tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : THE FEELING - The Feeling

THE FEELING

The Feeling

MusicCD
IndieIndie RockPop

[72/100]   

Little World Records
10/12/2016, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The Feeling started 2006 in a splendid way. The debut albumTwelves Stops and Home and the singles Fill My Little World and Sewn were successful. The album, with catchy indie pop/rock songs, was even on our radio for a while. Then things went quiet. Now The Feeling is back with a fifth album that contains 12 songs.

The material was recorded live in the studio. That approach makes the sound, at least in my opinion, less polished and more organic. The overall sound of The Feeling remains the same: catchy pop/rock songs, but harmless.

The album sounds more mature than its debut (which is only normal after all these years of experience) and contains some fine songs, but I fear they will get little airplay. But then again, Feel Something is a strong song that begs for large venues to evoke the necessary emotions. The melancholic and sensitive vocals are great, and I heard the guitar play of The Edge in them. On Repeat To Fade or Let It Be Gone are quite okay as well. Spiralling is a nice, catchy and upbeat song that could be released as a single.

Sometimes they are exagerating, but now an again the result is fine. I don't think that many people are waiting for this new album by The Feeling, but to knock the band down would be too easy.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


NL

The Feeling zette 2006 meteen vrij hoog in: het debuut Twelves Stops and Home deed het net als de singles Fill My Little World en Sewn vrij goed. Het album met aanstekelijke indie pop/rockliedjes kleurde zelfs heel even onze radio. Daarna werd het zo goed als stil. Blijkbaar was het moment voorbij, en ik heb de laatste jaren niets meer gehoord op de radio.

Niet dat de band ermee gestopt is, want met The Feeling zijn ze inmiddels aan nummer vijf toe, een nieuwe cd met twaalf songs, live opgenomen in de studio. Die aanpak betekent, volgens mij, dat het geluid iets minder gepolijst en organischer klinkt. Op zich blijft het totaalgeluid van The Feeling wel hetzelfde: pop/rockliedjes die catchy maar ongevaarlijk klinken.

Het album klinkt volwassener dan het debuut (dat zou ook wel mogen na al die jaren) en bevat fijne songs. Onvergetelijk wordt het evenwel nergens, waardoor ik vrees dat ze weinig airplay zullen krijgen, maar Feel Something is wel een sterke song: breed uitgesmeerde en snakkend naar grote podia waar er met enige pathos de nodige emoties kunnen worden losgeweekt. Daar zorgt de melancholische en gevoelige zang voor, de gitaren die tegen het einde wat als The Edge klinken en de gehele opbouw van de track. Op Repeat To Fade of Let It Be Gone wordt er dan weer te nadrukkelijk naar het grote gebaar gevist. Het orgel en de synths klinken aangenaam. Spiralling is ook een fijn catchy en uptempo liedje dat ze als single zouden kunnen uitbrengen.

Soms is het wat te veel van het goede, maar hier en daar hoor je een fijn resultaat. Niet dat ik vermoed dat er veel mensen op het nieuwe werk zitten te wachten, maar The Feeling zomaar afbranden zou al te gemakkelijk zijn.

Wim GUILLEMYN
10/12/2016


 

Next reviews
WIRE • Nocturnal Koreans
EAGULLS • Ullages
THE DANDY WARHOLS • Sint-Niklaas, De Casino (08/05/2016)
HIDDEN PLACE • Nei versi di Prévert/Reazione
RABIA SORDA • King Of The Wasteland
WHISPERING SONS + BLEIB MODERN • In Utero, Mechelen-Kamikaze (07/05/16)
DER KLINKE • Eernegem, B52 (07/05/2016)
SOUNDGAZER • Two Graves
FROM THE FIRE • Through The Oceans Of Time
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + INDIE ROCK + POP
SCREAMING PARENT • The Completist

 

Same genre: INDIE
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers
KASPER HATE • Why Live When You Can Rule
SPARE SNARE • Unicorn
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
TOMY LOBO • Golden Birds
TOMMIGUN • Wooden Son
SKINNY GIRL DIET • Heavyflow
KING CHAMPION SOUNDS • To Awake In That Heaven Of Freedom

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
THE EXPLODING BOY • Alarms!
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
PIXIES • Head Carrier
M IS WE • Feels Like Five Days
1476 • Wildwood/The Nightside
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETE SHELLEY • Cinema Music and Wallpaper Sounds
THE DUKE SPIRIT • Kin
SWITCHFOOT • When the Light Shines Through

 

Same genre: POP
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
PARRALOX • Subculture
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
A LINN THING • Mechelen, Maanrock (27/08/2016)
LALALOVER • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
BLACK TAPE FOR A BLUE GIRL • Bike Shop

Music reviews

20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us
19
01
DIVE
Live Maschinenfest 2017
16
01
EVI VINE
Black Light White Dark
08
01
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
PSYCHOSTASIA
28
12
MISS CHAMBERTALE
Berries and Tales
22
12
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING
Winter In London

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
01
CANADIAN DUO FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY TO RELEASE NEW ALBUM 'WAKE UP THE COMA'
18
01
Israeli Dark Synthpop Artist LIYA Announces The Release Of LISTEN
17
01
MY LIFE WITH THE THRILL KILL KULT Reveal New Single, 'The Chains of Fame' Off Upcoming LP
16
01
The Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 Release
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - One Year Anniversary
14
01
Zwaremachine are heading over to Europe for 3 dates in January!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
01
WULFBAND
If you feel that guitars would destroy whatever you think Wulfband is about, stay at home
17
01
ANY SECOND
The Eighth Sin Is The Human Himself
31
12
SIMI NAH
Balancing between the 'normal' world and the 'artistic' world was frustrating, but perhaps led us to make our best record ever!
27
12
ALIEN SEX FIEND
Alien Sex Fiend Is A State Of Mind And Not A Choreographed Or Rehearsed Thing
24
12
SIEBEN
The European Union are kinder overlords than the ones we may well inherit, out on our own, pretending we are not part of the world.

PHOTOS

20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AMNISTIA
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
01
SOPHIA (S)
Herbstwerk
19
01
OY
A New Planet Is Born
18
01
HEIMATAERDE
Hoch hinaus
17
01
CENT ANS DE SOLITUDE
The unacceptable face of beauty
16
01
PLANETDAMAGE
Hi Rez Lo Life
15
01
SCHULTZ
I hate You
14
01
LOLA ANGST
Wie Gott