tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

03/10/2015 : MOON ZERO - Moon Zero

MOON ZERO

Moon Zero

MusicCD (EP)
AmbientAvant-gardeDroneElectronics

[50/100]   

Denovali Records
03/10/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

Moon Zero is the solo project of producer and composer Tim Garratt. On the debut album Moon Zero he continues the quest that begun with his two earlier EPs, on which he combined classical modernism with contemporary electronic music. Moon Zero was recorded in the church of St. George in the East in London and contains six tracks. Garratt formulates his intentions as follows: because I had no pre-recorded material, and previous EPs were largely improvised, I had to work out new ideas at every live show. Although it had a liberating effect, I was dependent on variables that I often couldn’t control. This album is much more a coherent collection that can be easily reproduced during live performances.

With distorted loop tapes, engineered synthesizers and cymbals, of which the sound is processed through music software, Garratt creates a unique universe of industrial sounds in which drones are dominant. In the first track Laika, very dark drones are hovering in the sky like storm clouds, crisscrossed with other sharp drones, monotonous, atmospheric and threatening, while Expanding into the Time We Have starts humming, with a guitar loop and monotonous metallic drones that gently penetrate the soundscape. Halfway they are assisted by others drones, but the monotonous profile of the composition hardly changes. Pure industrial in its most primal form.

The Solipsist begins like a rushing and atmospheric track, almost dreamy, gets whistling and later buzzing, crackling and hissing drones, but compositionally the track differs little from its predecessors. In Heritage Guilt other drones take the lead, bell-like, followed by industrial sounds of a metal factory in full action, brutal and later atmospheric, with lots of reverb and what appear to be voices. A Bevan Rotation continues in the same sense, with a plurality of high-drones that create a semi religious atmosphere. Naura sounds because of the shaky drones, later supplemented with more lighthearted wisps of sound, noise and abrasive drones, but ultimately it is no more than yet another variation on the same theme.

Moon Zero contains six tracks with little variation. Moreover, we have actually heard it all before. For fans only.

Tracklist:
1 Laika
2 Expandiong into the Time We Have
3 The Solipsist
4 Heritage Guilt
5 A Bevan Rotation
6 Nauru

William LIÉNARD
03/10/2015


NL

Moon Zero is het eenmansproject van producer en componist Tim Garratt. Op dit debuutalbum zet hij de zoektocht voort die begon op z’n beide eerdere ep’s, waarop hij klassiek modernisme combineerde met hedendaagse elektronische muziek. Moon Zero is opgenomen in de kerk van St. George in the East in Londen en bevat 6 tracks. Zijn intenties i.v.m. dit album formuleert hij als volgt: omdat ik geen vooraf opgenomen materiaal had, en de vorige ep’s grotendeels geïmproviseerd waren, moest ik tijdens elke liveshow nieuwe ideeën uitwerken. Hoewel dat een bevrijdend effect had, was ik tegelijk toch afhankelijk van variabelen waarover ik vaak geen controle had. Dit album is veel meer een samenhangend geheel dat gemakkelijk kan worden gereproduceerd tijdens liveoptredens.

Met distorted looptapes, gemanipuleerde synthesizers en cymbalen waarvan het geluid achteraf van effecten is voorzien en via muzieksoftware bewerkt, opgeblazen, uitgerafeld en uiteindelijk gemixt, creëert Garratt een heel eigen universum van industriële geluiden waarin drones dominant aanwezig zijn. Laika dobbert bijvoorbeeld op zeer donkere drones die als onweerswolken in de lucht hangen, doorkliefd met weer andere en scherp klinkende drones, monotoon, atmosferisch en dreigend, terwijl Expanding into the Time We Have zoemend van start gaat met een gitaarloop, en monotone metaalachtige drones voorzichtig het soundscape binnendringen en naar een crescendo toewerken. Halfweg krijgen ze assistentie van weer andere drones, maar het monotone profiel van de compositie wijzigt daarbij nauwelijks. Pure industrial in z’n meest primaire vorm.

The Solipsist begint ruisend en atmosferisch, dromerig bijna, krijgt fluitende daarna zoemende, krakende en sissende drones, maar wijkt compositorisch nauwelijks af van z’n voorgangers. Wat dat betreft is er sprake van weinig creativiteit. In Heritage Guilt zijn het weer andere drones die het voortouw nemen, belachtig, met na verloop van tijd het geluid van een metaalfabriek in volle actie, brutaal en later atmosferisch, met veel galm en wat lijkt op stemmen, wat een bijna naadloos vervolg krijgt in A Bevan Rotation, dat in de tweede helft met een veelheid van hoge drones een semireligieuze sfeer krijgt. Naura ten slotte kiest een inktzwart pad met beverige drones, later aangevuld met meer lichtvoetige geluidsslierten, noise en schurende drones, maar eindelijk is het niet meer dan de zoveelste variatie op hetzelfde thema.

Moon Zero bevat zes tracks die allemaal een beetje op elkaar lijken qua compositie. Het geluid wordt elke keer lichtjes aangepast, maar uiteindelijk is er weinig sprake van variatie. Alleen voor de liefhebbers.

William LIÉNARD
03/10/2015


 

Next reviews
SUSAN JAMES • Sea Glass
MASSIVE ATTACK • Blue Lines
MARC POUKENS (DE BRASSERS) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
KIKU, BLIXA BARGELD & BLACK CRACKER • Marcher sur la Tête
POLYNOMIQ • Languages
NZ • Against You!
LUSTS • Illuminations
THE HOUSE OF LOVE • Spy In The House Of Love
FADERHEAD • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
NEW ORDER • Music Complete

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)

 

Same genre: AVANT-GARDE
MIKE SOPKO, BILL LASWELL, TYSHAWN SOREY • On Common Ground
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Skeleton Tree
MCHNRY • The Shape
CHELSEY AND THE NOISE • Losing Landscapes EP
HEDERA HELIX • Pastiche
DEUTSCH NEPAL • Dystopian Partycollection II
BESTIAL MOUTHS • Heartless

 

Same genre: DRONE
THE MARY HART ATTACK • The Falling Sun
PHALLUS DEI • Black Dawn
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
NADJA • The Stone is Not Hit By The Sun, Nor Carved With A Knife
BLACKWOOD • As the World Rots Away
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MICHEL BANABILA • Early Works/Things Popping Up From The Past
RICARDO DONOSO • Quintesence
BE • One

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks

Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
10
Exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
40 years of Subhuman and Adrenalin by Throbbing Gristle!
21
10
Angels & Agony launched a new official lyric video of 'Forever'!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 43 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
17
10
Electronic/Alternative Artist CARVR Unleashes Debut Single & Visualizer, 'Erase Me'
16
10
SAMMI DOLL Releases Official Music Video for 'AN OM IE'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
10
CIRCLE BROS
Detroit
23
10
FEVER RAY
Part VII: IDK About You (Official Video)
22
10
EXECUTIVE SLACKS
So Mote it Be (Bedroom version)
21
10
PANKOW
Great Minds Against Themselves Conspire / Dirty Old Men
20
10
CHAMELEONS VOX
Swamp Thing
19
10
SALLY DIGE
Holding On
18
10
A DARKER COLOR BRIGHT
Fluorescent