tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

03/10/2015 : JONO MCCLEERY - Pagodes

JONO MCCLEERY

Pagodes

MusicCD
JazzSinger Songwriter

[72/100]   

If Music
03/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Even if you could enjoy Jono McCleery’s music on a sunny terrace, you can’t say that the material of this singer -songwriter from Rotterdam sounds very happy. The minimal sounds give it a sunny (say Southern) touch, but the often melancholic lyrics make the whole album quite dark. This artist already has been compared with Massive Attack, John Martyn and Radiohead. Indeed references that are miles apart from each other, but that is simply because you can’t put the musical talent of Jono McCleery in one box.

Over the years, the music of the British musician became more and more popular, which resulted in a record deal with IF Music, the sub-label of the renowned label Ninja Tune. The musician worked several years on this album, and it may be said that you can hear that. Everything is taken care of, down to the smallest detail, especially the enchanting minimal noises that you hear in every song. In the opening song This Idea Of Us, there is even room for a whole string quartet, and the influences of The Verve (or even the later Talk Talk) are never far away. But that is one song only, because immediately afterwards Jono covers Age Of Self by Robert Wyatt: a song that because of its anti-capitalist text sounds more relevant than ever before.

Pagodas is a very diverse album that can appeal to a diverse audience. Ballad has an irresistible delicious jazzy atmosphere, while Halfway is menacing funk and kind of reminiscent of Seal. Although Pagodas is released on a dance label, it is foremost an album to listen to, and yes: the more you listen, the more you discover!

Didier BECU
03/10/2015


NL

Ook al zou je zonder problemen op een zonnig terras kunnen genieten van Jono McCleerys muziek, kun je toch niet zeggen dat de klaagzang van deze singer-songwriter uit Rotterdam zeer opgewekt klinkt. De minimale geluidjes geven het geheel wel een zonnig (zeg maar zuiders) tintje, toch maken de vaak weemoedige teksten het geheel vrij donker. Deze artiest werd eerder al eens met Massive Attack, John Martyn en Radiohead vergeleken. Het zijn inderdaad referenties die mijlenver uit elkaar liggen, maar dat komt gewoon omdat het muzikale talent van Jono McCleery nu eenmaal niet voor één gat te vangen is.

Met de jaren werd de muziek van de Brit alsmaar populairder, wat uiteindelijk resulteerde in een platendeal met IF Music, het sublabel van het befaamde Ninja Tune. Deze muzikant werkte ettelijke jaren aan dit album, en het mag gerust worden gezegd: dat hoor je ook. Alles is tot in de kleinste details verzorgd. De betoverende minimale geluidjes hoor je in ieder nummer, in het openingsnummer This Idea Of Us is er zelfs plaats voor een heel strijkkwartet en de invloeden van The Verve (of zelfs de latere Talk Talk) zijn nooit ver weg. Dat is echter maar voor één nummer, want meteen daarna covert Jono Age Of Self van Robert Wyatt: een lied dat door zijn antikapitalistische tekst actueler klinkt dan ooit te voren.

Pagodes is een zeer gevarieerd album dat een divers publiek kan aanspreken. Ballade heeft een onweerstaanbaar heerlijk jazzy sfeertje, terwijl Halfway dreigende funk is die grappig genoeg wat aan Seal doet denken. Ofschoon Pagodes op een danslabel is verschenen, blijft deze release in de eerste plaats een luisterplaat. En jawel, hoe meer je luistert, des te meer je ontdekt!

Didier BECU
03/10/2015


 

Next reviews
MOON ZERO • Moon Zero
SUSAN JAMES • Sea Glass
MASSIVE ATTACK • Blue Lines
MARC POUKENS (DE BRASSERS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
KIKU, BLIXA BARGELD & BLACK CRACKER • Marcher sur la Tête
POLYNOMIQ • Languages
NZ • Against You!
LUSTS • Illuminations
THE HOUSE OF LOVE • Spy In The House Of Love
FADERHEAD • Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Same combination of genres: JAZZ + SINGER SONGWRITER
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
JON GOMM • Live in the Acoustic Asylum
GUIDO BELCANTO • Zo Goed Als Alleen

 

Same genre: JAZZ
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
DRE PALLEMAERTS, CLEMENS VAN DER FEEN & PASCAL MOHY • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (28/10/2016)
SUN RA | MERZBOW • Strange City
LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016)
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
SHIELD PATTERNS • Mirror Breathing
MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016)
WOLF IN THE WOOD • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (10/06/2016)

 

Same genre: SINGER SONGWRITER
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
SUZANNE VEGA • Borgerhout, De Roma (06/10/2016)
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
THE ANCHORESS + FIONA BRICE • London, Bush Hall (15/06/2016)
LEYLA MCCALLA • A Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey
CHRIS COHEN • As If Apart
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind
SWEET BABOO • Dennis

Music reviews

17
02
NEON ELECTRONICS
Mondriaan
15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Damned, Damned, Damned - At 42, 42, 42!
18
02
Today, exactly 16 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
Mechanical Man | Remembering Bob Casale - The Devo Legend
15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
02
ADRIANO CANZIAN
Almost Everything That Is Produced Today Makes Me Sick
16
02
THE ARCH
Living healthy can be pretty stressful
16
02
EVI VINE
'..I am a human being taking one step forward-two steps back like everyone else'
15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.

PHOTOS

17
02
KAELAN MIKLA
Magasin 4
17
02
SOME EMBER
Magasin 4
17
02
TURQUOISE
Magasin 4
10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
02
MIREXXX
Nine angles
19
02
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
18
02
WARHAUS
The Good Lie
17
02
HYBRYDS
I hear you calling
16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession