBEID ADELT! & GEISTFORM • BIM Fest, Trix, Antwerp, 20/12/2013
MARC WEBB • THE AMAZING SPIDER-MAN
KAIBUN • Illogism
NEILL BLOMKAMP • Elysium
SEQUENCER PEOPLE • Live At Roscoe Louie 10'
ERROL MORRIS • Tabloid
IIOIOIOII • Sun
JOZEF DEVILLE • The Sound Of Belgium

 

Other reviews from NEUTRAL LIES
NEUTRAL LIES • Glitterball EP

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO + SYNTHPOP
X MARKS THE PEDWALK • Secrets
ROSSETTI’S COMPASS & SUDETEN CRECHE • Touched in the Garden
MRDTC • #2 [We transfer]

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
6TH CROWD • Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
M73 • Tainted
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
MASSIVE ATTACK • Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes
ELM • Death Of The North
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
STAATSEINDE • Dreiheit
CHEMICAL BROTHERS • No Geography
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
ART DIKTATOR • Isola
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
APSURDE • See Me Coming
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow

Music reviews

06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine
03
02
MISERIA ULTIMA
Graygarden
01
02
MONO INC.
The Book Of Fire
30
01
THE MARS MODEL
FrancoBelga
27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Today, exactly 17 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
On this day, 6 years ago, DEVO guitarist Bob Casale (61) died.
15
02
LEPROUS – Launch drum playthrough video for “The Sky Is Red”
15
02
This February, it's 33 AGO Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
Today, exactly 41 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
09
02
German Electronic/Synthpop Act SEA OF SIN Presents Their Single & Video Release For 'YOU'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'
11
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN)
'Putting a krautrock band together I always wanted this fearlessness.' (Interview Part 2)
10
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN): PART II
'In punk, I found the vehicle for skepticism.' (Interview Part 1)
07
02
DOUGLAS P. (DEATH IN JUNE)
'Words/lyrics are continuously coming to me, everywhere and anywhere...'
02
02
CHRIS CUTLER (HENRY COW)
'We all shared a common concern with extending the vocabulary of rock...'

PHOTOS

12
02
MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
12
02
SAINT AGNES SUPPORT MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
02
X MARKS THE PEDWALK
Secrets
18
02
THE MISSION
Love Me To Death
17
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Imagination
16
02
GERTRUD STEIN
The Void
15
02
MINISTRY
Same Old Madness
14
02
POLICE DES MOEURS
Première neige
13
02
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH
Alice