tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

14/05/2011 : VARIOUS ARTISTS - Domestic Pop Deux

VARIOUS ARTISTS

Domestic Pop Deux

MusicCD
IndieNew wave

[70/100]   
14/05/2011, Didier BECU

EN

One of the most interesting things in music must be compilations, but nothing as worse as reviewing one, let alone reading a review as such.

Of course it depends on what a compilation means to you. For some it’s nothing but a lame way to own the most played songs on the radio whereas others (musicfanatics we mean, and we guess that's what Peek-A-Boo-readers are) see a compilation like some discovery.

This compilation features sixteen bands that no one ever has heard of. It are all indiebands that have found their inspiration in the electronic sounds from the 80’s and with having said this, you know we mean there is a lot of New Order thrown in here.

The label itself describes it as the kind of album that is full of popmusic, pop as it’s made by the likes of Devo or Flying Lizzards, not the bloody Black Eyed Peas!...mind you, that sort of thing will never be reviewed here.

Who are these bands you say? Well...Nazca Lines, Cherry Chapstick, Coolrungs, Munch Munch, Bumble Bees, Social Climbers or El-G for instance. You never heard from them? None of us either, but just like with every exploring journey you discover sometimes good things, bad things and brilliant ones…who they are? You are the Sherlock Holmes to find out!

Didier BECU
14/05/2011


NL

Niks zo moois dan naar een compilatie luisteren, maar weliswaar niks zo erg dan een compilatie te gaan bespreken, laat staan dat je er een recensie over leest.

Natuurlijk hangt veel er van af hoe je het concept van een compilatie bekijkt.
Enerzijds heb je het gemakzuchtig aspect van vele kopers die al de "grootste hits" van hun idolen op één cd verzameld willen zien, maar anderzijds opteren de echte muziekliefhebbers (wedden dat dit PeekABoo-lezers zijn?) voor een soort van ontdekkingstocht.

Op deze compilatie hebben de zestien groepen als een gemeenschappelijke factor dat het bands betreft waar geen mens ooit van gehoord heeft. Wel zijn het stuk voor stuk indiegroepen die zich vooral lieten inspireren door de electronicaklanken van de jaren '80 (en dit gezegd zijnde, mag je daar meteen een hoge portie New Order aan toevoegen).

Zelf omschrijft het label dit als een plaat die bol staat van de pop, maar dan wel popmuziek van het kaliber van Devo of Flying Lizzards, en niet die van de Black Eyed Peas en troost je, geen haar op ons hoofd dat er dan aan denkt om zoiets te gaan reviewen.

Wie de groepen nu zijn? Tja, Nazca Lines, Cherry Chapstick, Coolrungs, Munch Munch, Bumble Bees, Social Climbers of El-G bijvoorbeeld. U kent er geen één van? Wij ook niet, en net zoals bij een goede ontdekkingstocht hoor je hier goede dingen, briljante dingen en soms iets mindere dingen...welke dat nu zijn?
De Sherlock Holmes van dienst dat bent u!

Didier BECU
14/05/2011


 

Next reviews
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Alfa matrix re:covered vol.2 : a tribute to depeche mode
GRIMES • Halfaxa
DER PLAN • Geri Reig
BUZZ • Buzz Blitz Klub Vol.1 : Dancefloor De La Mort
RAYOGRAPHS • Rayographs
GAVIN FRIDAY • Catholic
MATT HOWDEN • Robot World
JESUS & THE GURUS • Wut + Zorn = Revolution
IN THE NURSERY • Blind Sound
COLLECTION D'ARNELL-ANDRÉA • Vernes-Monde

 

Other reviews from VARIOUS ARTISTS
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sherwood at the Controls 2 (1985 - 1990)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sharon Signs To Cherry Red (Independent Women 1979-1985)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Studio One Showcase
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Underground Wave - Volume 5
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Wave-West

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + NEW WAVE
THE MONOCHROME SET • Cosmonaut
EAGULLS • Ullages
COLD SHOWERS • Plant Life
BILL AND MURRAY • A New Kind Of High
NITE FIELDS • Depersonalisation
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Beautiful and Damned
FUTURE ISLANDS • Singles
XTC • CLASSICS: Skylarking (Corrected)
ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN • Meterorites
PERVERTED BY LANGUAGE • Boxers

 

Same genre: INDIE
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night

Music reviews

17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy
16
11
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
Let's Play (Two girls and a goat)
12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
11
Disorientations! New band, new single, new video!
14
11
Today, 30 years The Mind Is A Terrible Thing To Taste by Ministry!
13
11
Today, 41 years ago, Siouxsie & The Banshees released their debut album Scream!
13
11
Today, 38 years ago, New Order released its debut album Movement!
12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

17
11
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
DEINE LAKAIEN HELIUM VOLA VELJANOV
Christuskirche Bochum
14
11
MORGAN KING
B52 music club
13
11
STORY OFF
B52 music club
13
11
N TALES
B52 music club
11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
11
OAKTREE
La Fin
17
11
ALISON MOYET
Other
16
11
ROSARUBEA
A Blue Bird in a Scarlet Spring
15
11
DER KLINKE
My Frozen Heart
14
11
KELUAR
Volition
13
11
HEILUNG
Krigsgaldr
12
11
STOCKHAUSSEN
Mi siniestro