tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

10/05/2011 : MATT HOWDEN - Robot World

MATT HOWDEN

Robot World

MusicCD
NeoclassicalSoundtrack

[91/100]   

Redroom
10/05/2011, Ward DE PRINS

EN

Let me start this thing as the difficult man I am (my favourite role): a soundtrack can only be experienced at fullest when you actually have seen the movie it was intended for. Unfortunately we did not have this possibility for this review, except the trailer (see at the bottom of this review). But never mind, a new Matt Howden creation is always nice to hear! Like this one.

The film recounts (allegedly) the evolution of the robot from a mechanical sleepwalker to an autonomous functioning unit, almost a human alter-ego or a human companion. This accompanying film score is a neoclassical album pur sang where, next to the beautiful compositions, a bitter feeling, a certain bitterness remains seated. Perhaps this was intentional in order to accentuate the ambiguous result of the robotisation of our society.

You often hear that typical Matt Howden violin technique through the compositions, but most of the time it's not the beauty and the unique playing technique that keep my attention, but rather a succession of stunning atmospheric soundclouds (In this context, I dare not speak about a song).

At times I feel a similarity with the work of Johann Johannsson, other times with that of The Balanescu Quartet. Perhaps both are given to me by the repetitive sound which, like the aforementioned artists, evokes a melancholic masterpiece that keeps evolving and growing.

And then suddenly it is over. Amazingly quick the score reaches its end, but only emotionally since it is already 50 minutes later. I remain completely silent and motionless. Melancholy and dejection have seized my heart. I sip my red wine and keep staring dazed in front of me (until I realize that I should write this review).

But let me keep it simple: sentimental, melancholic soul mates and film freaks, buy this album!
 

Matt, you did it again!

 

www.matthowden.com

Ward DE PRINS
10/05/2011


NL

Laat mij maar eens als moeilijk mens beginnen (mijn favoriete rol): een soundtrack beleef je pas écht ten volle als je de film waarvoor hij is geschreven ook daadwerkelijk hebt gezien. Deze mogelijkheid hadden we helaas niet bij deze review, op de trailer na dan (zie helemaal onderaan). Maar niet getreurd, een nieuwe Matt Howden is altijd leuk om te horen! Zo ook deze.

De film verhaalt (naar verluid) de evolutie van de robot van mechanische slaapwandelaar tot autonoom functionerende unit, haast een menselijk alter-ego of een menselijke kompaan. De filmscore erbij is een neoclassicistisch album pur sang geworden, waarbij ik continu naast de bloedstollend mooie composities toch ook met een wrang gevoel, een zekere bitterheid blijf zitten. Allicht was dit ook de bedoeling, om zo het ambigue gevolg van de robotisering van deze maatschappij kritisch in beeld (en geluid) te brengen.

Je hoort regelmatig het typische Matt Howden vioolspel doorheen de nummers, maar het merendeel van de tijd is het niet zijn mooie en unieke speeltechniek die met de aandacht gaat lopen, doch wel de opeenvolging van verbluffend mooie sfeerbeelden (ik deze context durf ik niet echt over een song te spreken).

Bij momenten voel ik een gelijkenis met het werk van Johann Johannson, andere momenten met dat van The Balanescu Quartet. Allicht worden beiden me ingegeven door het repetitieve klankspel, dat net als bij de voornoemde artiesten een magistrale weemoedige sfeer oproept, continu voortgroeiend en lekker lang voortkabbelend.

Maar plots is het helaas gedaan, verbluffend snel bereikt het plaatje zijn einde. Gevoelsmatig toch want een mooie 50 minuten later is het inmiddels. Ik blijf dan ook op het einde van de luisterbeurt stil en roerloos zitten. Weemoed en teneergeslagenheid hebben zich meester gemaakt over mijn hart. Ik sip een keer van mijn rood wijntje en blijf verdwaasd voor mij uitstaren (tot ik me realiseer dat ik deze recensie moet schrijven).

Maar laat ik het eenvoudig houden. Sentimentele, weemoedige zielen en filmfreaks koopt dit meesterlijk plaatje!

Matt, you did it again!

 

www.matthowden.com

Ward DE PRINS
10/05/2011


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap