tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

21/10/2015 : JEAN-MICHEL JARRE - Electronica 1 Time Machine

JEAN-MICHEL JARRE

Electronica 1 Time Machine

MusicCD
Electronics

[70/100]   

SONY MUSIC
21/10/2015, Paul PLEDGER

At 12 years old, I was given my first album from my parents, Jean-Michel Jarre's heavenly Equinoxe, an album that still stands up to scrutiny almost 40 years later. The Frenchman's other early works such as Oxygene, Magnetic Fields and the surprisingly engaging Concerts In China, are also worth investigating in depth.

However after hearing his '80s nadir that was Zoolook, I switched allegiance to post-punk, Brian Eno and roots reggae and never looked back, save for his above-average Waiting For Cousteau in the '90s. So it comes as a shock to discover that Jarre's 19th studio album and follow-up to 2007's rather forgettable Teo and Tea is a bit special.

Of course, in these times of collaborations, Jarre isn't immune from inviting a few major players over for a session or two, to the extent that every track boasts a guest. But not just any old guest - we're talking high-end respectable contributors from the world of electronica, downbeats and alternative music. Massive Attack's 3D, M83, Moby and Air suit you? How about Fuck Buttons? Hell, he's even signed up celebrated film soundtrack mogul John Carpenter.

Thus, Time Machine is rather good in places. Air provide some light-headed loungetronica and vocoders aplenty on Close Your Eyes, Vince Clarke is a seriously good foil for Jarre's progressive leanings on the two-part Automatic which recalls the man's earlier era and Fuck Buttons make Immortal their own with heavy beats and Olympian synths, though it's hardly the feedback soaking we'd hoped for - good though. Tangerine Dream lend their spaced-out ambience to the rather pretty Zero Gravity while at the opposite end of the age spectrum, younger upstarts Boys Noize bring the groove to the title-track.

It doesn't all satisfy though - Little Boots and Pete Townsend are curious bedmates for an album so obviously celebratory of pioneering synth operators, while Armin van Buuren turns in a rather pedestrian anthem in Stardust. And I'm not convinced about the weird Watching You featuring 3D. But Lang Lang and Carpenter both indulge Jarre's never-ending fantasies with crafted melodies and typically insistent trance-like rhythms.

Overall, there's much to enjoy on a fairly safe collection of trademark Jarre symphonies, essentially given over to those that have learned their craft from a man who could safely claim to being the master of electronic music. Until the world caught up with him, that is.

There's also an accompanying Remix EP out with some excellent reworkings (and a few, not so).

This review also appeared also on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
21/10/2015


Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)