tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

23/11/2015 : LILLY WOOD AND THE PRICK - Shadows

LILLY WOOD AND THE PRICK

Shadows

MusicCD

Warner Bros. Records
23/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Three years ago Lilly Wood & The Prick scored a massive hit with Prayer In C. It’s the kind of pop tune that’ll be forever carved in your memory because of his geniust. Admittedly, the hit was not typical for the band (as it was a remix by Robin Schulze), but this third album by the Israeli-French singer Nili Hadida and Benjamin Cotto clearly is made for everyone. The fifteen tracks are all accessible quality pop songs that can score without being too daft.

The opening song Box Of Noise is a rather subdued track, the better singer-songwriter stuff that sounds okay for a wider public, but nevertheless it is full of quality. The following tracks, I Love You and Toi, are a step closer to the charts, and the sound of Lykke Li's is always somewhere around. Catchy songs that make you forget for a moment that these days the stove needs to work overtime.

Le Chant Des Sirens sound as beautiful as its title, mysterious pop with heavenly vocals. Tout Doux could evoke the same effect as Christine And The Queens after some spins: simple ear wax that does its pop job.

A song that is entitled like By Myself needs no explanation, even though you only have little time to mourn, because N'importe Quoi invites you again to the (better) dance floor. The album closes with the subdued I Know I'll Never Be Young Again, but that does not mean that the pop party is over, as there are still four extra songs on this (hit) disc.

Shadows is a nice pop album that does not require too many efforts from the listener, but Nili Hadida and Benjamin Cotto don"'t forget for one second that the secret of pop still lies is a strong melody!

Didier BECU
23/11/2015


NL

Drie jaar geleden scoorde Lilly Wood And The Prick met Prayer In C een gigantische hit, het soort popdeuntje dat voor eeuwig in je hoofd gebeiteld zit en door zijn genialiteit er nooit meer uitkomt. Toegegeven, het nummer was wel niet typisch voor de band (het was een remix door Robin Schulze), maar dit derde album van de Israëlische-Franse zangeres Nili Hadida en Benjamin Cotto mikt duidelijk opnieuw op het grote publiek. De vijftien tracks zijn stuk voor stuk toegankelijke kwaliteitspop die met een beetje geluk kunnen scoren zonder dat het te plat wordt.

Box Of Noise begint eerder ingetogen, het is het betere singersongwriterwerk dat naar het grotere publiek lonkt, maar desondanks vol kwaliteit zit. De daaropvolgende nummers I Love You en Toi zijn meteen al een stapje in de richting van de hitparade, het geluid van Lykke Li is altijd wel ergens in de buurt en de aanstekelijke nummers doen je zelfs eventjes vergeten dat je dezer dagen de kachel wat extra moet laten branden.

Le Chant Des Sirenes klinkt even mooi als de titel, mysterieuze pop met hemelse vocalen. Tout Doux kan na wat draaibeurten misschien voor hetzelfde effect als van Christine And The Queens zorgen: simpele oorsmeer dat zijn werk doet.

Een nummer dat de titel By Myself draagt hoeft zo goed als geen uitleg, alhoewel je maar weinig tijd hebt om te treuren, N’importe quoi nodigt je immers alweer uit naar de (betere) dansvloer. Het album sluit af met het ingetogen I Know I’ll Never Be Young Again, maar dat betekent niet dat er daarmee een einde komt aan het popfeestje, want er staan nog vier extra nummers op dit (hit)schijfje.

Shadows is een aangenaam popplaatje dat niet te veel inspanningen vergt van de luisteraar (alles ligt lekker in het gehoor), en Nili Hadida en Benjamin Cotto vergeten geen seconde dat het geheim van pop nog altijd in een sterke melodieën ligt!

Didier BECU
23/11/2015


Music reviews

24
08
MEAGER BENEFITS
Crawling
23
08
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
Harbringer
22
08
NAIROD YARG
Nairod Yarg
17
08
STATIQBLOOM
Asphyxia
16
08
STAATSEINDE
Dreiheit
15
08
L'AVENIR
Requiem And Live

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
08
The Cassandra Complex & Die Krupps to headline BIMFEST 2019!
14
08
Electro-Industrial artist SPANKTHENUN reveals their MIND CONTROL EP & Leaether Strip Remix Visualizer
13
08
Zeroes, the new single of M73
12
08
Post-Punk Act VAZUM Releases Video For Their Cover of BAUHAUS' 'She's In Parties'
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
JO QUAIL LAUNCHES NEW RECORD LABEL ADDERSTONE RECORDS

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
08
SPANKTHENUN
An Interview With Electro-Industrial Artist SPANKTHENUN
13
08
AHMED SALEH ABOUT EXPERIMENTAL/INDUSTRIAL MUSIC IN AFRICA
People Here Can Get Arrested Because Of Something They Posted On Social Media!
12
08
SINTHETIK MESSIAH
An Interview With Industrial Bass Artist SINthetik Messiah
10
08
THE BRUTE:
An Interview With Synthpop Act THE BRUTE:
09
08
VAZUM
An Interview With Dark Rock Act VAZUM

PHOTOS

14
08
SECRET GARDEN
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
13
08
TRISOMIE 21
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
GRAND BLANC
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
12
08
WE ARE WAVES
Donkey Rock Festival Selange
10
08
MOTOR!K
De Smoutpot Zwijndrecht
09
08
ALLEZ ALLEZ
Fonne Feesten Lokeren
09
08
RED ZEBRA
Fonne Feesten Lokeren

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
08
SLEEPING PULSE
War
23
08
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
22
08
NEW ORDER
Blue Monday
21
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Never Arriving
20
08
FORCED TO MODE
NEVER LET ME DOWN AGAIN
19
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Schyzophrenic Freddy
18
08
DAVE BALL
In Strict Tempo