tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

30/04/2015 : BOBBY & PETER FARRELLY - Dumb And Dumber To

BOBBY & PETER FARRELLY

Dumb And Dumber To

Movie
Comedy
Dutch FilmWorks
30/04/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Jim Carrey is not keen on sequels, but Dumb And Dumber To was supposed to become the big comeback of the comedian and the directors Bobby and Peter Farrelly, who actually never did anything good after There's Something About Mary (unless you consider Stuck On You as great art). If we have to base our judgment on the number of weeks that Dumb And Dumber To was in the cinemas, then we can only conclude that the film has missed its targets. The truth of course is that this sequel is made in the first place for people who are in their mid-thirties and saw the original twenty years ago, because let's be honest: the youth hardly knows who Jim Carrey is. For those who would not know, ten years ago he was the darling of both the fans of toilet humor and the admirers of Hollywood arthouse. Since he made a film with penguins, his career only went downhill and in 2015 he is barely a shadow of who he once was. And you notice that in this comedy. Everything seems so forced, Jim Carrey can still pull silly faces, but that’s where the story ends.

And what about that story? No one is of course interested in that, because you watch a film like Dumb And Dumber To for its jokes , right? Lloyd ( Jim Carrey ) has been twenty years in a psychiatric institution without having said a word. Every day, his equally moronic friend Harry (Jeff Daniels) visits him, and even changes his diapers. But guess what? Lloyd is just taking the piss out of Harry, because he was not sick at all. Harry, however is and he urgently needs a kidney. The only one donor could be his daughter who he has never seen. The two begin another foolish ride through the United States.

The level of the humor is as we expect from the Farrelly brothers: farting and laughing with disabled people, that’s it. True, in the first Dumb And Dumber this bold approach was actually still quite amusing, simply because it looked fresh , but today it just seems too much like a déjà vu with no inspiration. Jeff Daniels does the best part, but Jim Carrey is at times grotesque and if you want to keep funny movie memories of Kathleen Turner we advise you not to watch this comedy. Do you have to see the movie if you’re a little bit of a fan? A difficult question, perhaps you better check out the trailer first, because those three minutes already say everything!

Didier BECU
30/04/2015


NL

Ook al houdt Jim Carrey helemaal niet van sequels, zou Dumb And Dumber To de grote comeback van de komiek betekenen, net zoals die van de regisseurs Bobby en Peter Farrelly, die eigenlijk na There’s Something About Mary nooit meer iets hebben betekend (tenzij je Stuck On You als grote kunst ziet). Als we ons oordeel moeten baseren op het aantal weken dat Dumb And Dumber To in de bioscopen liep, dan heeft de film al zijn doelen gemist. De waarheid is natuurlijk dat deze sequel in de eerste plaats bedoeld was voor de veertigers die de originele prent twintig jaar geleden zagen, en die de oude sfeer nog eens willen opsnuiven, want laat ons eerlijk zijn: de jeugd weet amper nog wie Jim Carrey is. Voor wie het niet meer zou weten: tien jaar geleden was hij zowel de lieveling van het pis- en kakhumorpubliek als van de Hollywood-arthousefan. Sinds hij een film gemaakt heeft met pinguïns, ging zijn carrière pijlsnel naar beneden en anno 2015 is hij amper nog een schim van wie hij ooit was. En dat merk je ook in deze komedie. Alles lijkt zo geforceerd, en vooral: Jim Carrey kan misschien nog wel gekke bekken trekken, maar daar houdt het dan ook mee op.

En wat met dat verhaal? Daar is natuurlijk geen kat in geïnteresseerd, want een film als Dumb And Dumber To bekijk je louter voor de grollen, niet? Onze vriend Lloyd (Jim Carrey) zit al twintig jaar in een psychiatrisch instituut zonder een woord te hebben gezegd. Dagelijks komt zijn al even debiele vriend Harry (Jeff Daniels) langs om met hem (zonder resultaat) een praatje te maken en zijn luiers te verschonen (jawel, het is pis- en kakhumor). Maar wat blijkt? Lloyd heeft Harry gewoon twintig jaar in het ootje genomen, want hij is helemaal niet ziek. Harry blijkt dat echter wel te zijn en heeft dringend een nier nodig. De enige die zijn donor kan zijn is zijn dochter die hij nooit heeft gezien. De twee kunnen dus opnieuw de Verenigde Staten afschuimen en tijdens hun trip voor het nodige amok zorgen.

