tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

03/10/2015 : JONO MCCLEERY - Pagodes

JONO MCCLEERY

Pagodes

MusicCD
JazzSinger Songwriter

[72/100]   

If Music
03/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Even if you could enjoy Jono McCleery’s music on a sunny terrace, you can’t say that the material of this singer -songwriter from Rotterdam sounds very happy. The minimal sounds give it a sunny (say Southern) touch, but the often melancholic lyrics make the whole album quite dark. This artist already has been compared with Massive Attack, John Martyn and Radiohead. Indeed references that are miles apart from each other, but that is simply because you can’t put the musical talent of Jono McCleery in one box.

Over the years, the music of the British musician became more and more popular, which resulted in a record deal with IF Music, the sub-label of the renowned label Ninja Tune. The musician worked several years on this album, and it may be said that you can hear that. Everything is taken care of, down to the smallest detail, especially the enchanting minimal noises that you hear in every song. In the opening song This Idea Of Us, there is even room for a whole string quartet, and the influences of The Verve (or even the later Talk Talk) are never far away. But that is one song only, because immediately afterwards Jono covers Age Of Self by Robert Wyatt: a song that because of its anti-capitalist text sounds more relevant than ever before.

Pagodas is a very diverse album that can appeal to a diverse audience. Ballad has an irresistible delicious jazzy atmosphere, while Halfway is menacing funk and kind of reminiscent of Seal. Although Pagodas is released on a dance label, it is foremost an album to listen to, and yes: the more you listen, the more you discover!

Didier BECU
03/10/2015


NL

Ook al zou je zonder problemen op een zonnig terras kunnen genieten van Jono McCleerys muziek, kun je toch niet zeggen dat de klaagzang van deze singer-songwriter uit Rotterdam zeer opgewekt klinkt. De minimale geluidjes geven het geheel wel een zonnig (zeg maar zuiders) tintje, toch maken de vaak weemoedige teksten het geheel vrij donker. Deze artiest werd eerder al eens met Massive Attack, John Martyn en Radiohead vergeleken. Het zijn inderdaad referenties die mijlenver uit elkaar liggen, maar dat komt gewoon omdat het muzikale talent van Jono McCleery nu eenmaal niet voor één gat te vangen is.

Met de jaren werd de muziek van de Brit alsmaar populairder, wat uiteindelijk resulteerde in een platendeal met IF Music, het sublabel van het befaamde Ninja Tune. Deze muzikant werkte ettelijke jaren aan dit album, en het mag gerust worden gezegd: dat hoor je ook. Alles is tot in de kleinste details verzorgd. De betoverende minimale geluidjes hoor je in ieder nummer, in het openingsnummer This Idea Of Us is er zelfs plaats voor een heel strijkkwartet en de invloeden van The Verve (of zelfs de latere Talk Talk) zijn nooit ver weg. Dat is echter maar voor één nummer, want meteen daarna covert Jono Age Of Self van Robert Wyatt: een lied dat door zijn antikapitalistische tekst actueler klinkt dan ooit te voren.

Pagodes is een zeer gevarieerd album dat een divers publiek kan aanspreken. Ballade heeft een onweerstaanbaar heerlijk jazzy sfeertje, terwijl Halfway dreigende funk is die grappig genoeg wat aan Seal doet denken. Ofschoon Pagodes op een danslabel is verschenen, blijft deze release in de eerste plaats een luisterplaat. En jawel, hoe meer je luistert, des te meer je ontdekt!

Didier BECU
03/10/2015


 

Next reviews
MOON ZERO • Moon Zero
SUSAN JAMES • Sea Glass
MASSIVE ATTACK • Blue Lines
MARC POUKENS (DE BRASSERS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
KIKU, BLIXA BARGELD & BLACK CRACKER • Marcher sur la Tête
POLYNOMIQ • Languages
NZ • Against You!
LUSTS • Illuminations
THE HOUSE OF LOVE • Spy In The House Of Love
FADERHEAD • Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Same combination of genres: JAZZ + SINGER SONGWRITER
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
JON GOMM • Live in the Acoustic Asylum
GUIDO BELCANTO • Zo Goed Als Alleen

 

Same genre: JAZZ
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
MISS CHAMBERTALE • Berries and Tales
DRE PALLEMAERTS, CLEMENS VAN DER FEEN & PASCAL MOHY • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (28/10/2016)
SUN RA | MERZBOW • Strange City
LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016)
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
SHIELD PATTERNS • Mirror Breathing
MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016)

 

Same genre: SINGER SONGWRITER
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
SUZANNE VEGA • Borgerhout, De Roma (06/10/2016)
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
THE ANCHORESS + FIONA BRICE • London, Bush Hall (15/06/2016)
LEYLA MCCALLA • A Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey
CHRIS COHEN • As If Apart
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)