tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : THE FEELING - The Feeling

THE FEELING

The Feeling

MusicCD
IndieIndie RockPop

[72/100]   

Little World Records
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Feeling started 2006 in a splendid way. The debut albumTwelves Stops and Home and the singles Fill My Little World and Sewn were successful. The album, with catchy indie pop/rock songs, was even on our radio for a while. Then things went quiet. Now The Feeling is back with a fifth album that contains 12 songs.

The material was recorded live in the studio. That approach makes the sound, at least in my opinion, less polished and more organic. The overall sound of The Feeling remains the same: catchy pop/rock songs, but harmless.

The album sounds more mature than its debut (which is only normal after all these years of experience) and contains some fine songs, but I fear they will get little airplay. But then again, Feel Something is a strong song that begs for large venues to evoke the necessary emotions. The melancholic and sensitive vocals are great, and I heard the guitar play of The Edge in them. On Repeat To Fade or Let It Be Gone are quite okay as well. Spiralling is a nice, catchy and upbeat song that could be released as a single.

Sometimes they are exagerating, but now an again the result is fine. I don't think that many people are waiting for this new album by The Feeling, but to knock the band down would be too easy.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

The Feeling zette 2006 meteen vrij hoog in: het debuut Twelves Stops and Home deed het net als de singles Fill My Little World en Sewn vrij goed. Het album met aanstekelijke indie pop/rockliedjes kleurde zelfs heel even onze radio. Daarna werd het zo goed als stil. Blijkbaar was het moment voorbij, en ik heb de laatste jaren niets meer gehoord op de radio.

Niet dat de band ermee gestopt is, want met The Feeling zijn ze inmiddels aan nummer vijf toe, een nieuwe cd met twaalf songs, live opgenomen in de studio. Die aanpak betekent, volgens mij, dat het geluid iets minder gepolijst en organischer klinkt. Op zich blijft het totaalgeluid van The Feeling wel hetzelfde: pop/rockliedjes die catchy maar ongevaarlijk klinken.

Het album klinkt volwassener dan het debuut (dat zou ook wel mogen na al die jaren) en bevat fijne songs. Onvergetelijk wordt het evenwel nergens, waardoor ik vrees dat ze weinig airplay zullen krijgen, maar Feel Something is wel een sterke song: breed uitgesmeerde en snakkend naar grote podia waar er met enige pathos de nodige emoties kunnen worden losgeweekt. Daar zorgt de melancholische en gevoelige zang voor, de gitaren die tegen het einde wat als The Edge klinken en de gehele opbouw van de track. Op Repeat To Fade of Let It Be Gone wordt er dan weer te nadrukkelijk naar het grote gebaar gevist. Het orgel en de synths klinken aangenaam. Spiralling is ook een fijn catchy en uptempo liedje dat ze als single zouden kunnen uitbrengen.

Soms is het wat te veel van het goede, maar hier en daar hoor je een fijn resultaat. Niet dat ik vermoed dat er veel mensen op het nieuwe werk zitten te wachten, maar The Feeling zomaar afbranden zou al te gemakkelijk zijn.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
WIRE • Nocturnal Koreans
EAGULLS • Ullages
THE DANDY WARHOLS • Sint-Niklaas, De Casino (08/05/2016)
HIDDEN PLACE • Nei versi di Prévert/Reazione
RABIA SORDA • King Of The Wasteland
WHISPERING SONS + BLEIB MODERN • In Utero, Mechelen-Kamikaze (07/05/16)
DER KLINKE • Eernegem, B52 (07/05/2016)
SOUNDGAZER • Two Graves
FROM THE FIRE • Through The Oceans Of Time
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + INDIE ROCK + POP
SCREAMING PARENT • The Completist

 

Same genre: INDIE
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers
KASPER HATE • Why Live When You Can Rule
SPARE SNARE • Unicorn
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
TOMY LOBO • Golden Birds
TOMMIGUN • Wooden Son
SKINNY GIRL DIET • Heavyflow
KING CHAMPION SOUNDS • To Awake In That Heaven Of Freedom
TAU • Tau Tau Tau

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
PIXIES • Head Carrier
M IS WE • Feels Like Five Days
1476 • Wildwood/The Nightside
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETE SHELLEY • Cinema Music and Wallpaper Sounds
THE DUKE SPIRIT • Kin
SWITCHFOOT • When the Light Shines Through
EVIL SUPERSTARS • Mechelen, Kerk Cultuurcentrum (04/06/2016)
AMBER ARCADES • Fading Lines

 

Same genre: POP
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
A LINN THING • Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)
LALALOVER • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop

Music reviews

19
07
NAUT
Raise The Lights
13
07
LIZARD SMILE
Wandering in Mirrors
12
07
SIMPLE MINDS
Walk Between Worlds
27
06
JOHN FOXX
METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
07
Today it’s exactly 30 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 38 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
16
07
DIRK DA DAVO 'MOODS': CD release July 2018
16
07
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play celebrates theatrical debut
10
07
Peek-a-Boo Magazine #30 out now with temporary free download of the song 'Peek-a-Boo' by Christian Death!!
10
07
Today it’s exactly 27 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!

Concert reviews

16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
07
CHRISTIAN DEATH
'I think pacifism will be the rehearsal for the ultimate slaughter'
18
07
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
'I have no high hopes for humanity anymore...'
23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO

PHOTOS

25
06
LACUNA COIL
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
MARILYN MANSON
Graspop, Dessel
23
06
IN THIS MOMENT
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
07
SECRETS OF THE MOON
Man Behind The Sun
18
07
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
17
07
MAIA VIDAL
Jell-O
16
07
DAVID BOWIE
I Can’t Give Everything Away
15
07
JO QUAIL
Laurus
14
07
PIG
The Revelation
13
07
KLAMMER
Spiral Girl