tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

02/10/2015 : POLYNOMIQ - Languages

POLYNOMIQ

Languages

MusicCD
Synth Pop / Electro Pop

[83/100]   

Emmo.biz
02/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Even if the Belgian politicians do everything to deny it, Belgium is a fine country! Well, we must admit that our tiny country reached the worldwide media with a sadistic child murderer, but fortunately there's also the music, especially the electronic genre. From Telex to The Neon Judgement: Belgium has its place on the musical world map. Somewhere in a basement (at least that’s what we think) in Charleroi, we find Jean-Marc Mélot who operates with all kinds of synths and makes mesmerizing synth music. A few years ago he formed Modern Cubism with Jean-Luc De Meyer of Front 242, but Polynomiq is his solo project.

Jean-Marc Mélot is an IT man and a devoted fan of all kinds of analog synth sounds and you can hear that on this CD! There are nine tracks included and each title (Forth, Ada, COBOL, Fortran ...) refers to a computer language. You don't like to listen to experimental music, you say? Wrong, because not only these analog synth sounds are extremely danceable or melancholic, they’re all high quality audio gems. All songs are instrumental, apart from some vocoders.

We could be daft and say that Polynomiq is just another Kraftwerk clone, but that's not right. Jean-Marc is obviously influenced by the pioneers from Düsseldorf, but you might hear influences of people like John Foxx, Gary Numan, Throbbing Gristle or The Human League as well.

Languages ​​is a precious ode to the synthesizer. And well, after listening to this CD, you can only come to one conclusion: Jean-Marc Mélot has to be added to that long list of sublime Belgian musicians. At Peek-A-Boo we say: recommended!


 

Didier BECU
02/10/2015


NL

Ook al doen de politici er alles aan om het ons niet te laten geloven, wat een fijn landje is België toch! Toegegeven, we hebben in het verleden wereldwijd de media gehaald door de perikelen van een sadistische kindermoordenaar, maar gelukkig is er ook nog de muziek, en dan vooral de elektronische. Van Telex tot The Neon Judgement: België staat als een huis op de muzikale wereldkaart. Ergens in een kelder (dat denken we toch!) in Charleroi opereert Jean-Marc Mélot met allerlei synths en levert sinds jaren betoverende synthmuziek. Een paar jaar geleden stond hij samen met Jean-Luc De Meyer van Front 242 aan het roer van Modern Cubism, maar Polynomiq is zijn soloproject.

Jean-Marc Mélot is een IT-man en een toegewijde fan van allerlei analoge synthgeluiden en dat hoor je op deze cd! Er staan negen tracks op dit schijfje en iedere titel (Forth, Ada, Cobol, Fortran…) refereert naar een computertaal. Geen zin in experimentele muziek, zeg je? Fout, want niet alleen zijn de analoge synthklanken uiterst dansbaar, ze zijn ook melancholisch en hoogstaand luistervoer. Alle nummers zijn instrumentaal, op wat vocoders na.

We zouden flauw kunnen doen en zeggen dat Polynomiq gewoon een Kraftwerk-kloon is, maar dat is het nou net niet. Jean-Marc is natuurlijk wel beïnvloedt door de pioniers uit Düsseldorf, maar je hoort evengoed invloeden van mensen als John Foxx, Gary Numan, Throbbing Gristle of zelfs The Human League.

Languages is een liefdevolle ode aan de synthesizer. En tja, na het beluisteren van dit schijfje kan je maar tot één conclusie komen: Jean-Marc Mélot mag je gerust aan de ellenlange lijst van Belgische topmuzikanten toevoegen. Een tip noemen ze dat bij Peek-A-Boo!

Didier BECU
02/10/2015


Music reviews

13
11
BROKEN EGO
Getting Higher
12
11
BEAUTY IN CHAOS
Finding Beauty In Chaos
11
11
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES
Juju
10
11
YOU, VICIOUS!
You, Vicious!
09
11
VIRGIN PRUNES
Hérésie
08
11
HATCHLING
Alpha

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

13
11
Today, 37 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
13
11
Today, 40 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
12
11
Ethereal alt-rock outfit Evi Vine presents 'Sabbath', a sweet and heavy preview of their long-awaited long-play 'Black Light White Dark'!
10
11
Today it's 32 years since Kraftwerk release Electric Café!
09
11
Today, 37 years ago, Men At Work released their debut album Business As Usual!
08
11
This month its 31 years since Canadian industrial band Front Line Assembly released their first official album, The Initial Command!

Concert reviews

06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

13
11
HIDDEN FIGURES
Interview with the US newcomers 'Hidden Figures'
11
11
CAUSTIC
The Way America Is At The Moment I Realized I Needed To Say Some Things
09
11
MICHAEL CIRAVOLO ( BEAUTY IN CHAOS )
'Recording this album is vastly different than producing a new band. '
08
11
THE HEARTBREAKERS, THE WALDOS
'Being in a band is a way of life!'
07
11
BRIX AND THE EXTRICATED
Interview with Brix Smith-Start

PHOTOS

10
11
SIGLO XX
Breaking Barriers, Depot Leuven
02
11
LENE LOVICH BAND
B52 Eernegem
02
11
MORGAN KING
B52 Eernegem
02
11
KIRSTEN MORRISON
B52 Eernegem
23
10
VNV NATION + HOLYGRAM
De Casino - St. Niklaas
16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

13
11
AROMA DI AMORE
De Nacht en Zijn Kwaad
12
11
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
12
11
PALAIS IDEAL
Context Collapse (official video)
11
11
DUSK
EPOKA 3000 (extended version)
10
11
PARADOX OBSCUR
Afterlife Effect (Official Video)
09
11
MEANDER
This is Meander.
08
11
BUZZ KULL
Avoiding The Light (official video)