tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : THE TEMPER TRAP - Thick As Thieves

THE TEMPER TRAP

Thick As Thieves

MusicCD
Indie

[72/100]   
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Of course you know The Temper Trap of the smash hit Sweet Disposition from seven years ago. Then the hits stopped coming, although the last album (simply called The Temper Trap, 2012) sounded more than decent. Now the Australians are back with a third album: Tick As Thieves.

The eponymous single already was a sign: The Temper Trap has nothing against playing pompous stadium rock with indie influences. Not strange at all, because the band got the help of renowned names such as Ben Allen of Animal Collective.

In the mean time, The Temper Trap can flaunt with the fact that it has sold over a million albums, and the new ablum proofs that the band wants to continue on the same road. Each song begs to be sung along in huge venues, and so, bombast is never far away.

And then there is of course the inevitable question why you are reading this: is the music of Dougy Mandagi, Jonathan Aherne, Toby Dundas and Josep Greer any good? A poisonous question, as in fact the music of The Temper Trap is very commercial rock pop with an alternative identity. Unfortunately for those who hate The Temper Trap, the Australians know only too well how to write a good tune!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

The Temper Trap ken je natuurlijk van die superhit Sweet Disposition, die ondertussen alweer zo’n dikke zeven jaar oud is. Daarna werd het iets stil op hitvlak ofschoon de laatste cd uit 2012 (die gewoonweg The Temper Trap heet) meer dan behoorlijk klonk. Nu zijn de Australiërs er opnieuw met Tick As Thieves, de derde plaat.

De gelijknamige single liet het al vermoeden: The Temper Trap is helemaal niet vies van pompeuze stadionrockachtige pop met wat indie-invloeden. Vreemd is dat niet als je weet dat de band de medewerking kreen van gerenommeerde namen zoals bijv. Ben Allen van Animal Collective.

The Temper Trap kan inmiddels pronken met het feit dat het al meer dan een miljoen albums heeft verkocht, en je hoort op de nieuweling dat de band van plan is om zonder pardon op die weg door te gaan. Iedere song smeekt gewoonweg om te worden meegezongen in overvolle zalen, dus is de bombast nooit veraf.

En dan blijft er natuurlijk die onvermijdelijke vraag waarom je uiteindelijk dit schrijfsel leest: is de muziek van Dougy Mandagi, Jonathan Aherne, Toby Dundas en Josep Greer goed? Een giftige vraag. De muziek van The Temper Trap blijft immers niet meer dan poepcommerciële rockpop die gewoon in een alternatief jasje zit. Helaas voor de tegenstanders is er slecht nieuws: de Australiërs weten maar al te goed hoe ze een goede song moeten neerpennen!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed
05
09
38 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
29
08
42 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'
06
09
DAVID WM.SIMS(UNFACT,THE JESUS LIZARD,SCRATCH ACID)
'We had a great personal chemistry within the band!'
15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN

PHOTOS

18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld
17
09
ASHTON NYTE SALAD DAZE BIELEFED WITH WAYNE HUSSEY
Movie Bielefeld
07
09
THE SPIRITUAL BAT
Le Garage Luik
25
08
BORGHESIA
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
17
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
My Little Problem
16
09
PRECIOUS CHILD
Magic is Real
15
09
TAINA
Seelenfresser [Zardonic Remix]
14
09
TALK TALK
It´s My Life
13
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell