tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/05/2011 : MATT HOWDEN - Robot World

MATT HOWDEN

Robot World

MusicCD
NeoclassicalSoundtrack

[91/100]   

Redroom
10/05/2011, Ward DE PRINS

EN

Let me start this thing as the difficult man I am (my favourite role): a soundtrack can only be experienced at fullest when you actually have seen the movie it was intended for. Unfortunately we did not have this possibility for this review, except the trailer (see at the bottom of this review). But never mind, a new Matt Howden creation is always nice to hear! Like this one.

The film recounts (allegedly) the evolution of the robot from a mechanical sleepwalker to an autonomous functioning unit, almost a human alter-ego or a human companion. This accompanying film score is a neoclassical album pur sang where, next to the beautiful compositions, a bitter feeling, a certain bitterness remains seated. Perhaps this was intentional in order to accentuate the ambiguous result of the robotisation of our society.

You often hear that typical Matt Howden violin technique through the compositions, but most of the time it's not the beauty and the unique playing technique that keep my attention, but rather a succession of stunning atmospheric soundclouds (In this context, I dare not speak about a song).

At times I feel a similarity with the work of Johann Johannsson, other times with that of The Balanescu Quartet. Perhaps both are given to me by the repetitive sound which, like the aforementioned artists, evokes a melancholic masterpiece that keeps evolving and growing.

And then suddenly it is over. Amazingly quick the score reaches its end, but only emotionally since it is already 50 minutes later. I remain completely silent and motionless. Melancholy and dejection have seized my heart. I sip my red wine and keep staring dazed in front of me (until I realize that I should write this review).

But let me keep it simple: sentimental, melancholic soul mates and film freaks, buy this album!
 

Matt, you did it again!

 

www.matthowden.com

Ward DE PRINS
10/05/2011


NL

Laat mij maar eens als moeilijk mens beginnen (mijn favoriete rol): een soundtrack beleef je pas écht ten volle als je de film waarvoor hij is geschreven ook daadwerkelijk hebt gezien. Deze mogelijkheid hadden we helaas niet bij deze review, op de trailer na dan (zie helemaal onderaan). Maar niet getreurd, een nieuwe Matt Howden is altijd leuk om te horen! Zo ook deze.

De film verhaalt (naar verluid) de evolutie van de robot van mechanische slaapwandelaar tot autonoom functionerende unit, haast een menselijk alter-ego of een menselijke kompaan. De filmscore erbij is een neoclassicistisch album pur sang geworden, waarbij ik continu naast de bloedstollend mooie composities toch ook met een wrang gevoel, een zekere bitterheid blijf zitten. Allicht was dit ook de bedoeling, om zo het ambigue gevolg van de robotisering van deze maatschappij kritisch in beeld (en geluid) te brengen.

Je hoort regelmatig het typische Matt Howden vioolspel doorheen de nummers, maar het merendeel van de tijd is het niet zijn mooie en unieke speeltechniek die met de aandacht gaat lopen, doch wel de opeenvolging van verbluffend mooie sfeerbeelden (ik deze context durf ik niet echt over een song te spreken).

Bij momenten voel ik een gelijkenis met het werk van Johann Johannson, andere momenten met dat van The Balanescu Quartet. Allicht worden beiden me ingegeven door het repetitieve klankspel, dat net als bij de voornoemde artiesten een magistrale weemoedige sfeer oproept, continu voortgroeiend en lekker lang voortkabbelend.

Maar plots is het helaas gedaan, verbluffend snel bereikt het plaatje zijn einde. Gevoelsmatig toch want een mooie 50 minuten later is het inmiddels. Ik blijf dan ook op het einde van de luisterbeurt stil en roerloos zitten. Weemoed en teneergeslagenheid hebben zich meester gemaakt over mijn hart. Ik sip een keer van mijn rood wijntje en blijf verdwaasd voor mij uitstaren (tot ik me realiseer dat ik deze recensie moet schrijven).

Maar laat ik het eenvoudig houden. Sentimentele, weemoedige zielen en filmfreaks koopt dit meesterlijk plaatje!

Matt, you did it again!

 

www.matthowden.com

Ward DE PRINS
10/05/2011


Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

11
12
The Mission - The United European Party Tour 2020
10
12
Postpunk pioneers The Membranes and Kitty Lectro team up for stunning 'Nocturnal' EP
10
12
Los Angeles Synth Act More Ephemerol Debuts New Single, 'Cult Classics'
10
12
On this day, 40 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
40 Years Of 20 Jazz Funk Greats!
08
12
Today, 41 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
12
FIX8:SED8
I Could Talk About The Wonder That Is Skinny Puppy For Hours
29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!

PHOTOS

09
12
MARK E MOON
Sportkafee Waregem
06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

13
12
THE HUMAN LEAGUE
Open Your heart
12
12
AN PIERLE
The Golden Dawn
11
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE
Death by completion
10
12
A SPLIT-SECOND
Mambo Witch
09
12
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
08
12
REVOLTING COCKS (THE)
Beer, Steers and Queers
07
12
VAST
Touched