tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

03/10/2015 : JONO MCCLEERY - Pagodes

JONO MCCLEERY

Pagodes

MusicCD
JazzSinger Songwriter

[72/100]   

If Music
03/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Even if you could enjoy Jono McCleery’s music on a sunny terrace, you can’t say that the material of this singer -songwriter from Rotterdam sounds very happy. The minimal sounds give it a sunny (say Southern) touch, but the often melancholic lyrics make the whole album quite dark. This artist already has been compared with Massive Attack, John Martyn and Radiohead. Indeed references that are miles apart from each other, but that is simply because you can’t put the musical talent of Jono McCleery in one box.

Over the years, the music of the British musician became more and more popular, which resulted in a record deal with IF Music, the sub-label of the renowned label Ninja Tune. The musician worked several years on this album, and it may be said that you can hear that. Everything is taken care of, down to the smallest detail, especially the enchanting minimal noises that you hear in every song. In the opening song This Idea Of Us, there is even room for a whole string quartet, and the influences of The Verve (or even the later Talk Talk) are never far away. But that is one song only, because immediately afterwards Jono covers Age Of Self by Robert Wyatt: a song that because of its anti-capitalist text sounds more relevant than ever before.

Pagodas is a very diverse album that can appeal to a diverse audience. Ballad has an irresistible delicious jazzy atmosphere, while Halfway is menacing funk and kind of reminiscent of Seal. Although Pagodas is released on a dance label, it is foremost an album to listen to, and yes: the more you listen, the more you discover!

Didier BECU
03/10/2015


NL

Ook al zou je zonder problemen op een zonnig terras kunnen genieten van Jono McCleerys muziek, kun je toch niet zeggen dat de klaagzang van deze singer-songwriter uit Rotterdam zeer opgewekt klinkt. De minimale geluidjes geven het geheel wel een zonnig (zeg maar zuiders) tintje, toch maken de vaak weemoedige teksten het geheel vrij donker. Deze artiest werd eerder al eens met Massive Attack, John Martyn en Radiohead vergeleken. Het zijn inderdaad referenties die mijlenver uit elkaar liggen, maar dat komt gewoon omdat het muzikale talent van Jono McCleery nu eenmaal niet voor één gat te vangen is.

Met de jaren werd de muziek van de Brit alsmaar populairder, wat uiteindelijk resulteerde in een platendeal met IF Music, het sublabel van het befaamde Ninja Tune. Deze muzikant werkte ettelijke jaren aan dit album, en het mag gerust worden gezegd: dat hoor je ook. Alles is tot in de kleinste details verzorgd. De betoverende minimale geluidjes hoor je in ieder nummer, in het openingsnummer This Idea Of Us is er zelfs plaats voor een heel strijkkwartet en de invloeden van The Verve (of zelfs de latere Talk Talk) zijn nooit ver weg. Dat is echter maar voor één nummer, want meteen daarna covert Jono Age Of Self van Robert Wyatt: een lied dat door zijn antikapitalistische tekst actueler klinkt dan ooit te voren.

Pagodes is een zeer gevarieerd album dat een divers publiek kan aanspreken. Ballade heeft een onweerstaanbaar heerlijk jazzy sfeertje, terwijl Halfway dreigende funk is die grappig genoeg wat aan Seal doet denken. Ofschoon Pagodes op een danslabel is verschenen, blijft deze release in de eerste plaats een luisterplaat. En jawel, hoe meer je luistert, des te meer je ontdekt!

Didier BECU
03/10/2015


 

Next reviews
MOON ZERO • Moon Zero
SUSAN JAMES • Sea Glass
MASSIVE ATTACK • Blue Lines
MARC POUKENS (DE BRASSERS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
KIKU, BLIXA BARGELD & BLACK CRACKER • Marcher sur la Tête
POLYNOMIQ • Languages
NZ • Against You!
LUSTS • Illuminations
THE HOUSE OF LOVE • Spy In The House Of Love
FADERHEAD • Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Same combination of genres: JAZZ + SINGER SONGWRITER
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
JON GOMM • Live in the Acoustic Asylum
GUIDO BELCANTO • Zo Goed Als Alleen

 

Same genre: JAZZ
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
DRE PALLEMAERTS, CLEMENS VAN DER FEEN & PASCAL MOHY • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (28/10/2016)
SUN RA | MERZBOW • Strange City
LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016)
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
SHIELD PATTERNS • Mirror Breathing
MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016)
WOLF IN THE WOOD • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (10/06/2016)

 

Same genre: SINGER SONGWRITER
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
SUZANNE VEGA • Borgerhout, De Roma (06/10/2016)
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
THE ANCHORESS + FIONA BRICE • London, Bush Hall (15/06/2016)
LEYLA MCCALLA • A Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey
CHRIS COHEN • As If Apart
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind
SWEET BABOO • Dennis

Music reviews

20
04
LUCKY AND LOVE
Transitions
12
04
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO
Menetekel
04
04
GROOVENOM
Wir müssen reden
03
04
THE RECEIPTS
The Receipts
02
04
FONTAINES D.C
Dogrel
01
04
FRAGRANCE
Now That I'm Real

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Today, 33 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released Tinderbox!
15
04
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #33 out now!
14
04
Blindness Vocalist Beth Rettig Announces Debut EP ''The Desert'' From New Project Where We Sleep
13
04
Watch a new trailer for an upcoming documentary on Canadian synthpunk innovator, Nash The Slash!
12
04
Coil Release 150 minutes Of Music Entitled ''SWANYARD''
11
04
Tomorrow! Double concert Neon Electronics + Simi Nah - Win a free album!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
04
GNOSTIC GORILLA
WAKE UP! We are really in deep shit if we don’t snap out of this siege mentality and we need to stop killing the earth!
12
04
ERNEST MOON
“Our interest in the literary arts is equal to that of music.”
11
04
51 PEG
Breaking A 14-Year Absence: An Interview With 51 Peg
10
04
JO QUAIL
'I guess I’m a bit difficult to categorize!'
08
04
LAIBACH
'In reality, nobody really wants to solve a Korean problem.'

PHOTOS

22
04
CHARLES DE GOAL
Dark Skies over Witten
22
04
STILL PATIENT ?
Dark Skies over Witten
22
04
THE INVICIBLE SPIRIT
Dark Skies over Witten
22
04
GOETHES ERBEN
Black Easter @ Zappa Antwerpen
22
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Black Easter @ Zappa Antwerpen
22
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Black Easter @ Zappa Antwerpen
21
04
JO QUAIL
Black Easter @ Zappa Antwerpen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
04
NO SLEEP BY THE MACHINE
Old Track
21
04
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Gone (Feat. Yvette Winkler)
20
04
DAVID BOWIE
Fashion
19
04
GNOSTIC GORRILA
St. Basil's Asylum
18
04
UNDERTHESKIN
Borderline
18
04
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
17
04
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang