tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

03/10/2015 : JONO MCCLEERY - Pagodes

JONO MCCLEERY

Pagodes

MusicCD
JazzSinger Songwriter

[72/100]   

If Music
03/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Even if you could enjoy Jono McCleery’s music on a sunny terrace, you can’t say that the material of this singer -songwriter from Rotterdam sounds very happy. The minimal sounds give it a sunny (say Southern) touch, but the often melancholic lyrics make the whole album quite dark. This artist already has been compared with Massive Attack, John Martyn and Radiohead. Indeed references that are miles apart from each other, but that is simply because you can’t put the musical talent of Jono McCleery in one box.

Over the years, the music of the British musician became more and more popular, which resulted in a record deal with IF Music, the sub-label of the renowned label Ninja Tune. The musician worked several years on this album, and it may be said that you can hear that. Everything is taken care of, down to the smallest detail, especially the enchanting minimal noises that you hear in every song. In the opening song This Idea Of Us, there is even room for a whole string quartet, and the influences of The Verve (or even the later Talk Talk) are never far away. But that is one song only, because immediately afterwards Jono covers Age Of Self by Robert Wyatt: a song that because of its anti-capitalist text sounds more relevant than ever before.

Pagodas is a very diverse album that can appeal to a diverse audience. Ballad has an irresistible delicious jazzy atmosphere, while Halfway is menacing funk and kind of reminiscent of Seal. Although Pagodas is released on a dance label, it is foremost an album to listen to, and yes: the more you listen, the more you discover!

Didier BECU
03/10/2015


NL

Ook al zou je zonder problemen op een zonnig terras kunnen genieten van Jono McCleerys muziek, kun je toch niet zeggen dat de klaagzang van deze singer-songwriter uit Rotterdam zeer opgewekt klinkt. De minimale geluidjes geven het geheel wel een zonnig (zeg maar zuiders) tintje, toch maken de vaak weemoedige teksten het geheel vrij donker. Deze artiest werd eerder al eens met Massive Attack, John Martyn en Radiohead vergeleken. Het zijn inderdaad referenties die mijlenver uit elkaar liggen, maar dat komt gewoon omdat het muzikale talent van Jono McCleery nu eenmaal niet voor één gat te vangen is.

Met de jaren werd de muziek van de Brit alsmaar populairder, wat uiteindelijk resulteerde in een platendeal met IF Music, het sublabel van het befaamde Ninja Tune. Deze muzikant werkte ettelijke jaren aan dit album, en het mag gerust worden gezegd: dat hoor je ook. Alles is tot in de kleinste details verzorgd. De betoverende minimale geluidjes hoor je in ieder nummer, in het openingsnummer This Idea Of Us is er zelfs plaats voor een heel strijkkwartet en de invloeden van The Verve (of zelfs de latere Talk Talk) zijn nooit ver weg. Dat is echter maar voor één nummer, want meteen daarna covert Jono Age Of Self van Robert Wyatt: een lied dat door zijn antikapitalistische tekst actueler klinkt dan ooit te voren.

Pagodes is een zeer gevarieerd album dat een divers publiek kan aanspreken. Ballade heeft een onweerstaanbaar heerlijk jazzy sfeertje, terwijl Halfway dreigende funk is die grappig genoeg wat aan Seal doet denken. Ofschoon Pagodes op een danslabel is verschenen, blijft deze release in de eerste plaats een luisterplaat. En jawel, hoe meer je luistert, des te meer je ontdekt!

Didier BECU
03/10/2015


 

Next reviews
MOON ZERO • Moon Zero
SUSAN JAMES • Sea Glass
MASSIVE ATTACK • Blue Lines
MARC POUKENS (DE BRASSERS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
KIKU, BLIXA BARGELD & BLACK CRACKER • Marcher sur la Tête
POLYNOMIQ • Languages
NZ • Against You!
LUSTS • Illuminations
THE HOUSE OF LOVE • Spy In The House Of Love
FADERHEAD • Ten Albums That Changed My Life

 

Same combination of genres: JAZZ + SINGER SONGWRITER
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
JON GOMM • Live in the Acoustic Asylum
GUIDO BELCANTO • Zo Goed Als Alleen

 

Same genre: JAZZ
DRE PALLEMAERTS, CLEMENS VAN DER FEEN & PASCAL MOHY • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (28/10/2016)
SUN RA | MERZBOW • Strange City
LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016)
LEVEL 42 • Mechelen, Maanrock (28/08/2016)
• JazzContest, Hof van Busleyden, Mechelen (26/08/2016)
SHIELD PATTERNS • Mirror Breathing
MATT BIANCO & NEW COOL COLLECTIVE • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
THIELEMANS GEBRUERS ANTUNES • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (22/07/2016)
WOLF IN THE WOOD • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (10/06/2016)
MELANIE DE BIASIO • Blackened Cities

 

Same genre: SINGER SONGWRITER
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
SUZANNE VEGA • Borgerhout, De Roma (06/10/2016)
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
THE ANCHORESS + FIONA BRICE • London, Bush Hall (15/06/2016)
LEYLA MCCALLA • A Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey
CHRIS COHEN • As If Apart
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind
SWEET BABOO • Dennis

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)