tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

23/11/2015 : LILLY WOOD AND THE PRICK - Shadows

LILLY WOOD AND THE PRICK

Shadows

MusicCD

Warner Bros. Records
23/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Three years ago Lilly Wood & The Prick scored a massive hit with Prayer In C. It’s the kind of pop tune that’ll be forever carved in your memory because of his geniust. Admittedly, the hit was not typical for the band (as it was a remix by Robin Schulze), but this third album by the Israeli-French singer Nili Hadida and Benjamin Cotto clearly is made for everyone. The fifteen tracks are all accessible quality pop songs that can score without being too daft.

The opening song Box Of Noise is a rather subdued track, the better singer-songwriter stuff that sounds okay for a wider public, but nevertheless it is full of quality. The following tracks, I Love You and Toi, are a step closer to the charts, and the sound of Lykke Li's is always somewhere around. Catchy songs that make you forget for a moment that these days the stove needs to work overtime.

Le Chant Des Sirens sound as beautiful as its title, mysterious pop with heavenly vocals. Tout Doux could evoke the same effect as Christine And The Queens after some spins: simple ear wax that does its pop job.

A song that is entitled like By Myself needs no explanation, even though you only have little time to mourn, because N'importe Quoi invites you again to the (better) dance floor. The album closes with the subdued I Know I'll Never Be Young Again, but that does not mean that the pop party is over, as there are still four extra songs on this (hit) disc.

Shadows is a nice pop album that does not require too many efforts from the listener, but Nili Hadida and Benjamin Cotto don"'t forget for one second that the secret of pop still lies is a strong melody!

Didier BECU
23/11/2015


NL

Drie jaar geleden scoorde Lilly Wood And The Prick met Prayer In C een gigantische hit, het soort popdeuntje dat voor eeuwig in je hoofd gebeiteld zit en door zijn genialiteit er nooit meer uitkomt. Toegegeven, het nummer was wel niet typisch voor de band (het was een remix door Robin Schulze), maar dit derde album van de Israëlische-Franse zangeres Nili Hadida en Benjamin Cotto mikt duidelijk opnieuw op het grote publiek. De vijftien tracks zijn stuk voor stuk toegankelijke kwaliteitspop die met een beetje geluk kunnen scoren zonder dat het te plat wordt.

Box Of Noise begint eerder ingetogen, het is het betere singersongwriterwerk dat naar het grotere publiek lonkt, maar desondanks vol kwaliteit zit. De daaropvolgende nummers I Love You en Toi zijn meteen al een stapje in de richting van de hitparade, het geluid van Lykke Li is altijd wel ergens in de buurt en de aanstekelijke nummers doen je zelfs eventjes vergeten dat je dezer dagen de kachel wat extra moet laten branden.

Le Chant Des Sirenes klinkt even mooi als de titel, mysterieuze pop met hemelse vocalen. Tout Doux kan na wat draaibeurten misschien voor hetzelfde effect als van Christine And The Queens zorgen: simpele oorsmeer dat zijn werk doet.

Een nummer dat de titel By Myself draagt hoeft zo goed als geen uitleg, alhoewel je maar weinig tijd hebt om te treuren, N’importe quoi nodigt je immers alweer uit naar de (betere) dansvloer. Het album sluit af met het ingetogen I Know I’ll Never Be Young Again, maar dat betekent niet dat er daarmee een einde komt aan het popfeestje, want er staan nog vier extra nummers op dit (hit)schijfje.

Shadows is een aangenaam popplaatje dat niet te veel inspanningen vergt van de luisteraar (alles ligt lekker in het gehoor), en Nili Hadida en Benjamin Cotto vergeten geen seconde dat het geheim van pop nog altijd in een sterke melodieën ligt!

Didier BECU
23/11/2015


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'

PHOTOS

25
05
LARVA
Dame C Rijsel
25
05
MIREXXX
Dam C Rijsel
21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
05
KNK
Darling
24
05
TUXEDOMOON
In a manner of speaking
23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl