tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

05/07/2015 : RUBEN OSTLUND - Turist

RUBEN OSTLUND

Turist

Movie
Drama

[90/100]   

Lumire
05/07/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Travelling usually implies joy, unfortunately it also can be the basis for a fierce family drama. Just ask Tomas (John Bah Kuhnke)! Together with his wife Ebba (Lisa Loven Kongsli), he goes to a luxury hotel in the Alps. The trip should be a perfect opportunity for the Swedish family to forget its daily worries. That is the case on the first day, but 24 hours later something terrible happens. Some idiotic critics thought it necessary to spoil the fun by telling viewers what exactly is going on, but we don't. Let us say that it is an event that destroys the image of Thomas as a loving father.

Director Ruben Östlund is best known as a grandmaster in making ski movies (that exists!). The snowy peaks of Chamonix are for him the ideal decor. We have already seen a lot of movies in our lives (probably even too much), but it is the first time that a white display is terrifying. Frightening images that are alternated by a quarrel between husband and wife as they (finally) discover the dark edges of each other during the trip. Östlund took almost all his inspiration from ordinary YouTube videos. Hollywood screenwriters sometimes invent the most intricate stories, but the most bizarre, sensational stories are available on the street. That is also the case in Turist. And again without revealing a word, we bet you willll think twice before you step on a bus after seeing the final scene.

With a simple fact, sharp dialogues and a stunning photography, Ruben Östlund dives two hours long in the subconscious of a supposedly happy family. Is it a satire? A drama? Horror of daily life? Or the Fatal Attraction of the arthouse circuit? Who knows, fact is that you will have a lot ot think about after seeing Turist, especially if you 're a man !

The performances are, according to Scandinavian standards, once again excellent, with John Bah Kuhnke of Real Humans probably the most famous face.

Turist is a must see. Sublime! Now out on DVD and Blu-ray on Lumière.

Didier BECU
05/07/2015


NL

Reizen impliceert vreugde, helaas kan het ook de aanzet zijn voor een bikkelhard familiedrama. Vraag het maar aan Tomas (Johannes Bah Kuhnke)! Samen met zijn vrouw Ebba (Lisa Loven Kongsli) trekt hij naar een luxueus hotel in de Alpen. Het uitstapje moet het Zweedse gezin de dagelijkse zorgen laten vergeten. Dat gebeurt ook op de eerste dag, maar 24 uur later gebeurt er iets verschrikkelijks. Een gebeurtenis is waardoor het imago van Tomas als liefhebbende vader als sneeuw voor de zon verdwijnt. Wat er precies gebeurt? Nou, dat zeggen we lekker niet omdat we de pret niet willen bederven, maar Tomas is niet langer meer de beschermende vader die voor zijn kroost in de bres springt. Hij is eerder een lafaard, en dat zal hij de komende twee uur weten. Ebba heeft geen zin meer om haar leven met zo’n man te delen en de reis wordt een ware hel.

Regisseur Ruben Östlund is vooral bekend als een grootmeester in het maken van skifilms (dat bestaat dus) en dus zijn de besneeuwde bergtoppen van Chamonix voor hem het ideale decor. We hebben al veel films gezien in ons leven (waarschijnlijk zelfs te veel), maar het is voor het eerst dat een wit scherm akelig wordt. Angstaanjagende beelden die worden afgewisseld met een vlijmscherpe ruzie tussen man en vrouw die tijdens een reis de donkere kantjes van elkaar (eindelijk) leren kennen. Östlund vond bijna al zijn inspiratie in ordinaire YouTube-filmpjes. Want tja, Hollywoodscenaristen vinden soms de meest ingewikkelde verhalen uit, maar de meest bizarre, ophefmakende verhalen vind je toch nog altijd op straat. Ook in Turist. En dan is er nog die slotscène! De Zweedse regisseur heeft blijkbaar ook iets met autocars. Net zoals in zijn bejubelde collagefilm De Ofrivilliga krijgen we weer een scène die je twee keer zal doen nadenken alvorens je een reisje met een autobus boekt.

Door een simpel gegeven, maar met spitse dialogen en een verbluffende fotografie, voert Ruben Östlund je twee uur lang door het onderbewustzijn van een zogezegd gelukkig gezin. Is het een satire? Een drama? Horror uit het dagelijkse leven? De Fatal Attraction uit het arthousecircuit? Wie zal het zeggen, feit is dat je na het zien van Turist zal nadenken. Hoe reageert iemand als zijn leven wordt bedreigd? Wordt hij geleid door een overlevingsinstinct of denkt hij in de eerste plaats aan het in veiligheid brengen van zijn geliefden? Het is misschien een zinloze vraag, maar wees er maar zeker van dat je er tijdens Turist over zal nadenken.De vertolkingen zijn naar Scandinavische normen weeral uitmuntend, met Johannes Bah Kuhnke uit Real Humans als bekendste gezicht.

Turist moet je zien. Subliem. Turist is vanaf nu verkrijgbaar op dvd en Blu-ray via Lumière.

Didier BECU
05/07/2015


05/07/2015 : RUBEN OSTLUND - Turist 05/07/2015 : RUBEN OSTLUND - Turist 05/07/2015 : RUBEN OSTLUND - Turist 05/07/2015 : RUBEN OSTLUND - Turist 05/07/2015 : RUBEN OSTLUND - Turist 05/07/2015 : RUBEN OSTLUND - Turist 05/07/2015 : RUBEN OSTLUND - Turist 05/07/2015 : RUBEN OSTLUND - Turist 05/07/2015 : RUBEN OSTLUND - Turist 05/07/2015 : RUBEN OSTLUND - Turist 05/07/2015 : RUBEN OSTLUND - Turist 05/07/2015 : RUBEN OSTLUND - Turist 05/07/2015 : RUBEN OSTLUND - Turist 05/07/2015 : RUBEN OSTLUND - Turist

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap