tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/05/2011 : MATT HOWDEN - Robot World

MATT HOWDEN

Robot World

MusicCD
NeoclassicalSoundtrack

[91/100]   

Redroom
10/05/2011, Ward DE PRINS

EN

Let me start this thing as the difficult man I am (my favourite role): a soundtrack can only be experienced at fullest when you actually have seen the movie it was intended for. Unfortunately we did not have this possibility for this review, except the trailer (see at the bottom of this review). But never mind, a new Matt Howden creation is always nice to hear! Like this one.

The film recounts (allegedly) the evolution of the robot from a mechanical sleepwalker to an autonomous functioning unit, almost a human alter-ego or a human companion. This accompanying film score is a neoclassical album pur sang where, next to the beautiful compositions, a bitter feeling, a certain bitterness remains seated. Perhaps this was intentional in order to accentuate the ambiguous result of the robotisation of our society.

You often hear that typical Matt Howden violin technique through the compositions, but most of the time it's not the beauty and the unique playing technique that keep my attention, but rather a succession of stunning atmospheric soundclouds (In this context, I dare not speak about a song).

At times I feel a similarity with the work of Johann Johannsson, other times with that of The Balanescu Quartet. Perhaps both are given to me by the repetitive sound which, like the aforementioned artists, evokes a melancholic masterpiece that keeps evolving and growing.

And then suddenly it is over. Amazingly quick the score reaches its end, but only emotionally since it is already 50 minutes later. I remain completely silent and motionless. Melancholy and dejection have seized my heart. I sip my red wine and keep staring dazed in front of me (until I realize that I should write this review).

But let me keep it simple: sentimental, melancholic soul mates and film freaks, buy this album!
 

Matt, you did it again!

 

www.matthowden.com

Ward DE PRINS
10/05/2011


NL

Laat mij maar eens als moeilijk mens beginnen (mijn favoriete rol): een soundtrack beleef je pas écht ten volle als je de film waarvoor hij is geschreven ook daadwerkelijk hebt gezien. Deze mogelijkheid hadden we helaas niet bij deze review, op de trailer na dan (zie helemaal onderaan). Maar niet getreurd, een nieuwe Matt Howden is altijd leuk om te horen! Zo ook deze.

De film verhaalt (naar verluid) de evolutie van de robot van mechanische slaapwandelaar tot autonoom functionerende unit, haast een menselijk alter-ego of een menselijke kompaan. De filmscore erbij is een neoclassicistisch album pur sang geworden, waarbij ik continu naast de bloedstollend mooie composities toch ook met een wrang gevoel, een zekere bitterheid blijf zitten. Allicht was dit ook de bedoeling, om zo het ambigue gevolg van de robotisering van deze maatschappij kritisch in beeld (en geluid) te brengen.

Je hoort regelmatig het typische Matt Howden vioolspel doorheen de nummers, maar het merendeel van de tijd is het niet zijn mooie en unieke speeltechniek die met de aandacht gaat lopen, doch wel de opeenvolging van verbluffend mooie sfeerbeelden (ik deze context durf ik niet echt over een song te spreken).

Bij momenten voel ik een gelijkenis met het werk van Johann Johannson, andere momenten met dat van The Balanescu Quartet. Allicht worden beiden me ingegeven door het repetitieve klankspel, dat net als bij de voornoemde artiesten een magistrale weemoedige sfeer oproept, continu voortgroeiend en lekker lang voortkabbelend.

Maar plots is het helaas gedaan, verbluffend snel bereikt het plaatje zijn einde. Gevoelsmatig toch want een mooie 50 minuten later is het inmiddels. Ik blijf dan ook op het einde van de luisterbeurt stil en roerloos zitten. Weemoed en teneergeslagenheid hebben zich meester gemaakt over mijn hart. Ik sip een keer van mijn rood wijntje en blijf verdwaasd voor mij uitstaren (tot ik me realiseer dat ik deze recensie moet schrijven).

Maar laat ik het eenvoudig houden. Sentimentele, weemoedige zielen en filmfreaks koopt dit meesterlijk plaatje!

Matt, you did it again!

 

www.matthowden.com

Ward DE PRINS
10/05/2011


Music reviews

19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis
18
10
NEW MODEL ARMY
From Here
18
10
RIDE
This Is Not a Safe Place
17
10
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA
Mesmeranto
17
10
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK
Far From The Apple Tree

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
10
ORSON HENTSCHEL
Noise of the Light
19
10
ORBITAL
One Perfect Sunrise
18
10
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
17
10
AZAR SWAN
Over
16
10
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
15
10
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence
14
10
DELERIUM
Keep on Dreaming (featuring Jaël)