tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

06/07/2015 : GILL LANDRY - Gill Landry

GILL LANDRY

Gill Landry

MusicCD
americanaFolkJazz

[85/100]   

ATO Records
06/07/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

The American singer-songwriter Gill Landry has released his third album, recorded in what he calls a ramshackle and shanty-ass apartment on the south side of Nashville. In a previous life he was a member of the americana and country band Old Crow Medicine Show, which has reintroduced the use of the banjo in Nashville and has had great influence on Nick Etwell of Munford & Sons. On his new album Gill Landry can count on the cooperation of the English folk band, on Laura Marling and Robert Ellis. Odessa Jorgensen provides vocal support in the harmonies and plays the violin.

Besides musician, Landry is also a photographer, a painter and a lifter and that brought him to Paris where he sang in the streets, to the States where he lived as a day laborer and dreamer, and where he slept under bridges and in beds in abandoned houses. That way, he collected enough material to write lyrics and songs for the rest of his life. He combines the legacy of the Old Crow Medicine Show with influences from Bob Dylan to delta blues. Reference points include Tom Waits, John Prine and Steve Earle, because Landy's songs radiate the same honesty and personal involvement. Sometimes his subjects are creepy and unearthly, dirty and dingy, but always recognizable and related to everyday life. Or as he himself puts it: "After more classic love songs on my first two albums, I tried not to come at this one from the point of how things could or should have been, or should be, but rather searched for sweet understanding and surrender to what is or was, and moving forward with compassion and kindness without harsh judgement to the reasons for this crime or that misstep".

Sounds melancholy, but the music is different, because the material on the album Gill Landy sounds tidy and melodious. His style is related to that of John Hiatt and Warren Zevon, and with the latter he shares the warm and deep voice, but Landry is not a rocker in the true sense of the word. His compositions are rooted in the music of Louisiana and Tennessee, while they still keep sufficient distance to the country music that we associate with Nashville. Funeral in My Heart sets the tone, with the sparkling sound of an acoustic guitar against a buzzing background; a short and melodious composition with gently humping drums halfway. Just Like You sound more emphatic, with harmonica in the beginning, percussion, acoustic and bass guitar and an attractive chorus: a beautiful Americana ballad. Waiting for Your Love is a similar song, to which Odessa Jorgensen adds the melancholy sound of a violin. Initially Emily only gets the sound of an acoustic guitar, soft electro and emphatic vocals, and develops into a beautiful ballad.

In Take this Body Landry gets vocal support of Laura Marling, and for the occasion she sounds very dark and subdued, whereby her voice contrasts nicely with that of Landry. Fennario gets a trailing Mexican orchestra with blaring brass and a bouncy acoustic guitar: music for wild landscapes and trotting horses, a cowboy movie worthy, while we can imagine Lost Love on a rootsy album by Bruce Springsteen, again with the sound of southern trumpets, but also with emphatic electric guitars and the fragile violin sound of Odessa Jorgensen. Lately Right Now hovers between Springsteen and Hiatt, with a striking Hammond organ à la The Band and Long Road floats on buzzing and whining organ sounds, while Landry sounds very dark, sometimes even a bit like Lee Hazelwood. It is a stunning ballad. We put it in our top 3.

Bad Love is a country style ballad about love and loss, again with piercing copper, emphatic percussion and a warm guitar sound. It is the beautiful ending to an album without weak moments. This is a lovely rootsy album between Americana, country and folk, with the wonderful voice of Gill Landry as the icing on the cake.

Tracklist:
1. Funeral In My Heart
2. Just Like You
3. Waiting For Your Love
4. Emily
5. Take This Body
6. Fennario
7. Lost Love
8. Lately Right Now
9. Long Road
10. Bad Love

http://atorecords.com/

William LIÉNARD
06/07/2015


NL

De Amerikaanse singer-songwriter Gill Landry brengt z’n derde album uit, dat hij naar eigen zeggen heeft opgenomen in een bouwvallige en barakachtige flat in het zuiden van Nashville. In een vorig leven was hij lid van de americana- en countryband Old Crow Medicine Show, die het gebruik van de banjo herintroduceerde in Nashville en die grote invloed heeft gehad op Nick Etwell van Munford & Sons. Op z’n nieuwe album mag Gill Landry dan ook rekenen op de medewerking van die Engelse folkband, maar ook op o.a. Laura Marling en Robert Ellis. Odessa Jorgensen biedt vocale steun in de harmonieën en speelt viool.

