tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

14/05/2011 : VARIOUS ARTISTS - Domestic Pop Deux

VARIOUS ARTISTS

Domestic Pop Deux

MusicCD
IndieNew wave

[70/100]   
14/05/2011, Didier BECU

EN

One of the most interesting things in music must be compilations, but nothing as worse as reviewing one, let alone reading a review as such.

Of course it depends on what a compilation means to you. For some it’s nothing but a lame way to own the most played songs on the radio whereas others (musicfanatics we mean, and we guess that's what Peek-A-Boo-readers are) see a compilation like some discovery.

This compilation features sixteen bands that no one ever has heard of. It are all indiebands that have found their inspiration in the electronic sounds from the 80’s and with having said this, you know we mean there is a lot of New Order thrown in here.

The label itself describes it as the kind of album that is full of popmusic, pop as it’s made by the likes of Devo or Flying Lizzards, not the bloody Black Eyed Peas!...mind you, that sort of thing will never be reviewed here.

Who are these bands you say? Well...Nazca Lines, Cherry Chapstick, Coolrungs, Munch Munch, Bumble Bees, Social Climbers or El-G for instance. You never heard from them? None of us either, but just like with every exploring journey you discover sometimes good things, bad things and brilliant ones…who they are? You are the Sherlock Holmes to find out!

Didier BECU
14/05/2011


NL

Niks zo moois dan naar een compilatie luisteren, maar weliswaar niks zo erg dan een compilatie te gaan bespreken, laat staan dat je er een recensie over leest.

Natuurlijk hangt veel er van af hoe je het concept van een compilatie bekijkt.
Enerzijds heb je het gemakzuchtig aspect van vele kopers die al de "grootste hits" van hun idolen op één cd verzameld willen zien, maar anderzijds opteren de echte muziekliefhebbers (wedden dat dit PeekABoo-lezers zijn?) voor een soort van ontdekkingstocht.

Op deze compilatie hebben de zestien groepen als een gemeenschappelijke factor dat het bands betreft waar geen mens ooit van gehoord heeft. Wel zijn het stuk voor stuk indiegroepen die zich vooral lieten inspireren door de electronicaklanken van de jaren '80 (en dit gezegd zijnde, mag je daar meteen een hoge portie New Order aan toevoegen).

Zelf omschrijft het label dit als een plaat die bol staat van de pop, maar dan wel popmuziek van het kaliber van Devo of Flying Lizzards, en niet die van de Black Eyed Peas en troost je, geen haar op ons hoofd dat er dan aan denkt om zoiets te gaan reviewen.

Wie de groepen nu zijn? Tja, Nazca Lines, Cherry Chapstick, Coolrungs, Munch Munch, Bumble Bees, Social Climbers of El-G bijvoorbeeld. U kent er geen één van? Wij ook niet, en net zoals bij een goede ontdekkingstocht hoor je hier goede dingen, briljante dingen en soms iets mindere dingen...welke dat nu zijn?
De Sherlock Holmes van dienst dat bent u!

Didier BECU
14/05/2011


 

Next reviews
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Alfa matrix re:covered vol.2 : a tribute to depeche mode
GRIMES • Halfaxa
DER PLAN • Geri Reig
BUZZ • Buzz Blitz Klub Vol.1 : Dancefloor De La Mort
RAYOGRAPHS • Rayographs
GAVIN FRIDAY • Catholic
MATT HOWDEN • Robot World
JESUS & THE GURUS • Wut + Zorn = Revolution
IN THE NURSERY • Blind Sound
COLLECTION D'ARNELL-ANDRÉA • Vernes-Monde

 

Other reviews from VARIOUS ARTISTS
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sherwood at the Controls 2 (1985 - 1990)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Bipolar Sounds Volume 1
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sharon Signs To Cherry Red (Independent Women 1979-1985)
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Studio One Showcase
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Young & Cold IV -Festival Sampler Vol.3
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Underground Wave - Volume 5
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Wave-West

 

Same combination of genres: INDIE + NEW WAVE
THE MONOCHROME SET • Cosmonaut
EAGULLS • Ullages
COLD SHOWERS • Plant Life
BILL AND MURRAY • A New Kind Of High
NITE FIELDS • Depersonalisation
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Beautiful and Damned
FUTURE ISLANDS • Singles
XTC • CLASSICS: Skylarking (Corrected)
ECHO AND THE BUNNYMEN • Meterorites
PERVERTED BY LANGUAGE • Boxers

 

Same genre: INDIE
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night

Music reviews

06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine
03
02
MISERIA ULTIMA
Graygarden
01
02
MONO INC.
The Book Of Fire
30
01
THE MARS MODEL
FrancoBelga
27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Today, exactly 17 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
On this day, 6 years ago, DEVO guitarist Bob Casale (61) died.
15
02
LEPROUS – Launch drum playthrough video for “The Sky Is Red”
15
02
This February, it's 33 AGO Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
Today, exactly 41 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
09
02
German Electronic/Synthpop Act SEA OF SIN Presents Their Single & Video Release For 'YOU'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'
11
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN)
'Putting a krautrock band together I always wanted this fearlessness.' (Interview Part 2)
10
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN): PART II
'In punk, I found the vehicle for skepticism.' (Interview Part 1)
07
02
DOUGLAS P. (DEATH IN JUNE)
'Words/lyrics are continuously coming to me, everywhere and anywhere...'
02
02
CHRIS CUTLER (HENRY COW)
'We all shared a common concern with extending the vocabulary of rock...'

PHOTOS

12
02
MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
12
02
SAINT AGNES SUPPORT MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
02
ROGER WATERS
Wait for Her
19
02
X MARKS THE PEDWALK
Secrets
18
02
THE MISSION
Love Me To Death
17
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Imagination
16
02
GERTRUD STEIN
The Void
15
02
MINISTRY
Same Old Madness
14
02
POLICE DES MOEURS
Première neige