tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

30/04/2015 : KLANGSTABIL - One Step Back, Two Steps Forward

KLANGSTABIL

One Step Back, Two Steps Forward

MusicCD
Electro

[90/100]   

Ant-zen/MHz Records
30/04/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This band from Germany consists of the duo Boris Mei (vocals) and Maurizio Blanco (synths) and brings electropop. They call it Klangpop, songs and soundscapes with some elements from cold electro, minimal, industrial or even experimental surroundings.

This release contains a summary of two decades of making music (between 1994 and 2014). They tried to make a beautiful summary. 30 songs devided over 2 CD’s, not chronologic but in a musically and nicely composed sequence. From their first EP (‘Senden und Empfangen’ 1995) of which you hear ‘Wir Telefonieren’ till their last album of which you hear the title track ‘Shameboy’. That early EP is interesting because you can already hear, although with big influences from Kraftwerk, that they made music on a high level.

Sometimes the tracks get more experimental influences like on ‘Pronto Luigi’ that sounds like a PC game. On other moments we get more mainstream (what’s in a name) electropopEBMm like on ‘Nameless’, ‘Leg Move Thunder’. ‘Lauf Lauf!’ is a strong emotional gothic electro song. ‘Kill All Lifeforms’ has some industrial touch. This compilation moves between all corners of electro but still shows unity and singularity.

‘One Step Back, Two Steps Forwards’ is the summary of an electroband that made nice and relevant pieces during the last two decades. Do you have nothing (shame on you) of them in your possession? Then is this the ideal starter.

Wim GUILLEMYN
30/04/2015


NL

Deze band uit Duitsland, bestaande uit het duo Boris Mei (zang) en Maurizio Blanco (synths), brengt electropop. Ze noemen het zelf Klangpop, songs en soundscapes met soms elementen uit cold electro of minimal, uit de industrial of experimental hoek.

Deze uitgave omvat een overzicht van twee decennia muziek maken (tussen 1994 en 2014) onder de vlag van Klangstabil. Ze hebben geprobeerd er een mooi overzicht van te maken. 30 nummers verdeeld over 2 cd’s, niet chronologisch, maar in een muzikaal mooie volgorde samengesteld. Vanaf de allereerste 12” (‘Senden und Empfangen’ uit 1995) waaruit ‘Wir Telephonieren’ gelicht is tot hun laatste album, waaruit het titelnummer ‘Shameboy’ te horen is. Die vroege ep is interessant omdat ze toen, weliswaar nog sterk onder de invloed van Kraftwerk, al electro van hoog niveau maakten.

Soms krijgt de experimenteerdrift de nadruk zoals op ‘Pronto Luigi’ dat als een computerspelletje klinkt. Op andere momenten krijg je meer mainstream (alhoewel…) electropop/EBM zoals op: ‘Nameless’, ‘Leg Move Thunder’. ‘Lauf!Lauf!’ is een sterk emotioneel gothic electro nummer. ‘Kill All Lifeforms’ heeft een industrial tintje gekregen. Deze compilatie laveert tussen al deze uithoeken van electro, maar toont toch eenheid en eigenheid.

‘One step Back, Two Steps Forward’ is het overzicht van een electroband die gedurende twee decennia mooie relevante dingen heeft gemaakt. Heb je nog niets van deze band ( zonde!)in huis, dan is dit de ideale instapper.

Wim GUILLEMYN
30/04/2015


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
FEUERSCHWANZ
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
UNZUCHT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper