tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

02/10/2015 : POLYNOMIQ - Languages

POLYNOMIQ

Languages

MusicCD
Synth Pop / Electro Pop

[83/100]   

Emmo.biz
02/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Even if the Belgian politicians do everything to deny it, Belgium is a fine country! Well, we must admit that our tiny country reached the worldwide media with a sadistic child murderer, but fortunately there's also the music, especially the electronic genre. From Telex to The Neon Judgement: Belgium has its place on the musical world map. Somewhere in a basement (at least that’s what we think) in Charleroi, we find Jean-Marc Mélot who operates with all kinds of synths and makes mesmerizing synth music. A few years ago he formed Modern Cubism with Jean-Luc De Meyer of Front 242, but Polynomiq is his solo project.

Jean-Marc Mélot is an IT man and a devoted fan of all kinds of analog synth sounds and you can hear that on this CD! There are nine tracks included and each title (Forth, Ada, COBOL, Fortran ...) refers to a computer language. You don't like to listen to experimental music, you say? Wrong, because not only these analog synth sounds are extremely danceable or melancholic, they’re all high quality audio gems. All songs are instrumental, apart from some vocoders.

We could be daft and say that Polynomiq is just another Kraftwerk clone, but that's not right. Jean-Marc is obviously influenced by the pioneers from Düsseldorf, but you might hear influences of people like John Foxx, Gary Numan, Throbbing Gristle or The Human League as well.

Languages ​​is a precious ode to the synthesizer. And well, after listening to this CD, you can only come to one conclusion: Jean-Marc Mélot has to be added to that long list of sublime Belgian musicians. At Peek-A-Boo we say: recommended!


 

Didier BECU
02/10/2015


NL

Ook al doen de politici er alles aan om het ons niet te laten geloven, wat een fijn landje is België toch! Toegegeven, we hebben in het verleden wereldwijd de media gehaald door de perikelen van een sadistische kindermoordenaar, maar gelukkig is er ook nog de muziek, en dan vooral de elektronische. Van Telex tot The Neon Judgement: België staat als een huis op de muzikale wereldkaart. Ergens in een kelder (dat denken we toch!) in Charleroi opereert Jean-Marc Mélot met allerlei synths en levert sinds jaren betoverende synthmuziek. Een paar jaar geleden stond hij samen met Jean-Luc De Meyer van Front 242 aan het roer van Modern Cubism, maar Polynomiq is zijn soloproject.

Jean-Marc Mélot is een IT-man en een toegewijde fan van allerlei analoge synthgeluiden en dat hoor je op deze cd! Er staan negen tracks op dit schijfje en iedere titel (Forth, Ada, Cobol, Fortran…) refereert naar een computertaal. Geen zin in experimentele muziek, zeg je? Fout, want niet alleen zijn de analoge synthklanken uiterst dansbaar, ze zijn ook melancholisch en hoogstaand luistervoer. Alle nummers zijn instrumentaal, op wat vocoders na.

We zouden flauw kunnen doen en zeggen dat Polynomiq gewoon een Kraftwerk-kloon is, maar dat is het nou net niet. Jean-Marc is natuurlijk wel beïnvloedt door de pioniers uit Düsseldorf, maar je hoort evengoed invloeden van mensen als John Foxx, Gary Numan, Throbbing Gristle of zelfs The Human League.

Languages is een liefdevolle ode aan de synthesizer. En tja, na het beluisteren van dit schijfje kan je maar tot één conclusie komen: Jean-Marc Mélot mag je gerust aan de ellenlange lijst van Belgische topmuzikanten toevoegen. Een tip noemen ze dat bij Peek-A-Boo!

Didier BECU
02/10/2015


Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!
14
09
HOLYGRAM as support for VNV NATION - NOIR TOUR
04
09
Two new DAFT RECORDS releases upcoming!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway
18
09
THE NAMES
Nightshift
17
09
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
16
09
SCHWEFELGELB
Bis zum Nächsten Tag