Het niveau van de humor is zoals we dat van Farrelly ondertussen gewoon zijn: scheten laten en lachen met de gehandicapten, meer is het eigenlijk niet. Toegegeven, in de eerste Dumb And Dumber was deze gedurfde aanpak eigenlijk nog vrij plezant, gewoon omdat die toen fris oogde, maar vandaag is het allemaal te belegen en lijkt het gewoon teveel op een déjà vu zonder inspiratie. Jeff Daniels brengt het er nog best goed van af, maar Jim Carrey is bij momenten potsierlijk en als je aan Kathleen Turner alleen maar aangename herinneringen wil overhouden, dan bekijk je deze komedie maar beter niet. Moet je de film nu zien of niet als je een fan bent? Een moeilijke vraag, maar misschien bekijk je beter maar eens de trailer, want die spreekt boekdelen.

Het schijfje bevat een vijftigtal minuten bonusmateriaal, dat wel niet is ondertiteld. Zoals je kon verwachten liggen de extra filmpjes in het verlengde van de film, of om het met eenvoudigere woorden te zeggen: ordinaire humor. Er zijn filmpjes over de cast (waarin uitzonderlijk veel aandacht wordt besteed aan Kathleen Turner), de cameo’s (allemaal onbekenden, tenzij je weet wie bij Google de broek draagt), de stunts (bijv. een kat die in de luster hangt) en de verschillende gekke voertuigen die de revue passeren. Wie er na dit alles nog niet genoeg van heeft, kan zich nog wat amuseren met het bekijken van bloopers.

Er zullen wellicht nog wel fans van het origineel zijn die deze sequel willen zien. Zelfs de grootste liefhebber van het tweetal moet tandenknarsend toegeven dat de Farrelly-broertjes de truc van weleer gewoon herhalen, alleen zit er ondertussen te veel sleet op de formule om de doorsnee filmliefhebber te kunnen paaien.

Didier BECU
30/04/2015


30/04/2015 : BOBBY & PETER FARRELLY - Dumb And Dumber To 30/04/2015 : BOBBY & PETER FARRELLY - Dumb And Dumber To 30/04/2015 : BOBBY & PETER FARRELLY - Dumb And Dumber To 30/04/2015 : BOBBY & PETER FARRELLY - Dumb And Dumber To 30/04/2015 : BOBBY & PETER FARRELLY - Dumb And Dumber To 30/04/2015 : BOBBY & PETER FARRELLY - Dumb And Dumber To 30/04/2015 : BOBBY & PETER FARRELLY - Dumb And Dumber To 30/04/2015 : BOBBY & PETER FARRELLY - Dumb And Dumber To 30/04/2015 : BOBBY & PETER FARRELLY - Dumb And Dumber To 30/04/2015 : BOBBY & PETER FARRELLY - Dumb And Dumber To 30/04/2015 : BOBBY & PETER FARRELLY - Dumb And Dumber To 30/04/2015 : BOBBY & PETER FARRELLY - Dumb And Dumber To 30/04/2015 : BOBBY & PETER FARRELLY - Dumb And Dumber To 30/04/2015 : BOBBY & PETER FARRELLY - Dumb And Dumber To 30/04/2015 : BOBBY & PETER FARRELLY - Dumb And Dumber To 30/04/2015 : BOBBY & PETER FARRELLY - Dumb And Dumber To

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'

PHOTOS

25
05
LARVA
Dame C Rijsel
25
05
MIREXXX
Dam C Rijsel
21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
05
KNK
Darling
24
05
TUXEDOMOON
In a manner of speaking
23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl