tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/05/2011 : MATT HOWDEN - Robot World

MATT HOWDEN

Robot World

MusicCD
NeoclassicalSoundtrack

[91/100]   

Redroom
10/05/2011, Ward DE PRINS

EN

Let me start this thing as the difficult man I am (my favourite role): a soundtrack can only be experienced at fullest when you actually have seen the movie it was intended for. Unfortunately we did not have this possibility for this review, except the trailer (see at the bottom of this review). But never mind, a new Matt Howden creation is always nice to hear! Like this one.

The film recounts (allegedly) the evolution of the robot from a mechanical sleepwalker to an autonomous functioning unit, almost a human alter-ego or a human companion. This accompanying film score is a neoclassical album pur sang where, next to the beautiful compositions, a bitter feeling, a certain bitterness remains seated. Perhaps this was intentional in order to accentuate the ambiguous result of the robotisation of our society.

You often hear that typical Matt Howden violin technique through the compositions, but most of the time it's not the beauty and the unique playing technique that keep my attention, but rather a succession of stunning atmospheric soundclouds (In this context, I dare not speak about a song).

At times I feel a similarity with the work of Johann Johannsson, other times with that of The Balanescu Quartet. Perhaps both are given to me by the repetitive sound which, like the aforementioned artists, evokes a melancholic masterpiece that keeps evolving and growing.

And then suddenly it is over. Amazingly quick the score reaches its end, but only emotionally since it is already 50 minutes later. I remain completely silent and motionless. Melancholy and dejection have seized my heart. I sip my red wine and keep staring dazed in front of me (until I realize that I should write this review).

But let me keep it simple: sentimental, melancholic soul mates and film freaks, buy this album!
 

Matt, you did it again!

 

www.matthowden.com

Ward DE PRINS
10/05/2011


NL

Laat mij maar eens als moeilijk mens beginnen (mijn favoriete rol): een soundtrack beleef je pas écht ten volle als je de film waarvoor hij is geschreven ook daadwerkelijk hebt gezien. Deze mogelijkheid hadden we helaas niet bij deze review, op de trailer na dan (zie helemaal onderaan). Maar niet getreurd, een nieuwe Matt Howden is altijd leuk om te horen! Zo ook deze.

De film verhaalt (naar verluid) de evolutie van de robot van mechanische slaapwandelaar tot autonoom functionerende unit, haast een menselijk alter-ego of een menselijke kompaan. De filmscore erbij is een neoclassicistisch album pur sang geworden, waarbij ik continu naast de bloedstollend mooie composities toch ook met een wrang gevoel, een zekere bitterheid blijf zitten. Allicht was dit ook de bedoeling, om zo het ambigue gevolg van de robotisering van deze maatschappij kritisch in beeld (en geluid) te brengen.

Je hoort regelmatig het typische Matt Howden vioolspel doorheen de nummers, maar het merendeel van de tijd is het niet zijn mooie en unieke speeltechniek die met de aandacht gaat lopen, doch wel de opeenvolging van verbluffend mooie sfeerbeelden (ik deze context durf ik niet echt over een song te spreken).

Bij momenten voel ik een gelijkenis met het werk van Johann Johannson, andere momenten met dat van The Balanescu Quartet. Allicht worden beiden me ingegeven door het repetitieve klankspel, dat net als bij de voornoemde artiesten een magistrale weemoedige sfeer oproept, continu voortgroeiend en lekker lang voortkabbelend.

Maar plots is het helaas gedaan, verbluffend snel bereikt het plaatje zijn einde. Gevoelsmatig toch want een mooie 50 minuten later is het inmiddels. Ik blijf dan ook op het einde van de luisterbeurt stil en roerloos zitten. Weemoed en teneergeslagenheid hebben zich meester gemaakt over mijn hart. Ik sip een keer van mijn rood wijntje en blijf verdwaasd voor mij uitstaren (tot ik me realiseer dat ik deze recensie moet schrijven).

Maar laat ik het eenvoudig houden. Sentimentele, weemoedige zielen en filmfreaks koopt dit meesterlijk plaatje!

Matt, you did it again!

 

www.matthowden.com

Ward DE PRINS
10/05/2011


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

11
07
0 years of Computer Love by Kraftwerk
10
07
This month it’s 28 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!
09
07
Dutch electro pioneers, Minny Pops announce the release of a brand new double A-Side single!
08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
07
DON GORDON (NUMB)
'In many ways the first Numb album was one of the ‘easiest’ to produce...'
06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

11
07
SIRENIA
Once My Light
10
07
VIOLENT VICKIE
Dark Disorder
09
07
XUP
CUT YOU OPEN
09
07
FAR
Epicaricacy
08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine