tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

12/10/2013 : SOL INVICTUS - Mr. Cruel

SOL INVICTUS

Mr. Cruel

MusicCD
Folk / Ethnic / TribalNeofolkSinger Songwriter

[86/100]   

Auerbach Tontrger
12/10/2013, Filip VAN MUYLEM

As a teaser for the new album by Sol Invictus (working title: "Once Upon A Time") due in 2014, Auerbach Tonträger releases the vinyl single "Mr Cruel". Tony Wakeford offers a combination of Weird Folk and Psychedelic with the familiar charm of Sol Invictus assisted by Don Anderson on guitars and Jason Walton behind the mixing desk, both courtesy of Agalloch.

I must say that if this is what to be expected we have something to look out! 'Mr. Cruel' is almost an instant classic Sol Invictus song. It's a very sensitive and acoustic song, nicely recorded. Love Tony's voice on it, just as the violin (at least I think it's a violin). This song seems to bewitch us, as if we have to listen to it endlessly and love it until we die. 'Like God' is a creepy song, giving you goose bumps. This song seems to put a Doom spell on us, it's as dark and as hellish as can be. The mood is set & seems like we know now very good what to expect!

Can't wait for more! I hope to see them back on stage and hopefully in the same setting as last year in Brussels!

Direct purchase: http://en.prophecy.de/sol-invictus-mr-cruel.html

Filip VAN MUYLEM
12/10/2013


 

Next reviews
CLOé + LYLAC • Live at the Botanique, 10/10/2013, Brussels, Belgium
ANDREAS GROSS • Grounds Of Ashes
PEDRO ALMODOVAR • Los Amantes Pasajeros
SURGYN • Feed Me Fame
SALVATION AMP • Hidden Faces
30,000 MONKIES • Somewhere Over The Painbow
FUXA • Dirty D.
POLYNOMIQ • Languages (exclusive preview)
ERAN CREEVY • WELCOME TO THE PUNCH
GARY NUMAN • Splinter (Songs From A Broken Mind)

 

Other reviews from SOL INVICTUS
SOL INVICTUS • The Last Man
SOL INVICTUS • Once Upon A Time
SOL INVICTUS • The Cruellest Month

 

Same combination of genres: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL + NEOFOLK + SINGER SONGWRITER
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO, IN SLAUGHTER NATIVES, ROME, TRIARI, MENTALPLASTIC BODYFILLER, EMPUSAE, DEAD MAN'S HILL & MR. MANUVA • Porta Nigra, 1/6/2013, Aarschot, Belgium

 

Same genre: FOLK / ETHNIC / TRIBAL
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
DARK POEM • The Fire Lives Inside
LET'S EAT GRANDMA • I, Gemini
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
DOOMSQUAD • Total Time
HERON OBLIVION • Heron Oblivion
THE JOY OF NATURE • A Roda Do Tempo

 

Same genre: NEOFOLK
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE • Music for certain rituals
DEATH IN JUNE • THE CORN YEARS
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO • Ménage à quatre
SANGRE DE MUERDAGO • Os Segredos da Raposa Vermella
RUMMELSNUFF & ASBACH • Rummelsnuff & Asbach
HEIMATAERDE • Aerdenbrand
ROME • The Hyperion Machine

 

Same genre: SINGER SONGWRITER
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
SUZANNE VEGA • Borgerhout, De Roma (06/10/2016)
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
THE ANCHORESS + FIONA BRICE • London, Bush Hall (15/06/2016)
LEYLA MCCALLA • A Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey
CHRIS COHEN • As If Apart

Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 39 today!
06
10
Electro-Pop Artist EVA X Drops New Video 'Machine'
30
09
Amy Koppelman's novel adaption 'A Mouthful Of Air' coming to theaters October 29th!
29
09
Canadian Industrial Act DI AUGER Takes Raw Anger To Government Tyranny with 'Piss & Vinegar'
25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.

PHOTOS

03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
14
10
NOISUF-X
Let's Rock
13
10
ANNA MEREDITH
R-Type
12
10
LOLA ANGST
Wie Gott
11
10
GESAFFELSTEIN
Pursuit (Official Video - Not Blurred)
10
10
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Halloween
09
10
FRONT 242
Tragedy For You