tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : THE TEMPER TRAP - Thick As Thieves

THE TEMPER TRAP

Thick As Thieves

MusicCD
Indie

[72/100]   
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Of course you know The Temper Trap of the smash hit Sweet Disposition from seven years ago. Then the hits stopped coming, although the last album (simply called The Temper Trap, 2012) sounded more than decent. Now the Australians are back with a third album: Tick As Thieves.

The eponymous single already was a sign: The Temper Trap has nothing against playing pompous stadium rock with indie influences. Not strange at all, because the band got the help of renowned names such as Ben Allen of Animal Collective.

In the mean time, The Temper Trap can flaunt with the fact that it has sold over a million albums, and the new ablum proofs that the band wants to continue on the same road. Each song begs to be sung along in huge venues, and so, bombast is never far away.

And then there is of course the inevitable question why you are reading this: is the music of Dougy Mandagi, Jonathan Aherne, Toby Dundas and Josep Greer any good? A poisonous question, as in fact the music of The Temper Trap is very commercial rock pop with an alternative identity. Unfortunately for those who hate The Temper Trap, the Australians know only too well how to write a good tune!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

The Temper Trap ken je natuurlijk van die superhit Sweet Disposition, die ondertussen alweer zo’n dikke zeven jaar oud is. Daarna werd het iets stil op hitvlak ofschoon de laatste cd uit 2012 (die gewoonweg The Temper Trap heet) meer dan behoorlijk klonk. Nu zijn de Australiërs er opnieuw met Tick As Thieves, de derde plaat.

De gelijknamige single liet het al vermoeden: The Temper Trap is helemaal niet vies van pompeuze stadionrockachtige pop met wat indie-invloeden. Vreemd is dat niet als je weet dat de band de medewerking kreen van gerenommeerde namen zoals bijv. Ben Allen van Animal Collective.

The Temper Trap kan inmiddels pronken met het feit dat het al meer dan een miljoen albums heeft verkocht, en je hoort op de nieuweling dat de band van plan is om zonder pardon op die weg door te gaan. Iedere song smeekt gewoonweg om te worden meegezongen in overvolle zalen, dus is de bombast nooit veraf.

En dan blijft er natuurlijk die onvermijdelijke vraag waarom je uiteindelijk dit schrijfsel leest: is de muziek van Dougy Mandagi, Jonathan Aherne, Toby Dundas en Josep Greer goed? Een giftige vraag. De muziek van The Temper Trap blijft immers niet meer dan poepcommerciële rockpop die gewoon in een alternatief jasje zit. Helaas voor de tegenstanders is er slecht nieuws: de Australiërs weten maar al te goed hoe ze een goede song moeten neerpennen!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

15
08
COVERNANT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
NIZZER EBB
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENCE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire