tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : THE FEELING - The Feeling

THE FEELING

The Feeling

MusicCD
IndieIndie RockPop

[72/100]   

Little World Records
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Feeling started 2006 in a splendid way. The debut albumTwelves Stops and Home and the singles Fill My Little World and Sewn were successful. The album, with catchy indie pop/rock songs, was even on our radio for a while. Then things went quiet. Now The Feeling is back with a fifth album that contains 12 songs.

The material was recorded live in the studio. That approach makes the sound, at least in my opinion, less polished and more organic. The overall sound of The Feeling remains the same: catchy pop/rock songs, but harmless.

The album sounds more mature than its debut (which is only normal after all these years of experience) and contains some fine songs, but I fear they will get little airplay. But then again, Feel Something is a strong song that begs for large venues to evoke the necessary emotions. The melancholic and sensitive vocals are great, and I heard the guitar play of The Edge in them. On Repeat To Fade or Let It Be Gone are quite okay as well. Spiralling is a nice, catchy and upbeat song that could be released as a single.

Sometimes they are exagerating, but now an again the result is fine. I don't think that many people are waiting for this new album by The Feeling, but to knock the band down would be too easy.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

The Feeling zette 2006 meteen vrij hoog in: het debuut Twelves Stops and Home deed het net als de singles Fill My Little World en Sewn vrij goed. Het album met aanstekelijke indie pop/rockliedjes kleurde zelfs heel even onze radio. Daarna werd het zo goed als stil. Blijkbaar was het moment voorbij, en ik heb de laatste jaren niets meer gehoord op de radio.

Niet dat de band ermee gestopt is, want met The Feeling zijn ze inmiddels aan nummer vijf toe, een nieuwe cd met twaalf songs, live opgenomen in de studio. Die aanpak betekent, volgens mij, dat het geluid iets minder gepolijst en organischer klinkt. Op zich blijft het totaalgeluid van The Feeling wel hetzelfde: pop/rockliedjes die catchy maar ongevaarlijk klinken.

Het album klinkt volwassener dan het debuut (dat zou ook wel mogen na al die jaren) en bevat fijne songs. Onvergetelijk wordt het evenwel nergens, waardoor ik vrees dat ze weinig airplay zullen krijgen, maar Feel Something is wel een sterke song: breed uitgesmeerde en snakkend naar grote podia waar er met enige pathos de nodige emoties kunnen worden losgeweekt. Daar zorgt de melancholische en gevoelige zang voor, de gitaren die tegen het einde wat als The Edge klinken en de gehele opbouw van de track. Op Repeat To Fade of Let It Be Gone wordt er dan weer te nadrukkelijk naar het grote gebaar gevist. Het orgel en de synths klinken aangenaam. Spiralling is ook een fijn catchy en uptempo liedje dat ze als single zouden kunnen uitbrengen.

Soms is het wat te veel van het goede, maar hier en daar hoor je een fijn resultaat. Niet dat ik vermoed dat er veel mensen op het nieuwe werk zitten te wachten, maar The Feeling zomaar afbranden zou al te gemakkelijk zijn.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
WIRE • Nocturnal Koreans
EAGULLS • Ullages
THE DANDY WARHOLS • Sint-Niklaas, De Casino (08/05/2016)
HIDDEN PLACE • Nei versi di Prévert/Reazione
RABIA SORDA • King Of The Wasteland
WHISPERING SONS + BLEIB MODERN • In Utero, Mechelen-Kamikaze (07/05/16)
DER KLINKE • Eernegem, B52 (07/05/2016)
SOUNDGAZER • Two Graves
FROM THE FIRE • Through The Oceans Of Time
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + INDIE ROCK + POP
SCREAMING PARENT • The Completist

 

Same genre: INDIE
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
DEF ROBOT • Makers Of Mountains
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
THE RECEIPTS • The Receipts
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
THE EXPLODING BOY • Alarms!
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
PIXIES • Head Carrier

 

Same genre: POP
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
A LINN THING • Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)
LALALOVER • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 42 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
01
MASSENHYSTERIE
Weiber regieren die Welt
25
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)