Naast muzikant is Landry ook fotograaf, schilder en lifter en dat bracht hem naar Parijs waar hij op straat zong, naar de States waar hij overleefde als dagloner en dagdromer, waar hij onder bruggen sliep en in bedden in verlaten landhuizen. Op die manier verzamelde hij genoeg stof om de rest van zijn leven teksten en liedjes te schrijven. De erfenis van de Old Crow Medicine Show combineert hij met invloeden van Bob Dylan tot delta blues. Referentiepunten zijn Tom Waits, John Prine en Steve Earle, want Landy’s liedjes stralen dezelfde eerlijkheid en persoonlijke betrokkenheid uit. Soms zijn z’n onderwerpen griezelig en onaards, smerig en groezelig, maar altijd wel herkenbaar en gerelateerd aan het leven van elke dag. Of zoals hij het zelf formuleert: “na eerder klassieke liefdesliedjes op mijn eerste twee albums, probeer ik de dingen anders te zien dan hoe ze kunnen of moeten zijn. Met begrip en overgave zoek ik nu eerder naar wat is of was en probeer verder te gaan zonder een hard oordeel te vellen over de redenen voor deze of gene misdaad en misstap”.

Klinkt zwaarmoedig, maar dat straalt z’n muziek niet uit, want het materiaal op het album Gill Landy klinkt opgeruimd en melodieus. Z’n stijl is verwant aan die van John Hiatt en Warren Zevon, en met die laatste heeft hij het aangename en diep stemgeluid gemeen, maar Landry is geen rocker in de ware zin van het woord, want zijn z’n composities zijn geworteld in de muziek van Louisiana en Tennessee, terwijl ze toch voldoende afstand houden tot de countrymuziek die we met Nashville associëren. Funeral in My Heart zet de toon, met het sprankelend geluid van een akoestische gitaar tegen een zoemende achtergrond; een korte en welluidende compositie met voorzichtig bonkende drums halfweg. Just Like You klinkt nadrukkelijker, met mondharmonica in het begin, nadrukkelijke percussie, akoestische en basgitaar en een aantrekkelijk refrein: een prachtige Americana-ballade. Waiting for Your Love is een gelijksoortige ballade, waaraan Odessa Jorgensen het geluid van een melancholische viool toevoegt. Emily krijgt aanvankelijk alleen een akoestische gitaar, zacht elektrogeluid en nadrukkelijke vocalen en bloeit vervolgens open tot een roffelende ballade.

In Take this Body levert Laura Marling vocale ondersteuning en ze klinkt voor de gelegenheid heel erg donker en ingetogen, waardoor haar stem mooi contrasteert met die van Landry. Fennario krijgt een slepend Mexiaans orkestje met schetterend koper en een springerige akoestische gitaar: muziek voor woeste landschappen en dravende paarden, een cowboyfilm waardig, terwijl we ons Lost Love kunnen voorstellen op een rootsy album van Bruce Springsteen, opnieuw met het geluid van zuiderse trompetten, maar ook nadrukkelijke elektrische gitaren en fragiel vioolgeluid van Odessa Jorgensen. Lately Right Now zweeft tussen Springsteen en Hiatt met opvallend hammondorgel à la The Band en in het soortgelijke Long Road, opnieuw met zoemende en jankende orgelklanken, klinkt Landry heel donker, soms zelfs een beetje zoals Lee Hazelwood. Het is een bloedmooie ballade die we in onze top 3 zetten.

Bad Love is een countryachtige ballade over liefde en verlies en krijgt opnieuw snerpend koper, nadrukkelijke percussie en een warm gitaargeluid. Het is de mooie afsluiter van een album zonder zwakke momenten. Zonder meer een mooi rootsy album tussen americana, country en folk, met de prachtige stem van Gill Landry als kers op de taart.

William LIÉNARD
06/07/2015


06/07/2015 : GILL LANDRY - Gill Landry 06/07/2015 : GILL LANDRY - Gill Landry

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
06
Canadian Label Dem Modest Kids Unveils Into The Coldwave Compilation Highlighting Alberta - Based Alternative Artists
29
06
Dark Pop Artist Lia Hide Addresses Emotional Struggle With Plato-Inspired LP
28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

29
06
VNV NATION
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
PUBLI IMAGE LIMITED
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
NITZER EBB
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
TALK TO HER
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
DIARY OF DREAMS
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
DISORIENTATIONS
Sinner's Day Oostende
29
06
IST IST
Sinner's Day Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

29
06
THIS CAN HURT
High Tide
28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In