tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : THE TEMPER TRAP - Thick As Thieves

THE TEMPER TRAP

Thick As Thieves

MusicCD
Indie

[72/100]   
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Of course you know The Temper Trap of the smash hit Sweet Disposition from seven years ago. Then the hits stopped coming, although the last album (simply called The Temper Trap, 2012) sounded more than decent. Now the Australians are back with a third album: Tick As Thieves.

The eponymous single already was a sign: The Temper Trap has nothing against playing pompous stadium rock with indie influences. Not strange at all, because the band got the help of renowned names such as Ben Allen of Animal Collective.

In the mean time, The Temper Trap can flaunt with the fact that it has sold over a million albums, and the new ablum proofs that the band wants to continue on the same road. Each song begs to be sung along in huge venues, and so, bombast is never far away.

And then there is of course the inevitable question why you are reading this: is the music of Dougy Mandagi, Jonathan Aherne, Toby Dundas and Josep Greer any good? A poisonous question, as in fact the music of The Temper Trap is very commercial rock pop with an alternative identity. Unfortunately for those who hate The Temper Trap, the Australians know only too well how to write a good tune!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

The Temper Trap ken je natuurlijk van die superhit Sweet Disposition, die ondertussen alweer zo’n dikke zeven jaar oud is. Daarna werd het iets stil op hitvlak ofschoon de laatste cd uit 2012 (die gewoonweg The Temper Trap heet) meer dan behoorlijk klonk. Nu zijn de Australiërs er opnieuw met Tick As Thieves, de derde plaat.

De gelijknamige single liet het al vermoeden: The Temper Trap is helemaal niet vies van pompeuze stadionrockachtige pop met wat indie-invloeden. Vreemd is dat niet als je weet dat de band de medewerking kreen van gerenommeerde namen zoals bijv. Ben Allen van Animal Collective.

The Temper Trap kan inmiddels pronken met het feit dat het al meer dan een miljoen albums heeft verkocht, en je hoort op de nieuweling dat de band van plan is om zonder pardon op die weg door te gaan. Iedere song smeekt gewoonweg om te worden meegezongen in overvolle zalen, dus is de bombast nooit veraf.

En dan blijft er natuurlijk die onvermijdelijke vraag waarom je uiteindelijk dit schrijfsel leest: is de muziek van Dougy Mandagi, Jonathan Aherne, Toby Dundas en Josep Greer goed? Een giftige vraag. De muziek van The Temper Trap blijft immers niet meer dan poepcommerciële rockpop die gewoon in een alternatief jasje zit. Helaas voor de tegenstanders is er slecht nieuws: de Australiërs weten maar al te goed hoe ze een goede song moeten neerpennen!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
05
Electro/Synthwave Act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON Unleash New Studio Album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE
30
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
Live at Amphi, Cologne 23-07-2017
29
05
UNZUCHT
Ein Wort Fliegt Wie Ein Stein
28
05
GOLDEN BOY FEAT. MISS KITTIN
Rittin Kitten (Extended)
27
05
HIDDEN ORCHESTRA
Still
26
05
EX-RZ
I can't live in a living room
25
05
POISON POINT
Imaginary Veil