tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/02/2016 : SERPENTS - State Of War

SERPENTS

State Of War

MusicCD
EBMElectronics

[88/100]   

Electro Aggression Records
11/02/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Of course connoisseurs of the better EBM know the name of Serpents, the band was even at BIMFest in 2014. Originally the group was founded by Stefan Kuboteit Frank Heiner, Nicole Altmann and Kazim Sarikaya in 1988 and released several legendary tapes and later the album Terminal Breath on Gothic Arts Records, the label that released groundbreaking material by Der Prager Handgriff and Plastic Noise Experience. Ther are no coincidences in life, as the frontman of Plastic Noise Experiment (Claus Kruse) later would play a very crucial role in Serpents. Not only was he the producer of their album Out Of Line (What Is Fear?), but he later became part of this act.

Due to various circumstances, Serpents disappeared, but is back with a new album on Electro Aggression Records that was released last year. State of War is without doubt one of the best EBM records in a long time. The beats sound old school, but the songs are so ingenious that they sound unique.

Serpents is a band with a very diverse sound and even with varying feelings. Undefined and Unknown Desire sound raw, just like real EBM should sound. My Life, My Being is quality EBM with some Nitzer Ebb-influences and with a very contemporary sound. Resistance also includes old school EBM elements (think of Borghesia), but still sounds innovative. EBM also implies some aggression and with a title like State Of War you can’t fail. Serpents can even sound poppy, just listen to I'm Near, although Violence once again is hard. Inside and My Heart Will Beat Again even have a melancholic touch.

In addition to the ten regular tracks, there are also a few remixes by Plastic Noise Experience, The Psychic Force, Ad: Key, K-Factor and Astma included.

And even then the electro party is not over yet, because as a bonus you get the CD Immer Voran!, which was available as a digital release in 2010, and which ncludes the club classic Der Zweite Leben.

This double CD contains nearly 150 minutes of music. That may seem a lot for an EBM release, but you won’t skip one track and you won’t be bored for a second either. EBM of the highest level! Let the beats rule the body!

Didier BECU
11/02/2016


NL

Fijnproevers van de betere EBM kennen de naam Serpents natuurlijk al een tijdje, de band was zelfs al eens te gast op BIMFest. Dat was tijdens de editie van 2014. Oorspronkelijk werd de groep in 1988 door Stefan Kuboteit, Frank Heiner, Nicole Altmann en Kazim Sarikaya opgericht en bracht enkele legendarische tapes uit en later verscheen de cd Terminal Breath op Gothic Arts Records, het label dat ook materiaal van Der Prager Handgriff en Plastic Noise Experience uitbracht. Niets is toevallig in het leven, want de frontman van Plastic Noise Experiment (Claus Kruse) zou later een zeer cruciale rol spelen in de verdere carrière van Serpents. Niet alleen was hij de producer van hun Out Of Line-album (What Is Fear?), maar hij maakte later ook deel uit van deze act.

Door omstandigheden verdween Serpents wat in de vergeethoek, tot de band opnieuw de mogelijkheid kreeg om op Electro Agression Records een nieuwe plaat uit te brengen. De vorig jaar verschenen State Of War is zonder twijfel één van de beste EBM-platen die in lange tijd is uitgebracht. De beats klinken old school, maar de songs zitten zo ingenieus in elkaar dat ze uniek klinken.

Serpents is ook een band met een zeer divers geluid en zelfs met zeer variërende gevoelens. Undefined en Unknown Desire klinken rauw, net zoals echte EBM moet klinken. My Life, My Being is kwaliteitsvolle EBM met de nodige Nitzer Ebb-invloeden en met een zeer eigentijds geluid. Ook Resistance bevat old school EBM-elementen (denk aan Borghesia), maar het klinkt steeds innovatief. EBM impliceert ook agressie en met een titel als State Of War kan zoiets niet mislukken. Serpents kan zelfs poppy klinken, luister gewoon naar I’m Near, ook al gaat Violence meteen weer de harde richting uit. Inside en My Heart Will Beat Again hebben zelfs een melancholisch tintje.

Naast de tien reguliere tracks, staan er ook nog een paar remixes van Plastic Noise Experience, The Psychic Force, Ad:Key, kFactor en Astma op de plaat.

En zelfs dan is het elektrofeestje nog niet afgelopen, want als toemaatje vind je ook de cd Immer Voran! op deze uitgave terug, die in 2010 al eens als een digitale release beschikbaar was en waarop de clubklassieker Der Zweite Leben staat.

Deze dubbel-cd telt bijna 150 minuten muziek. Dat lijkt misschien veel voor een EBM-release, maar je zal wel geen track overslaan en je ook geen seconde vervelen. EBM van het allerhoogste niveau! Let the beats rule the body!

Didier BECU
11/02/2016


Music reviews

30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
06
SUFFOCATING MINDS
Second Life
03
06
DARKH
Bury Our Bones
02
06
THE 69 EYES
Jet Fighter Plane
01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted
31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE
30
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
Live at Amphi, Cologne 23-07-2017
29
05
UNZUCHT
Ein Wort Fliegt Wie Ein Stein