tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

02/10/2015 : POLYNOMIQ - Languages

POLYNOMIQ

Languages

MusicCD
Synth Pop / Electro Pop

[83/100]   

Emmo.biz
02/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Even if the Belgian politicians do everything to deny it, Belgium is a fine country! Well, we must admit that our tiny country reached the worldwide media with a sadistic child murderer, but fortunately there's also the music, especially the electronic genre. From Telex to The Neon Judgement: Belgium has its place on the musical world map. Somewhere in a basement (at least that’s what we think) in Charleroi, we find Jean-Marc Mélot who operates with all kinds of synths and makes mesmerizing synth music. A few years ago he formed Modern Cubism with Jean-Luc De Meyer of Front 242, but Polynomiq is his solo project.

Jean-Marc Mélot is an IT man and a devoted fan of all kinds of analog synth sounds and you can hear that on this CD! There are nine tracks included and each title (Forth, Ada, COBOL, Fortran ...) refers to a computer language. You don't like to listen to experimental music, you say? Wrong, because not only these analog synth sounds are extremely danceable or melancholic, they’re all high quality audio gems. All songs are instrumental, apart from some vocoders.

We could be daft and say that Polynomiq is just another Kraftwerk clone, but that's not right. Jean-Marc is obviously influenced by the pioneers from Düsseldorf, but you might hear influences of people like John Foxx, Gary Numan, Throbbing Gristle or The Human League as well.

Languages ​​is a precious ode to the synthesizer. And well, after listening to this CD, you can only come to one conclusion: Jean-Marc Mélot has to be added to that long list of sublime Belgian musicians. At Peek-A-Boo we say: recommended!


 

Didier BECU
02/10/2015


NL

Ook al doen de politici er alles aan om het ons niet te laten geloven, wat een fijn landje is België toch! Toegegeven, we hebben in het verleden wereldwijd de media gehaald door de perikelen van een sadistische kindermoordenaar, maar gelukkig is er ook nog de muziek, en dan vooral de elektronische. Van Telex tot The Neon Judgement: België staat als een huis op de muzikale wereldkaart. Ergens in een kelder (dat denken we toch!) in Charleroi opereert Jean-Marc Mélot met allerlei synths en levert sinds jaren betoverende synthmuziek. Een paar jaar geleden stond hij samen met Jean-Luc De Meyer van Front 242 aan het roer van Modern Cubism, maar Polynomiq is zijn soloproject.

Jean-Marc Mélot is een IT-man en een toegewijde fan van allerlei analoge synthgeluiden en dat hoor je op deze cd! Er staan negen tracks op dit schijfje en iedere titel (Forth, Ada, Cobol, Fortran…) refereert naar een computertaal. Geen zin in experimentele muziek, zeg je? Fout, want niet alleen zijn de analoge synthklanken uiterst dansbaar, ze zijn ook melancholisch en hoogstaand luistervoer. Alle nummers zijn instrumentaal, op wat vocoders na.

We zouden flauw kunnen doen en zeggen dat Polynomiq gewoon een Kraftwerk-kloon is, maar dat is het nou net niet. Jean-Marc is natuurlijk wel beïnvloedt door de pioniers uit Düsseldorf, maar je hoort evengoed invloeden van mensen als John Foxx, Gary Numan, Throbbing Gristle of zelfs The Human League.

Languages is een liefdevolle ode aan de synthesizer. En tja, na het beluisteren van dit schijfje kan je maar tot één conclusie komen: Jean-Marc Mélot mag je gerust aan de ellenlange lijst van Belgische topmuzikanten toevoegen. Een tip noemen ze dat bij Peek-A-Boo!

Didier BECU
02/10/2015


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design