tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

04/05/2015 : JONTEKNIK - Structural

JONTEKNIK

Structural

MusicCD
MinimalSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[99/100]   

Jonteknik Music
04/05/2015, Jurgen VANVLASSELAER

I am following Jon Russell's project JONTEKNIK for about 3-4 years already, I think, and so far it was an excellent ride. I really loved the abums he made so far - his last album The Satellites Of Substance is a little mastepiece in my opinion - and I was curious if his new album would be at least equally good or - if possible - even better. In the review of Satellites, I said it was going to be a real challenge for him to do better than that. And I have to say, he succeeded with Structural. It's again a great album full of catchy electropop tunes that will score well in the vocoder charts.

Of course you will hear Kraftwerk here and there again, but in my opinion mister Russell is more and more finding his own sound. He also presents us Malte Steiner from Das Kombinat on the track Fernsehturm, without a doubt my favourite on the album, an up-tempo synthpop track with some vocoders and Matle Steiners' German lyrics that make this track even stronger. Another nice discovery was Martin Philip from Native Cry, who is doing the vocals on The Bridge. If there is something like synthpop vocals,well he has them. I've listened to the abum about 20 times now and it's still as great as during the first listening, that means it's a fantasic abum. But is eveything superduper on this album? Hmm, no... I still don't get Ruin Lust. A nice little and beautiful short piece at the end of the album, a bit out of tune compared to the other tracks. But for the rest : Hammer!

 

 

Jurgen VANVLASSELAER
04/05/2015


 

Next reviews
SEBASTIEN CORDERO • Europa Report
DAVID HEWLETT • Debug
BLACK REBEL MOTORCYCLE CLUB • Live in Paris (Theatre Trianon, February 24, 2014) 2CD/DVD
DRENGE • Undertow
A PROJECTION • Exit
DEVILSIGHT • A Band to Discover
KLANGSTABIL • One Step Back, Two Steps Forward
SUPERSIMMETRIA • Kosmogonie
BOBBY & PETER FARRELLY • Dumb And Dumber To
• RESISTANCE

 

Other reviews from JONTEKNIK
JONTEKNIK • The Satellites Of Substance
JONTEKNIK • Giants Under The Microscope

 

Same combination of genres: MINIMAL + SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
PROJEKT ICH • Wolkenträne
DERNIERE VOLONTE • Prie Pour Moi
EX-MACHINA • Transhuman
CULT CLUB • Never Enough
VEIN CAT • Fold EP
SPATIAL RELATION • Beyond The Zero
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • The Rorschach Dossier
JO LEMAIRE + FLOUZE • Pigmy world

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
TRAGIC IMPULSE • Distant Worlds
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Space and time
FRAGRANCE • Salt Water
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
SJOBLOM • Tape
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
ERASURE • THE NEON
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality
AUGER • Insurgence

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design