tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

23/11/2015 : LILLY WOOD AND THE PRICK - Shadows

LILLY WOOD AND THE PRICK

Shadows

MusicCD

Warner Bros. Records
23/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Three years ago Lilly Wood & The Prick scored a massive hit with Prayer In C. It’s the kind of pop tune that’ll be forever carved in your memory because of his geniust. Admittedly, the hit was not typical for the band (as it was a remix by Robin Schulze), but this third album by the Israeli-French singer Nili Hadida and Benjamin Cotto clearly is made for everyone. The fifteen tracks are all accessible quality pop songs that can score without being too daft.

The opening song Box Of Noise is a rather subdued track, the better singer-songwriter stuff that sounds okay for a wider public, but nevertheless it is full of quality. The following tracks, I Love You and Toi, are a step closer to the charts, and the sound of Lykke Li's is always somewhere around. Catchy songs that make you forget for a moment that these days the stove needs to work overtime.

Le Chant Des Sirens sound as beautiful as its title, mysterious pop with heavenly vocals. Tout Doux could evoke the same effect as Christine And The Queens after some spins: simple ear wax that does its pop job.

A song that is entitled like By Myself needs no explanation, even though you only have little time to mourn, because N'importe Quoi invites you again to the (better) dance floor. The album closes with the subdued I Know I'll Never Be Young Again, but that does not mean that the pop party is over, as there are still four extra songs on this (hit) disc.

Shadows is a nice pop album that does not require too many efforts from the listener, but Nili Hadida and Benjamin Cotto don"'t forget for one second that the secret of pop still lies is a strong melody!

Didier BECU
23/11/2015


NL

Drie jaar geleden scoorde Lilly Wood And The Prick met Prayer In C een gigantische hit, het soort popdeuntje dat voor eeuwig in je hoofd gebeiteld zit en door zijn genialiteit er nooit meer uitkomt. Toegegeven, het nummer was wel niet typisch voor de band (het was een remix door Robin Schulze), maar dit derde album van de Israëlische-Franse zangeres Nili Hadida en Benjamin Cotto mikt duidelijk opnieuw op het grote publiek. De vijftien tracks zijn stuk voor stuk toegankelijke kwaliteitspop die met een beetje geluk kunnen scoren zonder dat het te plat wordt.

Box Of Noise begint eerder ingetogen, het is het betere singersongwriterwerk dat naar het grotere publiek lonkt, maar desondanks vol kwaliteit zit. De daaropvolgende nummers I Love You en Toi zijn meteen al een stapje in de richting van de hitparade, het geluid van Lykke Li is altijd wel ergens in de buurt en de aanstekelijke nummers doen je zelfs eventjes vergeten dat je dezer dagen de kachel wat extra moet laten branden.

Le Chant Des Sirenes klinkt even mooi als de titel, mysterieuze pop met hemelse vocalen. Tout Doux kan na wat draaibeurten misschien voor hetzelfde effect als van Christine And The Queens zorgen: simpele oorsmeer dat zijn werk doet.

Een nummer dat de titel By Myself draagt hoeft zo goed als geen uitleg, alhoewel je maar weinig tijd hebt om te treuren, N’importe quoi nodigt je immers alweer uit naar de (betere) dansvloer. Het album sluit af met het ingetogen I Know I’ll Never Be Young Again, maar dat betekent niet dat er daarmee een einde komt aan het popfeestje, want er staan nog vier extra nummers op dit (hit)schijfje.

Shadows is een aangenaam popplaatje dat niet te veel inspanningen vergt van de luisteraar (alles ligt lekker in het gehoor), en Nili Hadida en Benjamin Cotto vergeten geen seconde dat het geheim van pop nog altijd in een sterke melodieën ligt!

Didier BECU
23/11/2015


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!
04
03
Electro/Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Unleashes New Single & Video, 'Out Of Order'
04
03
Firestarter | Celebrating The Sound Of The Prodigy And The Impact Of Keith Flint who past away 2 years ago.
03
03
MATHLOVSKY ANNOUNCES NEWEST SINGLE AND LP
02
03
DINOSAUR JR. ANNOUCE NEWEST LP TO BE RELEASED IN APRIL
02
03
Through The Looking Glass | The Siouxsie & The Banshees Masterpiece Released 34 Years Ago Today!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You
01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)