tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

06/07/2015 : MORGLBL - Tea Time For Pünks

MORGLBL

Tea Time For Pünks

MusicCD
CrossoverJazzMetal

[85/100]   

Free Electric Sound
06/07/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Instrumental Jazz/Fusion metal. What is it all about? In this case I can say that it is a guitar oriented metal album with elements of jazz and fusion. The songs contain nicely delineated themes and melodic lines. The cover and the title are a big wink to the punk, but musically there’ s no similarity with the punk scene.

The combination of different styles delivers nice and original pieces of music. The starter ‘Banjovi’ has a lot of jazz in its rythms and also in the crazy organ and synth parts. The guitar scatters with metal licks. The title song starts as a ‘Clash’ song (the rhythm guitar) with here and there some Jazz elements added (percussion and bass). So, we hear 11 nice pieces of music that sound inventive and with some variations. Sometimes the soul and genius of Frank Zappa rambles around, like on ‘God Shaved The Queen’.

A must for lovers of instrumental guitar music.

Wim GUILLEMYN
06/07/2015


NL

Instrumentale jazz-/fusionmetal. Wat moeten we ons daarbij voorstellen, zal je denken? De hoofdmoot van de songs bestaat uit metalachtige composities waarin elementen uit fusion en jazz verwerkt zijn. De songs hebben telkens mooi afgelijnde thema’s en melodielijnen. De hoes alsook de titel zijn een vette knipoog naar de punk. Maar muzikaal tappen ze wel uit een heel ander vaatje.

De combinatie van de verschillende stijlen levert aardige muziek op die origineel klinkt. Het openingsnummer ‘Banjovi’ heeft heel wat jazz in het ritme en in de gekke orgel- en keyboardfragmenten. De gitaar strooit met metallicks. Het titelnummer begint als een Clash-song (die ritmegitaar) met hier en daar wat jazz elementen (percussie en bas). Zo horen we op dit album 11 leuke muziekcomposities die inventief en variërend uit de hoek komen. Soms waart de grilligheid/genialiteit van Frank Zappa rond zoals op ‘God Shaved The Queen’.

Een must voor wie van instrumentale gitaarmuziek houdt.

Wim GUILLEMYN
06/07/2015


 

Next reviews
GILL LANDRY • Gill Landry
DAMIAN SZIFRON • Wild Tales
SERGEI BODROV • Seventh Son
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DEEP
RUBEN OSTLUND • Turist
ADVANCE • Deus Ex Machina (the redux edition)
GOSPEL • Ain't Gonna Let You In
EVI VINE • Give Your Heart To The Hawks
REBECCA ZLOTOWSKI • Belle Epine
METALTECH • Burn Your Planet

 

Same genre: CROSSOVER
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
PRO-PAIN • The Truth Hurts
COMBICHRIST • This Is Where Death Begins
LA HORDE • Dystopie
SKINDRED • Volume
MISCHIEF BREW • This is Not For Children
FAITH NO MORE • Sol Invictus
WAITING FOR • The Hexen

 

Same genre: JAZZ
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
DRE PALLEMAERTS, CLEMENS VAN DER FEEN & PASCAL MOHY • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (28/10/2016)
SUN RA | MERZBOW • Strange City
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016)
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
SHIELD PATTERNS • Mirror Breathing
MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016)

 

Same genre: METAL
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
COMBICHRIST • Hate Like Me
FROSTTIDE • Decedents – Enshrined
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
VARIOUS • ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
GHOST • Popestar
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
WILDHEART • WILDHEART
NERVOSA • Agony
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden

Music reviews

20
09
JE T'AIME
Je T'aime
05
09
FOXY
X-Ray Spex Tribute
04
09
GRENDEL
Ascending The Abyss
03
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Hellraiser
03
09
W - FEST, AUG 18TH 2019
24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'
20
09
Warish streaming forthcoming full length debut ahead of release
19
09
Such Beautiful Flowers premières first video from upcoming Wool-E Tapes release.
06
09
KLONE RELEASE NEW SINGLE “HIDDEN PASSENGER” FROM FORTHCOMING ALBUM LE GRAND VOYAGE
05
09
Industrial Rock Band CHMCL STR8JCKT Signs To Cleopatra Records - Wrtchd Thngs Album Details Revealed

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
09
JOHN HASSALL(THE LIBERTINES,THE APRIL RAINERS)
'I’m trying to write for everybody!'
21
09
BRIAN JAMES(THE DAMNED,THE LORDS OF THE NEW CHURCH)
'If it’s something that comes from your heart – you can do whatever you want do to!'
19
09
CHMCL STR8JCKT
An Interview With Chmcl Str8jckt
11
09
NOTNOTICE
I Like When There Are Noise Collages In The Music
08
09
ALEXA HUNTER(DISTURBED FURNITURE)
'Love or hate us, we are gonna kick out the jams while we still can!'

PHOTOS

22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
DARK SIDE EONS
Liege New Wave Festival
21
09
SISTERS OF MERCY
The Roundhouse London
21
09
AMENRA
The Roundhouse London
18
09
NEAR METH EXPERIENCE
Zappa Antwerpen
17
09
WAYNE HUSSEY SALAD DAZE TOUR
Movie Bielefeld

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
09
VIVE LA FETE
YOU CAN SLEEP IN MY BED
23
09
COIL
Bang Bang
22
09
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
21
09
AESTHETIC PERFECTION
Love Like Lies
20
09
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
19
09
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks
18
09
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi