tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : THE TEMPER TRAP - Thick As Thieves

THE TEMPER TRAP

Thick As Thieves

MusicCD
Indie

[72/100]   
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Of course you know The Temper Trap of the smash hit Sweet Disposition from seven years ago. Then the hits stopped coming, although the last album (simply called The Temper Trap, 2012) sounded more than decent. Now the Australians are back with a third album: Tick As Thieves.

The eponymous single already was a sign: The Temper Trap has nothing against playing pompous stadium rock with indie influences. Not strange at all, because the band got the help of renowned names such as Ben Allen of Animal Collective.

In the mean time, The Temper Trap can flaunt with the fact that it has sold over a million albums, and the new ablum proofs that the band wants to continue on the same road. Each song begs to be sung along in huge venues, and so, bombast is never far away.

And then there is of course the inevitable question why you are reading this: is the music of Dougy Mandagi, Jonathan Aherne, Toby Dundas and Josep Greer any good? A poisonous question, as in fact the music of The Temper Trap is very commercial rock pop with an alternative identity. Unfortunately for those who hate The Temper Trap, the Australians know only too well how to write a good tune!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

The Temper Trap ken je natuurlijk van die superhit Sweet Disposition, die ondertussen alweer zo’n dikke zeven jaar oud is. Daarna werd het iets stil op hitvlak ofschoon de laatste cd uit 2012 (die gewoonweg The Temper Trap heet) meer dan behoorlijk klonk. Nu zijn de Australiërs er opnieuw met Tick As Thieves, de derde plaat.

De gelijknamige single liet het al vermoeden: The Temper Trap is helemaal niet vies van pompeuze stadionrockachtige pop met wat indie-invloeden. Vreemd is dat niet als je weet dat de band de medewerking kreen van gerenommeerde namen zoals bijv. Ben Allen van Animal Collective.

The Temper Trap kan inmiddels pronken met het feit dat het al meer dan een miljoen albums heeft verkocht, en je hoort op de nieuweling dat de band van plan is om zonder pardon op die weg door te gaan. Iedere song smeekt gewoonweg om te worden meegezongen in overvolle zalen, dus is de bombast nooit veraf.

En dan blijft er natuurlijk die onvermijdelijke vraag waarom je uiteindelijk dit schrijfsel leest: is de muziek van Dougy Mandagi, Jonathan Aherne, Toby Dundas en Josep Greer goed? Een giftige vraag. De muziek van The Temper Trap blijft immers niet meer dan poepcommerciële rockpop die gewoon in een alternatief jasje zit. Helaas voor de tegenstanders is er slecht nieuws: de Australiërs weten maar al te goed hoe ze een goede song moeten neerpennen!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

05
04
KALTE NACHT
The Last Breath
02
04
LOVATARAXX
Tilda Vaast
14
03
THEN COMES SILENCE
Trickery
13
03
DARK MINIMAL PROJECT
Remixes
27
02
WHISPERING SONS
The Great Calm
22
02
YOUR ENEMY
Broken Toys

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
04
39 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
15
04
On this day, 23 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene(° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
37 years ago MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
11
04
LIVERNOIS Addresses The Human Reaction To Trauma With ':ablation:'
11
04
Celtic Circle Productions founder Alfred Kaenders past away...

Concert reviews

15
04
FAD GADGET
***FLASHBACK REVIEW***The Return of FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REVIEW***
16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...
18
06
ERATO - BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Black Planet Fest - @ B 52 Music Club Eernegem - friday 19th of may
18
06
KORINTHIANS, NEL & JP, NONA PROBLEMO
@Charlatan Ghent - 25 mei 2023

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
04
ATTRITION
An Interview With The Legendary, ATTRITION
09
04
DE DELVERS
With the lyrics, I try to name things that I see happening around me and to pay attention to what we sometimes prefer to turn our heads away from.
03
04
FRONTAL BOUNDARY
An Interview With Harsh Electro Band, Frontal Boundary
20
03
BESTIAL MOUTHS
An Interview With Bestial Mouths
19
03
TVASHTAR
We never insisted on being an all-female band.

PHOTOS

16
04
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Kulttempel Oberhausen
16
04
NICHTS
Christuskirche Bochum
15
04
FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REPORT***
Elektrofest 15/04/2001, Mean Fiddler, London
14
04
OTTO VON SCHIRACH
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
FRACTIONAL
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
O VEUX
Wasted Night #5 Borgloon

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
04
30,000 MONKIES
Coproliet
15
04
WIM MERTENS
Struggle For Pleasure
14
04
TRUE ZEBRA
Push
13
04
MILA MAR
Das steinerne Kind
12
04
ATTRITION
Silent Night
11
04
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
The Mysterious Vanishing of Electra
11
04
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear v2K18 (12' Mix)