tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : THE FEELING - The Feeling

THE FEELING

The Feeling

MusicCD
IndieIndie RockPop

[72/100]   

Little World Records
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Feeling started 2006 in a splendid way. The debut albumTwelves Stops and Home and the singles Fill My Little World and Sewn were successful. The album, with catchy indie pop/rock songs, was even on our radio for a while. Then things went quiet. Now The Feeling is back with a fifth album that contains 12 songs.

The material was recorded live in the studio. That approach makes the sound, at least in my opinion, less polished and more organic. The overall sound of The Feeling remains the same: catchy pop/rock songs, but harmless.

The album sounds more mature than its debut (which is only normal after all these years of experience) and contains some fine songs, but I fear they will get little airplay. But then again, Feel Something is a strong song that begs for large venues to evoke the necessary emotions. The melancholic and sensitive vocals are great, and I heard the guitar play of The Edge in them. On Repeat To Fade or Let It Be Gone are quite okay as well. Spiralling is a nice, catchy and upbeat song that could be released as a single.

Sometimes they are exagerating, but now an again the result is fine. I don't think that many people are waiting for this new album by The Feeling, but to knock the band down would be too easy.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

The Feeling zette 2006 meteen vrij hoog in: het debuut Twelves Stops and Home deed het net als de singles Fill My Little World en Sewn vrij goed. Het album met aanstekelijke indie pop/rockliedjes kleurde zelfs heel even onze radio. Daarna werd het zo goed als stil. Blijkbaar was het moment voorbij, en ik heb de laatste jaren niets meer gehoord op de radio.

Niet dat de band ermee gestopt is, want met The Feeling zijn ze inmiddels aan nummer vijf toe, een nieuwe cd met twaalf songs, live opgenomen in de studio. Die aanpak betekent, volgens mij, dat het geluid iets minder gepolijst en organischer klinkt. Op zich blijft het totaalgeluid van The Feeling wel hetzelfde: pop/rockliedjes die catchy maar ongevaarlijk klinken.

Het album klinkt volwassener dan het debuut (dat zou ook wel mogen na al die jaren) en bevat fijne songs. Onvergetelijk wordt het evenwel nergens, waardoor ik vrees dat ze weinig airplay zullen krijgen, maar Feel Something is wel een sterke song: breed uitgesmeerde en snakkend naar grote podia waar er met enige pathos de nodige emoties kunnen worden losgeweekt. Daar zorgt de melancholische en gevoelige zang voor, de gitaren die tegen het einde wat als The Edge klinken en de gehele opbouw van de track. Op Repeat To Fade of Let It Be Gone wordt er dan weer te nadrukkelijk naar het grote gebaar gevist. Het orgel en de synths klinken aangenaam. Spiralling is ook een fijn catchy en uptempo liedje dat ze als single zouden kunnen uitbrengen.

Soms is het wat te veel van het goede, maar hier en daar hoor je een fijn resultaat. Niet dat ik vermoed dat er veel mensen op het nieuwe werk zitten te wachten, maar The Feeling zomaar afbranden zou al te gemakkelijk zijn.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
WIRE • Nocturnal Koreans
EAGULLS • Ullages
THE DANDY WARHOLS • Sint-Niklaas, De Casino (08/05/2016)
HIDDEN PLACE • Nei versi di Prévert/Reazione
RABIA SORDA • King Of The Wasteland
WHISPERING SONS + BLEIB MODERN • In Utero, Mechelen-Kamikaze (07/05/16)
DER KLINKE • Eernegem, B52 (07/05/2016)
SOUNDGAZER • Two Graves
FROM THE FIRE • Through The Oceans Of Time
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + INDIE ROCK + POP
SCREAMING PARENT • The Completist

 

Same genre: INDIE
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
DEF ROBOT • Makers Of Mountains
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
THE RECEIPTS • The Receipts
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
THE EXPLODING BOY • Alarms!
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
PIXIES • Head Carrier
M IS WE • Feels Like Five Days

 

Same genre: POP
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
A LINN THING • Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)
LALALOVER • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)

Music reviews

17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy
16
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
Let's Play (Two girls and a goat)
12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER
10
11
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2020 releases third band wave with Mesh, Zeromancer & many more

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

17
11
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club
13
11
N TALES
B52 music club
11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
11
OAKTREE
La Fin
17
11
ALISON MOYET
Other
16
11
ROSARUBEA
A Blue Bird in a Scarlet Spring
15
11
DER KLINKE
My Frozen Heart
14
11
KELUAR
Volition
13
11
HEILUNG
Krigsgaldr
12
11
STOCKHAUSSEN
Mi siniestro