tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

03/10/2015 : MOON ZERO - Moon Zero

MOON ZERO

Moon Zero

MusicCD (EP)
AmbientAvant-gardeDroneElectronics

[50/100]   

Denovali Records
03/10/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

Moon Zero is the solo project of producer and composer Tim Garratt. On the debut album Moon Zero he continues the quest that begun with his two earlier EPs, on which he combined classical modernism with contemporary electronic music. Moon Zero was recorded in the church of St. George in the East in London and contains six tracks. Garratt formulates his intentions as follows: because I had no pre-recorded material, and previous EPs were largely improvised, I had to work out new ideas at every live show. Although it had a liberating effect, I was dependent on variables that I often couldn’t control. This album is much more a coherent collection that can be easily reproduced during live performances.

With distorted loop tapes, engineered synthesizers and cymbals, of which the sound is processed through music software, Garratt creates a unique universe of industrial sounds in which drones are dominant. In the first track Laika, very dark drones are hovering in the sky like storm clouds, crisscrossed with other sharp drones, monotonous, atmospheric and threatening, while Expanding into the Time We Have starts humming, with a guitar loop and monotonous metallic drones that gently penetrate the soundscape. Halfway they are assisted by others drones, but the monotonous profile of the composition hardly changes. Pure industrial in its most primal form.

The Solipsist begins like a rushing and atmospheric track, almost dreamy, gets whistling and later buzzing, crackling and hissing drones, but compositionally the track differs little from its predecessors. In Heritage Guilt other drones take the lead, bell-like, followed by industrial sounds of a metal factory in full action, brutal and later atmospheric, with lots of reverb and what appear to be voices. A Bevan Rotation continues in the same sense, with a plurality of high-drones that create a semi religious atmosphere. Naura sounds because of the shaky drones, later supplemented with more lighthearted wisps of sound, noise and abrasive drones, but ultimately it is no more than yet another variation on the same theme.

Moon Zero contains six tracks with little variation. Moreover, we have actually heard it all before. For fans only.

Tracklist:
1 Laika
2 Expandiong into the Time We Have
3 The Solipsist
4 Heritage Guilt
5 A Bevan Rotation
6 Nauru

William LIÉNARD
03/10/2015


NL

Moon Zero is het eenmansproject van producer en componist Tim Garratt. Op dit debuutalbum zet hij de zoektocht voort die begon op z’n beide eerdere ep’s, waarop hij klassiek modernisme combineerde met hedendaagse elektronische muziek. Moon Zero is opgenomen in de kerk van St. George in the East in Londen en bevat 6 tracks. Zijn intenties i.v.m. dit album formuleert hij als volgt: omdat ik geen vooraf opgenomen materiaal had, en de vorige ep’s grotendeels geïmproviseerd waren, moest ik tijdens elke liveshow nieuwe ideeën uitwerken. Hoewel dat een bevrijdend effect had, was ik tegelijk toch afhankelijk van variabelen waarover ik vaak geen controle had. Dit album is veel meer een samenhangend geheel dat gemakkelijk kan worden gereproduceerd tijdens liveoptredens.

Met distorted looptapes, gemanipuleerde synthesizers en cymbalen waarvan het geluid achteraf van effecten is voorzien en via muzieksoftware bewerkt, opgeblazen, uitgerafeld en uiteindelijk gemixt, creëert Garratt een heel eigen universum van industriële geluiden waarin drones dominant aanwezig zijn. Laika dobbert bijvoorbeeld op zeer donkere drones die als onweerswolken in de lucht hangen, doorkliefd met weer andere en scherp klinkende drones, monotoon, atmosferisch en dreigend, terwijl Expanding into the Time We Have zoemend van start gaat met een gitaarloop, en monotone metaalachtige drones voorzichtig het soundscape binnendringen en naar een crescendo toewerken. Halfweg krijgen ze assistentie van weer andere drones, maar het monotone profiel van de compositie wijzigt daarbij nauwelijks. Pure industrial in z’n meest primaire vorm.

The Solipsist begint ruisend en atmosferisch, dromerig bijna, krijgt fluitende daarna zoemende, krakende en sissende drones, maar wijkt compositorisch nauwelijks af van z’n voorgangers. Wat dat betreft is er sprake van weinig creativiteit. In Heritage Guilt zijn het weer andere drones die het voortouw nemen, belachtig, met na verloop van tijd het geluid van een metaalfabriek in volle actie, brutaal en later atmosferisch, met veel galm en wat lijkt op stemmen, wat een bijna naadloos vervolg krijgt in A Bevan Rotation, dat in de tweede helft met een veelheid van hoge drones een semireligieuze sfeer krijgt. Naura ten slotte kiest een inktzwart pad met beverige drones, later aangevuld met meer lichtvoetige geluidsslierten, noise en schurende drones, maar eindelijk is het niet meer dan de zoveelste variatie op hetzelfde thema.

Moon Zero bevat zes tracks die allemaal een beetje op elkaar lijken qua compositie. Het geluid wordt elke keer lichtjes aangepast, maar uiteindelijk is er weinig sprake van variatie. Alleen voor de liefhebbers.

William LIÉNARD
03/10/2015


 

Next reviews
SUSAN JAMES • Sea Glass
MASSIVE ATTACK • Blue Lines
MARC POUKENS (DE BRASSERS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
KIKU, BLIXA BARGELD & BLACK CRACKER • Marcher sur la Tête
POLYNOMIQ • Languages
NZ • Against You!
LUSTS • Illuminations
THE HOUSE OF LOVE • Spy In The House Of Love
FADERHEAD • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
NEW ORDER • Music Complete

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall

 

Same genre: AVANT-GARDE
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree
MCHNRY • The Shape
CHELSEY AND THE NOISE • Losing Landscapes EP
HEDERA HELIX • Pastiche
DEUTSCH NEPAL • Dystopian Partycollection II
BESTIAL MOUTHS • Heartless
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden

 

Same genre: DRONE
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
BE • One

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual

Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
12
On this day, 42 years ago, Joy Division recorded their very first EP, 'An Ideal for Living'!
14
12
London Calling | The Clash Masterpiece Is 40 Today!
11
12
The Mission - The United European Party Tour 2020
10
12
Postpunk pioneers The Membranes and Kitty Lectro team up for stunning 'Nocturnal' EP
10
12
Los Angeles Synth Act More Ephemerol Debuts New Single, 'Cult Classics'
10
12
On this day, 40 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
12
FIX8:SED8
I Could Talk About The Wonder That Is Skinny Puppy For Hours
29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!

PHOTOS

09
12
MARK E MOON
Sportkafee Waregem
06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

14
12
ME THE TIGER
Hollow
13
12
THE HUMAN LEAGUE
Open Your heart
12
12
AN PIERLE
The Golden Dawn
11
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE
Death by completion
10
12
A SPLIT-SECOND
Mambo Witch
09
12
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
08
12
REVOLTING COCKS (THE)
Beer, Steers and Queers