tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : THE FEELING - The Feeling

THE FEELING

The Feeling

MusicCD
IndieIndie RockPop

[72/100]   

Little World Records
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Feeling started 2006 in a splendid way. The debut albumTwelves Stops and Home and the singles Fill My Little World and Sewn were successful. The album, with catchy indie pop/rock songs, was even on our radio for a while. Then things went quiet. Now The Feeling is back with a fifth album that contains 12 songs.

The material was recorded live in the studio. That approach makes the sound, at least in my opinion, less polished and more organic. The overall sound of The Feeling remains the same: catchy pop/rock songs, but harmless.

The album sounds more mature than its debut (which is only normal after all these years of experience) and contains some fine songs, but I fear they will get little airplay. But then again, Feel Something is a strong song that begs for large venues to evoke the necessary emotions. The melancholic and sensitive vocals are great, and I heard the guitar play of The Edge in them. On Repeat To Fade or Let It Be Gone are quite okay as well. Spiralling is a nice, catchy and upbeat song that could be released as a single.

Sometimes they are exagerating, but now an again the result is fine. I don't think that many people are waiting for this new album by The Feeling, but to knock the band down would be too easy.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

The Feeling zette 2006 meteen vrij hoog in: het debuut Twelves Stops and Home deed het net als de singles Fill My Little World en Sewn vrij goed. Het album met aanstekelijke indie pop/rockliedjes kleurde zelfs heel even onze radio. Daarna werd het zo goed als stil. Blijkbaar was het moment voorbij, en ik heb de laatste jaren niets meer gehoord op de radio.

Niet dat de band ermee gestopt is, want met The Feeling zijn ze inmiddels aan nummer vijf toe, een nieuwe cd met twaalf songs, live opgenomen in de studio. Die aanpak betekent, volgens mij, dat het geluid iets minder gepolijst en organischer klinkt. Op zich blijft het totaalgeluid van The Feeling wel hetzelfde: pop/rockliedjes die catchy maar ongevaarlijk klinken.

Het album klinkt volwassener dan het debuut (dat zou ook wel mogen na al die jaren) en bevat fijne songs. Onvergetelijk wordt het evenwel nergens, waardoor ik vrees dat ze weinig airplay zullen krijgen, maar Feel Something is wel een sterke song: breed uitgesmeerde en snakkend naar grote podia waar er met enige pathos de nodige emoties kunnen worden losgeweekt. Daar zorgt de melancholische en gevoelige zang voor, de gitaren die tegen het einde wat als The Edge klinken en de gehele opbouw van de track. Op Repeat To Fade of Let It Be Gone wordt er dan weer te nadrukkelijk naar het grote gebaar gevist. Het orgel en de synths klinken aangenaam. Spiralling is ook een fijn catchy en uptempo liedje dat ze als single zouden kunnen uitbrengen.

Soms is het wat te veel van het goede, maar hier en daar hoor je een fijn resultaat. Niet dat ik vermoed dat er veel mensen op het nieuwe werk zitten te wachten, maar The Feeling zomaar afbranden zou al te gemakkelijk zijn.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
WIRE • Nocturnal Koreans
EAGULLS • Ullages
THE DANDY WARHOLS • Sint-Niklaas, De Casino (08/05/2016)
HIDDEN PLACE • Nei versi di Prévert/Reazione
RABIA SORDA • King Of The Wasteland
WHISPERING SONS + BLEIB MODERN • In Utero, Mechelen-Kamikaze (07/05/16)
DER KLINKE • Eernegem, B52 (07/05/2016)
SOUNDGAZER • Two Graves
FROM THE FIRE • Through The Oceans Of Time
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + INDIE ROCK + POP
SCREAMING PARENT • The Completist

 

Same genre: INDIE
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers
KASPER HATE • Why Live When You Can Rule
SPARE SNARE • Unicorn
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
TOMY LOBO • Golden Birds
TOMMIGUN • Wooden Son
SKINNY GIRL DIET • Heavyflow
KING CHAMPION SOUNDS • To Awake In That Heaven Of Freedom
TAU • Tau Tau Tau

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
THE EXPLODING BOY • Alarms!
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
PIXIES • Head Carrier
M IS WE • Feels Like Five Days
1476 • Wildwood/The Nightside
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETE SHELLEY • Cinema Music and Wallpaper Sounds
THE DUKE SPIRIT • Kin
SWITCHFOOT • When the Light Shines Through
EVIL SUPERSTARS • Mechelen, Kerk Cultuurcentrum (04/06/2016)

 

Same genre: POP
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
A LINN THING • Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)
LALALOVER • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop

Music reviews

22
10
VEDA RAYS
For The Rest To Rest
20
10
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS
Scalped
19
10
CHRIS WATSON
Locations Processed
18
10
COLE VARGAS
Cole Vargas
16
10
DAVID BOWIE
Low, Heroes, Lodger
15
10
ALVAR
I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Headlining USA East Coast Tour Dates
19
10
Ancient Greek folk ensemble DAEMONIA NYMPHE have announced the re-release of acclaimed album Psychostasia!
18
10
Dive re-releases his fourth studio album 'Snakedressed' on double vinyl
18
10
'Write When You Get Work' screening at Philadelphia Film Festival this weekend - watch the trailer here!
17
10
Belgian post-punk outfit Whispering Sons has announced their long-awaited debut album 'Image'!
16
10
KOLLAPS ANNOUNCES EUROPEAN TOUR 2018

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
10
DAVID J
Interview with David J
20
10
TRASH DEITY
Trash Dialog: An Interview With Groovie Mann & John Norton of Trash Deity
19
10
SONOLOGYST
A ‘Vertical’ Approach To Music
18
10
MERZBOW
Interview with Masami Akita (Merzbow)
17
10
ALVAR
The trend of 2018 has been 303´s - we sold ours!

PHOTOS

16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik
09
10
NEON ELECTRONICS
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
09
10
APPARAAT
JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
10
ADULT.
Heartbreak (Live @ MOOGFEST SOUND LAB)
21
10
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
20
10
RROYCE
The Principle Of Grace
19
10
DEATH KOOLAID
Kids
18
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
17
10
VNV NATION
When is the Future?
17
10
WARDRUNA
Raido