tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

06/07/2015 : MORGLBL - Tea Time For Pünks

MORGLBL

Tea Time For Pünks

MusicCD
CrossoverJazzMetal

[85/100]   

Free Electric Sound
06/07/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Instrumental Jazz/Fusion metal. What is it all about? In this case I can say that it is a guitar oriented metal album with elements of jazz and fusion. The songs contain nicely delineated themes and melodic lines. The cover and the title are a big wink to the punk, but musically there’ s no similarity with the punk scene.

The combination of different styles delivers nice and original pieces of music. The starter ‘Banjovi’ has a lot of jazz in its rythms and also in the crazy organ and synth parts. The guitar scatters with metal licks. The title song starts as a ‘Clash’ song (the rhythm guitar) with here and there some Jazz elements added (percussion and bass). So, we hear 11 nice pieces of music that sound inventive and with some variations. Sometimes the soul and genius of Frank Zappa rambles around, like on ‘God Shaved The Queen’.

A must for lovers of instrumental guitar music.

Wim GUILLEMYN
06/07/2015


NL

Instrumentale jazz-/fusionmetal. Wat moeten we ons daarbij voorstellen, zal je denken? De hoofdmoot van de songs bestaat uit metalachtige composities waarin elementen uit fusion en jazz verwerkt zijn. De songs hebben telkens mooi afgelijnde thema’s en melodielijnen. De hoes alsook de titel zijn een vette knipoog naar de punk. Maar muzikaal tappen ze wel uit een heel ander vaatje.

De combinatie van de verschillende stijlen levert aardige muziek op die origineel klinkt. Het openingsnummer ‘Banjovi’ heeft heel wat jazz in het ritme en in de gekke orgel- en keyboardfragmenten. De gitaar strooit met metallicks. Het titelnummer begint als een Clash-song (die ritmegitaar) met hier en daar wat jazz elementen (percussie en bas). Zo horen we op dit album 11 leuke muziekcomposities die inventief en variërend uit de hoek komen. Soms waart de grilligheid/genialiteit van Frank Zappa rond zoals op ‘God Shaved The Queen’.

Een must voor wie van instrumentale gitaarmuziek houdt.

Wim GUILLEMYN
06/07/2015


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design