tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/12/2016 : THE TEMPER TRAP - Thick As Thieves

THE TEMPER TRAP

Thick As Thieves

MusicCD
Indie

[72/100]   
10/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Of course you know The Temper Trap of the smash hit Sweet Disposition from seven years ago. Then the hits stopped coming, although the last album (simply called The Temper Trap, 2012) sounded more than decent. Now the Australians are back with a third album: Tick As Thieves.

The eponymous single already was a sign: The Temper Trap has nothing against playing pompous stadium rock with indie influences. Not strange at all, because the band got the help of renowned names such as Ben Allen of Animal Collective.

In the mean time, The Temper Trap can flaunt with the fact that it has sold over a million albums, and the new ablum proofs that the band wants to continue on the same road. Each song begs to be sung along in huge venues, and so, bombast is never far away.

And then there is of course the inevitable question why you are reading this: is the music of Dougy Mandagi, Jonathan Aherne, Toby Dundas and Josep Greer any good? A poisonous question, as in fact the music of The Temper Trap is very commercial rock pop with an alternative identity. Unfortunately for those who hate The Temper Trap, the Australians know only too well how to write a good tune!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


NL

The Temper Trap ken je natuurlijk van die superhit Sweet Disposition, die ondertussen alweer zo’n dikke zeven jaar oud is. Daarna werd het iets stil op hitvlak ofschoon de laatste cd uit 2012 (die gewoonweg The Temper Trap heet) meer dan behoorlijk klonk. Nu zijn de Australiërs er opnieuw met Tick As Thieves, de derde plaat.

De gelijknamige single liet het al vermoeden: The Temper Trap is helemaal niet vies van pompeuze stadionrockachtige pop met wat indie-invloeden. Vreemd is dat niet als je weet dat de band de medewerking kreen van gerenommeerde namen zoals bijv. Ben Allen van Animal Collective.

The Temper Trap kan inmiddels pronken met het feit dat het al meer dan een miljoen albums heeft verkocht, en je hoort op de nieuweling dat de band van plan is om zonder pardon op die weg door te gaan. Iedere song smeekt gewoonweg om te worden meegezongen in overvolle zalen, dus is de bombast nooit veraf.

En dan blijft er natuurlijk die onvermijdelijke vraag waarom je uiteindelijk dit schrijfsel leest: is de muziek van Dougy Mandagi, Jonathan Aherne, Toby Dundas en Josep Greer goed? Een giftige vraag. De muziek van The Temper Trap blijft immers niet meer dan poepcommerciële rockpop die gewoon in een alternatief jasje zit. Helaas voor de tegenstanders is er slecht nieuws: de Australiërs weten maar al te goed hoe ze een goede song moeten neerpennen!

Didier BECU
10/12/2016


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
EDITORS
Frankenstein
25
06
REIN
Can't Handle Me
25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots
21
06
NEW ORDER
Restless