tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

02/10/2015 : POLYNOMIQ - Languages

POLYNOMIQ

Languages

MusicCD
Synth Pop / Electro Pop

[83/100]   

Emmo.biz
02/10/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Even if the Belgian politicians do everything to deny it, Belgium is a fine country! Well, we must admit that our tiny country reached the worldwide media with a sadistic child murderer, but fortunately there's also the music, especially the electronic genre. From Telex to The Neon Judgement: Belgium has its place on the musical world map. Somewhere in a basement (at least that’s what we think) in Charleroi, we find Jean-Marc Mélot who operates with all kinds of synths and makes mesmerizing synth music. A few years ago he formed Modern Cubism with Jean-Luc De Meyer of Front 242, but Polynomiq is his solo project.

Jean-Marc Mélot is an IT man and a devoted fan of all kinds of analog synth sounds and you can hear that on this CD! There are nine tracks included and each title (Forth, Ada, COBOL, Fortran ...) refers to a computer language. You don't like to listen to experimental music, you say? Wrong, because not only these analog synth sounds are extremely danceable or melancholic, they’re all high quality audio gems. All songs are instrumental, apart from some vocoders.

We could be daft and say that Polynomiq is just another Kraftwerk clone, but that's not right. Jean-Marc is obviously influenced by the pioneers from Düsseldorf, but you might hear influences of people like John Foxx, Gary Numan, Throbbing Gristle or The Human League as well.

Languages ​​is a precious ode to the synthesizer. And well, after listening to this CD, you can only come to one conclusion: Jean-Marc Mélot has to be added to that long list of sublime Belgian musicians. At Peek-A-Boo we say: recommended!


 

Didier BECU
02/10/2015


NL

Ook al doen de politici er alles aan om het ons niet te laten geloven, wat een fijn landje is België toch! Toegegeven, we hebben in het verleden wereldwijd de media gehaald door de perikelen van een sadistische kindermoordenaar, maar gelukkig is er ook nog de muziek, en dan vooral de elektronische. Van Telex tot The Neon Judgement: België staat als een huis op de muzikale wereldkaart. Ergens in een kelder (dat denken we toch!) in Charleroi opereert Jean-Marc Mélot met allerlei synths en levert sinds jaren betoverende synthmuziek. Een paar jaar geleden stond hij samen met Jean-Luc De Meyer van Front 242 aan het roer van Modern Cubism, maar Polynomiq is zijn soloproject.

Jean-Marc Mélot is een IT-man en een toegewijde fan van allerlei analoge synthgeluiden en dat hoor je op deze cd! Er staan negen tracks op dit schijfje en iedere titel (Forth, Ada, Cobol, Fortran…) refereert naar een computertaal. Geen zin in experimentele muziek, zeg je? Fout, want niet alleen zijn de analoge synthklanken uiterst dansbaar, ze zijn ook melancholisch en hoogstaand luistervoer. Alle nummers zijn instrumentaal, op wat vocoders na.

We zouden flauw kunnen doen en zeggen dat Polynomiq gewoon een Kraftwerk-kloon is, maar dat is het nou net niet. Jean-Marc is natuurlijk wel beïnvloedt door de pioniers uit Düsseldorf, maar je hoort evengoed invloeden van mensen als John Foxx, Gary Numan, Throbbing Gristle of zelfs The Human League.

Languages is een liefdevolle ode aan de synthesizer. En tja, na het beluisteren van dit schijfje kan je maar tot één conclusie komen: Jean-Marc Mélot mag je gerust aan de ellenlange lijst van Belgische topmuzikanten toevoegen. Een tip noemen ze dat bij Peek-A-Boo!

Didier BECU
02/10/2015


Music reviews

17
11
ALIEN VAMPIRES
Evil Twin Ep
16
11
DAVID J
Crocodile Tears And The Velvet Cosh (Reissue)
15
11
KLANGWELT
The Incident
14
11
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE
Resin EP
13
11
BROKEN EGO
Getting Higher
12
11
BEAUTY IN CHAOS
Finding Beauty In Chaos

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
11
New album by BORGHESIA - Proti kapitulaciji (Against Capitulation) - Out now!
17
11
Rise Of The Robots | Autobahn Reaches 44-Years
16
11
Varsovie present brand new video clip, Killing Anna!
13
11
Today, 37 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
13
11
Today, 40 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
12
11
Ethereal alt-rock outfit Evi Vine presents 'Sabbath', a sweet and heavy preview of their long-awaited long-play 'Black Light White Dark'!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
11
DAVE INOX
I Am Never One Hundred Percent Happy With The Result Of My Works
15
11
RUSSIAN DARK COMMUNITY
New groups are always good, it is better to discover something new than to listen to what is already advertised on every site for the hundredth time.
13
11
HIDDEN FIGURES
Interview with the US newcomers 'Hidden Figures'
11
11
CAUSTIC
The Way America Is At The Moment I Realized I Needed To Say Some Things
09
11
MICHAEL CIRAVOLO ( BEAUTY IN CHAOS )
'Recording this album is vastly different than producing a new band. '

PHOTOS

10
11
SIGLO XX
Breaking Barriers, Depot Leuven
02
11
LENE LOVICH BAND
B52 Eernegem
02
11
MORGAN KING
B52 Eernegem
02
11
KIRSTEN MORRISON
B52 Eernegem
23
10
VNV NATION + HOLYGRAM
De Casino - St. Niklaas
16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
11
BLEIB MODERN
Paper Skin
17
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
To Replace My Sadness (preview 2016)
16
11
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
15
11
SRSQ
Permission
14
11
FRONT 242
Controversy Between
13
11
AROMA DI AMORE
De Nacht en Zijn Kwaad
12
11
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)