tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

02/10/2015 : POLYNOMIQ - Languages

POLYNOMIQ

Languages

MusicCD
Synth Pop / Electro Pop

[83/100]   

Emmo.biz
02/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Even if the Belgian politicians do everything to deny it, Belgium is a fine country! Well, we must admit that our tiny country reached the worldwide media with a sadistic child murderer, but fortunately there's also the music, especially the electronic genre. From Telex to The Neon Judgement: Belgium has its place on the musical world map. Somewhere in a basement (at least that’s what we think) in Charleroi, we find Jean-Marc Mélot who operates with all kinds of synths and makes mesmerizing synth music. A few years ago he formed Modern Cubism with Jean-Luc De Meyer of Front 242, but Polynomiq is his solo project.

Jean-Marc Mélot is an IT man and a devoted fan of all kinds of analog synth sounds and you can hear that on this CD! There are nine tracks included and each title (Forth, Ada, COBOL, Fortran ...) refers to a computer language. You don't like to listen to experimental music, you say? Wrong, because not only these analog synth sounds are extremely danceable or melancholic, they’re all high quality audio gems. All songs are instrumental, apart from some vocoders.

We could be daft and say that Polynomiq is just another Kraftwerk clone, but that's not right. Jean-Marc is obviously influenced by the pioneers from Düsseldorf, but you might hear influences of people like John Foxx, Gary Numan, Throbbing Gristle or The Human League as well.

Languages ​​is a precious ode to the synthesizer. And well, after listening to this CD, you can only come to one conclusion: Jean-Marc Mélot has to be added to that long list of sublime Belgian musicians. At Peek-A-Boo we say: recommended!


 

Didier BECU
02/10/2015


NL

Ook al doen de politici er alles aan om het ons niet te laten geloven, wat een fijn landje is België toch! Toegegeven, we hebben in het verleden wereldwijd de media gehaald door de perikelen van een sadistische kindermoordenaar, maar gelukkig is er ook nog de muziek, en dan vooral de elektronische. Van Telex tot The Neon Judgement: België staat als een huis op de muzikale wereldkaart. Ergens in een kelder (dat denken we toch!) in Charleroi opereert Jean-Marc Mélot met allerlei synths en levert sinds jaren betoverende synthmuziek. Een paar jaar geleden stond hij samen met Jean-Luc De Meyer van Front 242 aan het roer van Modern Cubism, maar Polynomiq is zijn soloproject.

Jean-Marc Mélot is een IT-man en een toegewijde fan van allerlei analoge synthgeluiden en dat hoor je op deze cd! Er staan negen tracks op dit schijfje en iedere titel (Forth, Ada, Cobol, Fortran…) refereert naar een computertaal. Geen zin in experimentele muziek, zeg je? Fout, want niet alleen zijn de analoge synthklanken uiterst dansbaar, ze zijn ook melancholisch en hoogstaand luistervoer. Alle nummers zijn instrumentaal, op wat vocoders na.

We zouden flauw kunnen doen en zeggen dat Polynomiq gewoon een Kraftwerk-kloon is, maar dat is het nou net niet. Jean-Marc is natuurlijk wel beïnvloedt door de pioniers uit Düsseldorf, maar je hoort evengoed invloeden van mensen als John Foxx, Gary Numan, Throbbing Gristle of zelfs The Human League.

Languages is een liefdevolle ode aan de synthesizer. En tja, na het beluisteren van dit schijfje kan je maar tot één conclusie komen: Jean-Marc Mélot mag je gerust aan de ellenlange lijst van Belgische topmuzikanten toevoegen. Een tip noemen ze dat bij Peek-A-Boo!

Didier BECU
02/10/2015


Music reviews

31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
04
14 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 18 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
41 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
On this day, 23 years ago, Rammstein released Engel!
01
04
On this day, 31 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Gashed Senses & Crossfire!
31
03
Red Zebra releases new single!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

04
04
UNKNOWN LAND
CATHEDRAL
03
04
GOLDFRAPP
Strict Machine (Live at Glastonbury) [2017]
02
04
DIE KRUPPS
Chinese Black Die Krupps feat. Jyrki69 (Official Music Video)
02
04
DIESEIN
You
01
04
ILLUMININE
Dear, Eulogy (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
31
03
DIVE
Underneath
30
03
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
INTERSTELLAR